We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit but disappointed”
Review of VIK Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Coral Beach
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“2nd visit but disappointed”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at the Vik club last summer for one week and really enjoyed it so decided to go for two weeks this time. Many things have changed from our last visit and the only good thing to change was the improvement in the quality of food.

Numerous extra charges kind of annoyed us.

Most Reception staff incompetent and unhelpful. Maintenance staff very unfriendly particularly the older gentleman. Restaurant staff and Gemma from animation helpful and friendly.

Best villas and ultra all inclusive kept for German tour operator guests. You can pay a daily fee to upgrade to ultra all inclusive which includes use of the new chill out area which the ultra all inclusive guests use for free. Champagne in reception, guess what only for ultra all inclusive guests.

Villa not cleaned, had to request clean towels and toilet rolls.

Overall the hotel does not have the friendly welcoming atmosphere that was there last year.

For the money you pay the accommodation itself is worth it if you get a room nearer the ocean but would not recommend the villas near the pool or reception/restaurant. If you want a proper all inclusive experience then choose another hotel!

Room Tip: Only go if guaranteed a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedro97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikhotels, Gerente at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear pedro97,
thank you very much for taking some time and write your feedback on Trip Advisor, even if some points are not too positive for us. We want to apologize for not having been able to fulfil the expectations you had from your first stay at VIK Club Coral Beach.
Concerning the installations and services that are included for our Coral Premium Guests we would like you to know that we give the option of the use to all our guests but paying a suppement. The Premium Guests have already paid this supplement within their booking and that is why they are not charged any extras for certain services.
We hope you accept our apologizes and would really much appreciate to welcome you again anyway in a future holiday.
Best regards
Anxa Martínez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    448
    246
    97
    67
See reviews for
439
502
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed for a week ending june 3. Nice clean place, friendly hard working staff. It was (as with most peolpe) a very reasonable, all inclusive week in the sun. No fighting for sun loungers or lines in the diningroom. Food was all it needed to be, alot of choice and all to a pretty good standard. Pour yourself beer is a great idea! Villas were nice, spacious and clean. Towels changed most days and the bedding mid week. Who out there NEEDS more than that? They even did some washing up for us as we d left some bits in the sink!
A great base, we had a car for a couple of days and caught the bus or taxis on other days. Plenty to see and do, we went fishing out at sea on the tues and had a 43 ft yacht all to ourselves on fri (lansasail.com !) excellent!
Never been on an all inc before(only my 4th ever package deal) and for the money you couldn t fault it. Quite and relaxed is what we wanted, if you want nicer food and closer to town then pay for it!! :)

Room Tip: You don t need to take beach towels as they provide for a 10 euro refundable deposit. Shower and sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikhotels, Manager at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs.,

First of all, many thanks for giving us that lovely feedback.
It means we are on the wright direction.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Anxa Martínez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

me and my friend stayed here 21st may it was quite a good deal online and it was definatly worth the money we paid. it was a very relaxing break, but lacked any entertainment. the hotel itself is very clean and the food we found was brilliant, however towards the end of the week the standard did seem to drop a little. items from the breakfast were running out. also some alcohol had ran out for three days. as we went all inclusive this was slightly disappointing. and by the sunday the bins in the toilets were overflowing and were also blocked. however i must say that someone was sorting them out by the evening. as it has been said before it is a remote hotel and its a good hours walk into town. however you can get a taxi for around 5 euros and there is a shuttle bus to take you to town three times a week. the entertainment need big inprovement although gemma does work very hard with her limited resources. but i definatly think it needs some improvement. the pool is very clean, however lying around the pool hearing the same songs over and over again all day does get slightly annoying after a few days.the pool was also freezing for the first three days, i have never experienced a pool so cold, but i heard it was solar heated?? which may have something to do with it, but it was unbearable to get in. the villas themself are absolutley lovely, however the twin bedroom could do with some improvement noisewise and it feels asthough your neighbours are right in the room with you.the staff are very helpful and polite and work very hard even thou at times it seemed they were short staffed.
overall we had a good holiday, if your looking for a very relaxing holiday away from everything this is perfect for you, however if you want somthing with some good night time entertainment aswell i wouldnt recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samrichards87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikhotels, Manager at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Mrs. Richards,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear you had a relaxing holiday.
Knowing your honest feedback means a lot to us. Help us improving.
We are looking forward to seeing you in th near future.

Best regards,

Anxa Martínez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from Coral Beach and most of the previous reviewers have mentioned that it is quite away away from Playa Blanca but taxi's are called by reception and are fairly cheap and only takes a few minutes to the town which is lovely. The food I found to be horrible although my husband always managed to find something he could eat, I seemed to live on bread and chips! We had emailed the hotel to request a front line sea view room which we were assured we could have at a cost of 75 euro's, when we got there we were told that we wouldn't be charged for the sea view - good job as we were the furthest room away from the sea and the nearest to reception, I had read on here that all the best rooms seem to be saved for the germans and this was probably the case last week when we were there. Yes our shower was a nightmare too and we solved that by having baths so we managed. The bungalows were lovely and each had its own patio, we paid to have a sunbed too which made sunbathing very private, the rooms were clean and not really dated and the bed was so comfortable. My main issue which no one has mentioned on here is the cockroaches! We encountered lots of the nasty things and they were massive!!! Maintenance came one night and sprayed round and then we bought our own stuff and sprayed round twice a day but they still came in, we found them in both bedrooms, the bathroom and the living room mostly in the evening and during the night - I hardly slept I hate them! So avoid room 52 for several reasons - the furthest room away from the sea, the shower goes all over the bathroom, nearest to reception so hear all the various activities going on and worse of all the cockroaches!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthYorkshireNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having spent 2 weeks at Vic Coral Beach Oct 2010 we were so impressed we decided to return at the earliest opportunity 7th-21st May 2012. We were delighted to see the same staff still there.There is no way one could fault the hard working team always smiling,polite and helpful. We have read some of the reviews regarding the food, entertainment etc and admit the food can be a bit repetitive after 2 wks and the entertainment non existent, but it suited us to chill out for 2 wks. Distance from town was no problem as bikes or a car could be hired and we do like walking, so we settled down for a pleasant 2 wks. This came to and end 3 nights later when my wife woke up screaming with two 4cm cockroaches in her hair[ see photos]. This caused great distress but strangely enough there was a near empty can of insect repellent spray in the bedroom and the cockroaches were soon dispatched after a great chase round the villa. It didn't take much brain to figure out where they came from seeing the big gaps under both doors. On speaking to the reception staff next morning, they said the villas were treated every month for insect infestation along with some tale of weather conditions ! Later on we found bedding which we had to change ourselves. The following day I again spoke to reception and asked for a tin of repellent spray for the villa. This apparently was not possible as there was none on site, but when I suggested I would go the supermarket for one a full one appeared in the villa which we were grateful for. We then took the precaution of stuffing newspapers under the gaps in the doors and spraying each evening for the next ten days. I can honestly say this was most distressful holiday we have ever had as my wife did not sleep during this time. It wasn't so bad for me, as after a few shots of their cheap whisky sleep came quite easy. You would have thought after all the precautions we were taking we would have been cockroach free but no, the morning we were leaving another appeared in the bathroom. On returning home we emailed the manager Ms Martinex asking for her comments and why we were not given a chance to fill in the usual questionaire, but so far she has not had the courtesy to reply, so I feel I should warm future clients about villa no10 and its insect infestation. On the morning of our departure pick up was 07.45 and although the kitchen staff were at work, breakfast was at 08.00, not even a chance of a cup of coffee, the best they could offer was a picnic lunch at 5 euros, which we declined. I am a dismayed how this resort has deteriorated since our last visit. Perhaps they are spending too much time trying to create a two tier system for another kind of client We paid £1.400 to share a bed with cockroaches and would advise any other future holidaymakers to avoid villa no 10. We will not return to Coral Beach and it's a pity because it's a very good complex with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Stay clear of villa no 10 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alistair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from VIK Coral Beach. Knew from the reviews that it was quiet but didnt realise how small it is. Works in your favour though as sunbeds always available and no queues for food or the bar. The animation team (in this case just the I in team) is Gemma. What a star, works very hard and was an absolute delight. Brilliant with the kids and great fun for us adults. Certainly deserves a massive payrise!! Hint Hint! Really made our holiday as did the lovely new friends we made. Perfect chill out holiday. Food was varied enough to be ok, cleanliness was very good and the two bedroomed villas are excellent. Needed a cardigan in the evenings but was getting warmer each evening we were there. Took the free bus to Playa Blanca one day but the rest of the time were happy to laze around the pool. No beach (rocky and outside a locked gate) which was a bit of a surprise but as we're happy poolside wasn't a problem (plus you can always get the free bus to Playa Blanca if you have need of sand between your toes).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikhotels, Manager at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Gail and Andy,

Thank you very much for your review.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you in th near future.

Best regards,

Anxa Martínez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First of all I don't know how anyone can come on here and give a sub-standard rating of 2 or 3 for these type of places just because they don't roll out the red carpet for you! VIK offers exceptionally good prices and fantastic value for your money. I was blown away when I first arrived and was not expecting it to be quite as nice as it was.

The location is a little secluded, but you should know this before you visit if you have looked it up so can't blame the hotel for it ....however a taxi is 5.50euro's at most to the main shops and bars of Playa Blanca, which is pocket change or its a lovely 45 min walk along the coast, with great views along the way ...after all, what is the hurry, you're on holiday! We didn't hire a car, although of course this is an option if you want to do some more long distance exploring.

The food is plentiful and there is lots of variety. It wasn't always 5 star but it was good-quality, lots of fish, rice, various salads, soup, lasagne and others at the evening meal as well as a selection of desserts again varying from healthy selections of fruit to some more delicious fatty options depending on your mood. Breakfast the usual continental meats and cheeses, but also the traditional english fry up type ingredients too, as well as cereals, fruit and pastries.

Bar you can help yourself to a variety of soft drinks, beer is on tap ...made a few shandy's with that being a girl! and the spirits are served by the bar staff, who are very plentiful with their measures. Yes spirits are local ones not premium but what do you expect, I was quite happy with having J.B. whisky instead of my usual Jack Daniels or Jim Beam, after all considering I could have as many as I like and it tastes just fine then what's the issue.

The villa was big, spacious, clean and was cleaned every two days and towels replenished. Hot water was always available contrary to another review I have just read, and despite temperatures in Lanzorote being pretty much consistently 23 - 25 degrees for the time we were out there, we didn't actually feel the need to make use of the air conditioning as the villa's were fairly cool and comforable anyway.

There were additional amenities you could purchase/deposit at an extra cost such as air con, safety deposit and wi-fi but we didn;t find the need to use them during our stay although if we had then they were quite reasonably priced and I find most places you stay aborad often do the same. We just locked any valuables in our case whilst we were out, so no need for a safety deposit box and as a couple looking for a relaxing holiday we didn't need to be sat in front of a laptop all day, so no need to wi-fi. if you just need a few minutes to jump on the internet to check something then there are computers near the reception area which are 1 euro for 10 minutes and are quite high speed.

Reception were friendly and helpful, the only let down is that they did not mention any activities on our arrival and it wasn't until our 4th day that I noticed the board ...following this we took part in french boules, archery and bingo all on that day, which was the only day we actually spent the entirety in the complex without going out ....after all you want to do a little exploring whilst you are on holiday and that we did, on some reasonably priced excursions which we got from a leaflet in the hotel ...our rep from lowcostholidays.com who came to meet us offered us pretty much the exact same tours but each was priced at around 20 euros more each per person, therefore I would advise to just book from the hotel leaflet, I think they were called last minute travel (not to be confused with lastminute.com) and its and orange leaflet.

The pool is slightly heated so nice to get in and not as harsh as the sea! There are sun loungers a'plenty around the pool, always several available, didn't feel the need to hire pool towels, bought some locally from sea-side shop.

Overall a great holiday and I would go back again

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KezzaJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikhotels, Manager at VIK Coral Beach, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs.,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on this website.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoy the time you spent among us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Anxa Martínez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
3.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,267 reviews
3.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marconfort Atlantic Gardens Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
453 reviews
4.3 mi away
THe Mirador Papagayo
THe Mirador Papagayo
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Coral Beach

Property: VIK Coral Beach
Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Onthebeach, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing