We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed all my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surpassed all my expectations”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed for a week in Dream Gran Castillo Resort with my husband and two daughters (7 and nearly 5). We had a fantastic time. The price of the holiday seemed very good value compared to all other packages we had considered so I was slightly apprehensive before we left, but the hotel exceeded my expectations on every level. Unfortunately on arrival my younger daughter ran into a glass door in the hotel lobby, the hotel manager couldn't have been more helpful and subsequently we were upgraded to a room twice the size of that which I had booked with separate bedrooms for my husband and I and the girls, each with its own sitting room area and balcony. We slept amazingly till 9am each morning which never happens at home!

The Animation team were amazing and a special mention has to go to Alex who ran the kids club who is amazing with the children and a real asset to this hotel. He also took part in the mini disco for the kids each night which they loved.

The food was typical of large international buffets, probably not 5* but there was so much choice and always fresh meat and fish being grilled that you could always find something you would like. The restaurant could get quite busy and hectic but as expected in school holidays. The Italian restaurant was also nice but I probably wouldn't go back to the on-site Chinese.

The all inclusive drinks were great, the house wine was very very drinkable and I liked that they would put the bottle on the table for you rather than serve it by the glass which you can find in some all inclusive hotels. They also had many branded spirits included in the deal.

The pools were great and our girls spent all day in and out of the pool and on the water slides with their new friends.

Only other negative point was it could get very busy round by the kids pools and sun beds would all be taken by 9am (I am not one to get up at the crack of dawn just to reserve a bed) but we always found somewhere to sit.

We also had some great photos taken of the girls which were reasonably priced.

I would definitely go back here, my only reservation is that I would have high expectations the next time based on our previous stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CawthoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director General at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello CawthoA,

We firstly would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Your comments will be very helpful for us as for our future visitors.

I remember your case, and I hope your daugthers had a very nice time, specially the one who crashed the door. Did they take home the All Inclusive necklace i did for them??? You do not have to be grateful for that because anyone of our Hotel staff would have made the same because our guests must feel at home from the moment they arrive to Dream Gran Castillo.

You have made very important comments and we are already working on them to improve our Oriental Restaurant, but also our Italian, so I hope next time you visit us, you contact to us to let us know if we did surpassed your expectations AGAIN!!!

I am sure we will.

Thank you very much again for your review on Tripadvisor.

Kindest Regards

David Ayala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,900
    1,660
    673
    209
    99
See reviews for
2,770
1,955
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here in March 2014 and had a fantastic break! The hotel and grounds are beautiful and obviously well cared for by the grounds team. Special thanks to two members of staff - Alturro makes this hotel, thank you so much for making our holiday, Miss Janny will see you in September as we have booked two weeks. Next thanks is to Alexandra on reception, thanks for helping with our room change. Closing comment - Go to this hotel, it's amazing!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Our first time all inclusive and with kids 7 and 12 - it was perfecto. Wonderful staff, food, bars and pools. The buffet restaurant is excellent however if you prefer al a carte the Chinese and Italian offer this but book early the day before. We went family premium and that was very spacious for us and the kids. The hotel is in a great location 15 mins lovely coastal walk to Marina. All in all great place to chill, eat, drink and be merry with your family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Apr 2014. Helped by fab weather but our room was gorgeous, spacious and kept very clean. The food was delicious and plentiful. Staff were attentive. On the first day we couldn't get a sunbed but asked Alex (pool attendant near the kids club) who kindly sought two out for us. Our 8yr old had a fab time too. Thank you to all the staff there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephensRm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just Come Back From Dream Gran Castillo all i can say is what a lovely hotel you wanted for nothing ,The staff were efficient helpful and always had a welcoming smile
Our Room was Superb Food Superb can't fault anything and already planning our next trip
The only thing that might be better was when a big football game on open the sports bar earlier

but ten out ten from me

Mike

Room Tip: Wouldn't Know as our room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taximike63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here in November last year (November 13). Check in was easy. Rooms amazing and food to die for. Going back in July 14 for another break. Took my wife and 2 kids 2 and 4 who have not stopped talking about the place. One of the best places I have stayed in Europe. Thanks to all the staff for everything. See you in July. Marsh family.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmarsh911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Ideal place to stay whatever your situation if you want to relax in the sun, dip in one of the many pools, eat and drink to your hearts delight all day, look out across the sea, wander onto the beach and along the walkway to the Marina and beyond, enjoy varied entertainment, have activities for the children, and have continuous happy service from always ready to please staff. Ideal temperatures during the day but a little cool in the evening.

Room Tip: Be near to main pool, beach, main dining room, reception, but best balcony views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,969 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing