We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sept 2013” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenas de Son Bou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arenas de Son Bou
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sept 2013”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Half board and no kettle was the worst start possible. Short stroll to Son Bou beach took us 40 minutes (ok we are 66 years old ) but the taxi fare back was 7 euros. the free bus to the beach stopped on the 15th two days after our arrival. The show chef cooking pasta ended the same day as the bus.The room was clean, staff helpful although the hotel is past its best in so many ways. At night in the lounge two televisions showing separate stations fought the bar man's Cuban music, with them both loosing, but never fear his music was blasting out by the pool all day. The food was kept in a supposedly hot unit but we never had hot food in the restaurant at breakfast or in the evening. The chefs tried their best to produce varied food at a good standard of quality.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool if you like the heat, no air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    83
    37
    39
    16
See reviews for
119
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed at la noria one week end of august. First impressions were good. Room was big over looking the pool and nice views.
If you want a quiet holiday this is the place to come. Pool quiet for some reason but big but child friendly. Restaurant meals good first four days but then gets repetitive. Beach is lovely in son bou, best i have been to, 15 min walk. There is a bus but does,nt run that often.
What lets this hotel down there is no entertainment in the evenings boring. Dont get me wrong nice place but to quiet. If thats what you like this is your place. Happy hols

Room Tip: Rooms over looking garden quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay with our three boys. Pool was clean and surprisingly quiet for time of year. We felt it was ours to fully enjoy! Rooms were clean, basic but to be honest we spent very little time there as we fully enjoyed the accommodation. We stayed all inclusive and never asked for anything. We went out for a meal in son bou on a recommendation, which was lovely but the food at la noria far supassed it. We couldn't fault it and always found staff pleasant and friendly. My youngest especially loved the pasta station where pasta is cooked fresh for you. Would we recommend you stay here?? Hell yes!!!!
If you want a relaxing holiday away from the packaged British then this is for you. We devastated that we didn't book for longer than a week.
We loved the hotel staff, they all worked so hard, especially the bar man/ bus driver!!! We also had lovely experiences of fellow Spanish holidaymakers, who made us and our boys very welcome.
Loved every minute!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Delaneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed 1 week, first of july, all inclusive! Kids loved the self serve bars and snacks. Food at the restaurante was great, the fish specially! Nice assortment of salads, hot dishes and pastas.
Only thing was deserts were a bit repetitive! Apartment was big enough for us 4, clean and confortable. No air-con, but the fans solved it. Towels shanged every day, bed linem every 2 days.Staff super friendly, from room maides, reception, restaurante, pool lifeguard and beach van driver!! The surroundings are very nice, great view from terrace. Pool is well kept, warm clean water, was hard to get kids out of it!! Menorca looks like european Caribe, and La Noria presented us an all inclusive very satisfactory. Long sandy beach with warm water, made one week look to short!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at the la Noria for 1 week al inclusive beginning of June .After researching the area as I wanted a quiet peaceful holiday and enjoy watching wildlife, i could not of expected any thing better. The surroundings and gardens of the hotel were lovely. The rooms were spotless and comfortable .food , fantastic ! great choices , great self serve bar and snacks ! all the staff were polite and friendly,there were about 30% English the rest Spanish and Italian and every one was also friendly. There was no entertainment in the evenings but the hotel said it does provide in peak season. Within walking distance is the town were there are shops bars cafes and entertainment if you want it, also the beautiful beach where you can have snacks and drinks at reasonable prices . Buses run frequently to Mahon and surrounding areas again reasonable cost and easy to use. The holiday was so good im looking to go back in September and would recommend to anyone wanting to soak up the sun and relax in a beautiful quiet area of Menorca.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corinne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Just back from this hotel where we stayed for a week on an all-inclusive basis (the first time ever for us). Did alot of research before booking, and liked the sound of this one as it sounded our kind of quiet place with nice normal respectable people (ie. no chavs!) and more of a med atmosphere. It was exactly that so very relieved there!
Arrived before check-in time and made very welcome with full access to facilities whilst our room was prepared. Very quiet, only one other family around the pool and that was the busiest it got all week! Lovely large and clean pool area with self-service pool bar (fizzy drinks, juice, beer, wine and some spirits, with crisps/nuts/pastries).
Food: Well the first few days this was excellent. A good choice of different meats and fish, pasta, lots of salad and huge choice of fruit/pudding/cakes) in a buffet. Unfortunately after that I have to say we were disappointed with it all. There were only a few other couples staying at the hotel then and so they stopped doing the buffet and just asked us what we wanted. I only eat fish or veggie so I had squid 3 days in a row until I couldn't face it anymore. Fair enough that it wasn't worth them doing a buffet, but we got the feeling they were just using up the freezer food but some of it was horrible and the puddings were recycled for 4 days until we left. The quality was very hit and miss, and we gave up and ate out the last night. It was so frustrating as we'd such nice food the first few days. The cheese/pasta/fresh fruit/ice cream disappeared completely. We had fun communicating with the chefs, they don't speak much English but it was all in good humour and they were friendly and welcoming, the main chef disappeared and they seemed to say they were having problems in the kitchen so that may be why everything went a bit downhill? We didn't like to complain as they were such nice people, but maybe we should have done.
Food timings: 8-9.30 breakfast, lunch 1-2.30, dinner 8-10 pm. Pool bar open from 10 to 6. Some spirits alongside beer, wine on all inclusive.
Room: Was lovely and large, very clean and comfy bed. Bathroom big with hairdryer. Fans in rooms so nice and cool. Had room 49 right next to pool and it was perfect. Tv only had channels in Italian/Spanish, didn't go away to watch telly though!
Pool: big and clean. Loads of sunbeds. Had it to ourselves all week really!
Staff: Very friendly. Lady on reception lovely and helpful. Most of the staff don't speak much English, but we manged okay with a few useful phrases that we knew.
Entertainment: There wasn't any unfortunately, there was an Italian(?) rep there but as the hotel was practically empty there was nothing going on and it lacked atmosphere which was relaxing but we got a bit bored towards the end.
Location: at the far end of Son Bou, in a quiet road. About 15-20 mins to the beach along a road (tip:use the short cut over the wall on the dead end road at the side of the hotel to car park!). The beach is beautiful, clean and very long. Nudists at the far end, all very tastefully done though!
Transport: Taxi from airport cost just under 30 euros each way. Drivers had no idea where the hotel was, we later found out it had changed its name from Blu Club/AZ Hotel? Recommend you print a map to show them, luckily we had!
Went to Somni horse show and it was fantastic. Also went riding at Menorca a Cavall and loved it. Enjoyed a Brothers of Soul show at Copacabana, a fun night out and the act was great. The weather was lovely, mid 20s all week and hot and sunny with faint breeze. Needed cardigan a couple of nights, but certainly not cold.
We really liked the hotel and staff and want to leave a nice but accurate review. So this is fair but we were quite disappointed food wise. They said it was their last week open but they shouldn't compromise on quality. Would highly recommend it in season though. (Hi to the only other couple there, Denise and Chris, sorry we didn't see you to say goodbye!)

Room Tip: Room 49, right next to pool. Large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yip35uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I booked this holiday late August in a panic due to work commitments, I read the reviews and thought it sounds okay.
Resort: Quiet, clean, amenities few and far between but costs were reasonable.
Beach: Beautiful, white sand and clear water, couldn't ask for better, nudist beach , did not cause any concerns and perhaps changed my views on naturists, all very respectable and somewhat amusing but nothing seedy.
Hotel: room was excellent, obviously a self catering apartment , so had kitchen without some amenities, bathroom was excellent , bedroom and lounge was spacious with a good sized balcony.
Small issue with ants, but hotel dealt with it very smartly.
All facilities were of a good standard, pool and surrounding area was very good, sunbeds were reasonable but parasols were lightweight quality.
Restaurant: we were all inclusive, restaurant offered bland but sufficient breakfast, excellent lunch and evening meals, pasta available with choice of two types with three sauces, one of the highlights for us, go Omar!! You were a good chef !!
The other food selections, buffet style were of good quality.
Service:in the main very good, as it was an Italian run hotel we personally had medium expectations and therefore were not disappointed.
Weather:unpredictable but couldn't blame anyone for that :-) !!
The only issue we had: a British (English) contingent arrived( 3 blokes and 2 ladies) some were of military background, so loud and well, just loud and I am sad to say lacking in consideration of others, language used was disgusting! We can all swear but it shows a certain lack of self respect and vocabulary - come on guys - get a grip!
All In all great holiday for us except for the home grown talent!!
Ellon couple.

Room Tip: I believe there were no ac units available, did not cause an issue for us as weather was not too hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alaior
0.8 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
0.7 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
0.2 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas de Son Bou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas de Son Bou

Property: Arenas de Son Bou
Address: Mare Nostrum s/n, 7730, Alaior, Minorca, Spain (Formerly La Noria Aparthotel de Son Bou)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Alaior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenas de Son Bou 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arenas de Son Bou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas De Son Bou Minorca, Spain - Alaior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing