We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel can't wait to come back”
Review of Hotel Gran Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gran Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel as it was extremely clean, the staff were so friendly and helpful and it was a great price

the only things I felt let it down was the wifi in the room was crap it kept working for a few minutes then stopping for hours so if they could fix that they would be an amazing hotel. oh and the buffet food could have been better had a look a few nights but decided to go elsewhere, also if they introduced a healthy salad that you could order from the bar outside of the buffet times it would be amazing!

still cannot wait to come back !!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Gran Sol for a week, with a stag do arriving during the middle 3 nights. Was impressed by just how CLEAN the hotel is, it is immaculate. Rooms were cleaned/towels changed daily and the cleaning staff we're very nice and friendly. The reception staff bend over backwards to help, as do the bar staff. The hotel is in a great location if a base in San An town is what you want, and is moments from Cafe Del Mar etc which is just a short trek across the dirtpath opposite the hotel. I would stay here again if I were to stay in the area again. The only flaw is that the walls seem to be very thin, and I could hear the lads (not in my party) being noisy at all hours of the day and night, which was unfortunate :( PS: Safe, air con in the room, and shower room for when you leave are all very much appreciated!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if possible, otherwise you will be facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyss9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here in a group of 5 from 28th June - 4th July aged 19-21 on half board basis. We were all blown away by how clean and modern this hotel is! Ibiza is a gorgeous island and Gran Sol made it that extra bit special - we will definitely be returning!

Location
We landed in the evening and our taxi to the hotel cost 36EURO. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the bus station, 10 to the West End, 2 minutes from a lovely beach and has plenty of shops, bars of restaurants surrounding. Ask at reception for direction to Cala Gracio, it's a beautiful beach about 10-15 minutes and is definitely worth the walk!

Hotel
We were originally given room 110 but wanted a sea view so we asked to be switched to a higher floor - they moved us into 301 without any problems which was perfect and very private. Cannot express how pleased we was with the rooms and pool area - Spotless and so modern! Beds were very comfortable and maids cleaned the bedroom every day. We were always happy to go back to the hotel as it's so relaxing, welcoming and pretty.

Food & Drink
I'm a very fussy eater and must say I wasn't crazy on the breakfast & dinner menus, but the rest of the group absolutely loved what they had to offer so just depends on personal preference. On the other hand, the cocktails we're delicious and the bar staff were fantastic - very friendly and helpful.

The staff here were lovely apart from the blonde lady on reception who was very rude to my friend over a misunderstanding with check out times - she could of handled the situation a lot better! Although the rest of the team were fantastic and very helpful.

The wifi is slow but does work if you give it a chance. I took it as a luxury and was just pleased I didn't have to pay for data to get my Instagram fix!

This is a fantastic hotel with great management who really go above and beyond to offer a relaxing and enjoyable trip. This is my second time in Ibiza - will definitely not be the last and think Gran Sol will always be our base on future trips. You will not regret choosing this hotel!

Room Tip: 301 - great view (although can't see the sunset).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went here with my boyfriend this summer and had the most amazing experience. The staff at reception were perfect and very helpful (I recommend you buy a bottle of water from there when you arrive as its so much cheaper than anywhere else) and we checked in and out quickly and also looked after our passports for us. The food was great, breakfast was perfect and dinner also. We ate a few times at the cafe which was great value and the lasagne was beautiful! The bar staff were very professional and friendly and really made us feel welcomed. Great service from them.
The room was perfect and cleaned every day with new towels also.
It was perfect for us as we wanted to party a little but didnt want a rowdy hotel. Hotel Gran sol is in a perfect location (10 mins from bus station and 10 mins from west end) but not too central so it was very quiet and we were not disturbed. Taxi from the centre is about €6 and great bars are just around the corner including cafe mambo and sunset strip. Also about 5 mins to the beach.
Couldn't fault this hotel it was perfect and we would definitely come back!!!

Room Tip: our room 423 was perfect, great view and huge bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have just returned from my third stay at Hotel Gran sol. The location is great, a few minutes walk from the nearest beach which is rocky and about a 20 minutes walk to more sandy beaches and just a 10 minute walk from the sun set strip. The hotel is very clean and the staff are really helpful and friendly; they are always willing to help! There are lots of nice places to eat very close by and the bar and restaurant in Gran Sol are really good too.
I would always recommend this hotel and love staying here. I miss it already and can't wait to be back again soon. Thank you Hotel Gran Sol!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Shreena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Duration: 3 Nights
Location: Great location IF you are looking for a place to stay in San Antonio, its a 2-3 min walk to the beach. The main bus stand is about a 10 min walk. Lots of restaurants around the Hotel.
Rooms: Basic clean rooms, with an lcd tv, a tidy bathroom as well. Room was well maintained.
Staff: Fantastic staff, very courteous and helpful who speak good English.
Food: Breakfast options were very good, no too much changes but good enough. We had lunch 1 day and the food was good as well, reasonable too.
Facilities: Wifi was good, never had any trouble with it, The pool was nice and clean as well.

Overall its a great hotel, Excellent value for money. Highly rated on TA for a reason, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank vikram a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here just over a week ago and found it to be a great.

staff are friendly and the pool/garden area clean and tidy.

We ate in the restaurant 4 out of 6 nights and the selection was plentiful, even for my travelling buddy who is a vegetarian.

Staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Clean and the aircon is a dream.

Close enough to the 'west end' to walk but far enough away to not have all the screaming youngsters around.

We loved the hotel and Ibiza so much, that we have booked to return in September for another week.

The one downfall would be that the WIFI is really slow, so try not to count on that. I have a euro plan on my mobile so we managed fine, but if you want exclusive use of the WIFI, you won't get it here.

Cant wait to see you guys in September

Room Tip: Try to get a room on thwe 6th floor, views are awesome either side, but the 6th fllor is definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
1.1 mi away
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
#2 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
614 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#1 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,500 reviews
1 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#4 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
1 mi away
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
Alua Hawaii Ibiza
#5 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
2,135 reviews
1 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Sol

Address: Calle Soledat 49, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: £56 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-managed Gran Sol Hotel is one of San Antonio's favourite, modestly priced hotels: it lies in a quieter corner of the resort just a short walk away from the town centre and beach of San Antonio.There is a fresh-water swimming-pool on a spacious sun-terrace complete with loungers and sun-shades. There is also a garden with lawn for more serious sunbathing.The small sandy beach of Caló d'es Moro is less than 100m from the hotel whilst the beaches of Cala Grassio and more sophisticated Cala Grassioneta are a stroll down the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gran Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Gran Sol Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing