We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartahotel Monterrey
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
AxelBeach Ibiza(Sant Antoni de Portmany)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Playasol San Remo(Sant Antoni de Portmany)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Els Pins Resort & Spa(Sant Antoni de Portmany)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel S'Estanyol(Sant Antoni de Portmany)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
azuLine Hotel Bergantin(Sant Antoni de Portmany)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Tagomago(Sant Antoni de Portmany)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol House Ibiza by Melia(Port d'es Torrent)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Rosamar Aparthotel(San Agusti des Vedra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
THB Naeco Ibiza(Sant Antoni de Portmany)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
68
121
81
65
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
121
81
65
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy roomfresh towelsthe main stripquiet locationcleaned every daykitchenettepacha
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Firstly let’s start with the location. (Now to be fair this is our own fault as we didn't check), it is located in a baron wasteland atop of a steep, dangerously unlit hill in the middle of nowhere. I run half marathons regularly and "Monterrey Mountain" was an absolute pain.
The rooms are a DIY enthusiasts dream. There was a plug socket hanging off the wall with exposed wires hanging lose, holes in the ceiling, cracked plastering, paint peeling off the walls... If you do you like DIY bring a wrench with you as well, because it is impossible to turn the taps in the bathroom completely off without one. We had a lovely basement apartment, which gave us fantastic views of the overflowing drains, the crumbling outside walls abandoned building equipment. It also gives you great views of the local wildlife, we saw two large rats regularly running past in the hedges above us (remember the ground floor flats are actually below level), and we had an ant infestation on the "balcony" all week, so we got to make some new animal friends.
To describe this hotel as noisy is an understatement. Not noise from guests, who were all lovely, but noise from staff CONSTANTLY banging doors, moving shopping trolleys up and down inside and out. I've seen pieces of A4 paper thicker than the "walls" at Monterrey. The anorexic walls also let you hear every time the person above uses the shower or toilet, in every detail, followed by ten minutes of ear shattering pipework noise. The pipes constantly make noise 24/7 anyway, so it's a nice change to hear the person above you going to the toilet every now and again. We awoke every morning to woodlouse in the bathroom which was lovely as well.
Ah yes, Monterrey is self catering. If you mean a gas canister with a makeshift hob on the top is self-catering. There was a TV, but no remote so couldn't turn it on. The staff were hit and miss, when we asked to move room we were told abruptly "no" then the woman carried on talking to her friend behind reception, the man on the nightshift was friendly though. Even though it's supposed to be a budget hotel, the food and drink prices were extortionate. They know they have you over a barrel because everything is that far away, so you pay through the nose for a bottle of water or a drink at the bar. The food was a microwave in the bar that you have to pay to buy a packet of rubbish from then cook yourself, so I guess it's self catering in every sense eh. All in all, AVOID AVOID AVOID.

Room Tip: If you find yourself here, pay to move to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this hotel last minute with two other friends. I have to say I was nervous after reading a couple of reviews here however all that changed on arrival. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room itself was very clean, spacious, mini kitchenette with utensils. Towels were provided everyday along with shampoo and shower gel/soap. Great power shower!! There is a luggage room where you can leave your luggage when you check out. We had a late night flight so left our luggage during the day and they let us use a shower room free of charge. It was a very pleasant stay and find it very difficult to find something to complain about. Just returned to the UK very happy and impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nav001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

had a lovely pleasant stay. clean hotel, fresh towels and room cleaned everyday. friendly staff. 10 minutes from shops and beach. would go again. lovely pool area, with separated bit for the little ones and a lifeguard on hand throughout the day. I would also recommend the pint pot just down the road cheap and cheerful free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were a little bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised when we got there. The staff were more than happy to help, the room was spotless, quite basic but did the job splendidly as we didn't spend too much time in the room anyway, was a 20 min walk form the hot spots and a 8 min walk to the beach where you can get the water taxis over to main strip. The walk back is down a darkish road, however, it's not scarey or intimidating in anyway. I'd stay there again.

Oh only downside, you have to push singles beds together when your in a couple because they don't do double beds

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

After reading various reviews we were not sure what to expect.. As it was a cheap last minute deal we were not expecting amazing facilities so it wasn't too much of a shock to find the rooms/ hotel dated but more than adequate on arrival.

The rooms ( we were on the ground floor) were cleaned every day.. however the self catering facilities were not good- literally a sink ( uncleaned), a fridge/ freezer and two hobs- the kettle would of worked on the hobs.. if only the gas hob working.. we don't smoke..so couldn't light the gas hob...

The shower was literally a trickle and there was no light in the bathroom either.. though they came straight away to fix both problems- so the service was fine there..

The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels were also replenished which was also good.

The beds were very uncomfortable and we both woke up every morning with bad backs.

The pool was very nice and quite quiet until afternoon which was good... though we did play a game of pool in the pool bar- that was broken and we didnt get our money back...

This brings me nicely onto the two main negatives of the place... 1) The NOISE 2) The road

As it is ibizia you expect to be woken up through the night by clubbers.. we were.. but to be honest we werent bothered by this. The problem was the CONSTANT door slamming by the cleaners from the hours of 7am-11am. We were in the room right next to the entrance to the bar where they seemed to literally be in and out of every 2 mins... we basically had to sleep during the day!!

Lastly I would like to warn people about the road up to the apartments.. as we are both quite fit people we weren't too bothered about the walk down to the beach/ town when we arrived.. however- the nearest shop is 10 mins walk away- down a hill... which means carting your shopping up the hill... this is the same road that is in the middle of two wasteland areas.. with no shade during the day and no lighting at night.We initially walked up the road once on the first night in the dark but it was pretty scary- even for my 6ft fella.. however on the second night we were about to walk up when we saw a car and a motorbike ( who had obviously seen us ready to walk up the road) slow down, pull into the wasteland and turn off their lights... needless to say- we got a taxi every night after this... 5euro is better than getting mugged in my eyes!. it also looked like various drug deals were going on down there too- so please be careful round there. I dont think its safe!

Room Tip: Not next to the bar on the ground floor- the bar isnt open late but the door slamming will wake you up!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillybobs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews