We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still outstanding”
Review of Finca Son Jorbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Son Jorbo
Ranked #1 of 1 Porreres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our third visit to Finca Son Jorbo and every bit as good as the first two. FSJ retains its preferred mix of discreet service (great fresh breakfasts provided and rooms meticulously cleaned daily) and independence (all the 4 spacious and comfortable apartment suites have fully equipped kitchens or use the communal barbeque).

Since our last visit [in 2010] FSJ has won a Trip Advisor award for ‘best B&B in Mallorca’. It is often much harder to maintain exemplary excellence than to simply achieve it (the only way is down after all), but the owners Annie and Martin are aware of this and have met the challenge with gusto. A maximum of only 8 guests, a child free policy, and the property’s hillside rural location makes for the perfect base for peace and relaxation and there is often near silence save for the crickets and birds. Nearby Porreres (the town’s huge central church dominating the vista and plain of Es Pla), is also much improved in terms of the quality of its cafes, restaurants and its upgraded supermarket – but don’t expect a mini-Palma; we’re talking about 3 or 4 places and the town itself retains its dusty and sleepy charm with most things firmly shut in the heat of the day. Discovering the ‘real’ Mallorca – the towns of the interior, the markets, fiestas, vineyards, hilltop monasteries and culture – and simply chilling out by the pool is what FSJ is all about. You couldn’t be further away [metaphorically speaking] from the brash resorts and can go home smugly congratulating yourself how clever you have been in your holiday choices.

Finca Son Jorbo is highly recommended if you want a peaceful haven and retreat for couples and is still outstanding value for money. However our ‘secret’ (when among the first visitors in 2005) is long out with the Finca being featured in some continental style mags as well as on Trip Advisor, so you’ll need to book early to share in high season.

Room Tip: All apartment suites are excellent and have same facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaSonJorbo, Owner at Finca Son Jorbo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

We are getting overwhelmed - another lovely review! All that we can say is thank you so much for writing a review and appreciating what we do here. Finca Son Jorbo is only a small B&B with no pretentions to 'boutique' hotel status, but we do care about what we do and are pleased that our guests have a great time here.
It's always good to see guests returning, hopefully we will see you both again. Best wishes from Annie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just returned from our second visit, can't wait until our third!
You are made welcome from the moment you arrive until you sadly leave.
A beautiful finca with excellent hosts and everything you need for a relaxing holiday,
Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodhouse272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaSonJorbo, Owner at Finca Son Jorbo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thanks for your great comments. It was lovely to see you both again and so nice that you enjoyed our place so much that you want to come back again! See you next year. Best wishes to you both Annie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

2nd visit to FSJ which is rare for us as we dont tend to stay in the same place twice.
Last year we stayed for 3 nights in Lila and this year we stayed for 3 nights in Aqua. Both are very clean (a pre-requisite for us) and well appointed with Aqua having the edge for us due to the lovely terrace outside. We had dinner there each night in the heat of the Mediterranean summer accompanied by the sound of various birds singing including the haunting call of the Stone Curlews.
FSJ is a great base for the South East of the island where this year we visited Porto Petro and Parc Natural de Mondrago plus the saturday market at Campos.
Annie and Martin do such a good job of making you feel at home that on both occasions, subsequent holiday villas after our short stays have not lived up to such high standards.

FSJ is a hidden gem on Mallorca well away from the package holiday crowd and ideal for couples that want to be well looked after in a very peaceful and relaxing environment.
A post card from the owners on our return home to the UK is a really nice touch as well!
Thoroughly recommended - do believe the hype!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Again, our thanks to you for taking the time to post this review and thanks for the compliments about our place. We really love Finca Son Jorbo, and are delighted that our guests feel the same way. You never know, we may see you again one day when you fancy escaping the rat race! Best wishes to you both. Annie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have just returned from our 5th visit to Finca son Jorbo and have booked for next year, what else is there to say? It's our little piece of heaven, always consistent and always perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Once again thanks for choosing us for your holiday. It's nice to know that you want to come back to stay with us. We always look forward to seeing you both - next year will come around very quickly!
Our best wishes to you both. Annie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We simply can not say enough wonderful things about our stay at Finca Son Jorbo! It is a quiet retreat away from the crowds heading to Mallorca to enjoy the sun and sea. It is situated in the simple, yet beautiful town of Porreres. The town has a supermarket and good restaurants if you want something close and is a quick drive to many other surrounding towns. Finca Son Jorbo is an excellent B&B and is an easy drive to the beaches and major sites in Mallorca. The owners Annie and Martin greeted us upon arrival and are so helpful with answering questions and providing suggestions on what to do while on Mallorca. They have provided so many extras here that most B&B's do not. They have really taken in to consideration all the comforts of home and all the extras a guest could possibly ask for while on vacation. Honestly, once you arrive at Finca Son Jorbo, you don't want to leave the property! Please don't make the same mistake we did and not allow yourself at least a 4-5 day minimum at the B&B. The property is artistically decorated. There are only 4 rooms, each one is decorated differently and each one looks wonderful! We had the pleasure to stay in Azul. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. It is larger and more beautiful than we even expected. The room is very clean (I do not give too many places an A+ in this area!). The breakfast is wonderful. Annie makes homemade jellies to go with the fresh breads and croissants (plus many other items). She also makes eggs to your liking and mastered Sunny Side up for us. :) Annie and Martin really go out of their way to make sure each guest is happy. The property has an oasis of a pool area surrounded by beautiful plants and trees. Annie and Martin also have olive oil made from their olive trees on their property. They are really quite impressive.

Furthermore, we were able to meet fabulous guests. This place seems to attract nice people. Everyone was so warm, welcoming, and enjoyed sharing their experiences about the island with us at breakfast or while lounging around the pool. They were all even gracious enough to sing Happy Birthday to me at breakfast, which just made this an experience I will never forget! Thank you Annie and Martin for the Birthday cupcake, it was a delicious surprise!

Thank you to all! Especially to Annie and Martin for providing the highest quality service and simply being wonderful hosts! We shall return some day!

CC/MA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swiftfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

What can we say to such a wonderful review, except thank you! We are so pleased that we made your birthday special and we look forward to seeing you both again some day. Annie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband wanted to return to Mallorca for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, but with a difference. We have not visited the island for about 12 years. Going this time without children/teenagers, we decided on a quiet location but with access to the coast should we want it. I searched the internet and kept coming back to Finca Son Jorbo. I booked the Finca with Annie via email way back in May of last year. My only worry was that I have allergies and was worried about the 10 adopted cats.

Not a problem at all. They liked the odd snuggle from fellow guests and then they were on their way. They are not allowed within the Finca itself.

We met some lovely people at Breakfast time, and took on board idea's for day trips, restaurants, etc. I think it may have been Maggie that posted the last report, and I can only say that talking to her around the pool area, she truly does love this place - snap!

Annie and Martin have it spot on. Decor is superb. The colours, the lighting, art work and fabrics all work very well together as I was lucky enough to see in each apartment. Each one has a character of it's own and I would gladly stay in any of them. The apartments are also cleaned on a daily basis.

Martin was a great help in sorting out our transport and bus time tables. Nothing was too much trouble and it was much appreciated, as my husband had failed in his 'one task' of arranging a scooter for this holiday.............

We enjoyed the walks into the village and the local eateries, but especially Bar Can Miquel where the friendliest of hosts - Lewis is there to look after you.

This was the most relaxing, enjoyable break I think we have ever had. We (I) did our homework and it was everything we hoped for and more. We are back home, with the rain pouring down, and the wind howling in late June - thinking that only a week ago we were in a little piece of heaven.

Annie and Martin - thank you both so much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeicestershireTup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

We are so pleased that you chose our place for your special wedding anniversary and that your stay was everything that you hoped for. Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for all the great compliments - I know it sounds corny, but if our guests are happy then we are happy too! At least you can remember sunny Mallorca whilst looking out at the pouring rain!
Annie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Son Jorbo quite simply has it all.From it's quality apartments,beautiful pool area,peaceful location,authentically Mallorcan nearby town (Porreres) with great bars,restaurants & supermarket to Annie's brilliant breakfast scrambled eggs.
But it's Martin & Annie who make Son Jorbo so special & in my view unique.They are warm & welcoming,think of everything & are the most hospitable hosts we have ever experienced.
We stayed in Amarillo for five nights in Jubilee week & it was all wonderful beyond compare.
If B&B's were given stars,Son Jorbo would have at least six.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlorafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Once again, another great review. We are genuinely delighted that our guests are enjoying our place and want to tell others about it. Thank you so much - it's good to know that we are doing something right! Best wishes to you both from Annie and Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porreres
2.9 mi away
Sa Bassa Rotja Ecoturisme
20.4 mi away
Hotel Feliz
Hotel Feliz
#1 of 26 in Palma de Mallorca
616 reviews
17.9 mi away
Son Ametler
Son Ametler
#1 of 1 in Moscari
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Agroturismo Son Pons
21 mi away
Alqueria Blanca
Alqueria Blanca
#1 of 4 in Bunyola
167 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ca's Papa
Ca's Papa
#2 of 6 in Valldemossa
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Son Jorbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Son Jorbo

Address: Cami de s'Olivar, 07260 Porreres, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porreres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Porreres
Price Range: £109 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the owners of Finca Son Jorbo, we have tried to create the sort of place where we would like to stay. We believe that we offer more than just a bed and breakfast. Rather than having only a bedroom, our 5 stylish apartment suites each have a bedroom, a sitting room, a bathroom, a kitchen and a private terrace, giving you plenty of space to make yourself at home. Finca Son Jorbo is a traditional 17th century Mallorcan house in a rural location with views over the local countryside. The house and gardens offer a peaceful and informal place for grown-ups to unwind and relax without children. Our central location enables you to get to almost anywhere in Mallorca within 1 hour, making it the ideal base from which to explore the whole island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Finca Son Jorbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Son Jorbo Porreres, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing