We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's getting there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Torralbenc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Torralbenc
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“It's getting there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Torralbenc has only recently opened and with the help of this site has hopefully dealt with some of the customer service issues picked up other reviewers. We were welcomed like the King of Spain having driven through their Vineyard reminiscent of Napa Valley. It was warm enough to sit outside and enjoy the far reaching coastal view. A delightfully put together menu delivered and presented perfectly with the "owners" Rioja complimenting the food. Our guest is a Hotelier and was extremely impressed with what should become Menorca's premier boutique Hotel.
It has certainly attracted some excellent publicity which is great for the Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    30
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
132
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at Torralbenc for nine days in June. On arrival we were greeted by a member of management who arranged for our luggage to be taken to our room. We then had a tour of the hotel and a run through of our room's amenities. We stayed in room seven which has a mountain view, a substantial balcony complete with two sun beds, a table and chairs, two deck chairs, a side table and a cooling wall shower. The room itself was superb. My husband had to work whilst there and Internet access in the room was excellent. The king size bed was super comfortable with quality white bedding. Wardrobe size was adequate but I did ask for extra hangers. We had two armchairs and a coffee table in the room, also a chest for suitcase storage. A turn down service is done every evening. It is great to return after dinner with a welcoming candle glowing in the room. A fresh bowl of fruit is left for you. Water is free in the room also. The bathroom had a powerful shower, a hairdryer, not wall mounted and a magnifying mirror. Products are handmade and are Rosemary based. Towelling dressing gowns and ample towels are provided. We dined in the restaurant every evening which we found to be adequate for our needs. The staff at the restaurant are exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We also had a tour of the wine cellar whilst dining one evening. Breakfast is truly outstanding, eat in or outside, weather depending. We had superb weather so it was always outside. The choice is amazing from freshly baked breads, cheese and meat platter, fruit platter, nuts, jams and purees, juices to eggs any way you like them. This is served at the table which is always much better than a buffet type breakfast. We used the pool every day, it is one of the best pools I have ever seen at this type of hotel.The sun beds are plentiful and waiter service is available by pressing the blue call button. These are dotted around the many seating areas around the hotel. My husband used the gym every day, in his view good machines and fresh water available there also. The staff uniforms are of crisp white linens and cool trousers. They also wear matching shoes, ballet pumps for the female staff and suede loafers for the male. They look very smart yet casual at the same time. We found all staff to be very helpful from the Manageress down. My husband had to scan documents and they were only to happy to help facilitate this for him. The garden areas will improve when the shrubs mature, but are very well laid out thus far especially the walk from the car park passing the lavender covered in butterflies. We only left the hotel twice and could not wait to get back and would definitely return next year. My only gripe is I really wish it was for adults and children over twelve. On our departure day a family with small children arrived and the atmosphere changed immediately. In my opinion it is not for young children, the adults truly deserve this hotel. We had the use of a shower room after check out and your suitcases are safely stored until your departure time. When we left a member of management accompanied us to our car to say farewell, a nice touch I think.

Room Tip: We had room seven, the balcony is very large and private with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshlady1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We tried to view the hotel before recommending family visitors to stay there. Drove in and were greeted at reception with the question " how did we get in?". We asked if we could see a room but were told to leave as we would be disturbing the other guests! Went to dinner there some days later. Beautiful setting and hotel looks really lovely. However food mediocre, certainly not Michelin level as publicity suggests, and service poor.
Attitude needs to change to be successful. Shame as this could be the best hotel on the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryhornetHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Went to the restaurant with friends and family for an evening meal . We sat outside which was a mistake as it was chilly ( in June) and we were the only people. Not a very warm welcome from the restaurant manageress and staff a little snooty.
Service a little disorganised especially the time it took to get our aperatives. Menu interesting but confusing as there were 2 sections and the reason for this was not explained well . Prices are surprisingly low for a high end establishment.
Some of the food not described properly on the English menu -- the vegetable starter for example was actually tempura but not explained that way. Main course portions quite small and all came with a very thick sauce. No vegetables just a piece of lamb or fish with the sauce which was not particularly warm. We all felt that the starters were the best things on the menu. Desserts disappointing especially the chocolate panacota -- something brown stuck to the bottom of the plate. Not Michelen quality as they are aluding to.
Waitress very good but as we were the only ones outside she disappeared for quite long periods and we had to go hunting.
We will return for the setting which was amazing for Menorca where we are not used to places that look like they should be in Ibizia. Hotel looks great but we were told we had to make an appointment to view a room.
Cost of meal for 6 with 3 courses, 3 bottles of wine and aperatives was €400.

Room Tip: we asked to see a room but were told we had to make an appointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 362MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cartmel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have just had a lovely week at this peaceful hotel.
Everything is really laid back and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. ( unlike the previous reviewer who did have a genuine grievance which should have been easily resolved )The rooms are really spacious, the furniture simple in a modernistic, minimalist style which we really like.
The nearest comparison we could make is The Residencia in Deia but is in a hugely different price bracket, ( not a reason to put the prices up here ! We hope. )
The1 grounds are lovely and huge so most of the time you feel you are in your own private mansion.The waiting-on staff are young and probably a bit inexperienced but always very pleasant and willing to assist.
on balance, could not have wished for a better holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakeslovercartmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were looking forward to our holiday at this new boutique hotel, it got off to a bad start when the hotel arranged a transfer for us from the airport that never turned up! it went down hill there after...we forgave the teething problems of the housekeeping and hope that this improves, however what we will not forgive is the attitude of the poor manager who ruined our stay completely . She will know what we are talking about, it was unforgivable, and showed how unprofessional she was, her manner was something we have never encountered before and would never want to experience again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bradninch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

My wife and I spotted the Hotel while browsing through the SLH website, we were looking for some where we could go to have a relaxing break, some where we had not been before and some where that was not too commercialised.

We found it ! Beautifull restoration, lovely rooms, great staff, overall an excellent choice.

It is a new Hotel and I could perhaps find one or two small things that could improve the experience, the outside space is really good, I am sure in better weather this will be a big plus, the pool area and gym are all really good.

The Restaurant we felt was finding it's feet, whilst the breakfast is very good we found the lunch and dinner menu to be limited and not really consistant, nothing really to complain about but we didnt feel it was of Michelin quality just yet.
We also felt that perhaps a little bit of background music during quieter periods may add to the atmosphere.
My other point of note is that I felt that the Hotel is in need of a Bar area, not that I am a drinker but we found there was not really a focal point and when you needed something you had to go and search for help and service.

Overall though a really good experience, we were upgraded into a Garden Cottage which I would reccomend, no fault at all with this room.

The free issue mountain bikes were a plus and the concierge service was excellent.

However I do reccomend a hire car, it is only 15 minutes or so from the Airport but the closest village/town Cala en Porter is a really good walk and was not really somewhere we wanted to spend any time, therefore we used the hire car quite a lot to explore the island and to spend time in Mahon.

Room Tip: I would advise a hire car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northwest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alaior
10.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
#2 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
18.2 mi away
Can Faustino
Can Faustino
#9 of 57 in Ciutadella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.6 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torralbenc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torralbenc

Property: Hotel Torralbenc
Address: Ctra. Mao-Cala'n Porter, Km.10, 07730, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Alaior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torralbenc 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torralbenc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torralbenc Minorca, Spain - Alaior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing