We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame it was winding down early for end of season though”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arenas de Son Bou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arenas de Son Bou
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, shame it was winding down early for end of season though”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just back from this hotel where we stayed for a week on an all-inclusive basis (the first time ever for us). Did alot of research before booking, and liked the sound of this one as it sounded our kind of quiet place with nice normal respectable people (ie. no chavs!) and more of a med atmosphere. It was exactly that so very relieved there!
Arrived before check-in time and made very welcome with full access to facilities whilst our room was prepared. Very quiet, only one other family around the pool and that was the busiest it got all week! Lovely large and clean pool area with self-service pool bar (fizzy drinks, juice, beer, wine and some spirits, with crisps/nuts/pastries).
Food: Well the first few days this was excellent. A good choice of different meats and fish, pasta, lots of salad and huge choice of fruit/pudding/cakes) in a buffet. Unfortunately after that I have to say we were disappointed with it all. There were only a few other couples staying at the hotel then and so they stopped doing the buffet and just asked us what we wanted. I only eat fish or veggie so I had squid 3 days in a row until I couldn't face it anymore. Fair enough that it wasn't worth them doing a buffet, but we got the feeling they were just using up the freezer food but some of it was horrible and the puddings were recycled for 4 days until we left. The quality was very hit and miss, and we gave up and ate out the last night. It was so frustrating as we'd such nice food the first few days. The cheese/pasta/fresh fruit/ice cream disappeared completely. We had fun communicating with the chefs, they don't speak much English but it was all in good humour and they were friendly and welcoming, the main chef disappeared and they seemed to say they were having problems in the kitchen so that may be why everything went a bit downhill? We didn't like to complain as they were such nice people, but maybe we should have done.
Food timings: 8-9.30 breakfast, lunch 1-2.30, dinner 8-10 pm. Pool bar open from 10 to 6. Some spirits alongside beer, wine on all inclusive.
Room: Was lovely and large, very clean and comfy bed. Bathroom big with hairdryer. Fans in rooms so nice and cool. Had room 49 right next to pool and it was perfect. Tv only had channels in Italian/Spanish, didn't go away to watch telly though!
Pool: big and clean. Loads of sunbeds. Had it to ourselves all week really!
Staff: Very friendly. Lady on reception lovely and helpful. Most of the staff don't speak much English, but we manged okay with a few useful phrases that we knew.
Entertainment: There wasn't any unfortunately, there was an Italian(?) rep there but as the hotel was practically empty there was nothing going on and it lacked atmosphere which was relaxing but we got a bit bored towards the end.
Location: at the far end of Son Bou, in a quiet road. About 15-20 mins to the beach along a road (tip:use the short cut over the wall on the dead end road at the side of the hotel to car park!). The beach is beautiful, clean and very long. Nudists at the far end, all very tastefully done though!
Transport: Taxi from airport cost just under 30 euros each way. Drivers had no idea where the hotel was, we later found out it had changed its name from Blu Club/AZ Hotel? Recommend you print a map to show them, luckily we had!
Went to Somni horse show and it was fantastic. Also went riding at Menorca a Cavall and loved it. Enjoyed a Brothers of Soul show at Copacabana, a fun night out and the act was great. The weather was lovely, mid 20s all week and hot and sunny with faint breeze. Needed cardigan a couple of nights, but certainly not cold.
We really liked the hotel and staff and want to leave a nice but accurate review. So this is fair but we were quite disappointed food wise. They said it was their last week open but they shouldn't compromise on quality. Would highly recommend it in season though. (Hi to the only other couple there, Denise and Chris, sorry we didn't see you to say goodbye!)

Room Tip: Room 49, right next to pool. Large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yip35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    83
    37
    39
    16
See reviews for
119
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I booked this holiday late August in a panic due to work commitments, I read the reviews and thought it sounds okay.
Resort: Quiet, clean, amenities few and far between but costs were reasonable.
Beach: Beautiful, white sand and clear water, couldn't ask for better, nudist beach , did not cause any concerns and perhaps changed my views on naturists, all very respectable and somewhat amusing but nothing seedy.
Hotel: room was excellent, obviously a self catering apartment , so had kitchen without some amenities, bathroom was excellent , bedroom and lounge was spacious with a good sized balcony.
Small issue with ants, but hotel dealt with it very smartly.
All facilities were of a good standard, pool and surrounding area was very good, sunbeds were reasonable but parasols were lightweight quality.
Restaurant: we were all inclusive, restaurant offered bland but sufficient breakfast, excellent lunch and evening meals, pasta available with choice of two types with three sauces, one of the highlights for us, go Omar!! You were a good chef !!
The other food selections, buffet style were of good quality.
Service:in the main very good, as it was an Italian run hotel we personally had medium expectations and therefore were not disappointed.
Weather:unpredictable but couldn't blame anyone for that :-) !!
The only issue we had: a British (English) contingent arrived( 3 blokes and 2 ladies) some were of military background, so loud and well, just loud and I am sad to say lacking in consideration of others, language used was disgusting! We can all swear but it shows a certain lack of self respect and vocabulary - come on guys - get a grip!
All In all great holiday for us except for the home grown talent!!
Ellon couple.

Room Tip: I believe there were no ac units available, did not cause an issue for us as weather was not too hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at this hotel. We only booked up two days before departure so didn't have much choice of places to stay, we had never done all inclusive before.We were very pleasantly surprised, the reception was friendly and efficient and the restaurant, what can I say, tables a riot of colour and delicious food every single meal, compliments to the chef! The hotel is run very much on a self serve routine, it was a routine that ran ever so smoothly, when the restaurant was closed between meals, drinks and snacks were available at the poolside bar, everything always in plentiful supply and good working order. Communication with the Spanish speaking staff was always fun and easy. Our room was comfortable and cleaned every day. There was a large swimming pool, although preferring the sea we enjoyed a pleasant daily walk to the beach, calling in for coffee at the various bars along the way and looking round the shops along the road. Sitting on the terrace in the evening listening to the rise and fall of the foreign chatter around us added to the Mediterranean feel of our holiday. Our flight home didn't leave until 21.00, we were able to keep our room as long as we needed which meant we enjoyed a whole extra day ! Well done La Noria de Son Bou.
For a more detailed review of our holiday visit http://journeytoscotland.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/life-under-brim-of-my-sun-hat.html

Room Tip: rooms in the separate block are a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank journeytoscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had read some of the reviews on here after we had booked, but before we went. They worried us, but we needed a holiday.

We absolutely loved this hotel, I was greeted by name when we arrived, made to feel extremely welcome. All the staff were fantastic. So good with our two young children, even providing our daughters cuddly rabbit with a high chair and napkin for lunch!

The pool was fantastic, so nice that I rediscovered my swimming confidence after 8 years. The lifeguard was observant and made me feel our girls were safe.

Our room wasn't overlooking the pool, but a short walk away. The room was clean, fresh towels daily. Friendly maids. It could have done with air conditioning, but fans were provided which helped.

The location is fine, away from noisy bars, but a short walk in two directions and you'll find a supermarket.

The food was fantastic, plenty of choice, freshly prepared and plentiful.

It is mainly an Italian guest hotel, but Caio is a lovely thing to say and the other British families we met, all agreed with us, that it was a lovely hotel and would love to come again.

Please do not be put off by any poor reviews on here, this was our best holiday in years and the things that made it so good, were the staff, the pool and the other guest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FJC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Some people are just born moaners!! loved this hotel although no one speaks english. Personally i actually enjoyed the fact there was no British lager louts kicking about the place lol. The hotel is catered for Italians but the staff did really well to make us feel welcome and tried to get us to join in with the activities. Italians are so laid back and chilled out this is the only all inclusive i have been on where there was no fighting for food and pushing and shoving at meal times.

The room was cleaned EVERYDAY!! never had that anywhere else. The pool was practically empty everyday and the kids loved it. we never had a problem getting a sunlounger either. it is a good 10 minute walk to the town centre but the hotel do provide a bus shuttle service which was great.

was really worried about going after reading previous reviews but glad to say i loved every minute of it.

the food was great never had a problem with this either. Will defo be going back, hopefully next year.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michellehendy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

On returning from this hotel with my husband and two children, 5 and 6 years old, I have read reviews left by others and cannot understand what their problem is. The position of the hotel is perfect for families. It is a 10 minute pretty walk to the beach, shops and restaurant, although the hotel runs a mini bus to and from the beach every hour. There is a bus stop about 20 meters down the road from the hotel and taxis can be arranged by the very helpfull staff.

The hotel itself is very clean with spacious apartments and the food was lovely with snacks on offer between meals at the pool bar. The restaurant staff were very attentive at clearing the tables. My only criticism with regards to the food was the timings of the meals - breakfast 8-9:30, luch was ok - 1 - 2:30 but dinner was not until 8pm. Picnics can be ordered aswell. There is a lifeguard on duty between 10am and 6pm and there is music played by the pool between 3pm - 6pm giving a lovely atmosphere. The staff do not speak much english but we were able to communicate without any problems - even the children managed to communicate with the staff and being the only english in the hotel was actually really nice~!!! The pool was very clean and most days we had is pretty much to oursleves.

The evening entertainment consisted of a childrens mini disco followed by something different every night - this ranged from a parrot show to a man v woman night which was great fun for all ages!!! There is also an area by the pool where the children can draw and be entertained by the staff.

The room was cleaned every day including clean towels and sheets. There was no kettle or cuttlery but that really didnt matter as you could get a hot drink from 3 other places in the hotel. The beds were comfy - even the sofa bed that me and my husband slept on all week. The only downside to the room was that there was no air-con, but there is a ceiling fan and you can get an extra fan from reception.

On the whole we had an amazing holiday, and it was our childrens first time abroad so we really hoped the hotel would be good. The staff were lovely and we will definately be returning next year but we will hire a car so we can see more of the island.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in good poitions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We have just come back from La Noria. As you can see from other reviews, this is run for Italians. They do not take into consideration other nationalities. Not one TV channel in English, maybe not important to you but a news channel would have been great.

This is not for the self catering, yes it has a kitchen, with fridge but the hob is switched off and no utensils. My biggest bug bare was it had no kettle, you had to get hot water from either reception or by the pool from a machine. This stops at 11pm!! Take your own kettle! Last but not least on bad things, Music!! You can't relax by the pool as the young people who run the entertainment, Italian, have booming music going it seems all day and then on the terrace in the evening.

Onto the good bits, Juan, the chef, can't fault his food at all, it was really fantastic, he has a great sense of humour. Serifino, (not sure on spelling) is the hardest working person I know, he is the mini bus driver, which takes you to the beach, a waiter and all round nice man. Diego, on reception, very helpful, sorted us out with no problems when we arrived to find they had only booked one apartment for myself and friend, we should have had two. He helped with my Spanish too.

In fact, the good did out way the bad and all the staff were very friendly. Above all the apartments were exceptionally clean.

Yes, I would go again but I would def take a kettle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the garden area, better then by the pool, too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaretdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alaior
0.8 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
0.8 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
0.2 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,447 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,831 reviews
12.8 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas de Son Bou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas de Son Bou

Property: Arenas de Son Bou
Address: Mare Nostrum s/n, 7730, Alaior, Minorca, Spain (Formerly La Noria Aparthotel de Son Bou)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Alaior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenas de Son Bou 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arenas de Son Bou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas De Son Bou Minorca, Spain - Alaior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing