We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Hotel Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at the Arenal for a week at the end of May - same as we did last year. Had a sea view this year - stunning view of the bay. The hotel is clean and well run with all the staff very hardworking and polite. Entertainment for all ages either at Arenal or it's sister hotel - Ses Savinnes which is approx 150 yards away, food was good and drinks reasonably priced. Thought that the pool area could be improved. The hotel is ideally situated in front of a nice beach and only 2 minutes walk from the marina, restaurants, and west end - but far enough away from any noise. What we loved about the hotel and the resort of San Antonio is that there is something for all ages, it's not a clubbers paradise like they make it out to be, sure there are places where the young congregate (although the ones we met were all well mannered and polite even though they were drunk) but there are plenty of other places for us "older" people. Can't wait to get back - loved it.

Room Tip: Although all rooms have secondary double glazed doors Sea view rooms are best as there is a road on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    204
    67
    21
    16
See reviews for
119
225
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We are a 25 year old couple who stayed for 1 week in room 240.

We paid for an upgrade to a sea view room which was absolutely worth it the views are stunning, if you like to relax on the balcony before sunset it can get quite hot due to being directly in line of the sun (we didn't mind) despite our room being above the entertainment stage we didn't hear a lot when we had an 'early night' on our last night

As said in other reviews the furniture/decor is quite dated but who cares? The twin rooms are massive, cleaned daily with a generous bathroom and the hair dryer dried my thick hair just fine so no need to bring your own, there are two wardrobes with lots of storage space. The safe is is €17 for the week and the air con is €6 per day which we think is reasonable. There is an extra single glazed door along with a double glazed patio door to block out unwanted noise.

The food selection is not vast but it is a 3* hotel if a la carte is more your style pay twice the price per person and stay in the Fiesta Palmyra but personally we prefer Arenal now having stayed in both! The positive is that you get a designated table for the whole of your stay so you are no rushed to leave because other guests need your table the only slight downfall was that if you are in a couple friends or partners the tables are side by side we didn't mind but if you are after privacy it's not ideal.

The reception staff are fantastic and helpful and can't do enough for you as are the waiting staff and the cleaners.

The location of the hotel is just on the edge of San An Bay there are various bars Itacha,Ibiza Rocks Bar, Ocean Club is in the bay (for the more 'up market') or Es Paradis, Gatecrasher and the West End for something not too far away and a bit more lively.

If you are planning on going to a club I would recommend buying your tickets in advance through Ibiza Spotlight as they can almost double in price once you are over there.

This visit we went to Together @ Amnesia and Aoki's Playhouse at Pacha, we preferred Amnesia for the size of the club and type of music. You can get a number 2 or 3 Disco bus to and from the clubs but there are stewards at the bus station to help if you are unsure which bus to catch (€3 per person each way)

Our Rep Emily Baber from Thomas Cook was wicked and full of useful info.

We bought the anytime Aguamar ticket €17.50 each and we caught the number 3 bus to the last stop Evissa (€2 pp each way) and number 14 to Playa Den bossa (€1.90 pp each way) both buses run every 15mins it was easy to get the buses and you get dropped outside. The Waterpark isn't the biggest but it does have sunbeds as well and Bora Bora beach opposite so we did both in one visit.

Cafe Mambo is a short walk past the Marina in San An Town you can reserve tables but it's €70 or something minimum spend it is best to just get some drink at the local shop and sit on the rocks to watch the amazing sunset and you can also still hear the music from Mambo's

Reggae Reggae beach Playa Pinet is a short 5-10min boat ride across the bay from the Marina €4.50 pp return and runs every 15 minutes there is a BBQ every Sunday but all other days there is a Reggae shack playing music serving cocktails and food and also there are two other cafe restaurants on the beachfront.

This is one of our many trips to Ibiza and it will definitely not be our last, see you next year Hotel Arenal!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from our first holiday in Ibiza and we had a wonderful time. We felt welcome from the moment we entered the hotel. I can only reiterate what others have said. Spacious room, very clean. Wonderful staff who couldn't do enough for you. Stunning views over the bay. You definitely need a sea view room. Private balcony where we used to sit late evening and watch the clubbers pass on the promenade below, found this amusing and they were no bother, just having fun. There is triple glazing which shuts out the noise, so no problem. There is also a ceiling fan in the room which was extremely efficient so we didn't need air conditioning. We will definitely return to this hotel. If you visit take a trip to Ibiza old town and also include a trip on a water taxi to Calla Bass a and see how the other half live.
Barbara and Stewart Ellis

Room Tip: We had sea view room 132, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the third year on the trot myself and my fiancé have stayed here and what a fantastic place to stay. From the moment you arrive nothing is a problem for the excellent staff here, from the receptionist,manager,bar staff and cleaners,everyone of them are so helpful and nothing is a problem. The rooms are cleaned and towels changed on a daily basis. The food is excellent with wide and varied choices everyday. You are allocated a table,you can choose yourself,and that is your table for your entire holiday. Indoor and outdoor pools that are a real pleasure to sit and catch the sun around, especially as the bar staff will bring your drink to your sunbed. If the pool is not for you then just cross the path at the front of the hotel to the superb beach. The location of this hotel is quite simply superb. Right on the beach front with views across the bay to make sitting on the beach a very nice place to be. There is also the option of sitting outside the front of the hotel and enjoying the same views as the beach goers along with the added bonus of being waiter served food and drink. Next year would be our fourth year on the trot BUT due to the cost of us getting married we won't be able to make it, but hopefully the year after we will be back.
YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED STAYING HERE.

Room Tip: All rooms are good,except for the ones next to linkers bar which can be noisy and a little small. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My trip didn't start well as traveling on my own I was given a room which had no balcony and was tiny.
After a chat was moved to a good size room unfortunately with a poor view of the air con system, and in the dinning room I was stowed away in the corner for my food.

Other than this poor start everything else was spot on! The location is excellent in the middle of the bay
The staff work tirelessly and are a true credit to the hotel!

The food is very good lots of choice but the menu very English, some more Spanish influence would have been nice.

The rooms and hotel although dated slightly furniture wise adds to the charm and is immaculately cleaned everyday.

One slight bit of feedback music is played almost all day in the hotel by pool and bar/restaurant which is very random in tastes of music and somtimes it would have been nice for just some quiet time to relax.

On the whole great experience and service by the team and if lucky enough to go back to the bay this is the only hotel you will need to use thanks all.

Joey




  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived back from a 2 week stay at the 3 star Hotel Arenal in San Antonio Bay, can only be described as a cracking 2 weeks.
We are a family of 4, and were given a family room which had 2 separate sleeping areas, each area having a ceiling fan which was a must with the very hot temperature. There was 2 large wardrobes, 2 chests of drawers and a huge bathroom, never had that much storage space in a hotel room before. Our room was cleaned and towels changed every day by absolutely lovely maids. The balcony was big with triple glazing as we had a sea view and could get quite noisy at times on the prom but when the doors were shut the noise wasn't a problem. The view was absolutely stunning, giving us a view over the whole Bay and West End areas, even perfect to sit with a glass of vino and watch the beautiful sunset.
We were on a half board basis, breakfast catered for those who wanted something simple like toast or cereal, and went up to everything you could possibly want for a full English. Evening meals were lovely, giving you the likes of roast chicken, pork, even roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. The chef even stood and made fresh crepes to order for dessert.
The reception area is well air conditioned with lots of comfortable seats. Reception staff are fantastic and do everything they can to help you, most of them are absolutely bonkers. Bar staff are very friendly.
You have the use of both an outdoor and indoor pool, there is a gym on site, and you can use the facilities at the ses savines, the sister hotel just along the prom.
There are daytime activities eg French boules, mini golf and more, plus there is a kids club run by Sara who is absolutely fab. Evening entertainment every night between the two hotels.
All in all, a brilliant holiday. Will definitely be booking the Arenal again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Just read a review from some wanna b snob from Birmingham, food wasn't good they say? Get outta here, tell me and others, wat exactly is it u want. To others who havnt been at this hotel, the food is excellent. Ive been holidaying 25yrs and this hotel is up there with the best of them (imo). By the way I holiday 2 3 and sometimes 4 times per year

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.2 mi away
Ses Sevines
Ses Sevines
#7 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#9 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
azuLine Hotel Pacific
azuLine Hotel Pacific
#50 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#14 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#5 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tagomago
Hotel Tagomago
#31 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal

Property: Hotel Arenal
Address: Avenida Doctor Fleming 16, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel
Hotel Arenal Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing