We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem”
Review of Sa Cova Winery

Sa Cova Winery
leics
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what a gem”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

5 top quality wines to try and a resturant with amazing views out over the hills. Expensive food but wirth it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellerLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic gem”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Sometimes we have the good fortune to discover a gem that others have not yet. The "Cocina" at the Sacova Winery in Ibiza is just such a place. Although it is not officially called a restaurant what they offer is more than any typical restaurant does. Besides outstanding lunches and dinners they offer wine tastings paired with local cheeses and or food. Although in the country and a bit difficult to find the food is exquisite and absolutely worth the effort. It is 'de mercado', what is available fresh from the markets and growers locally along with fish, seafoods and local meats. The two chefs - Andre and Octavio - brothers who grew up in Venezuela and studied cooking in Barcelona - are skilled and loving cooks who are committed to you having a memorable meal. Everything is prepared in-house including all the breads and desserts. The wine is from the vineyard and aged in the cellars below the restaurant. (You can request a tour.) And the attention is unparalleled. An unpretentious gem that you should definitely visit when you are in Ibiza. Seek them out. You won't be sorry.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dante55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A serendipity lunch and afternoon”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Even though we have been visiting the island for more than 20 years, an overcast day saw us exploring the island when we chanced upon Sa Cova. Driving up to the vineyard we saw mature olive trees with an age of 1000 years +.
Our welcome was gracious and hospitable as we were offered a wine tasting for €15 per person which included four glasses of wines and home baked bread with oil and Parmesan cheese. The service was quick with a delightfull and informative waitress. The white (blanco) wine (2102) came from the Spanish grapes Malvasia and Macabeo, the rosado (rose 2012) from the Ibizican grape Monastrell and the vino tinto (2 x reds) Monastrell, Syrah and Merlot grapes (2010) and then (2009) Syrah and Monastrell.
Having enjoyed this experience so much we decided to stay for lunch only to discover that the chef (Ferran Adbia) had worked in the kitchens of El Bulli Barcelona. The fresh fried pulpo (octopus) was devine. For €18 person this huge platter contained octopus that melted in your mouth, potatoes cooked in oil fragrant with local herbs and locally grown peppers. Coffee and brandy finished the afternoon and meal to perfection. Our meal was on a first storey balcony over looking an old finca and wooded mountain alongside the grapevines and courtyard. On the ground floor the wines may be purchased - the white wine for €11 and the best red wine (of three varieties) for €13.50. As the lunch time session became busy even the chef was seen serving and moving tables! Am looking forward to revisiting this wonderful place many times in the future. A great find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, informative tour, good value”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Visited Sa Cova with my partner and our children. We were given a relaxed and informative tour by the owners son, then tasted four of the wines. The location is beautiful and peaceful, and the wines were good too. Well worth a visit - call them on the number shown on their website to arrange a time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“beautiful and different experience in the heart of Ibiza”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

went to this beautiful winery in Ibiza with my wife for wine tasting. Property is beautiful, hard to find but well worth the drive. For 12 EUR / person you get to taste 4 wines and a tapa, apart from the very detailed winery tour given by the owner. Wines are available for purchase at the property and are priced pretty reasonable

well worth the trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AND170282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sa Cova Winery also viewed

Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza
 
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza
 

Been to Sa Cova Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing