We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with toddler and baby”
Review of VIK Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Coral Beach
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent with toddler and baby”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

On arrival was very impressed with the standards kept, reception was immaculate, can really tell it is a new complex. The villa was the best part, it was very clean, large rooms and for me, having a weaning baby with me, having the kitchen, kettle, microwave, fridge etc was a godsend, which you dont normally get in an all inc resort. Its like the best of both worlds. I could even take a sun lounger onto the balcony whilst my baby slept inside when required. The travel cot provided was a better standard than my own and even came with a toy bar over and mosquito net to cover, and on wheels so could take around the villa and play pen. The complex is maintained very well, we had our light and microwave break and was fixed immediately at 9pm at night. The only negative re the accommodation was each villa is 2 adjoining and the walls are paper thin (they were built for residential and was 1 villa now split in 2 ) we were lucky as our parents were next door or we may have got complaints re our kids being up so early or baby waking in night etc as they could hear everything.
In regard to location, near to the complex, a short 5 min walk over some gravel, was a small park (there is a small one on site too) and a couple of bars and 2 supermarkets. Walking into playa blanca down the beach path is a lovely walk and took us just over an hour with a toddler walking. The hotel do provide a bus service at 9.15am free which took 10 mins and then we got a taxi back for 5euros.
The night time entertainment wasnt too much of an issue for us having such young children but I can see that there wasnt much going on, a few songs and dances for the kids but this started after 8.30pm and not much for the adults that I heard of, but we spent our evenings playing cards on the balcony with family whilst kids slept.
The food was varied if you do like a mixture of foods, I myself am very fussy do I never feel like I can review food as that wouldnt be fair. The rest of my party liked it and good for my toddler to try diff foods. If you went after it started it could be cool and need warming in microwaves provided. I personally was there for the start, breaky at 8am (having got up at 6.30!) and lunch at 1pm and tea at 6pm every day.
The soft drinks and beer was self service and only had to queue for spirits, all the usual available.
The views of the sunset and sea over the rocks just outside the complex were lovely and worth a walk at sunset.
On a negative note, the lifeguard was very strict with the kids playing in the pool, no hard balls in the pool, no fighting etc and no large tyre type rubber rings (as child drowned last year somewhere on the island lifeguard said needs to see kids faces so he knows if in trouble )but this was all for the kids safety. And there was only 1 english channel on the tv we could find, the disney channel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gill1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    451
    250
    97
    67
See reviews for
449
502
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

we spent 11 nights in march at the vik club coral resort lovely small contained resort boasts a medium sized dinning hall with what i found to be a fair selection and veriety of food on offer many different meats and fish usually always had the traditonal cannairian potatoes and mojo sauce wines were from the bottle and very good quality beer was a local lager called tropical and self serve from draught pumps along with fruit and soft drinks.
the appartments were large sized with a kitchen coffee machine, kettle hob, microwave.
two good sized bedrooms one double one twin, living room could also accomadate a single person on the sofa full lengh, room had air con and a lcd tv which had plugs for laptop, you could play movies etc and usb to play music and photos on bulit in media device unfortunetely not movies.
the evenings at this time of year were a little chilly so a jumper or jacket would be advised to sit out , there is no indoor bar area which is the only let down but you could sit in the resturaunt and drink till close.
the staff where by far some of the best we have ever had on holiday especially in the resturant always very pleasant and willing to help the distance to the main town of plya blanca may put some off but the bus is regular and taxis are cheap but the walk is fine along the front well paved nearly all the way.
not many kids there when we were there mostly pre school there was staff entertainers.
all in all a very nice place with good food and great staff, only downside was the lack of a indoor bar area for the chilly evenings in winter would not be an issue however in summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjgogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is are second time now going to vik in playa blanca and we think it is great and the staff are really nice.A bit cold on a night but you just put a jacket no problems with that,alex was really nice doing the mini disco for the children and adults quiz but on are last day alex was leaving he will be missed but a new girl starting and she seem like she will do a great job.Food is ok my 6year old and 4 year old always found something they liked to eat and free ice cream is a extra bonus for kids and adults,they are very good with measures i asked for a vodka and it was like three shoots in one glass but you do not pay for it so great .The swimmimng pools are great the kids pool is great you can sit on sun chair and your children are right in front off you so you can relax a bit.Are villa was great clean and maids kept up to it no problems at all.We did not need to take beach towels as you can higher them for the time off your stay just 10euro a towel and this is a deposit and you get it back at the end off your hols great think to do they do a safe which is 35 euros and you get 10 euros back at the end off your trip that we did fined this a bit expenscive but never mind.There is a free shuttle bus on a morning to take you in to playa blanca you could walk but are children are to young will take you about 1 hour but a taxi is only 6 euros to get there we did this one day and the taxi driver was really nice. we liked this place so much we have booked for 2 weeks in august 2011 so this will be are 3rd time at this complex we love it so much can not wait to go 17 weeks and counting

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dales20051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We chose this hotel based on recommendation from a friend who stayed in December and with the great reviews on TA. This was our first experience of All Inclusive, plus, it was the only hotel we could find in Lanzarote with a separate bedroom for the children who are 8 & 11.
This hotel is great for those wanting to get away from it all and have peace and relaxation. The staff, from the dining staff, to the kids entertainers to the cleaners were fantastic, smiley and very helpful.

The Pool area, despite the hotel being quite full, was never busy with lots of very comfy sun beds. The children had fun with the assurance of a Lifeguard from 10-6.
The kids play area and animation team entertainment is certainly geared towards a younger age group (I would say 9 tops). The mini disco started at 8.30pm either in the outdoor entertainment area or had to move to the hall in windy/cool weather, thus disturbing older people who were chilling in there. The kids enjoyed a couple of visits from a man with reptiles and another with birds and there was a treasure hunt one day.

The villas are separate from the main hotel and are self contained with flat screen TV in the lounge, twin bed room, queen size bed and little kitchen with fridge. The maid cleans most days and changes beds and towels often. The big drawback was the comfort of our bed. We found the mattress really rock hard and offered little comfort, although when I requested another pillow, it was in the room by the end of the day. Great service.

The food in one main dining room was adequate rather than outstanding. The salad bar was lovely, but some of the vegetable options and puddings were quite odd (sprouts in a cream sauce and blancmange with chocolate strands edged in Marie biscuits). There was always a fish option, plenty of pork (which we don’t eat) but rarely chicken and never beef. A microwave was provided to heat up food which we had to use on occasion, especially for chips. The ice cream bar for the kids was excellent, as were the soft drinks and beer which was self serve. We had lunch and dinner out in Playa Blanca over a couple of days for a change from the monotony of food.

The hotel is located a 5 euro taxi ride from Playa Blanca which we felt was too far to walk with kids. It is quite derelict outside the Hotel with excavated rocks and empty, half-built villas where the money looks like it has run out. There are a couple of bars and minimarts 10 mins walk across rough ground (no flip flops). I would recommend hiring a car if you want to see the island and other resorts.
Although we had a nice time, I wouldn’t return to this hotel as it was too isolated for what we usually look for in a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacko383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed for one week in February. We went for a relaxing break and couldnt have asked for better. The staff are all very friendly. Bungalows beautiful, spacious, modern and very clean. Huge bed in master room! Shower was a bit dodgy - water would pour onto bathroom floor - just a bad design! Food was very good - sometimes could have been a bit hotter but a microwave was available. Free bus available at 9.30 every morning to take you to playa blanca which is lovely. Taxis cost just over 5 euro.

I wouldnt take my 10 and 15 year old daughters there because i think they might get a bit bored.

If going out for a meal go to the Chinese on the front - I think it was called Jumbo - absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRORKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We have just returned from a holiday at VIK Coral Beach Lanzarote, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Marie and Almudena added a bit sparkle to every meal always with a smile and a cheery Hello. Carlos and Johnathan, their help with drinks was wonderful and again cheerful and chatty. The appartment we had was just as we saw it on the internet facing the sea. We walked into Playa Blanca it takes about 70 minutes but a lovely walk we had a look at the market and got a taxi back 5 Euros. We went on the Grand Island Tour well worth it ,what a wonderful day, visit to Timanfaya National Park, and many other places of interest on the Island. The guide was good giving us the history of everything. The meals were good a lot of choice and if anything was not right if you said it was put right. The linen and towels changed often again the staff very helpful. We had a wonderful time exactly as we wanted a nice quite holiday, we will definatly go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry-sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We travelled in a group which consisted of my parents, me and my boyfriend (19+22), my sister and her boyfriend (22+23) and my brother and his girlfriend (16+17).
We arrived midday and was boiling hot, we had booked 4 villas but only 2 were available at the time as the other were being cleaned, we were told to come back in an hour to collect the keys for the other 2. We were welcomed in straight away and were directed straight to the buffet and bar for lunch.

Location: The location was a bit out of the way but nothing drastic. There is a free shuttle bus which picks you up from outside reception at 9:15 and takes you to Playa Darado beach which is lovely and picks you up at 2:15 from the place you were dropped off. Please make sure you are there before 9:15 and 2:15 on the dot, as we were waiting for family to come and the bus went without us!!!

Rooms: The rooms were outstanding. A massive master bedroom with a queen size bed and a wardrobe. The bathroom has a sink, toilet, bidet and shower/bath. The living area has a VERY up to date tv, sofa, coffee table and dining table. The kitchen has a cooker, sink, toaster, coffee maker, fridge/freezer, cutlery and plates, although they do not provide you with pans as its there for baby food mainly. There is also a utility room for hanging up wet clothes to dry.

Entertainment: There has been a lot of bad feedback about the entertainment, but can i just say that i have been to a lot of hotels and the entertainment at Vik Club was by far the best. Kiko, the entertainer is very good his job but you could tell that he was enjoying what he was doing. Entertainment included Bingo, quiz, walking on glass, meeting reptiles, live music, Mini disco and loads more!!

Cleanines: The maid comes every day(except monday and friday) to make your bed and tidy up etc. She changed our sheets and towels twice a week. We had a few problems with a smell that came from the bathroom when we flushed the toilet, but this was sorted out quickly. The pool was generally clean ( a few floating leaves etc) but this was to be expected as it was a bit windy.

Food: It was always different but always the same, is that makes any sence (for example the pasta sauce changed from tomato to cheese etc) There was a excellent selection at breakfast(bacon, fried and scrambled egg, toast, beans, cereals, fruit, yoghurt.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
3.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,284 reviews
3.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,690 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
3.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,795 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Coral Beach

Property: VIK Coral Beach
Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing