We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More satisfied customers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More satisfied customers.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Gran Castillo is a well-designed and pleasing set of buildings. The architecture evokes a varied collection of old buildings apparently jumbled around a Moorish castle. In fact it is modern and designed by very clever architects. The design, combined with efforts of the hard-working and uniformly pleasant and helpful staff, successfully avoids the impression of being the large budget holiday factory that it is. There are endless nooks and corners to explore and different areas from the noisy to the peaceful. A sea view room gives a southerly aspect and a mountain view may be preferable for the shade of a northern aspect in the high season.

Both the themed restaurants are included in the package with no menu items that attracted a supplement. The regular buffet was varied and extensive and represented excellent value for money given that (at least in the off-season week that we chose in November) the cost of the holiday was very low for such a well organised, scrupulously clean and pleasant resort.

Our room was a superior sea view and was spacious, clean and well-serviced. Pleasing neutral decor.

The clientele when we visited (end-November) included a wide range of Europeans, albeit with a majority of Brits without feeling Brit-dominated. Our November term-time visit meant a predictable demographic with couples with adult children off-hand like us and young couples with pre-school children forming the vast majority.

Any cynicism about all-inclusive packages is misplaced here. We struggled to find anything that required additional payment - certainly nothing that stood in the way of having a good holiday. Our final checkout bill was 3.28 euros for some UK landline calls from the room, which at 0.19 euros per minute were substantially cheaper than using our UK mobiles.

My only hesitation in doing a review was that occupancy was (apparently - it didn't feel like it) 97% and I was rather hoping to keep it secret for our subsequent trips. Well done BA for finding this hotel and flight package! The only reason for scoring average on location is that the Canaries are not specially pretty, but that's not what visitors go there for. Given the nature of Canary Island scenery, I can't imagine it could be improved on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianTrAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,924
    1,677
    674
    209
    99
See reviews for
2,803
1,962
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed 24th Nov to 1st Dec. My wife and I decided to look for a minimum 4 star all-inclusive holiday which offered value for money. On trawling the web we found this 5 star hotel offering an option at a rate well below some 4 star hotels.

On arrival we were offered a soft drink whilst we were booking in, by very friendly staff. We found our room to be very spacious and clean but with one niggle after our first night's sleep, the sound of a continuous humming noise which I can only think was from the boiler/airconditoning plant. We reported this to a member of the reception staff (Ruth) the following day, without hesitation we were given another room which turned out to be perfect.

Now the good points, firstly the food was first class with plenty of options on offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner (note I do not agree with anyone on here who could possibly complain about the food). The big chef in black, Christian, I think his name was, deserves a special mention as the food he poduced on the griddle was five star plus. Two waiters without doubt deserve a special thanks too, one called Tony who was ever so friendly and most helpful, the other guy's name i cannot remember but he too was always there on hand with a big smile on his face.

Secondly, the activities were great and well orgainsed, i participated in daily volleyball and either pistol. rifle shooting or archery, the two guys running them were really good fun. There were other activities such as table tennis, bar football etc on offer not to mention the evening entertainment which according to other guests were very well run (we didn't have time to fit them all in).

Thirdly, the bars were all very good, again run by very friendly and helpful staff, beer tasted good as did the six or even cocktails that came as part of the all-inclusive package. snacks too were availble during the day so you were never left hungry.

Forthly, the swimming pools were clean, with plenty of beds available at each one, some were quieter than others which was good as the main pool could get busy with kids. There is also an indoor spa that offers various treatments as well as a gym that look well equipped. Unfortunately we didn't visit the centre as we did not have time.

Fifthly, the location of the hotel whilst some 3km away from Playa Blanca suited us perfectly as we were away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to walk to, in particular as one could stop off at the lovely Rubicon Marina on the way. There is also what I would describe as a rugged sort of beach just outside the perimeter fence of the hotel, we saw kids here having fun looking in rock pools. There is also a track that leads to Papagayo Beach that was well used.

Sixthly, on checking out we met Ruth again at reception, she had remembered us from when we made our complaint about the room and the first thing she asked was the room satisfactory and that to me sums the way the staff were throughout the stay, they just couldn't do enough.

Finally we have plans to go back to Lanzarote early next year and we intend to stay at the Dream Gran Castillo.

Room Tip: Get one on the ground floor either side of the bar but I am not telling you the exact one in case it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Much has already been written about the superb rooms and the great food so I won’t go into too much detail here apart from to say we were very, very happy with everything.
What really made this holiday stand out for us was the excellent staff. Every member of staff we encountered was professional, engaging and friendly. Isabel, Franz and everyone at the pool bar worked tirelessly but we never saw anyone who was not smiling and who did not treat customers well. Claudio’s animation team worked so hard from dawn till dusk; even if the entertainment wasn’t to your taste you could not but help admire their commitment to making sure everyone had a great time.
The only slight niggle I had was nothing to do with the hotel but with a few of the residents who seemed to waft around with a huge sense of entitlement and seemed to have left their manners at home – but I imagine you will get this anywhere, home or abroad!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TsunadeLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit to Gran Castillo and once again we have thoroughly enjoyed it. We had champagne on arrival. Our room was fantastic with large lounge area. The staff were very helpful as before. The bar near to the Entertainment room was being refurbished which we were not aware of but this did not stop us having a drink as the poolside bar had been extended and you could get any drink from there during the AI hours. Busy times at this bar only 2 staff working very hard to serve everyone but we did not die of dehydration! Food was plentiful and great choice. Anyone that could not find anything to eat or choice must eat like Royalty at home because there is something for everyone and it is displayed lovely. My husband likes a cooked breakfast and he likes thick sausage like you have at home in England and they had them here so he was very pleased about that. Entertainment was ok. We watched Lion King which was good and the Animacion Team work hard to keep everyone entertained. One night a Saxophonist played in the courtyard and it was so relaxing and lovely. Some nights were bit chilly but hey it was end of November! Our only gripe is that if you are an early riser and like a cup of tea there is nowhere in the hotel to get a drink until restaurant opens at 7.30am for breakfast. Overall we once again enjoyed this hotel and no doubt will return next year at some stage.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor as get good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and me have just returned from the Resort. We were hoping to recharge our batteries and this experience was just what we needed. We had never stayed at an all inclusive before and were very impressed with the food when you consider the numbers that were catered for. Apart from one trip to the Italian which was okay for a change but not terrific, we kept to the main restaurant. We had grilled fish to order every day, which was lovely. Great fresh salads and fruit. Plenty for the meat eaters too. All the waiting staff were great and our "evening meal" waiter always had our favourite drinks ready and was lovely. Mind you all the staff were exceptional and worked really hard. Elena on reception was very friendly and helpful, patiently helping us out when we couldn't work the computer! We stayed in Room 2240 which had a beautiful sea view, a lovely balcony, where we spent a lot of our time, and was near all the amenities. We would ask for the same room if we go again. Drinks were great, Measures generous and you could have as much as you liked. Great having Cava and orange juice for breakfast every day. Cocktails good too. Swam in the lovely heated pool every day - easily accessible tor everyone. We liked the upper terrace for pre and post dinner drinks. Enjoyed the artists who played there but perhaps some quiet background music when no one was playing would be nice? A very big thank you to all the staff for making our holiday so lovely. We have certainly come back feeling refreshed and would recommend this hotel - although, for us, we would avoid school holidays as we would imagine it gets very busy and noisy.

Room Tip: Superior sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ludo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to lanzarote as we fancied a change from gran canaria having visited there a dozen times already. Firstly I e-mailed the hotel requesting a quiet upper floor room and that's exactly what I got with the addition of a sea view superb.The rooms are exceptional large, spacious, clean, one of the best rooms we have stayed in. I do not recognize any of the comments about the lack of staff or their lack of training in fact I found them engaging friendly and very attentive.The two themed resteraunts were good, the Chinese was a bit limited but still enjoyable the Italian however we thought was the best meal of our stay and would happily return if this resteraunt was on the high street. The main resteraunt I do agree can be hectic but I don't agree with some previous reviews about the allocation of a time we found this worked well and the the same table ever night was also great you got to know your waiter and could engage with fellow guests.The pools were not huge but at this time of year plenty of sun beds we never went to the pool till 11am never had a problem.Now really my only complaint and the reason this is not a 5 star resort, the entertainment.The animation team work really hard but that's what they are and do not cut it as evening entertainers sorry.At a 5 star AL resort I would expect professional live entertainment every night. At the 4 star gran canaria hotel at which we stay this is the case.If the weather is warm I am sure sitting outside on the lovely terrace is fine but in November when it can be chilly it's not great and those are the only two options inside watching people miming (badly) or shivering on the terrace all be it meeting some lovely people and that's why this is not 5 star.To summarise loved the area the promenade walk,rubicon marina playa blanca and most of the Hotel.Will we return, maybe probably back to GC next year

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my partner and another couple. First time at this hotel but 4th time in Lanzarote. All in all the hotel is a very nice place but most definitely wouldn't want to stay in high season or when the hotel is to full capacity. Firstly the good points:
Most staff were very friendly and attentive (maybe the ones who were a bit miffed at times were under pressure and didn't cope very well!). The food in the main dining room was of a good standard but the layout could be improved (see further comment). The Italian restaurant was ok (pizza's nice but pasta sauces a bit too much tomato) just made a nice change ... Didn't try the Chinese as we were told we needed to give 24 hr notice and didn't have anymore days to do so! Rooms are very nice and spacious, our cleaning lady was lovely and attentive (however couldn't understand why out of the 12 days we only got bed mats twice? One evening a maid came in whilst we were there ... Turned back the bed and put down a mat either side of the bed.... And then one day again the mats appeared?? Perhaps reception could kindly comment. Beds were very comfortable with a choice of three different type pillows, safe in cupboard was free, air con worked well and ceiling fan (all very nice to have with no additional charge!). There were plenty of sun beds around the hotel and lots of space where others would be in high season ... A choice of I believe 5 pools only one was heated that I found (as the weather was on the chilly side when the wind was blowing) only to be expected though in November! Reception staff were always helpful and even parked our hire car in their under ground car park on arrival. Seating area in reception was very comfortable.
Now for the improvements:
Main Restaurant ... Don't like to be allocated an evening meal time ....why can you accommodate all at breakfast without a time but not at dinner? It would be nice to have soft drinks available with all meals without a charge. The china is dated and well used a lot had chips and is a health hazard so should be removed and replaced with new. the toasters take forever .... Need replacing! The layout I think could be better in the evening .... With choices of meat and different veg in two separate corners of the room you may want something from one and then something from the other and your first bit gets cold whilst queuing! Why not put all hot meat choices in one place, all fish in another and veg and potatoes in another ... Then there would be a constant flow ... It would also be nice to have the opportunity to have coffee after dinner. Next point general All Inc. facilities .... Not enough bar areas open during the day to get drinks/coffee ... No bar area open at top seating area (sports bar was being renovated but not sure this opens during the day?) would be nice to have a semi enclosed area for the months when it's chilly ... Not everyone wants to sit in the reception area or down in the pool bar ... I know it's costly but just an observation for improvement.

We used the Spa with our voucher was ok nothing special .... Cushions need replacing as they are going mouldy with the damp ... Had a treatment which was ok, nothing special ... Felt they just wanted to sell products! Which was a shame.

The hotel could be a little far out for some people ... The walk to the Rubicon (the marina area and where the two markets are held) is a 25 min walk along the promenade. You can then walk a further 25 mins into Playa blanca .... Taxi costs just under 4 euros one way, so a nice stroll and taxi back is ideal.

All in all a good hotel which is very clean, gardens are kept nice....maintenance if required are quick to resolve any issues..... Staff aim to please. Address the points above and the hotel would be excellent ! Thanks for a nice holiday ....

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view as these are definitely best ... However an upper level is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,713 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,050 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#27 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,403 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing