We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Staying at marco polo 1 at the moment. Great room friendly staff excellent 'no fuss ' attitude booking in. Better than expected n pleasantly surprised great central location n only 20 mins from airport

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juedropxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

After being let down to stay at a relatives we had to very quickly find another place to stay before we left UK. A friend and i stayed here 3rd week in June so was slightly cheaper than the following week. We only paid £75 each for 5 nights so wasn't expecting much.
On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and the hotel seemed rather clean and tidy. Our room was fairly small but didnt expect anything else. Again it was clean and tidy and the bathroom was nice and spacious! Had to pay for air conditioning and safe but that's usually the case with cheaper hotels.
We had half board included. Never made it up for breakfast but I wouldnt go back for dinner. It was ok but a lot of flies and very basic food. There's plenty of great bars and restaurants nearby to eat at.
The location is superb! An Aldi or Lidl just down the road and the beach and town a 5 minute walk away. Never made use of the pool as we just went to the beach but always looked busy.
It's also just behind Eden nightclub but i never herd any noise in the hotel. Nice and peaceful :)

Would definitley go back if i wanted a cheaper stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks after getting moved from mc2,was happy to move as the mc2 hotel had no balcony and was very dark all day as a result,mc1 had a large tv,nice size balcony and was much better overall,pay the extra few quid to stay here

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbymadnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I was offered this hotel last minute as my first booking was amended by booking.com so I accepted the change as the hotel looked fine. It was a lovely hotel in a great location [lidle 2 mins away and so much cheaper that the spanish shops]. The staff were great and could not do enough for me. However the mattress was soooooooo uncomfortable but they changed it straight away and although the place could do with a make over, it was basic and clean and 5 mins from the marina which was amazing. The staff gave me a room to shower in as I had a late flight on the day I left and even offered towels etc. will definately go again. ps the cafe opposite is basic but cheap and a nice place to start a night out from. ENJOY

Room Tip: all rooms have balconys but sadly not all have good views - check this out as some are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosep123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

As above, the hotel staff are all friendly, the hotel is outdated but it is only a 2 star cheap getaway so you can't complain. It was very quiet in the hotel but then we did go out of season.

My only complaint would be the showers have a mind of their own hot to cold in about 10 seconds its like dancing the waltz or something but we had a laugh and a joke about it.

It is in a great location in the west end 1 minute to shops and restaurants 2 minutes to all the bars which were closed when we went not good tut tut but that was our bad x

Room Tip: None of the rooms have great views, its over the roadside blocked by tall trees or poolside blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capoeiraking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have just come back from a week at the Marco Polo and although the location was great the hotel is just one step up from a Hostel!! The staff were ignorant and unhelpful. We were half board and the food was so bad we had to eat out, it wasn't fit for pigs!!
If you are only looking for hostel style accomodation and you don't want to sleep this will suit you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedavies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here basically the last week of the season, so the hotel was not full.
We were able to check in as soon as we arrived (2 hours before official check in time) The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with no exceptions.
The room was 413 (top floor on the side of the hotel) very clean, larger than expected with air con, tv and fridge. The shower temperature did vary while water was running, hot one minute cool the next.
Es Paradis and Eden were closed before we arrived but there was very little noise from the street through the night.
Pool area was great, and not at all crowded, though i suspect in season it would be a different story. The pool was clean and manned by a lifeguard from 10 am - 6pm every day. The pool bar was open similar hours and again the staff were very friendly and played music round the pool all day. They also have a docking station hooked up to speaker at the pool bar so you can play music from your phone if you ask the staff.
We stayed B and B and found the food of a really good standard, plenty of choice and kept at the right temperatures. Dining area was very clean, and we had breakfast outside most days.
The hotel is a 2 minute walk to Lidl, where they sell wine at 1 euro a bottle, beer at 25 cents a can (for 5% lager) and bake fresh bread daily. Great for stocking up the fridge in the hotel room.
Very close to the west end and easy walking distance to sunset strip, and Es Paradis and Eden are literally next door. A great break in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor have larger balconies, but top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecksCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.5 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#51 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo II
#72 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel S'Estanyol
Hotel S'Estanyol
#29 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apartahotel San Marino
Apartahotel San Marino
#4 of 15 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#53 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
263 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
Hotel Playasol Mare Nostrum
#18 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I

Address: Avenida Portmany s/n, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: £34 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The hotel is located 300 m from the beach, at the heart of San Antonio, not far from the highly-visited West End area and the well-known Café del Mar, Mambo, and Savannah. The establishment is 15 km from the city of Ibiza and 21 km from the airport. Rooms: The hotel has single and double rooms, and they are equipped with a full bathroom, air conditioning, satellite TV, a free safe, and a balcony. All rooms in the establishment have new furniture. Facilities: The hotel has one pool for adults in a large green area with many trees, lounge chairs, umbrellas, and Balinese beds, as well as a snack bar open from 11:00 am to 7:30 pm. The hotel has a gaming area with arcade games, a ping pong table, a pool table, and porterage service. The breakfast buffet service takes place in the restaurant from 8:00 am to 11:00 am. Services: The reception desk is open 24 hours a day and offers the possibility of purchasing tickets for clubs, excursions, and sports activities. Check-in begins at 2:00 pm and check-out is at 11:00 am. Free Wi-Fi, both in the rooms and in the common areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Grupo Playa Sol, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo i Hotel
Hotel Playasol Marco Polo I Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing