We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location staff and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location staff and food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Made most welcome by all staff. Great location close to the marina and other restaurants. Fantastic selection at breakfast. Great walks along coast. Very clean and tidy in rooms, pool and throughout the hotel. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive comments concerning your stay at the Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,094
    1,161
    381
    85
    38
See reviews for
855
2,338
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Clean, luxurious room. Very friendly staff who are very keen to offer you advice on travelling around the vicinity and the island. It was my birthday while we stayed there and the staff arranged for a card, cake and bottle of cava to be sent to my room. I was so delighted and flattered with such a lovely surprise. So very very thoughtful and a very nice touch. Neither my partner or I had mentioned my birthday to the staff but they figured it from my passport when we were checking in.

The hotel itself is very nicely located near the marina end of Playa Blanca and there are some lovely restaurants nearby not to mention a lovely walk along the promenade. The food in the hotel is lovely although we had breakfast every morning choosing to go out for the evening.

Wifi in the hotel is very good too. Can't recommend the hotel enough. It's excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidGrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at THe Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Volcan Hotel last week it was fantastic again, great food lovely views of the marina and they even left cava and chocs in the room because we had stayed there 18months ago.We stayed in room 458 which I had requested by email, I would say it is the best standard room in the hotel with Fab views.
The food is great staff are lovelly and its always clean, also if you book with Thomas cook you can eat in the marina twice which is a nice change.
If you want a lovelly classy hotel which Is a safe 5 star then this is the hotel for you!
I

Room Tip: room 458 marina views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Readgoodadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff members of Hotel Volcán Lanzarote we would like to express our sincere gratitude for the comments stated in your hotel review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed 12 - 19 September. We booked it because we remembered it from previous holidays in Playa Blanca & thought we might try it sometime. Having read the reviews I was unsure as to whether we had done the right thing - but pleased to say we did & we would return. Hotels are given a rating according to their facilities not necessarily the quality. The Volcan probably ticks all the boxes for 5 star facilities but I would agree that it probably needs some updating. We didn't use the beds with the tired covers ( but it would appear that the hotel has that in hand) but preferred the upper terrace which had more shade & also new looking sun beds. There is also another terrace with a children's pool. We had booked b & b in a standard room. The room was great - spacious, comfortable bed & very clean. Lovely big shady terrace with an unrestricted view of the marina. Great that you get an empty fridge instead of a minibar. Hospitality tray is a nice touch but charging for refills of coffee etc is unacceptable - that should be done without charge. Likewise charging to enter the SPA. Only small things but they do detract from the 5 star rating The hotel could promote the on site restaurants more e.g putting menus in the room & asking on checkin if they could make a reservation for you. Breakfast was good - lots of choice & lovely fresh fruit. We had the buffet dinner twice - good value at 20 euros - I agree it could become monotonous if every evening - but the same applies to a la carte menus - they don't change every day. Drink prices are very reasonable. I would recommend booking b &b - lots of nice places to eat in the Marina - Casa Rioja remains our favourite. Try Bar one on entrance to the marina for a drink or great g &t's from Vino Blanco ( just below the hotel).Further afield El Golfo - yet again a lovely fish lunch. So why would we return - hotel full but was quiet & we got the restful week we wanted. Great location - we managed a walk every morning before it got too hot & on an evening nice to be able to stroll out to find somewhere for a drink & dinner. We took a look at the Princess Yaiza - maybe more glitzy than the Volcan - but not for us - but no doubt will appeal more to others - it depends what you want from a holiday. Wifi was a bit of an issue - we could receive but not send emails, but on the other hand meant my husband got a break from work! Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judithLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for the comments stated in your hotel review.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Hotel Volcan and only wish we'd gone for longer! Perfect location - the Marina Rubicon has some great restaurants - Aphrodite Little Italy was by far our favourite, and there is a place at the end of the Marina to the left called Le Petite Marmite which also did delicious food. We enjoyed every place we went to round the marina though - there's plenty of choice and it's a lovely setting. The hotel was so relaxing and after a lovely welcome through the candlelit entrance, we enjoyed every minute of our relaxing break. Spacious clean rooms, lots of space round the pools - plenty of sunbeds to go round. The sunbeds are in need of an upgrade - probably as it's coming to the end of season. The breakfast - as per many of the reviews had said - were delicious and vast. Only criticism would be the coffee was so strong it was sometimes undrinkable (heard others saying the same). Overall it's the best hotel in the area, and we are already looking forward to going again. A special thank you to Valle on reception who went out of her way to help us during our stay, and also Carlos a porter who showed us round Club Volcan one day as we wanted to see the difference. While it's undeniably lovely, not for us - we preferred the rest of the hotel and didn't think it would be worth upgrading for. Amazing holiday, so glad we booked it - it was certainly a wrench to leave! Many guests had been before and I can totally see why.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you very much for the comments stated in your hotel review.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have really mixed views about this hotel and there are some good points and some bad. Firstly the positive as overall we had a very enjoyable week and have no regrets.
- The Hotel is quite and nicely laid out with lots of space, we went in the last two weeks of September and it was quiet although the hotel was full but there is so much space that you do not need to be on top of everyone. The location of the hotel is also fantastic with just a two minute walk to the Marina.
- The breakfast is good and offers a large selection from English, Continental and typical Spanish.
- The rooms were really nice and lots of nice touches and a balcony with enough room to sit out and have a drink.
- Condition of the hotel is good but parts of the pool area need a little refurbishment but on the whole positive. We did not sit by the pool but there were sunbeds always available although you still get visitors coming out early morning to reserve their beds !!
- Staff were superb and in some cases like Esther fantastic, so not a bad word to say as they were all pleasant and very welcoming.

Now the not so good
- Gym is in poor repair with minimal equipment and certainly not even up to a 2 star hotel
- Half Board is Breakfast and Dinner but can not be swapped for lunch, this was unfortunate as the evening buffet really was not up to standard and after a few nights we gave up and went out instead. They really need to look at this but I think with all the great restaurants in the Marina I would not go half board again.
- Although they say there is an evening / Dinner dress code it is not enforced with lots of men in shorts to dinner.
- Wi-Fi is hopeless and not worth trying.

On the whole we really enjoyed the stay but if the hotel could improve a few areas then would return. If you really want 5 star then you need to upgrade to Club Volcan or stay somewhere else. If the hotel had be graded 4 star instead of 5 then I would have considered it just right.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilipW788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for the comments stated in your review.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Volcan at the beginning of September for a week. This hotel is ideal if you are looking for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times, the architecture of the hotel is beautiful, and it is very well located just minutes away from the Rubicon Marina where there are a number of good restaurants to choose from. We spent most of our time by the main pool which wasn't too crowded, and we had no problems getting a sun lounger every day.
My main criticism of the hotel is the air conditioning in the room which didn't appear to be working effectively, and the beds were not comfortable.It would also be nice to have sports channels available on TV.
Although the breakfast buffet had a wide range of choice, the quality of some of the items such as the waffles,pancakes, croissants etc could be improved.
Overall, though, we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel as it is in a very nice part of Playa Blanca if you are looking for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing