We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Canyamel Park
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Canyamel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Myself, my husband and our 11 year-old daughter were looking forward to getting away from the more touristy spots on Mallorca and settled down for the resort of Canyamel on the north eastern coast of the island.
Even though it was the end of August, this resort gave a whole new meaning to the word 'quiet' and it resembled more a tired and what I'd call a 'ghost' resort, with run-down buildings, an incredibly 'empty' ice cream parlour and a very sad and boring evening scene and bars, which tried hard to put entertainment on, but with zero atmosphere and zero feedback from the clients, most of whom were Germans!!!
We stayed at an apartment part of a 3 star hotel complex and the highlight of the holiday was to have a free rooftop pool, only a flight of stairs away from our room! The apartment was ok, but the air conditioning was definitely not working properly. We were on half board and after day 3 of uninspiring and processed food, similar to school dinners, we decided to eat out to sample some of the local cuisine and to do this we had to go to the port of Alcudia!! By then, we were so glad of having rented a car and also pleased that we were only staying for a week instead of 2!!
This part of Majorca is almost exclusively full of German holidaymakers, which is no bad thing, if it wasn't for the fact that we felt distinctly ostracized (I'm a well behaved Italian and my husband is a civilised Welshman!) and the staff was not terribly friendly, apart from the ladies at reception. One thing that annoyed us about the hotel is that they kept on moving us to different tables for breakfast and dinner, until the point I demanded to see the dining room manager,who clearly did not know what he was doing!!
Overall it was a disappointing holiday, apart from the rooftop pool, a nice beach and sea and the only friendly waiter in the whole resort, who worked in the restaurant on the beach.
We will certainly not be going back there!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wildstreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2007

I visited the Canyamel Park hotel in September 2007 with my partner (we are in our late 20s). Upon arrival the hotel appartments were overbooked and they had to arrange for us to stay in another set of appartments over the road from the hotel (we received 30 Euros compensation for this).

I was disappointed to discover that the hotel appartments were 200 yards away from the the hotel complex. I felt that this was misrepresented in the literature that I received as I was under the impression that the appartments were withing the hotel complex. There is a small swimming pool on the roof of appartments that is very bare but serves a purpose. The swimming pool in the main complex is plenty big enough and there are lots of sunbeds (although I was slighly out of season so not sure in high season if there would be a scrabble for them).

The staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

The appartment itself was a nice size with a large balcony (unfortunately no nice view). The kitchen facilities were poor and you certainly wouldn't be able to cook a meal with the limited equipment provided (fortunately I prefer to eat out). There is a 7 day a week maid service so the appartment was always clean. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and I therefore struggled to sleep most nights. There is a television in the room that only has one English channel (CNN).

The area is extremely quiet with around 10 restaurants (of which 3 were busy). The area is predominately German therefore restaurants were catered towards them. The beach is only over the road from the hotel complex and it's very clean with two nice beach bars. There are two bars in the area both of which were empty every night.

There is entertainment for the children in the hotel on some nights but again this is catered towards German children which German songs and the entertainer speaking in German.

In conclusion, I feel that the although the appartments were acceptable and reasonably priced I won't be revisiting the appartments as the area was a bit of a let down. We run out of things tro do by the second night and it wasn't particularly 'Spanish' - no Tapas bars anywhere all Bratwurst!!!

I think an older couple might enjoy this resort if they are looking for early nights and no company.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fern02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SeMeVago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank wellenabreiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Juniosuiten sind im Neubau und wirklich empfehlenswert
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wolfgang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Eggfromthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canyamel hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 15 in Canyamel
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
#4 of 15 in Canyamel
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Canyamel Sun
Aparthotel Canyamel Sun
#9 of 15 in Canyamel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Can Simoneta
Hotel Can Simoneta
#2 of 15 in Canyamel
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Castell Royal
0.2 mi away
Apartments Canyamel Park
Apartments Canyamel Park
#11 of 15 in Canyamel
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canyamel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canyamel Park

Address: Calle Via Malasigeni s/n, 07589 Canyamel, Capdepera, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Capdepera > Canyamel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canyamel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canyamel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canyamel
Price Range: £73 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canyamel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canyamel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyamel Park Hotel Canyamel
Park Hotel Canyamel
Hotel Canyamel Park Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing