We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
VIK Coral Beach(Playa Blanca)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,107)
Filter reviews
6,107 results
Traveller rating
3,155
1,850
749
237
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,155
1,850
749
237
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports baritalian restaurantmain restaurantbali bedswalk in wardrobeanimation teamkids clubadult only areasdressing roomsea viewadult poolhuge bathroommain poolseparate showerfillet steakgreat holidayschool holidays
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,820 - 3,825 of 6,107 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2011

this was a five star hotel last year and earlier this year too, but no longer, the facilities still hark back to better times, but it’s not the same.
The rooms are of course big, light and airy as are the public areas too, but they are showing signs of wear, knobs missing, glass doors falling off in the bathrooms, bulbs not working, locks failing (we had to change cards 4 times!)
The staff by and large are good with some notable exceptions, but there are no where enough of them.
The food is OK but if you go late don’t expect to have the same choice as earlier, evening dining seating can be difficult we were allocated 5 different tables whilst we were there queuing for 15 +minutes each time to get one allocated.
Now it’s all inclusive it is very full and attracts as expected many families with small children; now I love kids and have a fair few of my own, but if your are adults only looking for relaxation, peace and quiet then you are not going to get it here and it will get worse with the amalgamation of the two hotels. There were kids climbing on the outside dining terrace and jumping into the pool whilst diners were eating, kids with water guns were squirting everyone indiscriminately egged on by their parents. Gangs of pre-pubescents running round the many corridors and ‘tunnels’ often at midnight.
The hotel has rules, but applied arbitrarily, no reserving sunbeds – joking aren’t they, long trousers for men at evening meal, I saw one young man sent away in cropped trousers to buy some from the local shop whilst a large Spanish family had 4 men in shorts walking past the manager at the same time, I spotted one lady stopped from taking food out onto the terrace whilst two men were laden down with plates doing the same thing; the application of these sort of rules cause a lot of friction.
The drinks are good and plentiful (except by the Spa swimming pool which is the only likely area to get a sunbed, but not peace and quiet), not just own brands either.
Entertainment is appreciated by the families but not up to much for adults unless you are into reality style TV type of fun or mini disco of course.
The a la carte restaurant was excellent, food and service, although I heard one complaint that the beef carpaccio was raw and they couldn’t eat it! what’s that all about?
All in all we were able to get away from the noise and crowds a bit on our balcony early and late, but could have done with an awning or parasol for the mid day sun.
We ate well even in difficult circumstances, drank in moderation, had a good laugh and marvelled at the tattoos per square inch of over exposed flesh, so we came away happy but disappointed too.
We will be back to Lanzarote again this year but will look for a more genteel place for a bit of peace and quiet.

Tips: book a taxi each way to and from the airport or you could be in for a few hours travelling on the shuttle, the hotel will do this for you at a reasonable rate. Pay for a suite upgrade for more privacy and bigger balcony, plus robes and cava in the room. If your flight is late in the day pay for the late checkout it’s more relaxing to keep your own room and you get the extra time then.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madhatterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Had a lovely stay at this hotel but it is definitely not 5 star. The rooms are large and the hotel is very clean and some of the staff are very friendly. However, we learned soon enough that if you wanted a sun bed you needed to put your towel down before breakfast; all they need to do is purchase extra sun beds as there is plenty of space! There was a lot of choice of food but if you go there 15 minutes after opening time for dinner then you had to queue for it and i dont mean a few people waiting to be served, i am talking 20 minutes for the cooked in front of you stuff. Eating outside is definitely a different experience to eating inside although we only ate at our allocated table outside twice because we went out a couple of nights and other people nicked our table, so we had to be in the queue for ten minutes before the dinning room opened to secure our spot. I must admit that i have stayed at better 3 star hotels but the champagne left in my room for my birthday was a nice touch. Would i recommend this '5 star' hotel .....NO if you pay a fortune for it, but if you can get it for less than £450 a week each then expect a lovely hotel thats clean.

Room Tip: e mail in spanish that you would like a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Very recommended all inclusive hotel for family holiday, since all members will enjoy no matter their age. We were received in the lobby by Jacobo , really helpful and kind sub-director, who described the hotel facilities and showed us the way to our gorgous double room! It was huge and very comfortable. Our kids were really excited with their own room, only separate by an in- door from the main room.
We would like to stress the perfect job performed by the animation team, both by day and night, in the mini-club, mini disco and later in the night show. You are really good, guys! Would like to mention Cerylle, Nan, Cristina and Camille, who kindly assisted our kids to manage by their own in the everyday mini-dinner, letting my husband and me to enjoy our "romantic" dinners ourselves!
We thank you again for such a great time we spent and promise will come back to meet you all again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alvarezVigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Let me say from the beginning that my wife and I had a very enjoyable 9 day stay here last month.
Many of the aspects of the Hotel are 5 star, our Superior room for example being one as it was the best we have ever had, but 5 star is about service and as an all inclusive we predominantly served ourselves.
Equally, the race to get a sun bed, most were gone by 8am is not acceptable, fortunately we used the smaller pool at the top of the complex by the Gym/Spa, where beds were always available but there was no bar to dispense any type of drinks.
The entertainment is Hi Di Hi at best, but then again it mostly is in these type of Hotels.
The positives, the staff and the service they did give to you. The general air of space and you never felt closed in and in general the food which offered multiple choice but don't we all get a little fed up by food, food and food.
I understand that this Hotel will be totally All Inclusive later in the year and this will encompass its sister hotel located next door the Dream Papagayo and this could put quite a strain on the facilities offered to the holidaymakers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HKP7oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Let me start with my conclusion: this is a very good holiday hotel and good value too, but not 5 star - close but no cigar ! Lets start of by saying why its not 5 star and get the niggles out of the way ! The hotel, in comparison to other larger hotel chains such as Marriott, Sheraton, Jumeraih, Oriental etc with 5*, it lacks certain services and amenities. A few examples are that sunbeds have no padding and become uncormfotable after a time, the rooms have no internet access (for those of us who need to keep in touch with the office), they have phones, but you dont seem able to contact reception as there are no indicators or phone lists. Your bags are taken to your room, but there is no consierge to collect them when leaving. The one really major gripe for me was that air conditioning in the public areas such as recption, bars or restraunts was almost non existant. These are all really simple to put right and would make a great difference. .
Having said this lets get to the good stuff which makes this hotel a great choice. We had a warm greating when checking in and were offered a complimentary drink of Champagne or juice. The staff ran through a list of things, but some of this we didn't take on board - information overload !
Our Superior room was large, light and airy with a walk in clothes closet, large bathroom with double sinks, seperate bath, shower and WC. The room was nicely decorated with TV and minibar, although the minibar wasn't stocked ? We had a double bed whilst our daughter had a pull out sofa bed. The room was cleaned well each day and complimentaries such as shampoos, shower gels etc replaced quickly and towels changed when required. There are Junior Suites and Suites also.
The food was good with most of it cooked fresh at stations within the restraunt itself. I read a comment which said its a bit like a motorway service station and I can see why they said this, but they have to feed a great many people in quick time, so it can't all be silver service. If you do want this there is a-la-carte dining if you want. We were on A/I basis and the pool bar served snacks and salad all day, but we chose to use the normal eatery for something healthier. Drinks were readily available and we encountered no ducking or diving from the bar staff trying to avoid serving you.
Most of the guests seemed Spanish closely followed by Brits, Germans and a smattering of other European nationalities. All were well behaved and there seemed to be no "Chavs" in sight, no drunkenness or bad behaviour.
Entertainment was provided every evening but I admit I didnt see any of it. Others who had been to the hotel before told me it had got much better than in previous years.
The hotel was situated just outside Playa and a 15 minute walk took you to the new Marina and a 5 minute, 4 Euro taxi took you to the center of Playa Blanca if you wanted to visit the seafront bars and restraunts for a change.
All in all, an excellent holiday and highly recommended in my humble opinion for all ages and families.

Room Tip: Room upgardes are available for a modest cost - ask when checking in
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank custardcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews