We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Estudios Tropicana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the Tropicana Studios from 29th May till 5th July. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned every other day. The room was basic but absolutely perfect for what we needed it for. It was quiet enough if you fancied a chilled night out, but was close enough to experience all the nightclubs if you wanted to. The hotel staff were polite and could never do enough for you. The bar staff were fantastic and made the best jugs of sangria and cocktails and snacks if you wanted them.
There was a fantastic water taxi that left on the hour and half past the hour every day that picked you up from San Antonio Bay and took you straight over to San Antonio Beach right in the thick of it this was 3.50 Euro Each.
The disco bus was 6 Euro return and picked you up from San Antonio bus station (behind plastik) and took you to all the clubs on the island. It was pretty hectic at times but deffo an experience!!
We went self catering and there were plenty of supermarkets around to buy supplies (id recommend the Suma supermarket that was a left turn out of the hotel and to the end of the road rather than the small spar as its a lot cheaper) There were plenty of restaurants to eat at on the strip to the right of the hotel. I would personally recommend the Chinese (their 27 Euro deal - you had absolutely loads and served 2/3).
I cannot recommend this hotel enough and cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were a lot quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just returned yesterday from these apartments. What a treat to stay in a lovely quiet area with really clean well cared for apartments and staff who cant do enough for you. They were all so polite and friendly and nothing was too much bother. They were situated about a five minute walk from plenty of shops and restaurants, however if you wanted the biz of the bay area, 3 euros got you a water taxi. we did this twice and were fortunate to see the sun setting on our return, absolutely beautiful sight. We took a taxi from the airport and to return 25 euros each way which was good value for money. On arrival at the hotel I asked for a pool view so had to wait a bit for it getting ready, but was encouraged to use he facilities while waiting. The apartment was spacious with a two ring cooker and microwave. We hired a toaster and were charged 10 euro which was returned on our departure. Safe deposit is 18 euro with 3 returned on departure. this is inclusive of a weeks stay. All in all I would definately return I've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels and felt just as comfortable in these Thank you so much

PS Ive written in the Ibiza forum about a bar near here called the Old Tavern and would ask people to read it and then decide if they would want to frequent a place which encourages racist comments from its entertainment staff

Room Tip: We had room c11 which looked over the pool and was a sun trap all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We are a young couple in our twenties and stayed at the Tropicana apartments in June 2013 we wanted to stay somewhere quiet if we wanted a chilled night but also near enough to do the big clubs.
APARTMENT - the apartment was clean and tidy and we could see the sea from our balcony. There was a two ring electric hob, a microwave and a fridge if you wanted to do any cooking. The apartment was cleaned every 2 days with towels and bedding changed. There was a pool bar that served food and drinks that were reasonably priced and the staff that worked there were really friendly, most of them spoke quite good English. The reception desk was manned 24 hours a day - the bloke who did the night shifts was an absolute legend. There was a good mix of people when we stayed - families, groups of young and older people and there was a relaxed atmosphere around the pool.

LOCATION - We wanted to stay somewhere close to the lively area's but far enough way from all the noise to get some decent sleep. The apartments were just off the main strip of san antonio bay and abut a 15 minute walk to the ferry boat that takes you into san antonio which cost 3 euros pp.It was around 9 euros for a taxi into/ back from san antonio. We went to Amnesia and Privilege (free bus from san antonio or could get the disco bus for 3euro) and a taxi back was 20 euros. Es Paradis, Eden and Ibiza Rocks Hotel are all in San Antonio and were pretty easy to get to as the ferry ran into the night. The bus services were good and there were regular buses to Ibiza town. We went on the ferry ride(20 euros pp) to Es Cana to visit the hippy market which was worth seeing, however it took 4 hours to get there (8 hours round trip). We got the bus back which cost around 7 euros each and took 45 mins! I would advise to check out the bus route prior to booking any excursions by boat, unless you really love going on a boat. You can get to the other end of the island like sant eulalia but there are only a few services a day so need to plan it before going. The apartments are about a ten minute walk to Kamhara's bar which is a sunset bar in san antonio bay that is just left from hotel fiesta milord. This was our favourite bar that we went to (more chilled that mambo and cafe del mar) and is definitely worth a visit.

One thing I would say is to always check out where the free bus is picking you up if you get this in with your ticket, we missed 1 bus for privilege and then there wasnt another bus so ended up getting a taxi. The buses are not allowed to stop outside the clubs on the strip and go from either opposite plastik or the bus station so its worth checking to make sure you dont miss it.

We would definitely stay at these apartments again to see that side of the island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We are a family ageing from 3 months to 80 and have just got back from staying at Estudios Tropicana. If I went back to San Antonio I would go back to this hotel. Our request for ground floor apartments was met (a first!) and a cot was already in the room. The rooms are spotless and are cleaned and towels changed every other day. Having aircon in the room is a massive plus and the self-catering facilities are OK but we didn't use them much as the pool bar is so reasonably priced and does good food. Kettle and toaster available upon request from reception. Good sized balcony. 10min walk to the beach and 5mins to the bars/shops/restaurants. Good Sumo supermarket just up the road. We got woke up one night when a rowdy group came back but that would be expected wherever you stayed in San Antonio. We all loved it here and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, this side of the hotel is also a sun trap late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

- SERVICE -

Top service, all staff were happy to help. Our flight was cancelled and when on return to the hotel they were able to accomodate us no problem. There is WiFi within the hotel but at a cost. Make sure you use the correct change as the machine does not give change, I found this out after putting E20 in. A hairdryer is available from reception at no cost.

- VALUE -

You get what you pay for. If you are expecting glamour and high quality then you won't find it here. I'd liken it to an Ibizian Travelodge; basic, clean, and does the job.

- SLEEP QUALITY -

We had a rear facing room, the appartments opposite had people returning on a few occasions in the early hours with some shouting/banging. Tropicana walls and doors are quite thin, meaning you can sometimes hear people in the next room and in the corridor outside.

- CLEANLINESS -

Rooms are cleaned every two days, not every second day. This includes making beds, new towels and emtying rubbish. Tropicana in general was very clean.

- LOCATION -

Based in San Antonio Bay, Tropicana is away from the hustle & bustle of the West End. However, there is a mini strip within a 2 minute walk which has ample shops, resturants, and pubs. It takes approx 45 minutes to walk from this mini strip to the West End. You can take a few different buses to the West End from the main road by taking a left out of Tropicana. You can also take the number 9 from the airport which will drop you off right outside Tropicana. This costs E4 instead of E30 in a taxi.

- ROOMS -

The rooms were average. We had booked a double bed but were given two singles, these were easy enough to push together. The rooms have a balcony, good sized bathroom with shower, air conditioning, small table & chairs, sofa & TV. The only English speaking TV channel is BBC World News which becomes tedious after a while. The kitchen has a sink, microwave, fridge/freezer, hob with pans, cutlery and dishes. The kitchen does not come with a kettle or toaster, however I spied these within the housekeeping cupboard so not sure what the deal is there.

-RESTURANT -

No resturant as such but the poolside bar does icecreams, crisps, sweets, water, juice and some meals such as breakfasts, paninis, chips, etc. Not bad for a lunch. The main reception also sells sandwiches, crisps, sweets, water juice and beer. Madcow bar/resturant on the mini strip does pretty good pizzas.

- OVERALL -

If you are on a budget, but can push the budget a bit further then forget about the cheapest accomodation and pay a bit more for great value at Tropicana. It's certainly not a bad place to stay, and I'd recommend it for couples or small groups who want to goto Ibiza but without ending up in a hotel full of rowdy pissed up Brits.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view if you want to catch the sun all day and avoid potentially noisy late night retu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muzzdog3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Myself and my husband stayed there last week and were very impressed with how clean the communal area's were and it appeared the hotel had been recently decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we noticed it had been a few days since our room had been serviced and when we enquired with the manager she was very apologetic and had the cleaners sort it out straight away (after that our room was cleaned everyday).
The hotel is in a great location for being near to bars and restaurants but far enough away so you can get to sleep at night. We liked the Tavern bar which had a singer/comedian named Jackie most nights who was hilarious and the Boucala restaurant which did the best food we had all holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

sorry its late stayed in 2011.. august got to say the hotel very clean brilliant staff excellent location met some brilliant people the gardener kept the grounds and pool area very clean he is a great member of staff loved this hotel couldnt reccomend enough.. millenium bar just up the road brilliant carnt wait to return to ibiza

Room Tip: turn left at the top of the road turn left again big cheap supermarket better than the spar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa73x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
0.1 mi away
Marina Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
Marina Palace by Intercorp Hotel...
#4 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#52 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Palace Prestige by Intercorp Hotel Group
Marina Palace Prestige by Interc...
#2 of 2 in San Antonio Bay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartahotel Maritim
Apartahotel Maritim
#5 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Florencio Hostal
Florencio Hostal
#41 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartahotel Monterrey
Apartahotel Monterrey
#62 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estudios Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estudios Tropicana

Address: Calle Madrid 25 | Baleares, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: £36 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Estudios Tropicana 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartaments suitable for couples, familys and people who want enjoy a quiet and relaxing holidays.Far away from the noisy area but close to shops and leisure locals.Two minutes from the airport bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Estudios Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Estudios Tropicana Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing