We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Relaxing Week”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Caldera

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lolgoo123
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Relaxing Week”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived to a clean well maintained villa with a lovely swimming pool. Linda who manages the villa came and introduced herself and answered any questions we had, she then left us to enjoy our holiday.

The villa was very spacious with one en-suite bathroom and another bathroom between the two twin rooms. The beds are low but very comfortable.

The villa is situated a five minute walk to the coastal path, then a further lovely 15-20 minute stroll along this path with beautiful sea views will bring you to Marina Rubicon and if you time it right in the evening you will see the most beautiful sunsets. We loved the Marina with all its Restaurants and shops. We particularly liked Lani's, the food was excellent and service good. A further 10 minute walk on from the Marina brought you into Playa Blanca with some good restaurants (cheaper than the Marina) and typical resort shops.

We had a lovely week at Villa Caldera and would like to thank Rachel and John for the excellent communication throughout the booking. The e-mail wishing us a nice holiday was very thoughtful. I received my deposit back the next day.

All in all a very relaxing week and we would not hesitate to recommend Villa Caldera for a relaxing holiday in the sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
727Karen
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely villa for a much needed relaxing sunny holiday”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Have just returned from a very lovely relaxing week in Villa Caldera. We were more than happy sunbathing and relaxing in and around the pool all week!! We only ventured out twice during the day time to go to the market at the marina on Saturday and one trip to the supermarket just down the road.

The villa was a great size for the 3 of us and was lovely, bright and very clean. Our transfers by Andy went perfectly and he gave us lots of advice about the island and where to eat and drink. Linda the villa representative checked we were ok the day we arrived and that we knew where to find her if we needed anything and then we had privacy for the rest of our holiday.

The villa was ideally located, being only a few minutes walk to the local supermarket which had everything you needed. Its only a further five minutes walk to the promenade/coast path which had amazing views. The Marina Rubicon was a further fifteen to twenty minutes walk away along the coast path, but we were going at a relaxed pace enjoying the sea views and hearing the waves against the rocks. The marina in the evening is very pretty with all the boats and lots of restaurants, we went there for 4 evenings out of the seven and visited Playa Blanca for the other evenings.

The bus to Playa Blanca was two minutes walk away for the villa and always arrived on time. It was only 1.35 euros and took under 10 minutes to get to the town. We preferred the Marina Rubicon as it was very relaxed, Playa Blanca was busier and had a lot of the "tacky" holiday shops but there was still lots of places to eat and drink. There is a main taxi rank and it was only 4 euros to get back to the villa.

All in all we had a great time with amazing weather all week and would recommend Villa Caldera to anyone. From my first initial enquiry, Rachel and John Lord were amazing and replied to emails very quickly and you could clearly tell that they wanted us to have a wonderful time at their villa. We had an email the day before we left to wish us a lovely holiday and there was an email waiting the day we returned. First class customer service, couldn't have been better.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The villa was close to everything you needed but you also had piece and quiet and were left alone.
Liked least: The pool/sundeck was near to the road where the villa's entrance is. No one could see you went you were laying on the sunbed or in the pool. But they can see you if you stood up, but to be fair not many people went pass.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill C
Polegate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another Great Break at Caldera”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We've just returned from our second three-week stay at the villa and it was every bit as good as our first. We also benefitted from a discount for the further booking! All went smoothly from booking to the airport transfer for the return journey that was arranged on our behalf. We couldn’t fault the villa at all. It is spacious, well-equipped and tastefully decorated. The weather was brilliant for most of our stay and we enjoyed many an evening meal beside the pool as the sun was setting. We were very sad to leave and look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: South-westerly aspect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rrrrrrrww...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa fantastic owners!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From our initial enquiry to Rachel and John about villa caldera we have received fantastic service, even an email a day before we went to wish us a lovely time!
The villa is absoloutly beautiful literally home from home, decorated tastefully and had everything we needed.
Pool area is fantastic we had the sun from very early morning through to late evening unlike other neighbouring property's villa caldera is south facing and enjoys the sun all day long :)
All in all we all had a wonderful time and have already booked for next year!
DO NOT hesitating in booking you will not be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucy12360
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

From contacting Rachel from the start of our interest in the villa she was so helpful. The information she provided via emails and in the villa gave us all we needed to find our way around the area .Rachel also helped with transfers to villa. We did not require the service of the villa managers but our towels were changed as stated and the pool was cleaned twice all people were friendly did there jobs and left us to enjoy our stay. The neighbours gave us a wave as they passed by. The villa was private, well decorated and comfortable. The pool was lovely to cool down in during the hot weather . Location although a little bit away from Playa Blanca it was easy to reach by taxi or bus. Walk along the promenade to the Marina area which is lovely just to sit sipping a wee drink and people watch. Further along is Playa Blanca , busier with more shops and places to eat , lots to choose from. We chose to eat in most of time as the supermarkets nearby provided all you needed. Our group was my husband, brother in law and sister in law and we all loved our break away from work it was just what we needed. It was our first visit to Lanzarote but would not hesitate to return to Villa Caldera .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private quiet area sun and own pool
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little winter sun with a new baby”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at Villa Caldera in January 2013. Oh no what have we done? Going on holiday with an 8 month baby? He’s just started crawling – what will it be like?
So, we were a little anxious of our first trip abroad with our precious new born cargo. Thankfully there was no need to be anxious about anything else to do with this adventure. I knew we had to just get through the humungous day of travelling and just get there. The rest of the holiday would be fine. The experience as a whole was just that – all fine, even the weather.
When you wake up at Villa Caldera for the first time you can’t quite believe it. Shall we have breakfast in the lounge, by the pool, on the patio or in the courtyard? Hmm, I think I’ll have mine on a lilo in the heated pool please. Bliss. The heated pool I mean, I never was allowed to eat my breakfast in the pool. Probably ruin my cornflakes anyhow. Our days were spent in all corners of the vast outside space chasing the rays like sunflowers. Lighting the Barbie late afternoon and putting Harvey down at sunset. His travel cot was supplied in kit form, which was a doddle to put up and even matched up to Harvey’s occasional thrashing of arms and legs.
From the initial inquiry, all our questions were quickly answered via email regarding location, amenities and other baby related stuff. Rachel was extremely helpful with our requirements. To read about all the details about the Villa beforehand is one thing, to find out when you get there that they exceed your expectation is another.
The location is sublime. It’s tucked away perfectly from the Atlantic wind, busy roads and people. The local supermarket is completely ideal with pretty much everything you would need for a 2 week holiday. It even sold HP sauce! Not that I bought any.
If you like to go for a stroll – may be to get the baby asleep or simply to stretch the legs, there is a lovely coastal path that takes you into Playa Blanca past the Marina and beyond. Just the ticket – all flat for prams / older legs.
If you’re feeling more adventurous you could go for a morning run along the rugged coastal path in the opposite direction. The 2km hike comes with a great reward – a beautiful unspoilt beach of Mujares Beach. Catch it early and you could set the first footprints of the day.
The Villa itself is very comfortable and has everything you’d find at home. Watching Sky News about all the bad weather at home does make you feel a little smug. Throwing the doors open in the main bedroom and eying up the pool for a swim is cool. Having a decent oven in a holiday home on those rainy days – well, rainy day, makes a big difference.
So, don’t hesitate. Book it. Book it now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Opening the bedroom doors to the swimming pool
Liked least: Can't really think of anything. Oh, the frying pans had lost their 'non-stick'.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing