We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Paradise.......and NO long haul flight!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just back from a brilliant two week stay at Sandos Lanzarote, never been before but cannot wait to go back. A slice of paradise with no long haul flight. The hotel is huge so never felt like it was crowded, it was clean and well maintained. Some reviews have said that the reception staff were rude, cant say that we got that feeling mind you we never really had to ask for much the odd time we did they were helpful. We are family of four, the kids had a great time at the pools as well as the snack bar copious amounts of ice cream, juice etc and it was safe for them to go off on their own to help themselves. We did book with Royal Elite Service which I totally recommend it was well worth the money. The private breakfast room was just great the staff were friendly, helpful and great with kids. Elite lounge was good kids had a ball there making their own drinks and using the computers and it was a lovely place for a few drinks before dinner. We stayed in D block one of the suites facing the sea, the room was very very clean the maid always made as feel special giving the kids extra sweeties and we were asked everyday if we wanted extra water, coffee etc. The food was very good like all other All Inclusive holidays you always get the samey feeling however there was plenty to choose from. Some reviews have said food was not good!! Well I disagree there was lots of different options and the food was high quality and the kids could help themselves to little or much as they wanted. Food was just perfect. For people who take All Inclusive options it should be of no surprise that sometimes you get the same things, however we felt having visited All Inclusive hotels in other countries that Sandos did it well, there was always enough to eat and a great choice and the dining room was very clean. Only down side was that you did have to be up very early to get a sunbed beside the pool, only issue no matter where you go you will always have this issue!! Mind you this was only to get beds by one of the pools there was no shortage of sunbeds. So would I recommend this hotel to a family...absolutely would, will I go back, oh yes..and it was sad having to leave!! My tips would be book this hotel now for next year, book the Royal Elite Service with a private taxi transfer too and from airport, you will have a stress free relaxing holiday, and if you can.... take a walk to the Marina. Well done Sandos Papagayo Lanzo!! We will be back.

Room Tip: We were in block D facing the sea, was really well placed lovely clean fresh corridor and close to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoffatTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear MoffatTribe,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,352 - 3,358 of 6,717 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just returned from staying a week at this hotel.. Overall the hotel is pretty average but don't think I will return.

Good things:
Nice outside space, 3 large pools
Rooms cleaned to a high standard
Lovely view from our room, we were in block D
Nice location, only a 20 min walk to the marina and not far from some lovely beaches

Bad points
Horrible smell and black mould along the corridor in block D
Food was ok but very repetitive, we got bored of the food and went out for dinner a couple of times, the Mexican restaurant was nice the first time we went so we booked again, second time we went, 3 days later the food was exactly the same, would have been nice to have had something slightly different
Reception staff not very helpful during check in, Diana on reception was quite rude, didn't explain where our room was (the hotel is like a maze) and we walked around for ages, she also didn't explain where to get towels from, location of restaurants etc.. A little more guidance would have been useful.

We had a good week..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotte24_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Lotte24_13,

We appreciate very much all your comments and we are very sorry for not being able to satisfy your expectations. We will keep on working hard to improve our service.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were a little apprehensive before travelling as we were worried hotel would be too big.

We travelled with Thomson but booked through Barrhead Travel - this was great as we got a much better deal. We chose the Royal Elite option which I would definitely recommend. If you hate the 'school canteen feel' of all inclusve resorts then you'll love the separate restaurant for breakfast.

We were initially allocated a room in H block which was actually pretty disappointing. We were moved a few days later to A block which was much better. (I read in one review that people had loungers on their balconies - this is definitely not standard.)

The rooms are pretty standard - not luxurious - but certainly more than adequate.

The pool areas are well kept.

The food is excellent! We were very surprised at the very high standard of the food and the amount of choice was amazing. Super for all of the family. There was a good selection of restaurants and bars. We generally used the Royal Elite Lounge, albeit it is like an airport executive lounge. It was a really nice place to escape to although it was really busy most of the time.

The walks to Rubicon Marina are a must - we loved the change of scene and we ate at Casa Roca a few times. There's also a lovely tapas bar on the sea front, and an excellent jazz bar where we had a superb evening listening to Lem from The Voice (who was holidaying there) and Lydia Louden.

We previously holidayed at Punta Prima in Menorca. Sandos Papagayo may not have such lovely grounds etc but the food was far superior.

Our kids are aged 10 and 6 and they had a ball - so overall a great family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MotherwellGirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear MotherwellGirl42,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Arrived for late checked to be greeted by not so welcoming Reception staff. I'm not one to moan (well not until I wrote this review) but whenever you visited the Reception desk to book dinner or taxis it felt like you were an interruption not a customer! The only exception to this was Esther, who we dealt with on our last day to collect keys for our late departure room...the rest of the Reception team need to take a leaf out of Esther's book, or perhaps spend some time with Victor in the Chill Bar, or Alfonso the waiter in the French Restaurant...both who gave exception customer service!

There was a real issue with sunbed reserving from 7am, and although there are signs stating this was forbidden, unused towels were never removed. One 'lady' stomped around the pool at about 8am dragging 5 beds together, placed towels in them, then left and did not return until 3pm...the pool team seemed to be keeping in eye on the beds but never removed the towels so others could use them...please practice what you preach!

In respect of pools, in the 11 days we were there 2 of the 3 the lower pool showers didn't work, the pool itself was not remained to the standard of the upper pools and had to be filled by a hose pipe which didn't have much of an effect.

We booked our holiday in Lanzarote after a recent holiday at the Sandos in Tenerife, which we accept was 5 star but absolutely wipes the floor with this hotel...we didn't think hotels from the same chain with just 1 star difference would be so vast!

Positives, our sea view room on block C was lovely and cleaned to a high standard, and the food in all 4 restaurants was very good.

Room Tip: All rooms from floor 2 and above on blocks A to E have excellent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyT200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Cathy T,

We appreciate very much all your comments and we are very sorry for not being able to satisfy your expectations. We will keep on working hard to improve our service.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

There is a lot to like i.e.
- excellent choice of good quality food in a variety of restaurants
- bedrooms and public rooms kept constantly clean
- great location as close as you can get to the sandy papagayo beaches and not far from marina
- choice of bars and restaurants
But could be better
- too few sunbeds overall and not enough with shade
- wi-fi just not adequate
- general maintenance seems a lower priority than general cleanliness

The hotel is spacious and basically a large triangle with 2 sides consisting of bedrooms and the third side the public rooms. In the middle of the triangle are several pools.
One side of the triangle consists of Blocks A to D that look over the promenade, across a stony beach and the sea to Fuerteventura.
The second side consist of blocks E, G and H (no block F) and the bedrooms either face across the pool area to the sea or on the other side to stony area that you cross to the papagayo beaches. The bedrooms looking across the pools have an interesting view but get noise all day from the entertainment. Particularly block H which is next to the theatre with shows and a bar open to 11pm.
Arguably all bedrooms have a sea-view albeit a distant one if you look outward from blocks G & H. So if you ask for a sea-view you could be almost anywhere.

Bedrooms - The bedrooms are large with 2 standard single beds plus a sofa (bed). They would accommodate 2 adults and a child or maybe 2 without feeling too busy. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are big with 2 basins, a bath, toilet and bidet. The shower over the bath doesn't look much but provides a powerful jet. The TV was rather aged with BBC world, CNN, Disney and lots of non-english channels albeit with lots of dubbed US shows. The balconies are big (and some very big) but only a couple of basic chairs and a small table. Overall quite grand but in places a little tired.

Restaurants - There are a number of restaurants in a row in the main building. The large international restaurant, the Italian next to it is really an extension. Further along is the bookable Oriental and at the end the French which you book and pay extra. Out with the pools is the snack bar which becomes the bookable Mexican at night. We tried them all and pleased we did. The food was always good quality and the variety was interesting. We booked 2 -4 days ahead without a problem.
All of the restaurants except the French are self-service buffets. This included self service drinks wine (ok), beer (not really), water and soft drinks, coffee and tea. So they were always lively rather than quiet with lots of people on the move. This is particularly true of the main international restaurant in the evening. The adjacent Italian always seemed quieter and cooler and there was no problem getting food from the main restaurant.
The service in the French restaurant was great when we tried in and justified the extra cost for an occasional treat.

Bars - There was also a choice of bars - the pool bar, the canario bar popular with families with some games and the outside veranda, ,the adults only green bar, the chill-out bar that looks a little trendy and can also be chilly as well as cool!. Plus the Royal Elite lounge. Both the Royal Elite lounge and canarios bar veranda got very busy some evenings - both were quieter spots to relax during the day. The all-inclusive service finished everywhere at 11 pm apart from the snack bar and so the latter was popular with young adults. There is some live music and also piped covers of music that was great in the original!

Pools - the heart of the hotel during the day is the central pool area with three pairs of adult and children pools. Unfortunately there are just not enough sunbeds when the hotel is full. Reserving them was well underway by 7.30 and after 9.00 it was hard to find more than the odd one until late afternoon. There are signs saying "Do Not Reserve" but these are futile given the demand and its shame because there is lots of room for more - a 100 or 200 extra beds could be added in the space available.

Royal Elite - this option buys you some things you might expect in a 4 star hotel such as bathrobes, slippers in your room. Plus daily refresh of water, tea, coffee and 2 tiny bits of chocolate.
You can use the lounge with international drinks, some papers and a couple of internet terminals which is pleasant when not too busy.
You can start off with a relaxing breakfast in the restaurant that becomes the Oriental in the evening. This is the only time you get some table services (very cheerfully especially by Toni and Anabel) except in the French restaurant.

Wi-fi there is wi-fi throughout the public areas but its pretty overwhelmed by demand. We got a stronger signal from 2 hotels away (sadly encrypted). The best place to get a signal was outside near the snack bar and during the day outside the (closed) green bar.

The spa consists of 3 jacuzzis, 2 saunas (one without clothes), and a steam room. Its not impressive but one more pleasant alternative thing to do.

Away from the hotel there is a pleasant flat 30 minute walk to the marina, beyond to the centre and port. The other way in 15 minutes across rough ground you get to the first of a string of sandy (not black sand) beaches. Although reachable by car they are uncrowded perhaps because there are no facilities. However after about 45 minutes and 5 beaches down there are a couple of bars/restaurants with toilets. On the quieter beaches clothing appears optional.

We hired a car for a day from reception. The amount we paid was about double the rate shown but this seemed typical of elsewhere. Our car was practically new and it was very convenient getting it from the front of the hotel. You can see a lot of Lanzarote by car in a day or 2.

One of our party had to visit the doctor in the hotel - totalling 450 Euros (cash) for a course of 3 visits. Most of the medical centres we saw looked private. Check your insurance !

PS Tiles. There are thousands, tens of thousands of tiles around the hotel. Many plain around the pools and lots quite elaborate and decorative. As noted its not hard to find a cracked or broken one in the pool area. But generally the rest are attractive and always being cleaned in the many public seating areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaJ94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear GaJ94,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.

For us is fantastic to know the good and the not so good of your stay. Please don´t doubt that we will transfer the comments to the respective departments to improve our service on these points.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was our first all inclusive holiday, so we didn't really know what to expect! From the minute we walked in we had excellent service. Check-in was quick and friendly. Both our rooms were spotless, with a fantastic sea view, couldn't have asked for better! We couldn't fault the food, and with one of our party not eating meat, there was plenty of choice. Overall fantastic experience and would love to return.

Room Tip: We were in block B which faced the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Michele T,

Thanks for bringing your feelings and if you want to spend again your next holidays in our hotel, we will be delighted to attend you.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at the papagaya for 2 weeks with my family and boy did we have a fantastic time.We chose the royal elite which was good as you have a more quieter start to the day by having breakfast in the oriental dining room.the choice of food and drink was of good quality throughout the hotel,the pool bar done a lovely mojito which kept you cool at the pool (not enough sunbeds) during the day.Really enjoyed the breeze that you get throughout the day.Room had a great view of sea and across to fertuventura.Staff where a credit to the hotel as they kept it clean and tidy.I would consider going back as I think most have done so.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear galla8,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,471 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £126 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing