We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Escrivania

L'Escrivania
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Porreres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An up market venue serving beautifully presented food. Excellent value - a 3 course lunch (menu del dia) including bread, olives and wine for €11.Thoroughly recommended.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I ate here twice during our 5 days trip to the area. Each time we had the lunch 3 course menu (11 euro inlcuding bread, olives, water and wine!) On each occasion, the food was lovely, fresh and plentiful. On our next visit, we will certainly be heading here again, many thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidayheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best tapas we sampled on our trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first stop in Mallorca on way to our accommodation. Inside was really cosy. Lots of food on the menu looked appetising and the cakes looks yummy. We had some tapas which were great and some wine/coffee.

Service was friendly, efficient and helpful.

Would like to go back to try a full meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flightsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

So we visited this restaurant this week, food and service were both spot on! The lunch menu of the day at 11 euros for 3 courses was perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comparable to a high class restaurant at very reasonable cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We are on the island of Majorca for a week - we come here every May.
After reading an old Telegraph review yesterday, we decided to head towards the small town of Porreres. The review discussed high gourmet restaurants and how many people are looking for good food but at at reasonable cost - it recommended L'Escrivania.
In this somewhat picturesque square are many restaurants, with our choice sitting at one corner. A lunch menu offered three courses with three choices each at a price of €11.90, including bread, olives and mayonnaise. We both chose the same items.
First a green salad with apple and figs - fresh and refreshing. Then we had fish vol au vents with fish sauce - hand made and the sauce was sublime. Finally we had apricots star - seems the chef and owner's grandfather grew apricots and sold them in various forms. They still sell them.
I have eaten in many fine restaurants in various cities but have never had such a wonderful, fresh combination of food with such exquisite tastes.
We ate outside but inside, there is an eclectic mix of table and chairs. Staff were capable and friendly. The young chef and owner, Can Parri, talked to us about his background and philosophy. Such a friendly man who wants to serve the best food at prices affordable in his small town.
The lunch menu changes every week. We may stay a few more days so we can have next week's menu!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeturner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallorca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You don't have to go to Palma....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

You don't have to go to Palma to find great food. L'Escrivania in the little town of Porreres has it all - good food, cool music, sophisticated decor and a delightful host. We were looked after extremely well and made to feel special as we were there to celebrate a birthday. Every course was beautifully presented and delicious. L'Escrivania is a must visit place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annieporreres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Escrivania also viewed

 
Porreres, Majorca
Porreres, Majorca
 

Been to L'Escrivania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing