We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the Volcan for a week in May and we had a great holiday. From the moment we arrived, receiving a chilled fruit cocktail drink while we checked in to until when we left the service was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff; they were friendly, helpful and attentive.
The hotel entrance is beautiful, like stepping into a monastery, especially at night when the candles are all lit. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, no complaints. The pools were nice but very cold so we didn't really make much use of them but it was great to sit around them when the sun did eventually come out! Shame about the wind though!
We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was fantastic. The choice was incredible and certainly not disappointing. The hotel is perfectly located in the harbour so there were plenty of nice restaurants to eat in for our evening meal.
Overall we had a great holiday (shame about the weather) staying in a fabulous hotel. I would definitely come back to the Volcan and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your holiday experience in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We are very pleased to read that you had a great time, and most importantly that you would certainly come back and recommend us to other travellers.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    1,115
    367
    81
    34
See reviews for
819
2,244
78
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just got back from our 4th visit to this hotel sonde 2007. It has never failed yet to exceed our expectations. The staff are wonderful, helpful, polite, friendly. The hotel has a fabulous entrance and lobby area, a great design and plenty of space and the design is such that it feels like a small hotel with a few guests, always sun beds in quet corners or near the beautiful main pool. You can take a class if you want, learn to make sushi, speak Spanish or try scuba diving. You can visit the spa too, some lovely treatments. Or you can visit the gym if you have any energy. The breakfasts have to be seen to be believed. I have never yet seen better.
Just outside the hotel are quite a number of good restauants and a couple of supermarkets. It's on a marina and a long walk to playa Blanca so a little quieter.
We will be back again for sure. Perfect for a total week of relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our daytime activities, and all that THe Volcán Lanzarote has to offer; particularly when this has been your fouth visit.

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your opinion with other travellers.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from our 4th visit the The Volcan and it suits us perfectly. Yes, it probably isn't a 5* as such, but the staff, service and location certainly are, and it is definitely way higher than a 3*. That is ridiculous. The other reviews that complain about the wind …. really? It's an island, get over it! We have always had a fantastic room and been treated very, very well by the Management and Staff. The location on the Marina is brilliant and the pool areas are just gorgeous. The layout of the hotel is lovely with no high rise blocks, which we hate. The large pool is in need of a bit of TLC and was indeed cold, but was lovely to cool off in as it was very hot. The two smaller pools were warmer and there are always plenty of sun beds to go round. In fact, the sun beds have been replaced with lovely new ones this visit. The hotel is quiet, which suits us perfectly. A great place to unwind and relax which is what we want from a holiday. And we don't need entertainment, so it's not a problem that it's a bit cheesy! The Manager's cocktail party was nice, and we met several other guests, had a good chat to the Manager, who was charming, and had several complimentary glasses of Cava - so all good! Basically, in our opinion, it's a lovely hotel that ticks all the boxes if you want a quiet, relaxing week away in pretty surroundings and a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers.

It has been our pleasure to have you as a guest in THe Volcán Lanzarote, and to meet you at the management cocktail. I personally look forward to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Volcan.
We confirm the accuracy of earlier comments, the hotel is trying to be a 5 star but not quite!
Manager's introduction party was a little disappointing.
An evening a la carte menu (changed daily) would help improve the eating experience, although the buffet provided is extensive, superb and no criticism is intended.
Our room was 509 overlooking the Marina, There were several small issues to raise at the desk. A halogen ceiling bulb in the bathroom took three days and two mentions to sort.and get replaced.
Loose handle on the wardrobe was evident and the WC fan did not switch off but rumbled on 24/7 regardless of light operation..
The staff are pleasant and very helpful.
It would be nice to have a small bottle of gas or sin gas water per guest provided per room daily as the tap water is not safe to drink.
There seemed to be a lot of opened large bottles of water provided at breakfast. It didn't look as if they were fully used.
Although hair shampoo is provided, conditioner is not..
Overall a wonderful stay and would certainly book again, perhaps at a slightly busier time although we chose early June for a quiet, relaxed break which we certainly had...
Be prepared for a 'Trade Wind' breeze.
Tours of the whole island are excellent and don't be put off by a visit to Fuerteventura.
It's immense and barren but well worth the experience on the Ferry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexusmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for rewarding us with the best possible rating, while at the same time sharing your thoughts about what you liked and waht you did not like about your holidays in the Hotel.

We truly value your comments as a tool to improve our quality of service. We take a good note of all your suggestions.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you're looking for nice surroundings, quality service, and friendly staff you could do no better than the Volcan. A peaceful retreat in beautiful surroundings, and is within easy walking distance of all the main attractions.

Room Tip: We've stayed in six rooms with different aspects over the last few years and have not been disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recommeding the Hotel to other travellers.

We truly appreciate the loyalty you have had with us over the years.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just come back from 7 nights at this hotel. We were told its a 5* and when you arrive you instantly think you've arrived in deluxe heaven. However, all is not as it seems. The good points are that we were taxied direct from the airport, the rooms are big, the food is plentiful and sometimes varied, there are 3 adult pools and lots of sun beds. The disappointing points are the rooms were only superficially cleaned (I found hair and some dolly clothes in the room from previous tenants,) the food is same old same old every day with little variety, the swimming pools are very very cold and not heated and the towels supplied to use every day were threaded and torn, the average age of the residents were around 65 (although we met some really nice couples), the evening entertainment was not daily and consisted of two singers and only a few guests attended each night, there was pool side bar open, no one offered drinks and finally the wind ....... The island is very windy and the hotel pool areas are not protected. It's a very very windy environment so slap on the factor 30 on the first few days or you'll be very red and sore the following days. I would not go back to this hotel but if you're 65, love the wind, enjoy buffet food , have a fondness for extremely cold swimming pools then it's perfect for you. Next stop in Menorca........

Room Tip: Ask for the price of a suite - it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

We truly apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to the issues that you did not like about the Hotel services.

I have personally distributed a copy of your review to all the members of our management staff, in order to take the necessary corrective actions with regards to the issues pointed in your review.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We (my boyfriend and I) spent a week at Hotel Volcan over the last week of May/first week of June and it exceeded my expectations tenfold. Although perhaps in its maintenance of the room and communal areas it is not 5 star but a good 4 star - in all other areas it certainly was. Reception staff were helpful and reasonably friendly, though I would say not as welcoming as the other staff. All staff you passed (maids, porters, maintenance etc.) said hello which I thought was a credit to the hotel. The maitre' D at breakfast remembered where we liked to sit and ensured we were placed there everyday without even having to ask and our room maid Celia cleaned the room immaculately everyday. However on the two days it was not Celia, the room was cleaned disappointingly.
The room itself is traditional Canarian and therefore is not modern or sleek. I think this contributes to the fact that it could be considered a little tired and outdated. I certainly thought it was more than acceptable but understand what other reviewers mean. If they did update however, I tend to think some of the character and charm of the place would be lost. We were left a bottle of cava and chocolates on arrival which was a great welcoming touch. The room was large and spacious, with a huge bed and plenty of storage space. The system of using your own code for the safe also made me feel comfortable, as often in these places the room card or a key can be used which I believe can be exploited more easily. The air conditioning was a little lacklustre and the fridge had some signs of mold, but nothing that distracted me too much from enjoying the good parts of the room!
The pools were a lovely size with plenty of sunbeds around them, and lots of parasols which proved very useful. The pools were cold and this did bother me a bit, but my boyfriend didn't mind at all. The pool service is also a great idea, saved having to move from the sunbed to get a drink! The complex itself is beautiful but not easy to find your way around - signposting could be improved. I tried on multiple occasions to find the spa in order to exchange my pool towel tokens, but could not for the life of me find where the spa was!
One of the best things for us about the hotel was the breakfast - it was truly magnificent and pretty much faultless for a buffet. There was everything you could wish for and all to a good standard. The terrace on which breakfast is served also made it feel more special and not a standard hotel buffet breakfast. We filled up on breakfast and tended not to eat until dinner because it was so good! The cava everyday also gave it a special feel. We were only B&B so could not comment on the evening meal.
The location is also very nice - not in central Playa Blanca thank god, but tucked away behind the Marina Rubicon with it's own gate straight onto the marina which gave easy access to the multiple bars, restaurants and shops. It was easy to walk to Playa Blanca, though it did take getting on for half an hour and I walk fast, but there's taxi rank in the marina that cost about 3 euros to Playa Blanca. There isn't much to 'do' in the marina, but it's perfect for an evening out after spending a day by the pool or on the beach. It is classier than PB and therefore more expensive but there are reasonably priced restaurants also such as Lani's.
The fact that I have highlighted only small problems (they are fussy!), signals what a great hotel in general this place is. I accept that this was off season and the hotel was not busy, which meant that they had the time and space to really accommodate guests wishes. However I was thoroughly impressed and although I wasn't crazy about Lanzarote itself, the hotel is a credit to the island.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We are very pleased to know that you had a great time in Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,453 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing