We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Hotel Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gran Sol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned home from a few days stay at Gran Sol. Overall this hotel is excellent in terms of value for money including both buffet breakfasts & Dinners. The food was superb, The room was spotless and had good aircon, decent size balcony and a mini fridge which was a bonus! The facilities were great also, plenty of room to relax by the pool or grass area and only a 2 minute walk to the nearest beach or a 10 minute walk to the famous west end strip! The only two things I could critique and forgive me the first one may come across bizarre, would be blackout blinds / curtains in the room, like us coming home at 4/5am after a night out, daylight is the last thing I want to see. Anyways the second and much more productive critique would be The "All Inclusive" price. This currently isn't offered at the hotel, why? At breakfast ok you have orange / apple juice but at dinner when you are having a meal, it is annoying to constantly go up and pay for a drink. You guys could offer a 10 point daily system for example with 1=soft drink 2= alcoholic drink 3=cocktail. Anyways that's just me to the last detail, but some things to think about? Anyways I definitely will be returning at some point in the near future!

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool, sea views on both sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isrross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    375
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
160
692
63
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just back from a week at the Gran Sol and cant recommend the place enough! The place was spotless,the cleaners came everyday, even some days when we had a lie in they came in the afternoon. The room was spacious and they fulfilled our request of a seaview room which had fab views from the 4th floor and had a lovely big balcony to sit out in the evening.The room had a safe,tv and a fridge which was great for keeping a few drinks in.There was a fan and air conditioning in the room which was great as we've often had to pay extra for this on other holidays. The pool area was fab too and we never had a problem getting a bed, the pool was a little cold but great to cool down on the hot afternoon. Food was lovely in the poolside bar,we had chicken and chips one day for lunch and a nice painini & pizza! The cocktails weren't bad either-recommend the mojito!All the staff were friendly and helpful. The staff on reception were great and helped us book our car rental. The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins from Cafe Mambo, 10 mins to the "strip of madness" aka the west end and about 15 mins to the bus station. Its near enough to everything for night time but as its in a quite area you get a great nights sleep. We are a couple in our 30's and the age group of other guests was around our age and a bit older, in a way we were delighted there were no kiddies! If I had to pick one thing to fault it would be that the wifi was slow but that's it. We're definitely planning on going back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atinaHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went for a lads weekend age from 30 to 40 ,great location too ,close to cafe del mar and cafe mambo and far enough from west end ( what a dump ) 30 euros taxi to ibiza town ,much better place for drinks and food and clubs .
Hotel was really clean ,pool area good and small bar with food for lunch time which was ok too ,rooms clean free safe and plenty of hangers beds where ok too cost 119 euro for four nights that was 3 to a room and breakfast was 7 euro extra

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giggsola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Never been here before, but was booked in by my wife who has !.
Really nice, clean and ideally located hotel. Sunset Strip 10 mins walk. West end 15 mins walk.
Staff are very helpful, they even have an English receptionist to help with any language problems!
Plenty of space at the bar and pool area.

Give it a go, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed previously 2 years ago for a hen do and this time for a girls holiday. The rooms are well equipped, the fridge, safe and hairdryer are handy extras that help save hassle. The staff are attentive, polite and assist above and beyond expectation. The cocktails from the bar could be a little better to compete with other local bars but they are reasonably priced so its not so bad. Perfect location for being close to the centre but not so much so that you're living in the middle of the party zone. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't recommend this place enough, the staff were exceptional - polite, professional and extremely friendly. Location was ideal within walking distance everything. The pool was great always beds available. Great value for
money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel well and truly deserves it's number 1 rating on Trip Advisor without a shadow of a doubt. All the staff are amazing and speak a number of languages, from check in everyone was very friendly and efficient. The room was really nice, spacious with a good sized bathroom. There's a TV in the room, a safe which is big enough to fit an iPad/tab in plus other bits and bobs and there's a fridge too which is an added bonus to keep those drinks cool! ;) The pool area is large with loads of sunbeds - we always found one no matter what time of day. The pool is cold as it's not heated but in the heat of the day very welcome and refreshing. We were half board so had breakfast and dinner included and there was always so much variety, hot and cold. We also had lunch a few times at the pool bar as well. Very reasonable and good value! The area around the hotel is really quiet despite being in San Antonio and the gorgeous sunset strip is just 5 minutes walk away. If you're going make sure you check out Tiffany's bar just outside the hotel, Kanya down the road towards the sunset strip promenade, Cafe Mambo and Cafe Del Mar on the sunset strip. Amazing! The West End is also a short walk away if you want something livelier. We were a group of friends staying in this hotel but we also saw couples, families and groups of young and old here so no matter who you're with if you're considering San Antonio you will not be disappointed! :) I want to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fio1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
1.0 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#4 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
897 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#5 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
Ibiza Rocks Hotel
#19 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sol House Ibiza
Sol House Ibiza
#10 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
500 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
#2 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Sol

Property: Hotel Gran Sol
Address: Calle Soledat 49, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#1 Family Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-managed Gran Sol Hotel is one of San Antonio's favourite, modestly priced hotels: it lies in a quieter corner of the resort just a short walk away from the town centre and beach of San Antonio.There is a fresh-water swimming-pool on a spacious sun-terrace complete with loungers and sun-shades. There is also a garden with lawn for more serious sunbathing.The small sandy beach of Caló d'es Moro is less than 100m from the hotel whilst the beaches of Cala Grassio and more sophisticated Cala Grassioneta are a stroll down the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing