We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a late November break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A very nice hotel, very clean, good food and service. Altough the hotel is located as far out of Playa Blanca as you can get we found it perfect. The town is a pleasant walk if you turn right out of the back of the hotel whilst the lovely sandy coves are to your left! Enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: Blocks A-D are in the fron with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevePu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,087 - 3,093 of 6,600 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We loved our week stay at the Papagayo Arena (not sure what the correct name is!).
We had a room overlooking the pools and the sea beyond, absolutely lovely. The hotel and our room were always very clean. We found all the meals excellent, the wines good, considering they were limitless. We cannot comment on the bars, as we did not use them, we drink very little. We found the meals varied, we could always find something new and nice to try, the ice creams were delicious. However, we ate at the Chinese restaurant, it was not worth it, and the Mexican which was slightly better, but just.
The vast majority of staff were lovely, the cleaners very friendly and efficient.
The only things the hotel could improve on is the free wifi which is only available near the reception area (either on the same level or the other levels), and an iron and ironing board in the room.
You might think we are easy to please, but we have stayed in 5 star hotels round the world, so we know what we are talking about. For a 4 star hotel, it is very very good. I have stayed previously on business at the Melia Las Salinas in Costa Teguise, although the food was excellent there, I much prefer the Sandos, the staff is so much better.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank strtchrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Terrible for a four star. We went on our honeymoon, the only detail that we had with us was a bottle of champagne stored in the fridge without even a note indicating that there was that bottle. Very repetitive though plentiful food. And we with our son 16 months and one day we were three in the afternoon and we had not done the room. As it was the time in the napping child will ask you at 4 and six in the afternoon they had not yet passed. One of the waiters we had to repeat 3 times the type of coffee you wanted (a decaf Machine). On top we had a room that overlooked a terrace bars and were told that if we wanted a sea view was paid apart when it was our honeymoon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bgtanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013
Google Translation

Apreciado bgtanet,

Sentimos enormemente no haber estado a la altura de sus expectativas y esperamos que lo aclarado por teléfono esta mañana le haya dejado satisfecho.

Quedamos a su disposición para cualquier comentario posterior y confiamos volver a verle en un futuro no lejano.

Atentamente,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Subdirectora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Papagayo for the second time - the first being about 5 years ago. The first impression of the hotel is great with a large reception with lots of seating. Check in was totally painless and quick, although as we arrived about lunchtime our room was not quite ready. A luggage room was available to leave our cases and after a bite of lunch we navigated our way to our room. The hotel is very large, but the directions from reception were clear and concise.

Our room was large, clean and had a large balcony overlooking the pool area and onwards to the sea which was lovely.

The pool area was large and had plenty of sunbeds, although these were not padded we felt a 4 star hotel should have had a better quality bed available. Also the pool area needed some tlc as there were quite a few badly cracked tiles and missing drain covers, which could be hazardous for the unwary.

The hotel location was well away from the main part of Playa Blanca although a courtesy bus ran regularly to the local beach. A nice cliff path ran from the hotel to the marina which was a 20-25 minute stroll and then on through the main part of the town to the port and beyond. It would take well over an hour to do the full walk. We found that walking one way and a 5 euro taxi ride back suited us nicely.

The food in the hotel was ok but we found that it was rarely better than luke warm with the exception of the live cooking which was great. Lunch tended to be better than dinner in our opinion and the salad bar was always excellent. Breakfast was the usual multi choice so it was difficult to say you couldn't find something you liked.

The bars were all excellent as were the bar staff. All the drinks were good brands and the measures were very adequate. We particularly enjoyed a drink on the bar terrace after a hard days sunbathing where you could watch the sun go down. This area was nicely sheltered, so you could still sit in shorts and tee shirt after the sun had gone without feeling the breeze which never goes away.

The entertainment was very low key and in our opinion could have been better, but as a background music it was ok.

All in all we had a really relaxing time there and would probably return

All in all we had a

Room Tip: Try for a high floor room with pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Lepaul,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Went here over the period of end of August till the start of September. And I must say what a place best holiday by far. Thinking of going back this year as it was that good loved it. Carnt fault any part of this. From the time we landed till we departed all fantastic.

Room Tip: Block C6 is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank willow860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear willow860,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We opted for the Royal Elite Package, private lounge (no queues for the drinks) with named brands and snacks, separate breakfast room, Gym small but did the job, Jacuzzi and Sauna to ease aching bones, 4 pools (try the giant freezing one in the morning, excellent hangover cure). Brilliant location, quiet and situated as far as you can go on the miles long walkway (about 30 mins easy walk to the Town and lovely beach one way and about 10 mins walk along the hill top to a beautiful beach the other way (no facilities)). The staff were friendly and helpful, especially if you at least try to speak to them in their own language (please, thank you, numbers etc) and could not do enough for you. This holiday was an absolute pleasure and believe me I have lived and holidayed all over the World. You will not be disappointed. And yes we will be returning in the future.

Room Tip: If you are going to pay for sea view then you may as well pay for the Elite Service, the benefits ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear phil s,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After total chaos at Arrecife airport we arrived eventually at the hotel. Reception staff very efficient and made us feel welcome. The rooms are situated in blocks and we were allocated D block. Finding the room was an experience and it would have been nice to have a porter to take us and our cases! However, we finally found our room after asking other guests. The hotel is very big and one can easily get lost and disorientated. The main building, the arena, has 4 floors and reception is on the highest floor where one can find the swimming pools and main bar.
Our room was immediately facing the bay and the sea, lovely view and very peaceful and quiet. The room had an big king size bed and a nice big bathroom. Two large wardrobes, dressing table, fridge and settee. Large balcony which was a sun trap in the sfternoon as it did not get any breeze at all. It could be really windy by the pool but very hot on our balcony.
The restaurant was large and clean and the food of good quality with plenty of choice. However all the plates were cold even for hot meals. Help yourself to drinks. Choice of restaurants but had to book Mexican and Oriental. the Italian did not need a reservation and the pastas were made fresh and were wonderful.
English breakfast but bacon not same as British bacon, but again plenty of choice. The snack bar offered the normal snack food plus salads and sweets. Wine and beer available on tap from the snack bar, as was tea and coffee.
Various bars on site, a piano bar and roof top chill out bar in the evening. A lower floor bar with waterfall. A terrace beside the main bar. Various entertainment venues. The theatre offered daily evening shows and this also had it's own bar. There was also a disco but as we never went I cannot comment on this.
There was also a childrens club, but again as we had no children we did not use this facility.
The room and the hotel was very clean and maintainance seemed to be ongoing.
There is a spa and gym but agin we did not use.
Our only real negative is that the hotel is too far away from Playa Blanca and although their is a promenade it is a long walk before there is any shops etc. The Rubicon Marina is about 20-30 mins walk away. The hotel does offer a bus service which drops you off by the Playa Dorada beach which is about 20-30mins walk away from the town centre.
Would we go again? If we were younger then yes we probably would but as we enjoy a little stroll looking at shops etc and a little stop off at a local bar or cafe we would prefer somewhere more central.
The lovely beach of Papagayo is also a short walk away.
I would also say the staff are really helpful and always polite and friendly. There were a lot of repeat visitors who return time after time. This says a lot about the hotel.
One pool was climatised and sunbeds were easily available. However, I felt they should have been sunbeds with mattresses as suits a four star hotel.
Drinks of good quality and although sometimes there were queues the staff worked hard to reduce waiting timess. Cava freely available, even at breakfast!

Room Tip: It looked as if most rooms had a sea view and most people appeared very happy with where they were b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank regency19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear regency19,

For us is fantastic to know the good and the not so good of your stay: don´t doubt that we will transfer the comments to the respective departments to improve our service on these points.

Best Regards,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,376 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £133 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing