We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream of a Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Visited with my mother 84 and sister 50ish for a short break - the staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to give any assistance they could to our elderly mother - the food was excellent and there was something to please everybody. Couldn't fault the room or the facilities and for an all inclusive hotel I doubt that it could be beaten.
Excellent Value

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoBobRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,777)
There are newer reviews for Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,811 - 3,817 of 5,778 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

I am writing this review after eading some of the ridiculous reviews people have put on this website regarding this hotel, there are too many comments to mention so i will tell you my thoughts on this fantastic hotel.
I travelled to this hotel with my wife and two children aged 4 and 2 and spent 10 days soaking up the sun and enjoying ourselves, i'm not going to go on about the rooms as it has all been said already but needless to say the amount of room we had for the four of us was unreal and the children had a massive bedroom to share with there own bathroom downstairs, i couldn't tell you what was on the TV because we were on holiday and certainly didn't go to watch the TV.
Our room also overlooked the pool and apart from the first night when the children didn't settle we all slept fine, in fact on two occasions the children slept in and missed breakfast as they were having so much fun during the day.
The hotel was so clean and tidy and the facilities were top drawer, the children played in both pools for hours everyday especially the slide pool and my eldest who is 4 spent a bit of time at the kids club where the staff were excellent with the kids.
The restaurant was 5 star and I couldn't fault the food at all, loads of choice excellent waiter service and drinks on tap, the chidren were well catered for and was always something for them to choose themselves, the entertainment on an evening was great fun, the kids loved it and made some lovely new friends as did us two, the all inclusive was great, cocktails, spirits and even cocktails for the kids.
The location was fine, a lovely stroll into the marina which was beautiful and a litlle further to the main town of playa blanca where we spent a bit of time at the beach which was also lovely.
All in all the holiday was fantastic, a great location with great facilities and the kids had the time of their lives, we would definately go back and if you have a family and are thinking of booking then i would say go for it and don't listen to the ridiculous comments that people put, if you want a clean place with friendly staff and good food then i would book it now.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

we chose this hotel because it catered for people with disabilties,correct up to a point, the ramp for my husband to push me up were rather steep,to get across to the dining
room was quite a trek in the open no cover and on two occasions it was raining in the evening.we did ask for an umbrella but none available.
the rooms were large enough for my wheelchair and the bathroom was huge,but shower cubicle could have done with a proper chair and the grab handles were too far from shower hose for me to use so my husband had to shower me. maybe extra grab rails nearer the shower head could be fitted
the food was excellent,the staff excellent,beds were super .
the chairs on the patio were in a very sad state,falling apart, on the whole it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We have now stayed here twice and are planning a third visit in the spring. The hotel and spa are both lovely. The food is excellent and varied. The service is fantastic. Rosa on reception is the star of a superb team and Carlos, our wonderful waiter, is Lanzarotes answer to Xavier Bardem!!!!

There are lovely walks and beaches close by. The childrens animation team are super.

Adults and children can enjoy a superb holiday in this hotel, i would recommend it to anyone with young chilren looking for a relaxed holiday with good food in nice surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alckemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Originally booked the Castillo Papagayo for our anniverary, when we arrived, we were given (as previously stated) a beatiful room but having unpacked & had lunch, we had a look around and decided that this hotel was too small & much more suitable for families with small children. We had a walk to the Gran Castillo (through a conecting tunnel) and decided that this was much more what we were hoping for - sea view, more bars, better facilities etc etc so we enquired about a move & consequently re packed & moved for a moderate additional fee with no hassle whatsoever.
In brief (also done a review for Gran Castillo!) Hotel beatuiful, staff helpful & friendly but food dreadful (plenty of choice but din't manage to find anything that was warm during the entire week and although there was up to 5 choices on the griddle, these were extremely bland!
I wouldn't stay at either of these hotels again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We just returned to the snow in Scotland from a last minute bargain break to Playa Blanca - we booked and left for Lanzarote within 48 hours. This was a lovely hotel, situated within walking distance (20 mins) of the marina. The service was good and there are definitely a few stars amongst the staff - Richard on the front desk provided exceptional service and went above and beyond expectations to ensure we had a great room and enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Accommodation was extremely spacious and we enjoyed an upgraded room for free facing onto the pool area. There is a choice of food from the buffet restaurant for all meals on either the terrace over the pool or inside the dining room. We found the choice of food was excellent and well cooked. Additionally you have one meal per stay which you can enjoy at the a la carte restaurant - this was very enjoyable although smaller portions and I am very dubious about lobster ever being on the menu! All expensive dishes seemed to consistently not be available - a cost cutting ploy m'thinks! The weather was lovely for this time of year and excellent standards all round for a very competitive last minute break to the sun. Excellent value for money. Would return to this hotel and definitely to this area of Lanzarote tomorrow.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Just got back from this lovely hotel. Service was very good. Accommodation was extra spacious and lovely room. Nice to have the choice to eat on the terrace over the pool or inside the dining room. Choice of food was excellent and well cooked. Although tea and coffee not in the rooms there was no prob, when we asked, we had a kettle etc. in no time at all delivered to the room. Weather was lovely and excellent standards have been maintained for a great price all inclusive package. Excellent value for money. Would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPUD8421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,294 reviews
19.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing