We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel but has it's shortcomings.”
Review of Hotel S'Estanyol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel S'Estanyol
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Good value for what we paid but avoid rooms 1 to 9. Too near the bar and pool and a bit noisy at night. Food was average to not very good most of the time and I would say that the food does not match that of a three star hotel. Some of the staff were very nice and others very rude, especially at night. Good place if your a beach lover as it's right outside the bar. We had a leaking wc in our room which was reported twice but still not repaired, and our friends had other maintenance issues with their rooms. San Antonio appears to not have had much investment for a good few years and feels a bit run down. All in all not a bad holiday but the standards at this hotel could do with review as a 3 star it is not.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_SR_E, Gerente at Hotel S'Estanyol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear monce,

Thank you very much for taking time commenting about our hotel S´Estanyol and for relying on Playa Sol Hotel Group.

First of all, we regret the inconvenience with your room. We take note about your suggestions in order to improve day by day.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked this break for a relaxing time, and we got it the hotel itself was cleaned very well and regularly and the rooms kept spotless. We originally booked the San remo but we're sent to the s'estanyol where we were greeted at reception by David the most pleasant well mannered helpful guy you could have asked to be met by after travelling for so long nothing could be faulted in our greeting and this continued throughout the holiday,the food was good and we always found something to eat If we had any complaint about this holiday it would have been the other noisey guests

Note to manager the way we were greeted and treated by David at reception and you're staff must make you confident you have a very good team in you're hotel well done!!!

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_SR_E, Gerente at Hotel S'Estanyol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Welshc,

Thank you very much for taking your time commenting about our hotel s’Estanyol and for relying on Playa Sol Hotel Group.

We are very glad that you spent a good time in the island.

This kind of comments is a huge motivation for us because allows to check our work and improve day by day.

We will give your congratulations to David.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Not my usual standard of hotel. I usually go to 4 star and 5 star hotels as you get what you pay for, so this may seem a harsh review but honest. This was only intended as a cheap weekend away, worked out cheaper to go here than a weekend away in the U.K...Hmmm where to start? Check in- initially booked San Remo but upon check in was told to go to S'estanyol. Room very basic but we had a fabulous sea view of the bay on the top floor. Everybody we spoke to was complaining of their room being damp and smelling of sewage ewww, so upon reflection we was lucky to of escaped the norm! I must say the AI drinks were the best I have ever had, most guests were staggering around lol. Food- AWFUL, this place is ideal if you want to lose weight, hospital food is better!! Staff- fed up lol... no customer service, its that bad it makes you laugh!! Note at 11am the bar closes without warning even if you are in the queue- lights off and thats it haha.. Pool- pointless it sits in the shade all day!! To sum up, no wonder the drinks are good, it numbs you from this awful hotel. Drink loads and it doesn't seem so bad. Won't return but in all fairness it is worth going here if you just want to drink!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paradisesunset28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_SR_E, Gerente at Hotel S'Estanyol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear paradisesunset28,

We regret if you didn’t feel comfortable at our hotel S’Estanyol.

We take note about all the inconveniencies that you have mentioned in order to solve them.

We hope you can come back and enjoy your holidays with us.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having done extensive research on the list of hotels offered for my chosen dates in Ibiza, I decided to book into the San Remo hotel. We turned up at this hotel to be told that we had actually been allocated rooms in the other “block” and directed to a completely different hotel which was a good couple of minutes walk away. We duly checked in at the Hotel Club S’Estanyol, strange. We had booked 2 single rooms and were allocated rooms 225 and 227. The first problem was the ridiculous numbering of the rooms. The lifts deposit you on a corridor which goes up to 224. We thought we must be on the wrong floor but, upon investigation, the 3rd floor rooms all started with 3, so we came back down again and started walking along the corridor with the room numbers decreasing….until they suddenly started increasing again! Very confusing and I really think the receptionist (wish I had got his name) could have mentioned this. Found 225, opened the door and were greeted firstly by the most overpowering and unpleasant smell of mould and drains. Lovely. The room was also dark and tiny with a view of a wall. So disappointing. My mother was trying to get into room 227 but her key didn’t work. As we had to go down to reception to resolve this I thought I would also ask why we had ended up in this hotel and not San Remo. The explanation offered by the (same) receptionist was ridiculous. OK, so they are a complex and you can use the facilities in both, I understand that (although it hadn’t been made clear anywhere when booking, I had a vague recollection of reading about it on Tripadvisor), but why bother to call them different things and allow guests to choose between them?? He told us that there were no single rooms available in the San Remo. Erm, the one room we had seen so far (and indeed every room we experienced or saw as we passed by) had, as is usual in these hotels, 2 single beds pushed together. How is that a single room??? Upon questioning what constituted a single room we got no satisfactory explanation. We then asked what the situation would be if we wanted to upgrade, apparently this would not be possible. I mentioned the view and room were horrible, apparently this was what the single rooms were like. We left very unsatisfied by the explanations and his attitude, but with a key which worked for room 227. Imagine our surprise then when we opened the door to “single” room 227 to find exactly the same bed configuration but a MUCH bigger and lighter room with a bay view (NB a review a couple down from this stayed in room 227 as a couple, how odd…..). Realising the explanation we had received was total BS we went back down to ask if there was another “single” room like this as 225 was frankly unacceptable. We ended up with 127 which was the same as 227, with a slightly more pungent odour. Other points about the hotel;

• The food is really not good, extremely bland, boring and unappetising. The staff really struggled to keep things topped up, especially at breakfast and were not pleasant. This was in October, God help them in August. The restaurant in S’estanyol was like a school dinner room, the one in San Remo was slightly better. The alcohol was fine and, for once, the spirits did not seem to be watered down. The snacks were minimal and it was not clear what was on offer and how it should be ordered. It was all available at the bar, there was no separate snack bar.
• The pool is a joke. Tiny and an extremely odd shape, no wonder everybody resorted to the sea. The one in San Remo was not much better. There is hardly any space for sun loungers at either place. Everything (entertainment etc) happens in San Remo.
• The reception staff were not friendly and a girl had to complain several times about water flooding her room (327, also looking at the review about 227 this seems to be a problem in those rooms and room 227 had a lot of mould near the bathroom ceiling) so they were not efficient either.
• The housekeeping was ok but nothing (towels, soap etc) were no replenished. I also found it odd that they provided a toothbrush and toothpaste but no shower gel. All you got was a sachet of shampoo (just about enough for 1 wash) and a bar of soap. In the days of hand luggage only flights and the ridiculous 100ml restrictions on liquids I would have thought a bottle of shower gel would be very much appreciated by 95% of their guests.
• The air con does not work if you have the balcony door open. Very clever but it would have been good if there had been any mention of this within the room!

Having said all of this, we got a very good deal on this hotel so I have reflected this in the rating I have given it. It is in need of some TLC and some staff who care, both about the hotel and the guests. The way the rooms are sold also needs to be made clearer, why give people a choice of hotel if you can be allocated to either regardless of what you booked??

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_SR_E, Gerente at Hotel S'Estanyol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Beeza

First of all, thank you for your extensive review, we appreciate your comments, but we must clarify some points.

San remo-S'estanyol hotel is a complex and can be allocated in any of the buildings, as you said you had booked two single rooms and were given two doubles, like an up-grade.

Once again sorry if your stay was not pleasant, we take note of your requests and invite you to come next year.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

from what I can make out 90% of guests get bumped to the sister hotel next door, estanyol, well this place is just plain awful! - food is cold, and below any standard that would be described as acceptable. bland, boring, repetitive. was cold every day even when you were first in at the start of service. fresh cooked meat was as tough as old boots. only acceptable food was kebab night, and the meatballs. as for snacks, the only "HOT" snack which is in no way hot!, is a hotdog. apart from that its a selection of dried biscuits and cake. the very worst all inclusive I have every experienced. the only saving grace was the alcohol!! - there was plenty of it and even tho it all inclusive stops at 11pm nothing stops you stocking up 10+ before then :) - the wifi... well if you want to pay 40 euro`s for the slowest wifi in the world then your good to go!.. apart from that there are plenty of bar`s offering free wifi. and can highly recommend Donnegens which is just up the road, has high speed wifi and the food is AMAZING! the staff are extremely friendly and its just a good place to sit and chill. - the only purpose for this hotel is for groups of people who want a basic room to crash in if your getting hammered every night. if you have a family FORGET IT! - if you want to swim in the pool - FORGET IT! - if you have booked RE THINK! - even if you got this on the cheap, its not worth it... pay extra and get somewhere with edible food, real snacks, and a pool that's not more like a garden pond than a pool. SERIOUSLY - AVOID AT ALL COST - we spent 7 days there flying back sat 14th. and if we could have gone home on the Wednesday or swap hotel we would have. the only shame is that we met a really nice girl on our last night, the only person we actually had a decent conversation with called michelle I think it was who worked for m@recr@ft, gave me some real good advice on my diet! (if you read this and remember me and the mrs I was 11lb not 2st like I thought!!) if you fancy a chat drop us a email with your FB details @ ukmr2@hotmail.com)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren_Mandy_Pullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

have just returned after a brilliant holiday, what a view from our 1st floor room, the whole hotel was so clean in gleamed, reception on arrival was great, the bar and restaurant staff also great as was everyone else. food was good always something to enjoy only down side was not warm enough but there was a good microwave so all ok. cannot understand why people moan about here. you couldnt get any closer to the sea and the views were wonderful, we met many nice people here as well which always helps. shame there was no entertainment only a load of rubbish at san remo , the only bad thing that everyone moaned about.

Room Tip: room 123 which was ours was great large with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slippers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_SR_E, Gerente at Hotel S'Estanyol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We appreciate this nice comment about our S’Estanyol hotel.

We are very happy to receive this kind of comments because allows us to check our work and it’s a huge motivation for improve day by day.

We are glad that you spent a good time in the hotel and you felt comfortable, because is our main goal.

We will consider your opinion about the entertainment, and will try to improve for next season.

Once again, thank you very much and we hope to see you again; our staff will be very happy to receive you.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Club S'Estanyol October 1st - October 5th 2013 on an All Inclusive basis.

Things I wanted to know, but struggled to find out before arrival.

1) Taxi from Ibiza Airport to San Antonio Bay and vice versa - no more than 30€ Roughly half an hour transfer time.

2) Bus from Ibiza Airport to San Antonio Bay and vice versa - 3€ Per person. 30-40 minutes transfer. An hourly service each way the L9 drops you two hotels away from the S'Estanyol.

3) Is there wi-fi? No - dreading my phone bill.

The review:

The hotel has a variety of guests, from the drunken 18 year old doing shots of tequila at the bar to the elderly gent, who would be seen with his daily whiskey at the poolside.

On arrival we were promptly checked-in, the chap on reception was friendly and answered any questions we had, we were checked into Room 227.

Trying to find our room was admittedly a bit of a mission to start with. The instructions of "down the corridor, take the lift to the second floor and then right" left us a little bewildered when we eventually made our "right" turn. The room numbers don't tally to start with, but, if you carry on walking through the "rabbit warren" you will get to your room.

The room was small, basic BUT clean, TV, safe and off our balcony we had a bay-view. The balcony was small and private - however, you could see straight into the neighbouring hotel and their guests bathroom if their window was open - not a pretty sight first thing in the morning. The bathroom was a good size, jacuzzi bath with shower above, large mirror, hair dryer and again CLEAN towels.

We only stayed in Room 227 one night as the bathroom above started leaking into our bathroom and into the entrance of our room. The staff sent hotel maintenance quickly and moved us to a new room.

Our 2nd room 407 as above only large plus an additional sofa. The balcony again private, large with a view to die for - an ocean, beach and bay view.

Food at the hotel was fine, breakfast consists of either your typical continental or an "English Breakfast" - there is a hot drinks dispenser, so if you need coffee in a morning, I would avoid at all costs (Awful) and has a good selections of teas and soft drinks.

Lunch usually consists of fries, lasagna, rice, salad bar and a hot grill at the front where the chef will cook to order fish / chicken dependant on what is on offer at the time.

Dinner - again, fries, salad, pasta, curries.

I can't say I had the most amazing food there, but it fed me and I wasn't ill - so that is the main thing.

The bar tends to be the top of everyone's list whilst stopping All Inclusive - the draft at the hotel is "Estrella" (available internationally). The booze is NOT watered down. The bar also has fresh coffee - so better than in the restaurant / buffet area.

Staff could be a little short at times, but it's ibiza, and in October they're probably ready for the season to be over and not have to deal with drunken louts.

The hotel was quite, on occasion it got a tad noisy due to people walking on the beach drunk - but let's not forget, this is IBIZA and does get loud.

I've never stopped in a 3* before and any preconception I had was shattered. Would I go back? Yes - maybe not All Inclusive, but if the price was right, it's worth it for the alcohol alone.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheManWhoKnewItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_SR_E, Gerente at Hotel S'Estanyol, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Themanwhoknewltall,

Thank you very much for this nice and massive comment.

The only thing we should point out is that we have free wifi, but only at the bar area at San Remo bar.

Once again we want to thank you for your nice review about us.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#13 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
#2 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#51 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartahotel San Marino
Apartahotel San Marino
#4 of 16 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
#43 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Playasol Riviera
Apartamentos Playasol Riviera
#50 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel S'Estanyol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel S'Estanyol

Address: C/ Cala de Bou, 28 | Bahia de San Antonio, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: £33 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel S'Estanyol 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located on the seafront of the San Antonio Bay, 25 minutes from the airport and 17 km from the centre of Ibiza. In addition, the centre of San Antonio is only 4 km away. Rooms: The establishment has single and double rooms. They are equipped with a full bathroom, hair dryer, air conditioning, plasma TV with satellite service, free safe, and balcony. Some have views of the sea. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults and one pool for children with a lounge chair area and direct beach access. Possibility to use the gym located in Hotel San Remo. Breakfast buffet (8:00 am to 11:00 am), lunch (1:30 pm to 3:00 pm), and dinner service (7:30 pm to 9:30 pm) are carried out in the restaurant of Hotel San Remo. Drinks are served in the bar by the pool from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm, and the Hotel San Remo bar (10:00 am to 11:00 pm), where warm snacks are served from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm, may also be used. Services: The reception desk is open 24 hours a day and offers the possibility of purchasing tickets for clubs, excursions, and sports activities. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Guests will be able to enjoy the entertainment and varying events carried out at Hotel San Remo. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. The All-Inclusive service allows guests to enjoy the restaurant, bar, and snack services during the above-mentioned hours. It includes warm and cold dishes from the restaurant and snacks as well as non-bottled soft drinks, juice, water, draught beer, hot drinks, house wine and domestic spirits (well), and ice cream served at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Grupo Playa Sol, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel S'Estanyol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Estanyol Hotel
Hotel S'Estanyol Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing