We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellente!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The perfect place to stay for a sublime sun break of 4 nights…but I could imagine staying here much longer and was jealous of those who were doing just that! 



Found this lovely oasis in a brochure, but booked independently on the strength of reviews here and reasonable off-season price. Was a bit nervous about a few elements, but thanks again to the TA community for great advice! Especially about contacting the hotel prior to arrival with any special requests: great communication. Many thanks to Carlos for allocating the perfect room to our specifications and great advice/service upon arrival as well as throughout our stay.

Thanks to Gabby and Melissa in the clubhouse, housekeeping who kept a watchful eye but never disturbed and everyone at the pool too! 



Due to the variety of clientele this hotel can cater to I find it difficult to say more without covering everything, so, message me if you have any questions…



We had a fabulous time and in general it looked liked everyone else was enjoying themselves.

No, it isn't up to cosmopolitan 5star standard in a couple of minor areas, but I think location and service more than make up for it. 



Thank you so much for a very memorable time, can't wait to return!

Room Tip: 301 was perfect for us, but may not be for some. Close to the main building and lift, but a few ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlternativEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for considering our Hotel as excellent.

We appreciate that you mention members of our staff who are doing an outstanding job.

We hope to see you again in the Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,028
    1,128
    368
    83
    37
See reviews for
827
2,273
78
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Before we went on holiday I had read quite a few reviews that didn't put the hotel in a good light and I wrote to the manager saying i felt i had made the wrong decision booking in at the Hotel Volcan. Having just returned i can say we had a good holiday, probably due to really lovely weather, but also the Hotel was very good in parts, it was clean, the staff are very nice, the breakfasts were wonderful, the things we found that were not too good was the evening entertainment or lack of it and there is absolutely no atmosphere around the main body of the hotel, in fact it's dead, they could at least pipe some music around the area. The Italian restaurant was awful, no wonder they let you exchange an evening buffet for a meal in there you wouldn't go through choice. The evening meals in the buffet restaurant were similar to meals you get in any holiday hotel nothing special and certainly not 5 star!
A few areas need a bit of attention, but it didn't spoil our holiday although you can't call it Five Star Luxury, that's probably if you want to pay a lot more for the "The Club" facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

We pay attention to the issues you have found correct, and specially to the ones you feel should be improved.

We sincerely apologize that you do not consider us a five star Hotel, and appreciate that you have mentioned those issues you did like during your holidays with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Volcan Hotel and booked a Junior Suite as we wanted to make our holiday extra special. All the images shown on both the tour operator and the hotel website showed rooms with balconies and terraces, so we assumed that as we were booking a Junior Suite, this would be the case with this standard of room, but if anything only better. However upon arrival we were shown to a Junior Suite, above the children's play center that had nothing more than a Juliet Balcony, no room to even sit outside on. I immediately complained to the hotel and were informed that they only had one Junior Suite with a balcony and that room was occupied. If we wanted a terrace/balcony we would have to move to a double room, which we did. We were told the hotel only had one double room available as they were fully booked, so we transferred to this room. Upon inspection of this room we discovered the fridge was full of mold, there was plaster falling off the walls (bearing in mind we were all walking around bare footed, this was a serious health and safety issue) and the paint was peeling off the walls and the coveted balcony. The following morning I spoke again to the hotel reception staff and showed them images of the room. Later that day I was contacted by the hotel manager and we were moved again (involving us repacking and unpacking our cases again) to another double room which was in a better state of repair.

The main dining room has a good atmosphere with attentive staff, but the evening food lacked imagination. The hotel promoted their special Italian restaurant that had to be pre-booked, but my advice is not to waste either your money or energy on attending, it was nothing short of average at best. The beef in Madeira sauce, tasted like pre-packaged roast beef and gravy and as there is only one waiter for the entire restaurant, service, whilst pleasant was average at best and many dishes advertised were not available. The only decent meal our party received was a pizza, which one of the children ordered and a chocolate brownie - hardly fine dining or speciality Italian.

The hotel is in a lovely location and the pools are numerous, so at no point are you fighting for space around the pools or trying to find a bed. The hotel has a spa but it is very tired and desperately in need of refurbishment, the steam room was out of action for our entire stay and the changing rooms were bare - bearing in mind you are charged 7 Euros to use it.

Good location, the staff are polite and helpful, the rooms and facilities are tired and in need of refurbishment, but 5 star this hotel is not.

Be warned the hotel is in a more exposed part on the coast, so jackets or warmer clothing are needed in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MNRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations as a five star Hotel.

Due to the importance of your comments and pictures, all the members of our management staff are analizing them in detail and taking urgent corrective action.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just got back from a lovely week away in the sun. Loved this hotel for it's unique design, location, the spacious rooms, the amazing views and the really lovely employees. The breakfast buffet was also great! However, we had several minor issues that led to us having to ring reception quite regularly; leaking bath tub, glasses often not changed when clearly dirty, that type of thing. The bedding was also very 'tired' with holes in the bedspread and we weren't really fans of the blanket either. Same thing for the pool towels. I sound very negative but only as this place sells itself on bring 5* and luxury. Also it was full when we were there so the usual reserving of the sun loungers occurred as soon as it was allowed at 9am. Totally unavoidable as not sure the campus is quite big enough for so many guests to sunbathe. That said, it was gorgeous, we totally relaxed, had great drinks in the bar, and enjoyed the atmosphere. I would go back and would recommend it, especially as the management were so accommodating when we gave our feedback to them. They kindly allowed us to keep our room late on our departure day to make up for the hassle of the leaking bath. It was good to be listened to and for them to make that gesture.

Room Tip: Request a high level room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Hotel. We value that you mention both the issues you liked and those that you feel should improve. It is very rewarding for us that after mentioning both perspectives, you mention that you intend to return in the future.

I will forward a copy of your comments to all members of our management staff in order for every one to be aware of the areas that you feel should improve.

We hope that the next time you visit us you will find these issues solved.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Spent 9 nights here very recently and couldn't have asked for anywhere better to stay. Room was lovely, more like a suite with lots of little extras, candle, lovely toiletries, dressing gowns etc. Housekeeping was 1st class with towels changed evey day. Pool area was superb. It never felt busy and there were lots of places to sunbathe. Staff were very friendly especially Sandra at the pool bar who not only helped us with our spanish but made the best Bloody Mary around!! Definitely looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Room 119 was very close to pool and gate to marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a good review about THe Volcán Lanzarote, specially for mentioning that you would like to return during a future holiday.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A beautiful hotel overlooking the marina was conceived to ensure guests privacy and blends harmoniously into the landscape.
“The Club” facility of Hotel Volcán, catering for adults 16+, offers a privileged “zen” environment for total rest and relaxation with Jacuzzis and pool bar on the sun deck overlooking the sea. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind.
Dining facilities on site include Italian, Japanese or Spanish as alternatives to the buffet, and a cocktail/tapas bar particularly worth a visit. Assortment of other cuisine, catering for all tastes, available along the esplanade in the marina.
Staff, on all levels, attentive, efficient and totally customer oriented.
Have visited twice, memorable holidays, and guaranteed to recharge batteries ! I will certainly return !
Lesley, Switzerland

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank for very much for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay, specially for mentioning that after your second visit you intend to return for a third time.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Volcan on two occasions, it is one of the best holiday hotels we have ever visited. Everything about this hotel contributes to a great holiday.

The food is extremely good with an amazing and varied choice at both breakfast and evening buffet, there is also a very good Japanese restaurant attached to the hotel. The poolside bar does a selection of tasty snacks, light lunches and all the usual cocktails and drinks.

The rooms are spacious with large beds, bathrooms are separate to the toilet and have twin sinks, deep bath and power shower cubical all beautifully tiled.

There easy access to the near by marina where you will find some great restaurants and bars.

It is simply 1st class.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for considering us a first class hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your rating and your comments.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,542 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing