We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of THB Ibiza Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
THB Ibiza Mar
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at the Ibiza mar for a week at the end of September.. The hotel is definitely an 18-30 which didn't bother us at all as most nights we were coming back to the hotel in the early hours.
The only great thing about the hotel is the location - close by to restaurants and shops and about 10 minute walk to the strip.
The rooms definitely need refurbishing! Our rooms were crawling with ants - we reported this to reception and was handed ant spray - feel they could have done more, seemed the staff didn't really care even though this is basic cleanliness.
One of the nights we had a group of lads walk into our room whilst we was sleeping - they was given keys by reception and told they were staying in our room - I'm thankful we were in as they could have helped theirselves to any of our belongings - we again had to complain to reception staff about this as the following day we were locked out of our room as our keys had been cancelled.
Can't comment in the pool area or food as we used he beach everyday and ate out.
Rooms were cleaned once and had to repeatedly ask for fresh towels as the ants got to them.

I'm not fussy and know you get what you pay for as this was a cheap deal for us but the problems we had was basic cleanliness and service issues.

Personally would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    113
    101
    50
    70
See reviews for
38
93
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was my 6th time in Ibiza, and only the third occasion I havent stayed at the excellent Marina Playa which is making a transition to be more family orientated. Ibiza Mar suited us to an extent, we never got hassled about noise, but then there's enough of it coming from the poolside with their speakers turned up full whack playing rubbish like Hardwell. Bar staff are far from pleasant also. We never got hassled by cleaners - never got the apartment cleaned by them either. Twice, we had to request they come in, and even then they didnt do a great job. There's little/no security at this hotel, which is cool if you want to bring mates back to party, but not so cool when there is a facebook page set up accusing the staff of being thieves, detailing break ins. There's a Spar right at the front door (with a lovely girl called Jessica doing the till at night, but if you fancy your chances be discreet, there is a very protective older guy almost always nearby who claimed she was his wife. I found out later this was nonsense) and a good selection of greasy spoon restaurants as well (pizza, english/american, inidian, kebabs). Great steakhouse at the top of the street, and a beach just across the road. Great location and a good shout if you just want somewhere to toss your bags and get rinsed in between club visits, but not somewhere I'd be taking a family.

Room Tip: one that isnt facing the pool might be better if, like me, you catch up on your sleep during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeDeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Before I left for my stay at the ibiza mar I read some atrocious views on here and was pretty terrified I was going to be robbed and be forced to stay in filthy conditions however I would like to point out to everyone reading this to NOT listen to these people talking rubbish. The hotel is absolutely fine and if you're careful with your belongings they will not get nicked i.e. USE THE SAFE! Anyone looking for a cheap stay in ibiza this is the place. BOOK IT!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The room itself was not bad, the beds were what you could expect but the bathroom was pretty good. The balcony is well sized and the view could be better. But most hotels in Ibiza have a pretty poor view. Our room was quickly invaded by ants which stayed for the duration. We asked about three times in a four-night stay for the room to be cleaned but it never was. I've never stayed in a hotel where the room was not cleaned once. It was a bother. Don't go in with high expectations and you might find yourself somewhat pleased. It's suitable for a drinking holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I've recently come back from this hotel (2 days ago) and would never stay there again. The room was damp, moldy,very rarely cleaned with no iron facilities in the whole hotel. There was 3 of us sharing a room, we had to ask for new towels as it was the fourth day and nothing had been changed or cleaned. We went all inclusive for 6 days but for the duration of our stay we ate out most of the time as the food was abysmal, and would serve the same thing for lunch and dinner it was just ridiculous. I really ain't fussy when it comes to accommodation especially if its just a raving holiday like this one was but this hotel really is something else. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all!!! The only positive I can say is the reception manager is a very pleasant and polite man.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Don't take notice of the previous negative comments. Me and three friends stayed at THB Ibiza Mar for a week and couldn't fault it, probably worth more than we actually paid. Read previous comments stupidly after we booked it and we were all very nervous and anxious, but we were instantly proven wrong. The rooms were a lot bigger and than expected. As there was four of us sharing one room we thought it would be too small and cramped but it was very spacious. The room was only cleaned once during our stay, so sometimes had to sweep the floor ourselves. The only negatives we had was the lack of clean towels and sun loungers. You must be at the pool before 11 o'clock to get a sun lounger. The hotel staff were all very friendly and welcoming and would help you with anything. Compared to other hotels in San Antonio and the bay, THB Ibiza Mar was very easy going and laid back, There is no rules. Great location and only a ten minute walk to central San Antonio and the strip. A good variety of affordable restaurants and shops close by. A two minute walk to a taxi rank. Would definitely recommend for an 18-30 holiday. I will most likely stay at the Ibiza Mar apartments again. Worth every single penny you pay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy81293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned as a group of 4 lads (19 & 20) and was dreading visiting this hotel originally after seeing previous reviews. We checked in and the member of staff who did this was very friendly. However, not all the staff were very friendly, but hey ho... Got up to the room on the top floor and was very surprised. The room was perfect! Very spacious, bathroom was nice and looked recently refurbished, beds and sofa beds seemed comfy and good views from the balcony out over towards the town and bay and also, very clean! The room seemed fine and everything seemed to work fairly well. Safes cost 26 euros for the 7 nights, would recommend just to be on the safe side.
The pool area was nice enough too and clean... but yes the music could have been better and one or two staff members could have cracked a smile.
Location wise, it took about 15/20 mins to walk round to the west end, and that's without getting harassed to buy sunglasses!... And there were plenty of decent bars on the walk round.

Now... onto the food... I highly don't recommend unless you like cold chips, beans, "mystery meats" etc... We went all inclusive, mainly for the drinks which was fine. However, the food was definately another story. If you like school dinners, then you should be fine, but make sure you get food that looks cooked! Luckily, there were plenty restaurants outside the hotel as well as the Spar so you can't go without.

Would not recommend to anyone over the age of 30 and not for families either!
Overall a fairly good stay at Ibizamar and would possibly return again, but not on all inclusive.

Room Tip: request a room on the top floor for some of the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martynos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.3 mi away
THB Ocean Beach
THB Ocean Beach
#19 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol House Ibiza mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Sol House Ibiza mixed by Ibiza R...
#11 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#5 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tagomago
Hotel Tagomago
#30 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#2 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Ibiza Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Ibiza Mar

Property: THB Ibiza Mar
Address: C/ Mostoles, s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Ibiza Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 104 completely refurbished apartments with complete bathroom, terrace, kitchen, air conditioning, safety deposit box, telephone, satellite TV, microwave oven, and lounge with the majority offering view of the sea. There is also a bar, lounge with television and internet connection, gardens, playground and mini-club, swimming pool, solarium, billiards, courtesy rooms and luggage storage room, table tennis, mini-club, games, supermarket and souvenir shops next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Ibiza Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb Ibiza Mar Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Ibiza Mar
THB Ibiza Mar Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing