We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to the Hotel Volcan in Playa Blanca.

The hotel is situated very near to the Marina Rubicon, where there are lots of lovely restaurants, cafés and tapas bars (and also some clothes and accessory shops and a couple of supermarkets). The beach at Playa Dorada is a short walk away along the seafront and you can continue along this seafront walk-way and be in the centre of Playa Blanca in less than 20 mins.

The hotel is built into the hillside and is spread over 5 floors. We had a lovely, spacious 2 room suite with a view over the Marina and the sea. Despite the hotel being full there was sufficient public space to not feel crowded; and given the geography of the hotel, there is very little noise from adjacent rooms and we did not feel overlooked on our balcony. The only caveat I would say is that if you have limited mobility or you are using a pushchair please phone the hotel before you go to check the accessibility of your room, as not all rooms are accessible by lift.

The bedroom was very large, nicely furnished and accessorised as was the bathroom (with a large shower, a separate bath and lots of lovely bath salts, shampoos, shower gels, scented candles and fresh flowers).

We ate in the hotel poolside cafés most lunchtimes and the food was good and reasonably priced eg approx €6 for a club sandwich, salad and fries that you could share between 2 people.
The breakfast, included in our package was self service buffet style catering for all tastes. Cold plates, fruits, omelettes cooked to order plus cava and vodka for Bloody Marys. On a couple of mornings there were speciality tables with hand cut Serrano hams, Canarian delicacies and sweetmeats.
Again, although the hotel was busy, breakfast was a well managed affair and we did not have to wait to be seated and there was no rush to leave the dining room.

The staff were well mannered, courteous and professional. The entertainments team provided activities for children and adults. They were enthusiastic and great fun. There were opportunities to take part in activities as diverse as wine tasting, Zumba, oil painting and Pilates.

We went with 2 teenagers and had a brilliant holiday at the Hotel Volcan. It was a relaxing break. The staff were attentive, but not overbearing. The management are keenly aware that there is competition and are happy to go the extra mile to ensure that you are having a wonderful holiday. Completely unprompted, they surprised me during the holiday- by sending me a bottle of Cava on my birthday! They must have noted my dob from my passport on arrival and arranged this, which was a lovely gesture.

The only downsides, which apply to other hotels that I have used in Playa Blanca, are i) the pools are a little on the cool side and ii) wi-fi is limited around the hotel (although it is free and accessible in the hotel lobby).

We would not hesitate to return to the Volcan and would recommend it for either a couple or a family holiday.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility or are using a pushchair please call the hotel before you go to ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that you intend to return to THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We are very pleased that you recommend us to other travellers, and truly appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write a detailed review about the many things you liked during your holidays in the Hotel. I am also grateful for your suggestions regarding improving our pool heating and our WiFi service.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,629 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is thee best we have ever stayed in for a family holiday. From the moment you walk in to arriving at your room you will not be disappointed. The beds are the most comfortable we every had on a sun holiday. The food is great ( especially breakfast)... What a choice of food.
Certainly looking to book again already for Xmas. Maybe the Club Volcan next time.
Don't hesitate booking this hotel. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debdaz365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a very positive review about your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We sincerely appreciate that you recommend us to other travellers.

We look forward for your next visit this December.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just spent 10 nights at the Volcan taking two rooms as we were a party of six (three children age 9, 7 and 3). The hotel felt like a five star experience but for us the personal attention and friendliness that Gaby and her colleagues in the Kids Club gave us was fantastic. We don't tend to use the kids clubs when away but the quality of activities on offer kept all children interested with energy and dedication! Should we go back to Lanzarote, we would look at the Volcan for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank linksy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for mentioning that you intend to return to the Hotel.

We are very pleased that you recommend THe Volcán Lanzarote to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've never written a hotel review before but since people appear to pay a lot of attention to trip advisor it's worth giving this hotel some credit. Although at full capacity the hotel never seemed over crowded and everyone of the staff were polite and friendly (a special shout out to Sandra who runs the pool bar/cafe, she was superb and she's also the reason we probably spent far more money than we intended!). Our kids are 3 and 5 years old and loved it. Just outside the hotel you're directly into the marina with all it's restaurants and shops so even popping to the supermarket for a few supplies isn't too challenging. Constant breeze so even in August it never felt too hot. Yes the wifi throughout the entire hotel could be improved but that's probably true of most places within the Canary Islands. A fabulous hotel and even with young children we left feeling very relaxed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For young children and needing quick access to pool, small playground, kids club and breakfast Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank for taking the time to write a positive review about your holiday experience in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We truly appreciate that you recommend us to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband. Stayed at the club volcan area. Room lovely, very clean. Nice balcony overlooking the pool and Bay Area. Breakfast very nice. Staff very accommodating and pleasant. Other than breakfast did not think the quality and choice of food reflected what you would expect from a five star. This wouldn't put me off coming again but I would suggest not eating in the hotel. There are a few very nice places just a short stroll away. Also, the services in the spa are fine, not great, so i would probably give that a miss if we were going again. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoibheabbabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that overall, except for some details that we will try to improve, you had a pleasant stay.

We hope that you will return in the near future. thank you for recommending THe Volcán Lanzarote to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Volcan from 31st July - 9th Aug, family of 6 (myself and my husband 43, sister and brother in law 50, dad 75 and daughter 9).

Arrival: First impressions are amazing, the church with it's chants, candles and incense immediately relaxes you. We were met by Carlos who took our bags and brought a welcome cocktail. Reception checked us in quickly and advised us that we could go and use the buffet before going to our rooms. We arrived at 9.30pm so did not expect to be able to have dinner our first evening!

Rooms: We had rooms 413, 414 and 415 with a small balcony overlooking the Marina the rooms are more like suites with seperate sitting area. The bathroom had lots of nice touches and was sprinkled with fresh rose petals. Rooms were cleaned every day absolutely spotless.
I had ordered flowers and champagne in my sisters room on arrival as they celebrated their silver wedding earlier this year. Thank you again to Daniella for organising this.
My dad turned 75 whilst on holiday and he received a bottle of cava and a letter from Jesus the manager which was a lovely touch.

Hotel: Beautiful, lots of lovely areas to relax in the waterfall area is stunning. There are a few bars which open at different times. The pools are freezing!!! Once you brave it enough to go in it's fine, the lagoon area is actually a bit warmer than the smaller pool at the Yaiza restaurant. The hotel do not enforce leaving towels on the sunbeds and we found we had to do this one day so we could get beds near the pool.
The location is fabulous with direct access to the marina (market days Wed / Sat) and depending on pace 20 - 30 min walk into Playa Blanca.

Food: After reading reviews prior to our holiday we were a bit concerned about choice etc as we were half board. However, we should not have been worried as both breakfast and dinner were fabulous with lots to choose from. We did partake of the cava one morning at breakfast!!!
Before 9 the breakfast area is quite quiet - very busy after this time.
We decided to eat at Kazan one night and would highly recommend this. As with most Japanese restaurants it is more expensive but was worth every penny. We sat at the tepenyaki table and wore the kimonos provided ... great fun, delicious food, wonderful showcase by the chef Pan.

Entertainment: There are daytime activities for both adults and children, all quite civilised - if you want a hotel with a huge animation team then this is not for you. For us it was perfect! My wee girl didn't want to go to the kids club but from what we seen they seemed to be enjoying it. We joined in with a couple of daytime activities including wine tasting and sangria making - Giuni is a character, she was great fun. One day they had a tour of the Club which only myself and my sister turned up for!!! So Gaby gave us a private tour! Very nice if you are adults traveling without children with nice perks.
We enjoyed all the evening entertainment, seems they recently changed the company providing this. There was a El Divo type act one night which was amazing - received a standing ovation! People are not making good use of the fun pub to listen to the acts. Pedro and Rene are entertainment in them selves! On evenings where there is no act they now have happy hours from 8-11 (hic!) with background music.

Staff: All the staff are a credit to the hotel, from the cleaners right up to management level everyone had a smile on their face. The assistant manager Marinho spoke to us on a few occasions after he met my daughter wearing her Kimono she bought in Kazan.

Sorry! I swore I would not put on a big long winded review but didn't want to miss anything out!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview room the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Azzagazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a very lovely review about your experience in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

It is great to read reviews like yours, because what matters most for us is to know that you and your family enjoyed their holiday time and look forward to return next year.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We returned to this hotel after a week there last October and once again were not disappointed! After saving money via booking with Low cost holidays we returned to this hotel on 22July for a twelve night break, this time our 19 yr old son came with us.
Lovely greeting on arrival friendly staff a nice welcome drink as well.
Room- we booked a sea view which is well worth with the extra lovely view of the marina. It was a family room so our son had a comfy single and we had a massive double queen size bed toiletries etc good quality and fresh white towels (lots of them) every day. The rooms are tastefully decorated very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The balcony was lovely to sit on in the evening sun.
Service- the staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic. The porter is great, the guy making omelettes in the morning was so friendly. The staff at reception spoke good English and were so helpfully. The cleaners were polite and pleasant. You couldn't fault anyone.
Pool area- loads of sun beds fir you to put your towels( one per person changed every day ) on. We put ours down about nine each morning and we were often the first out there, even by eleven there were ample loungers still available. The pool is spotless, which is not surprising as there are a team of cleaners constantly sweeping round it. There is a lifeguard poolside all day which will be a comfort tonthisevwith small children.the pool is quiet, and vast. There are also another three side pools plus an indoor pool.
Food-we booked bed and breakfast as last yr because we knew there were so many nice restraraunts to go to. The choice is vast, and all the food is superb. I tried hard to eat healthy but the lure of full English was just too much and I put on half a stone because of it !! I really like the fact that you could get proper bacon, sausages, etc, not like the usual Spanish fry up. They even have proper sauces (HP , lee and perrins and Colemans mustard) which makes it. Propper toast as well! My wife and son chose healthy options and were equally impressed. There is so much choice and it is all top quality food.
Marina-accessible via a secure gate ( key card release) near the pool. It is then a very short walk 200 yards to the lovely marina. There are loads of restaraunts to suit all tastes and price ranges. Cafe del Mar was our favourite. Serves everything, really reasonable, great service, great live entertainment and excellent food. With a breathtaking view of the marina. Don't neglect the tapas bar next door called Taberna. It is reasonable price and the food is fantastic. Baby squid is to die for. The posh tapas at the other end of the marina was the only Restaraunt we probably would not recommend , it was very expensive and the food although nice was not as good as at Taberna.. All the other restaraunts(about 8 in all) are fab, we ate in them all.
Beach-the beach is lovely, it is about 15 mins walk along the front. Safe bathing, clear water, deck chairs 3 euros each per day but well worth it.
In summary, you won't better this hotel, the resort is excellent and the weather great.
We will definitely be back here in the future.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a sea view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank debodBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending the Hotel and the Marina to other travellers.

I am very pleased to read that you had a lovely time in the Hotel, and that you look forward to return.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,429 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £106 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing