We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan and Ruth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alan and Ruth”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from another fantastic holiday in the Club Rooms [17th July] and have already booked for 18th Sept for 2 weeks in the Club Rooms,

We particularly liked the pool and sunbathing area, the minor problem from time to time was the shortage of parasols,but the rest was stunning.

The food quality and selection for dinner was first class and the breakfast in the private club dining room was even better. Last but not least the staff were the very best.

Room Tip: All Club rooms have a sea view and are quiet so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assistant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

It has been a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote and that you are really happy with the Club Volcán.

We hope to see you again in the Hotel during your next holidays.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,100
    1,165
    383
    85
    38
See reviews for
859
2,344
83
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from 12 fabulous nights at the Volcan Hotel with our 2 children. It was our 4th stay at this spectacular hotel and it was better than ever: The staff are so welcoming, accommodating and friendly; the rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable; the food is varied, delicious, healthy and abundant; the spa is fabulous and we had fantastic massages there; the pool and grounds are very clean and well maintained. If you are looking for a luxurious, relaxing family-friendly hotel you will not get better than this in Playa Blanca. It is a quiet, gentle and peaceful oasis in a beautiful spot. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending us to other travellers after your fourth stay in the Hotel.

It has been our pleasure to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to your fifth visit.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Volcan hotel is charming with a special warm and friendly atmosphere, in an ideal position next to the Rubicon marina. All the staff from the management to the cleaning staff are very visual courteous friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. Rooms are spacious with wonderful marina and sea views. Cleaned beautifully every day, linen and towels changed daily, and good toiletries replenished when necessary. We were staying on B&B tariff, the breakfast is superb lots of choice to suit all tastes. We love the design of the hotel, the pool areas are lovely (July the lake pool was delightful just warm enough for a refreshing swim). The new sun beds and it being in season a drinks service around the pools, was an added bonus. The marina offers a good choice of restaurants our favourite being La Casa Roja, and Playa Blanca if you prefer a livelier scene has a multitude of different restaurants to choose from. As my intro says, a fantastic holiday had by all, we will be returning as soon as possible and have no hesitation in recommending the Volcan Hotel .

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra, but most rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaWinpenny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assitant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review recommending us to other travelers.

we look forward to see you soon again in the hotel.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel was excellent - we went right at the end of May and the beginning of June - it was quiet which was good - the entrance was excellent as soon as you walk it there was music which sounded and looked like you was in a monestry - the reception area was really good and staff very pleasant and helpful.
The room were very spacious,clean and comfortable - we had a garden view room - it was my daughters 14th birthday whilst we were out and the day of her birthday the staff placed a cake and a card in her room - the must have took the details from our passports which shows they have an eye for detail - she was very happy.
We only had breakfast at the hotel but this was excellent plenty to choose from - you could een have champagne if you like at no extra cost - they even had vodka for bloody marys - didnt try that myself though.
At that time of year it was warm however not hot so I never tried the pool out - as looked a bit chilly - but the pool looked fantastic- hotel well placed for local maket and there is a short walk to Playa Blanca centre 15 mins or around 5 Euros in a taxi.
We were disappointed to see the roof wasn't lit up when we were there however this is only done on special occassions - however we were there it was Canary Day which meant they had the roof lit which was really good.
Would certainly recommend and go back again - only draw back was a lack of entertainment at night.

Room Tip: Garden rooms were good as near to bar and reception as we as pool and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for recommending THe Volcán Lanzarote to other travellers.

It is very rewading for us to read that you consider the Hotel and its services as excellent.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week from the 6th July till the 13th,,gonna keep it simple it's absolutely perfect if your looking for relaxation,,so quiet and piece full..the hotel is a an experience in its own u can get lost in its Spanish theme setting so many we private spots,,never hav to look for a sun bed always plenty free,,breakfast was outstanding from the champagne on entering to the Buffett theme which catered for everybody,,guy making the omelettes was a busy lad they were perfect,,stayed in room 485 it was spacious very clean with great air con and all the toiletries u need from
Shower hell to even toothbrushes and a razor:)..staff were very friendly and helpfull overall would give the experience 10/10,,if your looking a holiday without dramas loads of rest and relaxation this is it..20 min walk your in playa blanca bit more going on in the way of your promenade bars and restaurants but the marina area right behind the hotel is were u want to spend your evenings top quality restaurants and perfect setting for to weekly markets,,wed and sat,,all in all best holiday yet.....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments.We are very pleased ot read that this has been your best holiday.

We hope to have you back again in the Hotel in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We upgraded to Club Volcan and we were not disappointed.
Private a la carte breakfast was wonderful, the first hotel where I could ask for soft poached eggs or get a proper omelette , with lovely crispy bacon and lovely sausages (I usually don't eat sausages when I am on holiday) cooked to order and brought to your table. Tea and coffee made fresh and delivered to your table, also fresh orange juice ( not concentrated ).
Afternoon tea, lots and lots of lovely cakes with tea/coffee, just perfect.
Staff were lovely, could not help you enough, always spoke with a smile from cleaners to Management. If you had any problem, the Management (Mr. Suarez) was very approachable and willing to listen to any comments.
Rooms spotless, cleaners in every day, bed linen changed all the time, hotel absolutely spotless and we did not think it needed loads of decorating.
Only one problem, we did not enjoy our evening meals, loads to choose from but not great quality,
most of the friends we made have been returning to the hotel year after year on bed and breakfast. HOWEVER we loved this hotel so much and are in the process of booking a Club Room for next year on bed and breakfast h-just cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: I suggest you upgrade to Club Volcan, worth paying for. We had a beautiful room with a lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assistant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review.
We really look forward to see you soon again at The Hotel Volcan.
Nevertheless, we will take into consideration your comments about the diner.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naama bay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I checked out the hotel on tripadvisor prior to our trip, as we had not booked into "the adult club" we were dreading because of comments left by others.
We were pleasantly surprised and need not have worried. The room was more than adequate, we had a ground floor spacious room with a terrace onto a sunbathing area.This is not a new hotel and there a signs of tiredness but in the main no complaints from us.
Staff in all departments could not do enough to enhance our stay. We were on a half board basis .....breakfast was WOW as was dinner. I usually get fed up of buffet style dinners and venture out of the hotel but not here.....all meals had so much choice and variety.
We will return to this hotel, loved the location and the whole ambience.

Room Tip: Do not pre judge the hotel from reviews on Tripadvisor.......enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assistant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review.
We really look forward to see you soon again at THe Hotel Volcan.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
22.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing