We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel with amazing staff !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have literally just come back fro this place. It's amazing I've been to many all inclusive hotels and found them very stingy and reserved. This one if amazing the staff are so unbelievably fantastic. Always friendly and always have a smile on there face always trying to get u to join in just to Brighton your day that little but more and u can have a laugh with them they are employed to just muck about with you it's fantastic. This is the first time I've been there and will most defiantly recommend and go again my self. Also the entertainment at night from the staff is great. I feel abit sorry for them as we all depend on them and they do very long shifts but wveryone I spoke to say it's more of a home, family, hobby than a job so it shows that not only does this Hoyle treat u to luxury but for once a brand, company that looks after there staff and my god does it show. I love this place. I made friends with a staff member and she has nothing bad to say about the hotel witch talking to them on a personally level shows that it's a great place if even the staff can't find faults. Please please please go people I can assure you will not regret it. Maybe I'll see you there as I think I will become a regular especially as maybe a 3 week break before I deal with the stresses of travelling :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfonso0192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Alfonso0192,
We from Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comment about our staff, they all do their absolute best for our guests to be left without wishes and completely happy. Our guests must be able to spend a wonderful holiday in our hotel, that’s why nothing is too much trouble for the staff and we appreciate you mentioning it. If you want to have some fun during your holiday, just join in one of the activities offered by our animation team or relax during the wonderful evening entertainment they put on at night. They are working really hard so our guests are entertained and can enjoy their stay. Thank you very much for recommending us. We are very happy to hear that you thought our hotel was fantastic and we certainly hope you will come back to our hotel again soon. We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 5,848 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went from 28/6 to 5/6 and loved it. Most people were here with families and we were a group of friends, but this didn't bother us as we wanted to relax. The staff were completely amazing- the bar staff were happy to learn how to make our favorite cocktails and by the end of the holiday they prepared them for us without us having to ask. The chef Christian was cheerful, chatty and his food excellent and Angel (manager) upgraded us to a junior suite when repair work was carried out on the pool adjacent to our room. We would all happily return here and other reviews about too many children are not accurate as there is an adults only pool. I thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Choose sea view as pool view can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Sophie D,
We would like to thank you for sharing your great experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
You are mentioning how good our staff is, it's wonderful for us, since they all do their absolute best each day. Our bar service always try to satisfy our guests needs, so we are glad to know that you enjoy the cocktails. Thank you for mentioning our chef Christian and our reception manager Angel, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We hope you will return to our fantastic hotel soon and thank you very much for recommending our hotel too. For your next stay with us, we offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great five star all inclusive hotel, which we got for a really good price too. The staff are the nicest I've ever come across and can't do enough for you. Unlike many all inclusives most of the spirits on offer are premium brands. Only downside for us was it is a bit of a families place, but if the kids get a bit much there's an adults only pool which is quiet. Nice spa, which you get to use once during your stay for free. Plentiful car parking round the side if you've got a hire car, as we did. Great food in both the buffet restaurant and Italian and Chinese restaurants. Best bit was our room, which was palatial and came complete with walk in wardrobe, lounge area, fridge, massive bathroom and balcony with sea view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan_fleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear dan_fleet_UK,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
Your words about our staff make us really happy as they all do their absolute best each day for our guests to be left without wishes. There are 11 pools in our hotel so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. We appreciate your comments about our relaxing Spa and the parking facilities around the hotel. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants. Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation. We hope to welcome you back again soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for loyal guests.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed from 5th- 12th June. Both in our 20’s
We booked our stay at Dream Gran Castillo through sunshine.co.uk which was recommended to us by friends and I have to say they are by far the cheapest website I have found. Easy, clear and quick website to use and also sorted out transfers through them.
Check in was quick and professional. We were greeted by very friendly staff who gave us as much info as possible of the resort and we also got upgraded to a Sea view room at no extra cost.
We had room 5261 which was in the main castle.
The room was lovely, very spacious with amazing views. The bathroom was very large with a walk in shower and nice deep bath. The room was cleaned daily by the friendly maids who always had a smile on their faces. The beds were extremely comfy and there was also a safe to use (free of charge) in the walk in wardrobe. The rooms also have fridges and hair-dryers.
The resort was a lot larger than we thought it would be which was great for getting sunbeds at different locations throughout the week which made you feel like you was at a different place every day. There is numerous pools to select from, some heated - great for families or couples. The adult pool is nice if you want a quiet day sunbathing; only downfall is the bar was not operating during our stay.
The food was great. The main restaurant had many different varieties to select from daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Italian restaurant was also lovely!
Our favourite restaurant was the oriental, quick service, plenty of drink and the food was fantastic.
The main pool bar is great for getting a light snack in-between meals if needed and again lovely views over the pool to enjoy whilst having your snacks & drinks.
All the staff at Dream Gran Castillo was brilliant, they could not help you enough and served you as quickly as they could. The animation team was great, always made time to stop and talk to you to tell you what was going on that night.
The location of the resort is perfect; It is situated directly by the sea which you just walk out the gates to. The marina is about 10-15mins walk around the bay which is nice to take a stroll to, it also has a Market on selected days.
We hardly left the resort as it was so lovely, so we cannot comment much about things to do locally, but the day we did go out to the town was nice, we had a look around the shops and had some drinks at the main harbour. The taxi to and from the town was about 8euros so very cheap.
We made some lovely friends at the resort and it was nice to all meet in the evenings at the main bar for drinks before dinner.
We went all inclusive which I would recommend as it is great value for money for the amount of food and (branded) drinks you can have.
Weather was great, windy but that helps with tanning lol
This resort is definitely 5*

Room Tip: Request a sea view room on the higher floors of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Sky H,
We truly appreciate your wonderful comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you had a nice welcome to the hotel. As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious and provide everything our guests need during their stay and we are glad that you found them immaculate and very clean. Our guests can discover our 11 pools and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one. We are proud to read that you found our food excellent, because only the best quality is accepted in our buffets and restaurants, where the guests can sample the best of the local and international cuisine. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the different drinks and snacks that we offer in our pool area bar. Our clients should be able to spend a perfect holiday and therefore nothing is too much trouble for us. During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca with the Papagayo beaches and the Rubicon Marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel and some nice shops in the area nearby. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After reading all the reviews we decided that this hotel looked perfect for us. Unfortunately it wasn't. It was not all negative the food was great the staff were great and so were the rooms. The problem we had with the hotel was that - A we didn't think it was worth a 5 star rating B . It was more a 4 star FAMILY HOTEL! C. There was nowhere where couples without children could have a quiet drink. Admittedly the pool bar was quieter but there were too many bugs flying about. This wasn't just our opinion we met quite a few other couples who felt the same way. We are not anti children as we have our own plus 5 wonderful grandchildren but when we go on holiday we want to be able to have a conversation without other peoples children running loose without any control!
The Chinese restaurant was excellent although they could do with turning the lighting down a bit. The Italian restaurant was not as good my husbands first meal was overcooked which was sent back while all my vegetables were cold! Did not like it that the starters and desserts were buffet style. The dessert stand looked like a war zone!!
Would I recommend the hotel ? Yes if you are a family who wants everything on site. No if you are a couple who wants a quiet holiday with like minded people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunlover493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Sunlover493,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to read that you didn’t have a relaxing time during your week. There are 11 pools in our hotel, so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay. We always try to offer different activities or facilities to do for both adults and children. For example, you can visit our Spa Vitanova and have a relaxing thermal circuit or a massage. We are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much, but it is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our restaurants. You are mentioning how great our staff and our rooms are, it's wonderful for us, since all our team do their absolute best each day to give the best service. We would like to encourage you to come back again to our hotel, so we could give you a second experience. For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for a week in April 2014. Rooms clean and spacious. Good choice of food with some high end ingredients, just a little let down due to the meals only ever being warm. Sun beds around the main pool crammed together so we tended to stay at the adults pool with no bar or entertainment. Location poor as there is no beach directly in front of the hotel and the nearest bars and restaurants are at Rubicon marina approx. 20 minutes walk away.

Nearest beach - 15 minute walk.

OK hotel but not for us. Will not return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilbyt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear kilbyt007,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that you didn’t like the location of our hotel so much, but the beach is only 800m behind our hotel and therefore easy to reach. In addition, you can reach the Papagayo beaches within a few minutes walking distance and there are 11 pools in our hotel for our guests to discover. As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious and provide everything our guests need during their stay and we are glad that you found them very clean. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests. We hope you will give us one more chance so we can assure you of our great staff and treatment for loyal guests. On bookings of our loyal guests, which are made with us directly, we apply a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Wow!!! What a fantastic holiday we had. We went with our 4 year old daughter and my parents for a week and loved every minute.
The animation team defiantly made our holiday. They are excellent and Alex is just a kiddie magnet the kids love him.
The food was great with so much to choose from we didn't find it hard to find something that suited everyone, even my dad as he is so fussy managed to eat well all week and our waitress Monica was fab.
The rooms and hotel area were kept clean and well maintained throughout our stay and the maids loved giving us chocolates yummy.
The entertainment of an evening was terrific there were live bands and shows from the animation team that were so good and so funny every night.
We will be going back as soon as we can. This is a 5* hotel and if you have kids or don't have kids this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Vikki S,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you thought our hotel was fantastic. During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants. Thank you for mentioning our animator Alex and our waitress Monica, we will convey to them your kind words in relation to their work. We always make sure that all our spacious rooms and our hotel are very clean and tidy. It’s great to hear that you would repeat your holidays with us. If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £118 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Hotelopia, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing