We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Sixth visit. Relaxing as usual. Good to get some sunshine before winter sets in! Some staff have been there each year - must speak volumes for the hotel. We will no doubt return for a seventh time. No rating for spa as too easy to relax by the poolside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worthless_site
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted that this has been your sixth visit to the Hotel, and that you plan to return for a seventh time.

We thank you for your comments and loyalty.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,060 - 2,066 of 4,027 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was a return visit, the first we think about 10 years ago - not long after it had been opened by Gran Melia group. It is now operated by Total Hotel Experience and the only difference we could spot was the coffee percolator has been replaced by sachets and plastic milk. Otherwise, same great location on the Marina Rubicon; same low level development; same huge rooms - and beds!; lovely and generous toiletries; breakfasts where the world is literally your oyster (doesn't work at dinner, sadly) and all this only 25 minutes from Arrecife airport. If sitting on your balcony is an important part of your stay, check specifically the one attached to your room, as the hotel layout supposedly mirrors an original Lanzarote village and not all vistas are the same!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REF007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a positive review about the Hotel, while at the same time apologize for not finding our buffet dinner service as good as our buffet breakfast.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Returned for third visit and to a warm welcome from the excellent staff many of whom remembered us. Beautiful room again. Oh so easy to relax and fall into idleness..... I am sure there will be a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room and do pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B_Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted that after your third time you have already decided to return for a fourth time.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have stayed at The Volcan Hotel in Playa Blanca several times and as seasoned world travelers feel qualified to compare this hotel with many others we have visited over many years.
The hotel site is large and superbly designed. It accommodates large numbers of clients and yet never appears to be crowded. The rooms are impressive. The standard rooms have a large bedroom plus sitting area and a well equipped bathroom. As you would expect for a 5 star operation the facilities on site are varied and adequate. There is a good choice at breakfast and the evening buffet has a wide choice of well cooked food. How they can put on such a superb choice for €20.00 per person I do not know. In our view what really makes this hotel standout is two things in particular. First the staff-They are very well trained and consistent. We found them to be enthusiastic and ready to please. The service at meal times is very good. The second point is location-The hotel is at the best end of Playa Blanca and backing on to the yacht marina. Its only a short walk from the hotel to a wide variety of restaurants if you want a good choice. So if you want a restful and relaxed holiday a car is not necessary and reception will be pleased to arrange excursions for you to any part of the Island. Last but not least there room rates are competitive so you do not have to pay over the odds for a wonderful holiday. Try them you will not regret it and we are not shareholders!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level near the smaller pool are particularly pleasant and if you do not want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay in THe Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Having been to 5 star Hotels in the Red Sea, I was expecting a similar kind of resort. This Hotel is so much better than any of the Red Sea Hotels. It was maintained to a very high standard and with great facilities. The staff was truly multilingual and corteous. I could write a long review about breakfast, but simply I'll say that it was close to perfection...
It will definitively be more expensive that other hotels in Playa Blanca, but in my opinion is well worth it. The only criticism is that if you want to lay down in the beach you'll have to walk for about 15 minutes, but it is a very nice walk...
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments concerning your stay at Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel and once again we're not at all disappointed with our stay.
As before the room was comfortable the food was excellent our only criticism if it is a criticism is that the hotel rooms could possibly be due for refurbishment in some respects.
I think this is possibly the best part of the island and the hotel is in the best part of that area.
Even though the hotel was fully booked whilst we were there there was no feeling of overcrowding.
The staff were very obliging in every way.
This hotel we feel is excellent value for money and nowhere nicer on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a positive review about the Hotel.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just arrived back from an 8 night stay at the Club Volcan section of this hotel. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly and helped us enjoy a thoroughly relaxing break. Room was very spacious and overlooking the Marina on the 6th floor. Lots of complimentary toiletries which were constantly replenished, shampoos, body milk, shower gel, combs, razor kits, candles, dental kits, bath salts, soaps, sponges etc. Even provided with a complimentary beach bag. Breakfast choice was vast and we never waited to be served by a waiter or waitress for more than a couple of minutes each morning. The adults only pool section complete with reclining loungers and Balinese beds were plentiful and available at all times of day. So peaceful for totally chilling out during the day. We enjoyed food by the pool one day and it was very reasonably priced. Between 4 and 6pm tea, coffee and cakes were served in the restaurant, followed by International branded drinks between 6 and 9pm. Such a shame that some of the guests abused this system by filling tall glasses, one in each hand with just brandy/whiskey and then exiting with the drinks to their rooms before reappearing to do the same again. We saw this happen by the same people night after night, and we often had to ask for replacement bottles as these people gave no thought to other guests. One man emptied a litre bottle of whiskey each night, which made us ashamed to be British, as this was just stealing.
The location is perfect, two minutes walk to the marina with plenty of restaurants and just a 20 minute walk to Playa Blanca centre with many more bars and restaurants. We had a great time and will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 653 which overlooked the marina and Playa Blanca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveHols_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments concerning your stay in the Club Volcán.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,243 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £104 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing