We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“not a 5 star”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm not sure how the hotel can claim to be a 5* , it isn't. I can see how it may have been at one time, but those days are in the past, it is now a reasonable middle of the road 4*. I think this was built to be a 5 star hotel but the new owners have cut back massively on staff, shut the Club Volcan, and generally cut back where they can. There is no poolside service (except for a few metres from the only daytime bar), the restaurant has one waiter and one chef, the main bar has one staff member in the evenings and he can't cope with more than 3 customers at once (and they ran out of , the only, draught beer twice in a week during my stay) and the buffet evening meals are a million miles from 5* eating. The funniest demonstration of their cost reduction plan was the billing of two nights a week as "Chill out night" = no entertainment / live music, comical.

But, it is a lot cheaper than the Princess Yaiza (a real 5*) so you get what you pay for, the facilities are good (if in need of some TLC) , you won't starve to death and the grounds themselves are nice. The staff (if you see them) are nice, really great with children but don't seem to speak much English or anything but Spanish.

I might even go back now that I know I am paying for and getting a 4* holiday, my 2 year old had a ball, the bars / restaurants etc nearby are far nicer than the ones in Playa Blanca, the pools are nice and there is plenty of room. But if you're expecting fine dining each evening, forget it. If you're expecting 5* niceties like wifi, attentive poolside service, turndown service, a stocked mini bar etc... go elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shambobala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your holidays.

In your review you comment that you may return because you liked our facilities and location; this is the best opportunity we have to try to change your perception of the Hotel during your future holidays.

Should you decide to return, please feel free to contact me prior to your arrival in order for me to ensure that you have an excellent holiday.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,070
    1,150
    378
    84
    38
See reviews for
846
2,313
80
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,083)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just come back from a 7 night stay in the hotel. The staff were first class, very friendky and helpful. Rooms bright and large, plentty of room a little like a mini suite. Roim service superb, well looked after and extremely.
swimming pools very clean. All facilities in amongst beautiful palm trees and foliage
large and airy and food very good especially breakfast. Evening meal could have had a wider choice.
l
Location in marina area away frim the hustle and bustle of playa blanca and the British bars and restaurants. Very good shops and bars on marina front. Very good promenade for walking to Playa Blanca which has a couple of sandy beaches.
entertainment mediocre but just right for us.
I would recommend this hotel if you want 5 star service and food and an hotel slightly out of the noiser part.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a sea view and our room was better than most as it was at the end not overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much with rewarding us with a rating of 5 out of 5 points.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel, and look forward to have you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at Hotel Volcan and felt that the hotel represented very good value for money. We had a pleasant room with a balcony, it was clean, comfortable and a good size. The pool is huge, it wasn't the warmest but I didn't find it to be uncomfortably cold either (let's not forget, it's still fairly early in the season....). The breakfast buffet was good with a huge range of choice. Didn't eat dinner at the hotel so can't comment on that.

Welcome drinks were a nice bonus and a good opportunity to speak to the staff/ask questions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There are a few activities to participate in each day if you like that kind of thing, I might have joined in with the cocktail making activity but we were only there for a few days and we wanted to get out and see the island.

We liked Lanzarote as an island, it's very interesting. It's extremely cheap to rent car so I'd definitely recommend getting out to see the sights whilst you are there.

The location of the hotel is excellent, we much preferred the Marina area of Playa Blanca to the busier/more touristy central part, it felt more up-market. There are plenty of good restaurants/tapas bars in the marina area as well and its only a 20 minute walk along the promenade to central Playa Blanca if hustle and bustle is what you are after.

I read some comments on trip advisor that disputed the hotel's 5 star status. I would tend to agree that it lacks a certain element of luxury/finesse required of 5 star hotels in the UK, however, given the relatively low price one should probably go expecting that. It's a good hotel, I would stay again if we return to Lanzarote though I am now keen to see what the other Canary Islands offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that you would book a room in the Hotel if you return to Lanzarote.

We truly appreciate that you consider THe Volcán Lanzarote a Hotel of great value.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks break at the volcan This is the second visit in 12 months and our experience this time is not as good as the first. For ease of reference I will bullet point each issue:

1. As always arrival meet and greet and staff excellent in particular the waiter who runs the lunchtime snack area.
2. Room was worn and looking shabby. We stayed in rm 272 curtains stained and in need of a clean on arrival the floor had not been cleaned properly as I had to pick up bread pieces.
3. Plaster around the main door is crumbling away.
4. Although our room was cleaned everyday tea/milk was not always replenished. I can only surmise that the cleaners are rushed.
5. During our stay the main pools were closed for maintenance and no notification was given. During our reminding stay the pool could not be used this was for 5 days.
6. The food was in my opinion this time around bland and lacked variety. Compared to the Dream Castello.
7. The toaster machines need to be replaced with equipment that is more efficient to cater for the volume.
8. On two occasions I had to clear my own plates.
9. Not enough staff on at weekend no visibility of the management at weekends.
10. No atmosphere in eating areas .....put some music on
11. Lack of daytime facilities to access a brew or drink .....hotel only has a small eating lunchtime only facility for guessed otherwise you have to wait till dinner.

The hotel clearly enjoys the location sitting on the rubicon marina and whilst we did enjoy are break compared to last year the hotel has lost its edge to be a 5 star hotel. Compared to the dream Castello hotel which we have also stayed at twice provides better accommodation food variety and value.

We spent a fair few euro at the Vulcan and it did not come up to our expectation this time very disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms located to the right hand side of the hotel seem to be the ones in better condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sprkymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

We sincerely apologize not meeting your expectations during your holiday.

On the other hand, we thank you for giving us some tips and recommendations in order to improve the experience of our guest.
Nevertheless, we will hardly work in the points you mention and just in case you want to return once to our hotel, we will do a great effort to meet your expectations like the first time you stayed by us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Volcan Hotel, we had seen this hotel whilst in Playa Blanca a few years ago and decided to book after finding a very good deal. So glad we booked as feel totally relaxed from our holiday. The staff were all very friendly but professional, I wasn't sure what to expect re the bedrooms but we were pleasantly surprised.
They were a very good size and had everything you could want.
Regarding the food, I can not fault the breakfast offerings, there is something for everyone.
Most lunch times we ate at the Yaiza restaurant where they offered a good variety of lunches from sandwiches, salads to pizza plus other dishes at a very good standard. There were a couple of days where there was a long wait as they were extremely busy, but that didn't worry us. We only ate at the main restaurant twice in the evenings as we preferred to eat at the Marina which is literally on your doorstep.
We left the hotel yesterday when it was getting busier with families so glad we were there in the quieter time. Would I recommend? Yes I would and would love to go back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fimccsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

It has been our pleasure to have taken care of your holidays.

We thank you for recommending THe Volcán Lanzarote to other travellers. We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I hesitate to take an alternative view, but having based our hotel choice on so many very positive reviews we were genuinely disappointed. The welcome was good with friendly greetings, a drink and our cases despatched efficiently. However, our high expectations were dashed as soon as we saw our room which felt gloomy and slightly seedy – rather than the light, bright, boutique type feel we were anticipating.

Our first disappointment was that the ‘sea view’ we had paid extra for was mainly obscured by a mix of buildings. Whilst it was not a totally unpleasant outlook, it a far cry from the seascape vista we had anticipated. The balcony was just big enough to seat two and felt small & boxed in by the surrounding buildings.

It was however the room interior that was the main disappointment – a room that felt a poor reflection of its glory days. The fabrics had clearly seen a lot of use - the bed counterpane and drapes looked faded and worn and well past their ‘best before’ date. The valance was stained around the bottom and the bedding slightly askew to reveal a hairy blanket – the sort of bed you feel hesitant about getting into! The sofa and chairs also looked past their best and were dotted with small marks and stains. On the plus size both the bedroom and bathroom were large and it was easy to imagine how good they had once looked with tiled blue and white flooring. However the bathroom taps/shower fittings (together with ‘retro’ bidet) had long since lost their shine and the bath, was ringed around the top with lime scale deposit that comes with years of use. Against this backdrop it was not difficult to imagine that the dried rose petals scattered around the room were equally old and dusted off between each new arrival!

Having requested an alternative room we were eventually (after a fairly long wait in Reception) shown two others that were of similar standard – even a quick look around revealing stained seating covers and what appeared to be cigarette burns on the wooden furniture
.
We were assured that no better rooms existed and it was only the following day when our rep stepped in that we were offered a ‘Club’ room which was much cleaner and brighter. The Club is apparently not usually open in June (which seems a missed opportunity for the hotel and customers alike). By that stage we had already seen a hotel we much preferred – the Princesa Yaiza – that we found to be much brighter and more cheerful (although more expensive) and decided to leave.

Had we been offered the Club room as soon as we asked I think we may well have stayed. However whilst spending a depressing night in the original room we also investigated other parts of the hotel which we found to be generally very quiet and lacking in atmosphere. The restaurant served a reasonable buffet meal but seated people in rows so close to others that it was impossible to talk without sharing your conversation with your neighbours. This together with strong wafts of a distinctive disinfectant in the lifts gave the whole place something of a residential home feel.

Clearly these views are not shared by many visiting the Volcan, who I am pleased had a more positive experience. I can certainly see the attraction of the low level nature of the hotel and the quirky interesting architectural style that had attracted us too. The locality of the Marina is also a big plus. If however the standard of your hotel room is an important part of your holiday I would suggest if you are considering the Volcan that you investigate the Club rooms which cost more but appear to be significantly better.

Room Tip: Consider paying more for a Club room - cleaner, brighter, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

We truly apologize that you were not satisfied with any of the hotel room options we offered during your stay.

We are very sorry that you decided to change to another Hotel.

We hope that, after all, you spent a nice holiday in the island of Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Ok, so I did what most bods do and read plenty of reviews on Trip Advisor and other review sites before booking this hotel. It was clear that there was a lot of issues on two main areas....the coldness of the pools, and that this hotel was more 4 stars than 5. I also read much about the lack of varied choice of the evening meals and lack of cleanliness. So, here's my penith worth.

On arrival at the airport we were met by the transfer company booked at time of booking. It was obvious this was low season as there was just the two of us in the minibus for the transfer. It took roughly 40 mins or so to the hotel. Prior to arrival I emailed the hotel and requested a room that had been recommended prior. As you would expect, they said they would do what they could, but couldn't promise. However, once there, they did indeed give us the requested room. 511, high up, with a lovely sea view. Yes it was a trek from the pools and restaurants, but as that was to be our only exercise on this break away, so we didn't mind. But please be mindful if unsteady on your feet.
The room was lovely, large bed, two pushed together to be exact. Bathroom very nice with a few nice touches such as a scented candle and rose petals scattered around. (They clear them away the next day).
The surroundings were lovely, a chapel entrance with accompanied Gregorian chant like singing with candles along each side, weird, but kinda peaceful.
The pools were lovely, they sort of weave around the restaurant areas on two levels. Both, as have been reported, were freezing.....I usually can deal with cold pools, you get used to it, but this really was painful. I eventually braved it on the last day...my own dare really. This does need to be sorted as there is a reason why two huge pools were practically empty every day! You are issued with a token for your towels for the sunbeds that you collect from the spa....this is not the sign of a 5 star hotel. It's not a major issue, just one to note.
We ate at the main restaurant 4 times, yes it can look rather like Groundhog Day, but realistically, if you can manage to try all that is on offer, you would return home a damn sight bigger! We found it really good. There was much to choose from to shake it up each night. As for the breakfasts....great! A diverse choice of food and beverages, even Cava and Bloody Mary should this be your want, at the end of the day...it's five o'clock somewhere.
The poolside restaurant was very good. We ate there most days, great tapas type food as well as full plate food. The only issue we had was on a day when they were busy. The staff seemed to be a bit overwhelmed and understaffed. This meant us sitting waiting for a drink for 35 mins and our food was almost an hour in the making. The waiter also was a bit slap dash when placing things on the table....just as well we could catch. But that was only on one day, so I guess we can forgive him.
The spa is nice, there is a 7 euro charge, however the steam room was out of order, so that was a shame, but we spent a little time in the pool area just for a bit a a swim really due to the outside pools being sooo chilly!
The wifi in the hotel is very poor, you can only get a signal in the lobby really, and it was very slow....saying that, it saved us from reading our work emails.
All in all a very peaceful stay as it was low season....a great plus for us. It was relaxing and did just the job. We would consider going back. But I have to agree with most reviewers, this is more of a 4 star than 5 star hotel.
As for the location, well this was perfect. A great marina called Rubicon, with lovely shops and restaurants. One to recommend was an Italian called Il Commendatore. Great veal, and lovely people. The shops were nice boutiques, plus one or two nice nicky nacky shops to wander around.
Would I recommend?.....yes, but for me, only in the low season.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your holidays in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We sincerely appreciate that you have enjoyed the Hotel and recommend it to other travellers.

In addition, I have taken note of your suggestions with regards to the things you feel should improve. Thank you for letting us know where we should spend our efforts to improve our quality of service.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,060 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing