We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Perfection personified"”
Review of Finca Son Jorbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Son Jorbo
Ranked #1 of 1 Porreres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Perfection personified"”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

As we arrived at Finca Son Jorbo and parked the car we were immediately greeted by both Martin and Annie - we instantly felt we were with friends! As we entered the Reception area we just knew we were going to be in for a treat. The decor, the furnishings, just the general "feel" of the Finca generates a feeling of peace and tranquility. Shown to our apartment, Azul, again we were not to be disappointed; immaculately clean, equipped to the highest standard and most important for us, quiet and private. Perfect! And a bottle of wine to welcome us in the fridge!

We were then given a tour of the rest of the Finca.................again, apologies for the repetition, but we were not disappointed.

Martin and Annie really do think of everything and the extra little "touches" are just too many to mention; you have to experience it to appreciate it. They are the perfect hosts, always there should you need information or advice.....or just a chat, yet equally manage to keep a low profile so as not to intrude on your holiday. An art in itself in our opinion.

Needless to say, Finca Son Jorbo really is the place to go if you want rest, relaxtion and to recharge. Of course you are near enough to the many beautiful sights of Mallorca, but have to admit, we did not want to venture too far, and even if we did manage the beach, once there, all we wanted to do was return the the tranquility of the pool; no need to get up at some ruidiculous hour to reserve a sunbed here!!!

The morning of our departure, Martin and Annie did breakfast for us, despite it being an hour earlier than usual, but like always it was no trouble. Our time at the Finca Son Jorbo ended as it had begun, with Martin and Annie taking the time to see us to our car as we left for the airport. But it didn't stop there; the two of them stood and waved as we drove down the drive and through the gates. How easy it would have been for them to just say goodbye as we got into the car and returned inside; but they took the time to wait and bid us farwell as we left.............for us that summed it all up and the perfect hosts they truly are.

A perfect retreat and a haven of solitude and tranquility.

Thank-you Martin and Annie.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treasure45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliemp, Owners at Finca Son Jorbo, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Many thanks to everyone who has taken the time to write a review for us.
Finca Son Jorbo is a small and friendly B&B with no pretensions to being a 5 star hotel so we have been amazed and delighted to receive so many complementary reviews here on Trip advisor.
We enjoy welcoming guests into our home and helping to make their holiday in Mallorca special.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
186
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I read Tripadvisor comments for Son Jorbo before we booked and they were unanimously 5 star - the first time I have seen this on Tripadvisor! The reality is even better. Annie and Martin are such gracious hosts. They have thought of everything from stylish rooms, a perfect pool area, access to a classy lounge/library with an honesty bar through first class breakfasts(loved the 4 Homemade Jams!) and the weekly Tapas dinner. If you need an internet fix, it is there for free. Annie and Martin work extremely hard but seem to enjoy meeting the needs of their guests. One evening I used the poolside BBQ and it didnt seem to work that well. Martin asked me the next morning did I enjoy the BBQ. I said it didnt work out that well. Martin went out and bought a replacement that day. I was somewhat embarrassed but Martin explained everything had to be just perfect. This is typical of their hi-qual approach to everything. The fact that there are only 4 rooms lends a great intimacy to the location and meeting other guests at breakfast was great fun. Overall a superb week long break. We will be back!!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrendanDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Thanks to Annie and Martin, our wonderfuls hosts, this was a trip to remember.

We went in search of peace and tranquillity and got it in abundance. A secluded location where the only sounds were of crickets and the breeze blowing through the trees. The finca is a delight, full of character but well restored with all the facilities one could need. Our apartment was spotlessly clean, quiet, and in all honesty we felt like we were the only guests as we were unable to hear or see anyone from our terrace. Watching the stars each evening from the terrace was a highlight.

The pool area was peaceful and just perfect. We had the pleasure of meeting some lovely guests including Klaus, Kathleen and Ray. Breakfast time was a delight especially the freshly cooked pancakes and tortilla! Friendly conversation on the breakfast terrace was just another highlight.

Annie and Martin were friendly, welcoming but not over powering. Their recommendations for restaurants were excellent, particularly 34Moli in nearby Campos. The best food I have ever eaten outside the UK by a long way!

The village of Porreres is nothing to write home about but who cares when you are staying in such a wonderful finca. I would have preferred to have been a little closer to the coast, but again it is not offputting. It was probably only a 30min drive to the nearest beach but we decided to go off the beaten track to the recently voted best beach in Europe at Cala Mondrago. It was lovely but I would take the car to the northern cove and walk to the south cove, rather than drive direct to the south cove, as it took us at least 50mins and I was feeling pretty green due to the roads by that point!

I really could not recommend this place highly enough and we will almost certainly be back in the future. Thanks again Annie and Martin!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My Husband and I have just returned home from our fourth visit to Mallorca and our third stay with Annie & Martin at Son Jorbo.

What can we say that has not already been said on all the other reviews posted? Annie & Martin are the perfect hosts, the accommodation is first class and the situation of the Finca is peaceful and idyllic. It is by far one of our favourite places.

If you read all the other reviews you will see there are many good reasons to stay at Finca Son Jorbo and we thought it may be useful to mention some of our experiences.

Whilst on this trip Annie & Martin hosted a Tapas Night for all the guests. It was a good way to get to know the rest of the people who were staying in the other apartments and the food provided was the best tapas we have ever had. Annie is an excellent cook. Between the good company of mixed nationalities (Scottish, Romanian, German and English) and the great food, it was a wonderful evening.

The centre of Porreres town is only a twenty minute walk and there are several bars that also serve tapas and a restaurant (although there are rumours that a couple more restaurants may be opening soon). It is already a quaint town but the main square is currently undergoing a facelift and will be pedestrianised to further improve it. If the twenty minute walk seems too strenuous you could always borrow the two bikes for a gentle cycle along the quiet roads. We did this when we visited the local winery – Jaume Mesquida – for a wine tasting session. We highly recommend sampling some of the wine if you visit.

Albeit you need a car to get the best out of your holiday whilst staying at Son Jorbo you are never further than twenty minutes in the car to the nearest beaches. Some of our favourite beaches are Sa Rapita and Cala Mondrago.

If you fancy a trip into the beautiful city of Palma and don’t wish to drive there is a coach that you can catch from Porreres that takes 45 minutes. The coaches are modern, quick and run on time. However if you don’t mind driving it is an easy 30 minute journey.

As mentioned previously, the best reasons for staying at Son Jorbo are the hospitality provided by Annie & Martin, the quality of the accommodation and all the little personal touches that make it feel a home from home. That is why we are currently awaiting flights being announced for May/June 2010 so we can start planning our next trip out to Finca Son Jorbo.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

This was our second stay at Finca Son Jorbo within ten months and the welcome we received was every bit as warm and friendly as on our first visit . We were no sooner parked up and getting out of our car than Annie and Martin appeared to greet us (by name) and offer assistance with our luggage.

We were trying a different apartment this time and it proved to be every bit as delightful as the first one. Comfortable, beautifully decorated, well equipped and a chilled bottle of bubbly waiting for us in the fridge.

The Finca is located in a lovely rural setting within walking distance to the charming town of Porrerres. Because it is centrally located on the island everything is an easy drive - Palma, fine beaches and magnificent mountains. We initially chose Finca Son Jorbo partly because of the location, away from the overcrowded tourists centres, and partly because the website photos were enticing. We were not disappointed on either count. The location is great and the Finca and it's gardens, with pool,are exquisite!

There isn't anyting that we didn't like about Finca Son Jorbo and our great hosts. Whatever we needed, another pot of coffee, directions to the local winery or the BBQ, Annie and Martin graciously obliged. Our only wish....that it was a little closer to Canada!
But, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovekieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2009

What a find. An oasis of calm and luxury with hosts that give just the touch of care needed to put the icing on the cake. Thank you to you both and look forward to enjoying your gem of tranquility again in the future

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanburyAliehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We have stayed at Fince Son Jorbo several times and have tried most of the apartments. Each one is decorated and fitted to the highest standards. Our favourite is the azul. The whole property is ideally located for a restful holiday. Don't come here if you want night life. A car is a must to get anywhere. Annie and Martin have spent a lot of time and effort making this a fantastic retreat. The attention to detail is superb and nothing is too much trouble in terms of service.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckytoberetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porreres
19.6 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
23.1 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
17.9 mi away
Son Ametler
Son Ametler
#1 of 1 in Moscari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Hotel Feliz
Hotel Feliz
#1 of 25 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
29.5 mi away
Villa Columbus Charming Family BnB Boutique Hotel Restaurant Mallorca
19.3 mi away
Finca Hotel Albellons Parc Natural
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Son Jorbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Son Jorbo

Property: Finca Son Jorbo
Address: Cami de s'Olivar, 07260 Porreres, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porreres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Porreres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the owners of Finca Son Jorbo, we have tried to create the sort of place where we would like to stay. We believe that we offer more than just a bed and breakfast. Rather than having only a bedroom, our 5 stylish apartment suites each have a bedroom, a sitting room, a bathroom, a kitchen and a private terrace, giving you plenty of space to make yourself at home. Finca Son Jorbo is a traditional 17th century Mallorcan house in a rural location with views over the local countryside. The house and gardens offer a peaceful and informal place for grown-ups to unwind and relax without children. Our central location enables you to get to almost anywhere in Mallorca within 1 hour, making it the ideal base from which to explore the whole island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Finca Son Jorbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Son Jorbo Porreres, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing