We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Second time round even better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our second stay at this hotel along with my wife and two young children,we have never visited the same hotel twice but we are so glad we did.

The location. The hotel is set in a quite location out of playa blanca town but either €4 in a taxi or a nice walk along the promenade will get you into the centre of Playa Blanca where there is a lovely beach,plenty to do hire the usual jet ski's, banana boat rides etc all reasonable priced as well.

The staff.All the staff are so happy and pleasant,I think it makes such a difference seeing happy staff they are always happy to help.
The rooms.The rooms are amazing in size and quality separate bath and shower, double sinks bathrobe and slippers. We have stayed on both occasions in room 3479 which is located down by the bottom pool not far from the Italian we found it worked well for us.
The Animation team they are asset to the hotel they make such a fuss of all the children and work so hard they all deserve a medal special mention to Alex who made such an impact on my children.

The food.As mentioned on my previous review the food is excellent with lots of variety and all cooked to the way you like if you want it well done then ask for it well done, the Chinese and Italian are both very nice but don't compare them to your local back home.

Overall.This is a fantastic hotel you will not be disappointed, you will not be able to please everyone, go and give it a try you will love it. Would I go again? Yes! Am I going again?Yes!

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Peteandgwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Peteandgwens,
We from Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* would like to say thank you that you shared your amazing experience in our hotel with us on Tripadvisor.
The location of our hotel in the area of Playa Blanca, is perfect for those who want to spend a quiet holiday and still have some nice shops in the area nearby.You are telling how good our staff was, that is great for us, due to they always try to give the best service to our guests.As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious and provide everything our guests need during their stay. Each day our guests can join in the many different activities offered by our animation team, they organize a lot of games for children and adults and at night they put a lot of effort to give great shows. We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in each one of our three restaurants is a highlight for our guests.We hope you will return to our hotel soon and thank you for recommend our hotel too.If you book your next stay directly with us, you will receive a special 5% discount for returners.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,926 - 1,932 of 5,847 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nice hotel with mostly friendly and efficient staff; Rooms were huge, clean, well furnished and turned over impeccably every day. Lots of pools, we tended to stick to the kids area which had a shallow pool with slides and another pool close by which was a bit deeper (and warmer) all close to the 2nd pool bar. Get up before 9 to bag your sunbeds or forget it, in fairness did see a few towels getting removed but not enough.

Food was excellent in all restaurants plenty of choice, fresh and good quality cuts of meet.

All inc beer was lovely, house wine was drinkable and make sure you request branded drinks at the bar.

Sports bar area very nice with loads of seats outside with views of the ocean.

Kids entertainers worked hard and were very friendly although I think they could have done more games.

All in all a great family holiday in a great hotel within a nice resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank moonhead99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear moonhead99,
We truly appreciate your wonderful comment about our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff, our spacious and clean rooms, and the plenty of pools for children and adults that the hotel provides where our guests can relax and enjoy the sunny days. We have a special sun bed policy in our hotel, where the pool man removes towels from sun beds, which are not being used for a longer time, so every guest has a chance of lying on a comfortable sun bed.It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants.Our bar service always try to satisfy our guests needs, so we are happy to know that you enjoyed the drinks and cocktails.Our animation team works really hard so both adults and children can have a lot of fun during the aqua gym or other activities that the organize. We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon.We offer a special 5% discount to our loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in July 14.

Room 6320 - partial sea view - very nice. Big comfortable bed for myself and wife. Nice effective air con. Sunny balcony in afternoon. Nice big loo with walk in shower. Double sink.

Living room with sofabed for our 9 year old, and a proper single bed on request for the 10 year old.

Flat screen TV, turned on to check it worked and then never used again. Seemed to have BBC World and Sky News.

Fridge in room, which would have been the mini bar if stocked, which they only do on request. We used it to keep water in. Hotel gives you a 2L bottle to the room most days....seemed a bit erratic.

Complimentary use of the safe.

Food really good. Having done 3* AI before, 5* was MUCH better. At dinner, veal, pork, steak, salmon, various other fish, king prawns, great quality sausages all made regular appearances.

Breakfast was good too with pancakes, omelettes and eggs on demand from the sulky but hugely efficient German chef. One thing I haven't seen mentioned elsewhere is the 3 or 4 smoothies produced each day on demand too at breakfast. Really good.

Italian was OK for a change, as was the Chinese, but I can see why people say the Chinese is too rushed. The puddings in the Chinese were terrible IMO, and could only really be described as average in the main restaurant too. I asked for a steak I the Italian to be well done, and had to send it back twice as it was still mooing. Even when it came back for attempt 3, it was much pinker than I wanted, but I ate it to be polite.

Staff generally very good, especially our waiter Toni.

Entertainment a mixed bag. Magician was good. African gymnastic guys good. The entertainment team efforts at night were mince, and need to be sorted out IMO. Watching them mime to Grease etc, is bearable for 10 seconds max. Luckily the World Cup was on, so son and I made our escape. To be fair, some people seemed to like the miming, etc, but it's obviously just a cheap option for the hotel, and isn't in keeping with the standard of the rest of the place.

Lots of pools. As usual, guests performed the 'towel booking' routine. We did this once just to have a day by the pool.

Small (very) beach just outside the hotel. Bigger beaches 20 mins walk to the left over rocky hill / path, and in the ton itself (45 min walk).

Good hotel, good food, good staff.....what's not to like?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Keith_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Keith_Brown,
We would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
Our rooms are designed to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the comfort of your accommodation.Like you said they all have great views and we are very happy that you liked yours.There are three different restaurants where our guests can enjoy the delicious meals each night.We are so glad to know that the variety and quality of the food in our restaurants is a highlight for our guests, but we are sorry that you didn’t like the Italian restaurant so much.We offer many different activities during the day so your kids and also the parents can spend a fun and great holiday in our hotel.There are 11 pools in our hotel so every guest can find a quiet one during their stay.Our hotel is located in the area of Playa Blanca with the Papagayo beaches and the Rubicon Marina within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel.We are very happy to hear that you thought our hotel was fantastic and we certainly hope you will come back to our hotel again soon.For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just back from a relaxing week at the Dream Gran Castillo. Nice hotel with lovely big room. Housekeeping was of a good standard and the maids were always friendly and polite
The food was nice and always something to choose from for my fussy 11 year old.we thought the Asian restaurant was nice but found the Italian a little lacking in atmosphere.

25 euro each deposit for the beach/pool towels but the safe is free.

The pool's were nice although the one next to the restaurant was Baltic. My only real gripe about the hotel was the lack of consistency with regards to what you could and couldn't play with in the pool near the pool bar at the bottom of the resort. On several occasions everyone was told they couldn't play with ball's in the pool. Another child was told she couldn't use her rubber ring (which was her flotation aid) depending on the life guard depended on what you could do. It should be all or nothing. This is definitely a family hotel and I don't think I would go just as a couple even though it has an adult pool its still noisey and hectic this time of year.
would we return yes although after staying in Playa Blanca twice I think we have exhausted the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mrsmidge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear mrsmidge67,
Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* with us on Tripadvisor.
We always make sure that all our spacious rooms are very clean and tidy.We are glad to know that you enjoyed the variety of dishes and quality of the food we offer in our 3 restaurants. Our guests can discover our 11 pools and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one. Our pool staff always tries all the guests to be relaxed and to enjoy the sunny days at the different pool areas so they want that everybody will be comfortable in their pool time. We hope to welcome you back again soon.For loyal guests, who book their next stay directly with us, we offer a special 5% discount.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is our second stay at this hotel and again had a wonderful time.

The hotel animation team are great. Food is excellent with a very wide choice of different foods. The Chinese and Italian are excellent, but you need to book.

Hired a car which was very reasonable, which allowed us to see a few places, such as the Fire Mountain.

Had a sea view which was amazing. The rooms are lovely with loads of room and designed very tastefully.

There are loads of pools and plenty of beds, but go down in the morning and pick your beds. We would go down to the family pool and then have breakfast in the restaurant which was about a minutes walk away.

The entertainment suits families/couples etc with the animation team putting on very good musical productions, but also outside there were some very good musicians.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, it is lovely sitting on the patio with a nice drink looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamplaceHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Linda V,
From the entire team of Dream Gran Castillo Resort 5* we would like to thank you for your great comment on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you repeated your holidays with us. It is wonderful for us to hear that you liked the wide variety of delicious dishes offered to our guests each night in our three restaurants.The location of our hotel close to Playa Blanca is ideal for going on excursions and discovering the islands attractions and we are happy you loved the island so much.Like you said all our spacious rooms have great views and we are very happy that you liked yours.Our guests can discover our 11 pools and since there is also a children's pool every client can choose their favorite one.During the day our animation team offers many different activities and at night they put on a great show so our guests can finish their day with a smile on their faces.We hope you will be back for another amazing holiday in our hotel soon.For repeating guests, there is a special 5% discount, if they book their next stay directly with us.
Best regards,
Miriam Pla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My 2nd visit in 3 months....this time for 11 nights with just my teenage daughter as husband had work commitments. Felt very safe in the resort and could not have asked for more. Our room was very spacious with separate dressing room and spotlessly clean. Loved the added touch of turn down service in the evening and bottle of water and chocolates left for us. The staff are very pleasant,friendly and hard working. The hotel manager David also took time to speak to the guests to make sure they were happy with hotel. The food was once again excellent with a fantastic choice especially at breakfast. We dined at the Italian 3 times during our stay and especially liked the fillet steak. The entertainment starting at 10.00pm was very good. Since our last stay you are now entitled to free wifi at 500mb per week (you can pay to receive extra). This is available throughout hotel and even at the pool. The choice of drinks was once again very good....enjoyed the cava, baileys, cocktails, wine and fresh coffees. We had such a lovely time we didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Nessie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

hi all we stayed here last year at the dream .omg it was what it says .been coming to lanzarote for a few years now . and do stay different parts of the island.fantastic hotel fantastic food it was an amazing experience. one of the best hotels yet . the only thing that i could say is the entertainment staff was abit full on realy. dident realy like to take no for an answer note to hotel staff if people dont wont to join in on the entertainment leave them alone . but apart from that fantastic best placed ive stayed yet

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank gaynor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £119 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Onthebeach, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing