We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hostal Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
LEEDS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Our family has just returned after a week stay, we booked in the strength of the reviews and must say that they are all true. So as not to repeat what has already been said I will try to say what I found different to others.

The taxi cost 29€ from airport to door.

Ask for a map at reception this is essential as the hostel is so tucked away its hard to find.

Make use of the picnic for the beach the frozen water keeps everything cool and the baguettes are delicious.

The wifi works at the front patio but is best in the lounge. By the way the Lounge is why I named my review home from home. So many hotels around the world are Im personable but hostel Valencia is comfy and cosy complete with games to play and a well stocked book case and coffee table littered with magazines and plenty of sofa armchairs with tasteful soft cushions and furnishings.

The bedrooms are basic the bed was a little hard and the rubber covering a bit hot to lie on also there is very limited drawer space so we did live out if a suitcase. Only one bedside table (I pulled the chair up and improvised) at my side.


Certain that we did not need the safety deposit box as the reception is manned with expert observational skills of who's coming and going. But if like us, you opt to pay it costs 25€, which wasn't too harsh. However we got a FULL refund when we handed the key back- totally unexpected.

The food at the hostel is fab, but if you fancy a full English then just around the corner is a bar called. Home which I carnt praise highly enough. We found the best choice of tapas bars to be around the church which is easily found if you get the map!! Enjoy your stay we did.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsSarahLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    42
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
109
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Myself and 5 best friends booked the Hostal Valencia for a 4 night hen weekend in august this year. What can I say apart from it was perfect.
Our expectations were a little cautious as this is a "hostal" and only 2 stars. However, the rooms, although basic, were absolutely imaculate- and were kept so throughout our entire stay. We had triple rooms with pool views. A little shower room ensuite was included and the water was always hot and ready when we wanted. There were shutters on the windows which blocked out the sun - great for out post party lie ins. The air con had 3 settings and worked well throughout out our stay. Daily fresh towels - TV in the room but we never used it. Also the hair dryer was very good - not one of those shoddy small hotel ones that don't really work.

The staff were really friendly, the reception area was staffed 24-7 and they were always eager to help out with taxi's directions etc.

We ate breafast here each day - they served us even past the breakfast hours. The food was very reasonably priced and very nice.

The pool area was again lovely, well maintianed and always sun loungers free.

This is a very quite place - there were a few young groups, a family and some couples there whilst we were there. Even though we were a hen party we still wanted somewhere we could get some sleep and we did here.

its a 10 minute walk from the main strip and about 15-20 mins from the beach and the bay. It is a bit of a rabitt warren so I would recomend making a note of road names/landmarks to avoid a 25 minute detour that myself and one of my party had - but that was probably more down to our lack of a sense of direction then anything else.

All in all a great little place, excellent value for money and certainly somewhere we'd stay again and I would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Perfect, calm place for relaxation and hideaway for good value of money

We stayed there for 4 nights and regretted we had to leave.

Owner Fernando and his lovely family made our stay on Ibiza an unforgettable Holidays.

It's located about 10 minutes' walk from San Antonio terminal bus station, surrounded by old Spanish villas and far away from tacky bars and loud beach bars
.
Rooms are rather small but comfy, clean and well isolated from the eventual sounds from the pool side.

This place has a unique family run atmosphere, cute decoration, bar where you can get a beer, coke or water plus eat well breakfast and late lunch. We only regretted eating there pizza only once, it was homemade and delicious!!!

I would certainly recommend to couples, friends, mature people- lift in the Hostal, and solo travellers who seek for a calm, nice place far away from disco blast of the island.

Room Tip: Take a direct bus from the airport of Ibiza to San Antonio and from the terminal bus just walk 10 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brukselka1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I booked to stay here 3 weeks before arrival after reading the trip advisor reviews and i wasn't disappointed.

The hostal is similar to a small hotel by UK standards and is absolutely lovely. Family run, and the owners couldn't do enough for you.

My friend arrived before i did and had no problems checking in. The first nights accommodation is taken before arrival with the remainder being paid on departure.

The rooms were spotlessly clean - definitely the cleanest i have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The bathroom was small but adequate and the beds were comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Air conditioning was included in the price and was welcomed!

Food is served until 3.30pm everyday and we ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel which was freshly prepared and lovely. They also sell beer etc which at €2.50 a bottle was a bargain compared to some of the other prices we experienced on the island!!

The pool area was quiet which we loved, and we spent most of our holiday there.

I asked why it was a Hostal rather than a Hotel and was told that it has to have a certain amount of rooms (Hostal Valencia only has 21 rooms) and that the rooms do not have a telephone in, so therefore cant class themselves as a hotel. Interestingly it has so many more amenities than some actual Hotels that you really do get value for money staying here.

The Hostal is a 10 min away from the sunset strip and about the same into town and the West End. You can get the bus from the airport to here - no. 7 or no. 9 for €4 and walk the 7 min from the bus station or take a taxi which is about €35

The highest of praises for Hostal Valencia - i will definitely be coming back here.

Room Tip: Room 306 has a balcony and looks out over the road. Pool side rooms do not have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaLou1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If, like us you are looking to be close to the bars and nightlife but far enough away to enjoy a quite nights sleep are relax reading a book by the pool then this hostel is for you. You do have to walk a little to get in and out of the port, 10 minutes, so if walking is a problem be aware, however we enjoyed the walk and there are plenty of shops, bars & eateries during the the way where you can stop. We stopped for a drink on the way in to the port most times. It is a family run small hotel rather than a hostel in the English terms. The hotel and rooms are cleaned every day with clean towels. All the staff are happy and polite. It really made our holiday to be able to come back to the hotel and relax. Thank you all for such a lovely time and we will see you again when we return to Ibiza. Richard & Vanessa

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel which had a small balcony. The rooms at the rear of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

This hostal was beautiful, set back from all the madness. Everyone was so friendly, nothing was too much trouble & we really felt like a part of the family. Rooms were small but spotless & towels were changed everyday. It is in a residential area so we did find it a little tricky finding our way back after an evening out but taxicabs are plentiful & cheap. All in all, a lovely quaint hotel & ideal for quiet days after crazy nights. Do NOT be put off by the name Hostal, this is more like a small hotel - thoroughly recommended & we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudseyIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We've stayed at Hostal Valencia for 3 nights and even tough I didn't like it that much at first glance, I ended up loving it! The staff are really friendly and nice, it's a family business so you feel like home, great breakfast and tasty orange juice, it's a little far from the port (like 15 minutes) but walking Saint Anthony's streets is really nice.
I definitely recommend it for a few nights in S.Anthony. Just keep an eye on the taxis, they're really expensive so try taking a bus as there are many bus lines that take you to the airport/Eivissa.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarba
Hostal Tarba
#7 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#23 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ses Savines Hotel
Ses Savines Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#47 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Valencia

Property: Hostal Valencia
Address: Calle Valencia 23, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Valencia 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Valencia Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing