We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exquisite I loved my stay thank you to your staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“exquisite I loved my stay thank you to your staff”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

It's the second time in Ibiza first time was bellamar 4 star and now this one two years later marina playa got it spot on!! 100000000% just bar manager a little out of place in such a fantastic hotel not the bald guy the one with glasses beyond that the rest was like a dream!!! Ibiza thank you this hotel is fully booked up already next year good luck booking!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StokyeGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    160
    39
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
230
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Have just returned back from a week staying in Marina Playa - we had booked the hotel for ourselves & 30 friends as we where getting married in nearby Cala Tarida. Having booked some time in advance, and read some of the more recent reviews I was a little concerned before we arrived - however from the moment we arrived all the negative comments where blow away.

The hotel itself has recently been refurbished and is clean, stylish and exactly what we where looking for. The reception area is cool & calm and as soon as we arrived we where given some complimentary chilled mineral water and checked in rapidly. our rooms where not ready however the team took our bags and within the hour our rooms where ready.

The rooms are as the website defines with our family room having more than enough space for us & our 2 children and a nice surprise was that we had 3 huge balconies. Our room was sufficiently cleaned once a day (with fresh towels & sheets!) which for an apart hotel in Ibiza was a nice surprise.

What really made our stay great was the staff from the cleaners right up to the duty manager - every single member of the team made us & our guests feel special, even more so when they found out we where due to get married on the Island this week. Specific calls out to Sergio in the bar & Juan on reception / bar who could went out of their way ensure we where fed & watered all day.

The pool bar is cool & trendy with sunbeds & day beds ( 60 Euro min spend) and the drinks / food is reasonable compared to other bars / hotels on the island. The food in the bar was also much better than expected and would recommend the pizza's and salads washed down with a Mojito & Pina Colada.

The hotel is far enough away from the carnage of the west end but close enough (6 euro taxi ride) to the sunset strip so best of both worlds - if you are planning a stay on the island and want a cool, chilled out place to stay that is clean & welcoming then defo look to stay here, our kids loved it! We will be back here when we return next year for sure.

Room Tip: Get one bed apartment with sea view & request non-ground floor - rooms are still good but you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealAndyDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaServitur, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I wish you had a great time during your wedding. What a treat to read your detailed review and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests at Marina Playa. The team and in particular are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us .
Your observations, recommendations and feedback are much appreciated.
Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our Island again in the near future, perhaps for your anniversary.
Warm regards,
María Sánchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a long weekend as a small group of three friends. Upon arrival we were immediately impressed. The reception and pool area was clean and beautifully decorated, and the hotel was at no point overcrowded. We were able to go to our room early and we took the opportunity to get changed and head straight down to the pool. Never a scramble for sunbeds and we ordered the most delicious cocktails we have ever had. A perfect mojito, daiquiri and caipirinha. The rooms were clean and again modern crisp decor. Ever member of staff we encountered could not do enough for us. We ate at the hotel on the terrace and at the bar/restaurant downstairs quite a few times during our stay and can honestly say the food was delicious, service extremely friendly and prompt and again staff were falling all over themselves to please you.

Literally over the road from the hotel is one of the most beautiful little beaches we can across during our visit, and we took boat trips and had several walks to coves and beaches in and around the bay and island. Beautiful clear waters, great snorkelling and never overcrowded it is definitely perfectly placed.

It's a wonderful hidden gem just a 15 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the main strip but far enough away to be wonderfully peaceful and the hotel doesn't seem to take large groups so it is very chilled with relaxing music playing on the terrace all day. We will definitely be back very soon, as friends and in respective couples too because it is a fantastic find if you want the Ibiza experience with a bit of added luxury and the chaos at arms length!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemmajoobjoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaServitur, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write a review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
María Sánchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel was a mixed bag. It appeared the hotel was managed by a man (blue shirt) who was more interested in running the bar outside than the hotel itself. This was evident in the fact the front desk was not constantly staffed and on numerous times the bar staff were sitting on the front desk (unable to speak english or assist with basic requests such as additional towels). The manager of the hotel needs to focus more on the hotel and keeping things running rather than what appears to be his pet project/boyhood dream of running a poolside bar and chatting with the DJ spinning the decks.

Also the hotel cleaners were extermely loud in the mornings at 9am yelling and dragging bags right in front of our door. So make sure to get a room high up and not on level 1. Additionally the room cleaning was poor in that soap and shampoo were not replaced and a remote control was missing from the room. We also found a dirty ripped towel on the table in our room on checkin...

However the rooms were clean, the location good, pool clean and wifi fast. To enjoy your stay you need to be demanding to the staff and will have to ask for expected things to be done.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room the sunsets are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinklove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaServitur, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Pinklove,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m happy to hear you liked the rooms, pool area, location and the cleaning service and WiFi connection.
The hotel property is working hard every year, to improve and achieve that our customers feel comfortable, improving our facilities and services. We are doing a great effort and we appreciate the comments that we have so it helps us to keep improving and to change those negative opinions into positive ones, and decide to come back.
I am certainly disappointed by the lack of cleanliness you experienced during your stay. I sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations.
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

María Sánchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for the weekend for my 35th birthday with my husband and I have to say I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Ibiza.

We were greeted by a very friendly man on reception who did not speak much English but never the less made check in a very simply and smooth process.

When we got to the room were delighted by how clean and spacious it was, in fact I would say it is one of the best self-catering apartments I have ever stayed in. The view from our first floor room was of the sea and pool area and was absolutely stunning.

The pool area itself is very clean and luxurious looking, with fantastic music playing all day, nothing heavy or too loud though. Free Wifi is available throughout the building including in rooms.

On the morning of my birthday, another staff member knocked on our door and fetched me a bottle of Moet and a note which they had printed off from my husband. They also fetched me a bouquet of flowers which the staff member had hand picked for me himself.

The location is great, only 10 minutes walk to the madness of San Antonio, but quiet enough if you just want to chill out.

The only downside was a group of girls staying here who thought it was acceptable to come in at 5.30am every morning shouting and screaming. It didn't bother me, this is Ibiza after all but there were a couple of families staying here with young children so to me this wasn't acceptable and perhaps they should have been asked by staff to keep it down.

Overall, a brilliant, clean apartment with excellent faciliti4es and very friendly and helpful staff members. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Ibiza.

Room Tip: Room 106 is Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 318Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLaren Vale
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From the moment we walked in we were delighted with this hotel. The décor of the reception, the rooms, and the pool terrace overlooking the sea is stylish, cool and up to the minute.
The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful. The DJ is excellent, and will do his best to play the type of music you request. Laid back chill out music is played by the pool all afternoon, and often there is live music at night. The sunset view is fantastic, and the DJ plays suitably dramatic music for sunset. We enjoyed watching the sunset here as much as at Café del Mar (which was our reason for coming to Ibiza). The clientele when we were there didn't appear to be the 'clubbing till dawn' varierty - clubbers want to be closer to the 'centre' - this hotel is in a much nicer area, and not noisy. Good restaurant and beach café opposite give variety.
The food in the hotel is excellent for what it is - don't expect a 4 star restaurant menu, that's not the vibe here. Just enjoy - it's impossible not to!

Room Tip: We preferred a room at the side, but most people would like the front, overlooking pool terrace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeldaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend and I were looking forward to staying at the Marina Playa because all of the reviews that we had read were so amazing.
Although we didn't have a sea view (we didn't know we had to book this in advance) we were more than impressed with the room, clean, bright, spacious and a huge balcony. In actual fact, to the right you could see the sea but it wasn't directly in front of us when we looked out. However, this wasn't an issue as the best place to be was on the hotel terrace by 8.30 pm to watch the beautiful sunset that San Antonio is so famous for. In the end we didn't even visit Café Mambo, or Café del Mar because we felt we had all we needed right where we were. The views were to die for and sipping a cocktail, listening to chilled out house music was by far a great way to start every evening. The vibe in the hotel is fantastic and all staff are really friendly and helpful. Throughout the day house music is played and it's really enjoyable, I never knew I liked House before I went but it made me feel upbeat, relaxed and the DJ was brilliant.

The food in the hotel is really good and not too pricey, I totally recommend trying the burger, it's homemade and whilst I would always say to try local food, if you're looking for a quick lunch, I bet you've never tasted a burger so good! Pizzas are brilliant too and sharing is a good option as they are big!

The hotel is situated in a fab location, to the right and a ten min walk is the crazy town and to the left about the same distance is quieter with other bars, I recommend the Irish bar! The West End is something else, totally packed, loads of bars but very young, not really our thing but worth a look at if you're interested. By 2am it's a bit of a meat market with teenagers everywhere and some not very nice views! Ibiza Rocks is a cool place though!

Some lovely restaurants around San Antonio and overall an amazing week away with my best friend! Would I go again? Yes! Would I stay at the same hotel? I wouldn't go anywhere else now!

A cool, classy and very current hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book a sea view in advance, especially in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#4 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#5 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
888 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol House Ibiza mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Sol House Ibiza mixed by Ibiza R...
#10 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#9 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
747 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments

Property: Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments
Address: Calle Sol Sortint s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Apartments Marina Playa is part of Typic Hotels Group. It is located in front of a beautiful beach. Es Puetó in San Antonio Bay. It is an adults only 4 stars hotel where you can rest and enjoy the sun and spectacular sunsets at its Aperture Terrace. It has every day music sessions by DJ Masyga, our resident DJ. Most of our studios have been refurnished during 2016 winter. We have redecorated the studios in an easy going and Mediterranean style. A trendy hotel where you can reconnect to things you like most. A place where our guests become friends and they enjoy their holidays getting to know themselves again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Playa Apartments Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Marina Playa Hotel & Apartments Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing