We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good hotel in quiet location”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Spent four nights here, very relaxing. We had a fantastic room which was huge and had a great view of the sea. It was the first time we had tried an all inclusive hotel and it was ideal for a short break. There are no bars or restaurants near the hotel but a good path takes you from the hotel to a Marina and then to Playa Blanca, about 5K away. You can also walk to Papagayo beach in the other direction, but you need trainers as the path is stony. The beach in front of the hotel is very rocky. The only downside was the transfer from the airport which took over an hour as we were last to be dropped off. Car hire would be a better option if you were staying for longer.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,856
    1,627
    663
    206
    94
See reviews for
2,705
1,935
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Impressive 4 star hotel with very spacious and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Varied buffet 3 times a day that was very hard to fault. Kid-friendly, multi-lingual chef with a choice of 4 different meat/fish dishes cooked to order. Pool side bar for chilled draught lager in the sun. Nice looking pools (bit cold in December for me). English newspapers available in the hotel shop or at 10min walk supermarket. A further 3 bars for evening drinks all premium spirits available. Good little Sports bar with a friendly senorita with lovely castanits showing all the Footie on Sky right next door to hotel (pints €3). 20 min coastal walk to marina and 30 min walk the other way to a beautiful sandy beach. Going all-inclusive is great and there is nothing 'grotty' about this place. We'd go back in a flash.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

On our fourth holiday at this hotel we stayed all-inclusive and found this much better than half board. As always the food was excellent and the staff very friendly and efficient.
Our room was spacious, well furnished and maintained and with a great sea view.
The beachfront is poor, but the sandy Papagayo beaches are within walking distance, as is the Rubicon Marina.
Hope to return next December.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Loved this hotel, the hotel and staff were all brilliant.
The Gym was great, the staff excellent Abdullayis the star at breakast. The food is excellent with great variety.
The bedroom was very clean with clean sheets etc daily. Pool area, entertainment over new year excellent.
We were on all inclusive and would recomment to anyone. We had not visited this part of the world for some years and found it far better then the mainland in its tidiness and cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJones01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2011

After studying the reviews in great detail I booked this hotel for Christmas week 2010 for my parents aged 80 my son and daughter in law and my 2 grandchildren aged 7 and 8. The rooms were spotlessly clean and enormous. The decor was very tasteful and the management arranged for us all to have rooms next to each other. The pools were very clean a bit cold but for the time of year that couldn't be helped. my only complaint would be that the little tables by the sun loungers were not wiped off daily. The restaurant was fantastic we had enormous prawns, smoked salmon, and caviare all was beautifully presented. We did go for our free visit to the al a carte restaurant which we found very dissapointing. The animation team was great we joined in Pilates, Sangria making, and Mojo making my Grandchildren enjoyed the kids club every evening we especially liked Adela and Richard. On the down side my parents found the going a bit hard there were some steep slopes to negotiate and a bit of uneven ground but they coped and there were lifts. But I did not check this out before we booked and probably it does say somewhere about guests with walking difficulties. Father Christmas arrived on Christmas morning on a horse and all the children staying at the hotel were given a very nice present and our rooms all had a nice christmas coffee mug left for us.I would certainly stay at this hotel again really glad I didn't take any notice of the guests that wrote negative reviews.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue4444-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Had a lovely room in a great spot in the hotel. One main restaurant, buffet style, which was pleasant, but the food was not particularly great. The A La carte restaurant could be used once during your stay and the vast majority of the selection of the mains were not available. The food in the pool bar was the same every day, burgers, hotdogs, chips, salad and did not look very appealing. One New years Eve you had to book a table in the restaurant, which was for 2 slots, and then you had to buy a bottle of Champagne to reserve your table in the entertainment room. Prices started from 25 Euros for Cava upwards!! We actually ate out nearly every day. The swimming pools were all very very cold, even though they had a heated pool!!??? So both our children did no swimming! Again nice hotel, but definately not 5*.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Fresh on the back of a disappointing 'luxury' AI experience in Kos this summer - nice umbrellas, rubbish food - we weren't expecting a lot. We booked into this hotel for just five nights after spending a few days at my parent's rental villa. I'm telling you my life story as I can imagine that comments about boring food & limp entertainment etc my be slightly different if we been there for 14 days...
We liked the look of the hotel layout. It's simplicity was a blessing for people like us who have to get with the progamme very quickly....and even though it was mid-day, finding sunbeds was easy although we were a little snug with a neighbour who, in his efforts to stay in the sun, was practically perched on the end of my husband's sunbed.
And so our five day stay started on a high - and finished on a high. Impressed with the standards of the rooms and bowled over by the friendliness of the staff...especially our waiter Carlos and the grill-chef - in a lot of these hotels the sulky chefs look as though you're demanding one of their own children if you dare ask for a pork chop...not so this fella. The only niggle we had with him came when he abandoned my husband's egg one morning to go off and sign 'autographs' for his young fans. They got a nice picture for their album - my husband got the eggy equivalent of a car tyre on his plate.
Yes, I have to agree that the food wasn't very warm...the best bet by far is to get salads and fresh grilled meat or fish.
Just three days into our stay, my husband was unlucky enough to come down with a tummy bug which knocked him out for the rest of our time at the hotel. Without putting too fine a point on it...we needed to find cloths and bleach to clean our bathroom. I happened to call at reception to cancel our reservation for dinner as my husband was 'ill'. Then my son and I went out on a long search for a supermarket....everything shut. Got back to the room to find it gleaming and fresh towels everywhere. Apparently, a manager had rung my huband and asked if there was anything the hotel could do as they'd heard he was poorly...and they sent a cleaner along at 9pm!! Apparently the bug was rife in Playa Blanca...
With attention to detail like this...we excuses the odd cold potato. But wouldn't this hotel be great if the little niggles could be sorted?
As for New Year gala...we waited 15 minutes for a drink and we didn't reserve a table in the disco room...we just just barged our way in and stood by the bar. Then we got more drinks, saw in the New Year...and toddled out to the terrace. Job done.
But have spent New year in a AI hotel before and, yes, we did have to buy bubbly to reserve a table...but the level of cooking at the 'gala' meal at that hotel - and this one - more than compensated. You could have eaten £135 euros worth of lobster that night.
Perhaps the mixed bag of comments here merely reflect the 'formulaic' nature of the AI experience...same food, same entertainment etc wherever you go in the world. If you do these hotels a lot...they will get boring. But the level of service at this hotel stands it out from the pack in a very good way.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misty233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3,600 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4,870 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,253 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca

Property: Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing