We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Canyamel Classic
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Canyamel
falkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

hotel clean and cared for.room very pleasant and a good size.facilities not bad with a very nice pool and also small indoor pool.staff for the most part were friendly and helpful although english not spoken well by some.most of the clientele were german and therefore entertainment (for what it was!) was aimed towards this. we were self catering and didn`t use the restuarant,although it looked ok.the room was equiped with a hob (but no oven),electric kettle,lots of utensils (though strangely enough no tin opener!) and fridge.bathroom clean and spacious.balconies at front and rear with nice outlooks.

  • Liked — great room with twin balconies.lovely pool.
  • Disliked — some language problems and not much in way of entertainment for british.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jat4dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    55
    46
    21
    13
See reviews for
84
44
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

This hotel is rated 4 star - I'm assuming this is a ghastliness rating

Decor - 80's, low budget - lots of grimy plastic chairs, cramped bedroom with teak furniture and orange (torn) curtains, faded, stained carpets. lots of cigarette smoke..

Atmosphere - downmarket, dominated by Germans, evening entertainment involving people wearing animal costumes shouting for applause every 20 seconds

Food - cheapskate main courses, generally lukewarm (regardless of whether the original intention was hot or cold), wide range of puddings, most apparently made from milk, sugar, gelatine and artificial colourings.

Drinks - completely self service (i.e no need to pay staff to serve drinks). This means evil-tasting "fruit juice" from a machine, ditto coffee, ditto fizzy drinks (with the added extra of flies sometimes feeding on the machine outlets.)

Facilities - Outdoor pool: OK, apart from the fact that it was situated in the hotel... Indoor pool: a freezing tank housed in a sort of conservatory thing with a small, smelly jacuzzi alongside.

Service - Ahem, where do I start. Don't think that anyone, apart from the cleaner, even managed to say "hola" during our stay. Reception specialised in dirty looks and curt responses. The remainder of the staff were seemingly unskilled workers hired at the lowest possible rate - i.e. plate and plastic cup clearers. I'm sure they were nice enough people, but nobody had told them about the importance of looking after customers.

We booked for 5 nights but, after 2, were desperate to escape. The place was utterly depressing,. We were finally allowed to leave after day two but had to pay for a full day (all inclusive) as a penalty. It was worth it!!! Unsurprising, when we checked out early, no one at reception even bothered to ask if we enjoyed our stay or had any problems....

We moved to the Riu Palace Bonaza Playa in Illetas, Palma which was also 4 star. This was the best decision we could ever have made. It was tremendous in every respect. If it is 4 star, then Canymel Classic is minus 2 star at best!!.

Do not go there.

  • Liked — The view when we walked out of the door for the last time
  • Disliked — The horrible, smoky pool area
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Racheljane5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canyamel hotels

Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

This hotel is very nice, good sized rooms, which are well furnished and very clean, although it has to be said that the hotel is overwhelmed with rather hideous German art by Gustavo, most of which looks like something a 3 year old would produce.
Other than that, it's hard to fault; good variety of buffet meals, plus a BBQ twice a day on the patio terrace serving fresh fish & meats. The range of drinks and snacks provided in the bar on an all-inclusive basis is also good, although the plastic cups provided for drinking around the pool area are rather small.
The hotel, and indeed the entire resort, is predominantly german; we were the only UK guests there, along with an Italian family, a few French people and some Spaniards. This didn't bother us particularly, as the resort benefits from the lack of English tourists: anyone who has been to Mallorca will recognise the fact that resorts with a large UK clientele tend to be noisy, over-developed and filled with fast-food restaurants and tacky bars. Canyamel is quiet and undeveloped, with a beautiful beach and pine-covered mountainsides. There is also a river flowing onto the beach, and as the resort is considered an area of outstanding natural beauty, this river is the home to many wild birds, so don't be surprised to see ducks and swans wandering around the sands. There is a distinct lack of wild cats, which is unusual for Mallorca, and as result there are numerous sparrows, which will hop about the patio area of the hotel looking for scraps of bread, so if you are scared of birds, this is not the place for you!!
Entertainment wise, there is very little to do in the evening; no clubs or bars that are not part of a restaurant, though the hotel has it's own entertainment programme, starting with a "Mini-Disco!" for children, who work their way through the usual golden-oldie kids holiday songs, such as agadoo, whilst trying to follow a dance routine. This is invariably hilarious after a few Sangrias, and then follows on into more family-orientated entertainment, such as bingo, quizzes and music. Written down, this sounds boring, but was actually very entertaining, thanks in part to the hotels compere, who is rather amusing and a born entertainer.
The beach is beautiful, and the sea is clean and warm, with a small surf ideal for bodyboarding. We spent much of our time snorkelling, which I highly recommend. If you cross the bridge over the river and head up into the hills, you will come to the caves of Arta, an utterly spectacular series of huge, beautiful underground caverns. Entry is 9 euros, and definately worth the 10 minute walk to find. It was one of the highlights of our holiday.
As smokers, on our first day we were baffled to discover that none of the shops you would normally expect to purchase cigarettes in sold them, but eventually discovered that the ice-cream bar on the main street has a cigarette machine, as does one of the restaurants to the back of the resort, but to avoid annoyance, if you smoke, stock up on your duty frees in the airport before you arrive.
One other thing; we booked via the internet, and arranged a resort-hopper shuttle bus transfer from the airport. DON'T. We were quoted a transfer time of an hour, which in fact turned out to be 3 hours, longer than the flight to mallorca from newcastle! For our return journey, we booked a taxi from the hotel, which was 90 euros as it is approximately 75KM to the airport, but it was worth every penny, and only took 45 minutes, so i recommend paying the extra money and arranging a taxi transfer when booking. The bus is unbearable.

  • Liked — Location & food
  • Disliked — The german art & the thin pillows
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank particlezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2007

Great place. Pool lovely(indoor and out, hotel quiet. Conversed in German as its a very German area and all locals assumed that we too were German. In the end it was easier to speak German than try to explain. They must have thought i wasn't very bright as i last did German 20 years ago at school! Clean, spacious rooms; mine had great view of the sea; kids had view over the pool. Hotel food as you expect for cheap and cheerful, bit motorway service-esque, but we didn't go hungry. Great fish cooked fresh in front of you. Couple of minutes walk to beach. We went in October so parking ok for hire car,- could be tricky parking in busier times. we're planning a return trip in May, as handy for some lovely beaches and quieter than some area of Mallorca!

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — i would like more tea coffee making facilities
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HelenStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canyamel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Canyamel Park
Hotel Canyamel Park
#4 of 14 in Canyamel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Universal Hotel Castell Royal
0.1 mi away
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Can Simoneta
Hotel Can Simoneta
#2 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 14 in Canyamel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Canyamel Sun
Aparthotel Canyamel Sun
#9 of 14 in Canyamel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canyamel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canyamel Classic

Property: Hotel Canyamel Classic
Address: Calle Via Malasigeni s/n | urb. Torre de Canyamel, 07589 Canyamel, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Canyamel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canyamel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Canyamel Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canyamel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Canyamel
Canyamel Classic Hotel
Hotel Canyamel Classic Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing