We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, you'll love it!”
Review of Son Mercadal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Son Mercadal
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find, you'll love it!”
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We just got back from a short trip to Mallorca. We booked at Son Mercadal with the intention of staying only one night, had seen Sawdays review but still didn't know if it would be our cup of tea. We landed in Palma airport at night and were starving, we called Son Mercadal to let them know we would be late and also to see if they could recommend a place to eat on the way there, Antoni who with his parents owns and runs the place recommended a restaurant specialized in Mallorcan cuisine, went there and the food was great, simple, fresh and tasty, and very cheap! From this moment on I knew we had probably made a good choice with the accommodation. We arrived at night, Antoni showed us to our room, which was just right, absolutely spotless and really well kept (freshly painted etc..), slept like a log. Next morning we got up and opened the door to the terrace to see the lovely fields, with olive trees. Breakfast was served on the terrace downstairs which is absolutely charming, fresh orange juice, cold meats and cheese (probably more catered towards the German tourism which is very prominent in the island), fresh bread and jams and pastries. The building is a lovely Mallorcan farm, there are gardens and a lovely pool, they also keep horses and rabbits. We loved it so much we decided to stay for a second night, dinner was served on the terrace as the weather was lovely, Antoni's father cooked the most delicious roast lamb, as it went dark Antoni lit all the candles in the terrace and the effect was so romantic. We left on the third day as we wanted to explore other parts of the island. We will definitely be back. I highly recommend this place, it's pretty and charming, very clean, and the service is very friendly which is a joy.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olielula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    12
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We stayed here for two days as part of a cycling holiday. The interior of the hotel had the wow factor and the pool area was very relaxing. The host was very welcoming and the food was superb. We really enjoyed our stay and felt we were part of Mallorcan life.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2008

What a lovely hotel, so glad we got to stay there. Peaceful, relaxing and excellent food. Portions are huge. Look forward to returning in the future.

  • Liked — hospitality and food
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fentongeorge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Just back from a week at Son Mercadal and had a truly wonderful time. We are religious followers of Alastair Sawday and were again rewarded with a Special Place.
We booked the hotel before researching the island. It was the only one we could afford that was available within a month's notice. When I started talking to people about Mallorca I was dismayed to hear that the North West was most recommended and tried in vain to find somewhere there. Even worse, I read the YUK review below and was quite scared. WHAT HAD WE DONE!!!!????
In the end, what looked a bit too posh for us on the website turned out to be warm, rustic, tasteful and romantic as well as child friendly when needed. The welcome could not have been warmer and the whole family as very friendly. I only felt guilty to be speaking Spanish to them rather than the form of Catalan that is proudly spoken on this island.
From the description in YUK, we stayed in exactly the same room. Step up to a small bathroom and no airconditioning. However, aircon was never advertised and we do not have any disabilities to prevent us from using our legs! We had no problems with the water which comes from the house well and we drank lots of it every day. The room was naturally ventilated with the novel concept of WINDOWS - we even needed a blanket at night! There was also a wonderfull sun soaked balcony to sit out on/dry our beach towels. The room was cleaned and bed made every day. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and we had a delicious, three course, candle lit dinner at the hotel every night.
The house has a lovely pool with the most fascinating shower contraption in the world! There are also stables and a field with a donkey that loves to be cuddled! The family cats and dogs are also friendly but not imposing should you want them to stay away.
The hotel is within striking distance of many beautiful bays and beaches and even within a daytrip of the busier West Coast, that is worth a tour for the experience.
I could go on and on and would be happy to answer any queries.
It just goes to show that everyone has different taste and expectations, and there are people out there who need 5* luxury and purified water to be comfortable. These people should look for the most expensive hotel they can find and stay there.

  • Liked — Charming and peaceful
  • Disliked — Possibly a bit more light needed at dinner tables.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Everyone made our stay so special. This was our first time at Son Mercadal.
We ate like kings on the best mallorcan food and been made welcome like family.
This finca is very special but it is made extra special by the family who live + work there. We thank them for sharing their beautiful house in its idyllic setting.

  • Liked — setting and food
  • Disliked — too short holiday
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elenatromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Peaceful and far removed from the hustle&bustle of those horrible "resorts". We just came back from this special charming place. We loved the way the decoration has brought history into the present. We felt very comfortable and would like to go back next year for longer. Excellent dinners and breakfasts. September 2008.

  • Liked — all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MooreOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Our stay here could not have been better. We first heard about the hotel in Special Places to Stay in Spain by Alastair Sawday and this really is a special place. Tony and his familiy were as helpful as can be from the minute we arrived. The hotel is set in a lovely rural setting that really helps you forget about the hectic life back home! The room was beautifully presented and very clean. It was great to eat home cooked Spanish food in the courtyard in the Evenings and enjoy a glass of wine or two! I will be reccomending Son Mercadal to my friends and familiy and i will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — The hotel setting and very helpful staff
  • Disliked — Can't fault it at all
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve5680uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porreres
1.0 mi away
Sa Bassa Rotja Ecoturisme
3.7 mi away
Finca Son Roig
Finca Son Roig
#2 of 5 in Porreres
81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Finca Son Jorbo
Finca Son Jorbo
#1 of 1 in Porreres
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
S'Horabaixa
S'Horabaixa
#1 of 4 in Felanitx
119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Can Feliu
Can Feliu
#1 of 5 in Porreres
43 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agroturismo Es Revellar Art Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Son Mercadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Son Mercadal

Property: Son Mercadal
Address: Camino Son Pau s/n, 07260 Porreres, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porreres
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Porreres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Son Mercadal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural hotel in the centre-south region of Mallorca. 15 minutes away from the best beaches in the Island. Enjoy our mallorcan traditions through the best mallorcan cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Son Mercadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Mercadal Porreres, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing