We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We holidayed at this hotel from the 16th June thro to 27th June travelling as a party of 3. In my opinion this was the best all inclusive hotel that I have stayed in throughout Europe at a very reasonable price. The chice and quality of the food in the main restaurant was excellent to the point that we did not bother with the speciallity restaurants. Everyone we met who worked at the Hotel were very polite and efficient. The rooms we were allocated B427/8 were centrally located and had fantastic sea views, it took a few days to understand which of the lifts serviced our block and it was quite funny watching most new visitors trying to work out how to get to their rooms.The entertainments team were excellent and worked hard all day and into the evening to keep everyone amused without being over the top. From a bar perspective we used the Pool / Chillout bar and The Green Room Piano Bar and it was nice to have a selection of premium branded drinks available as part of the all inclusive package albeit only in the evenings. The Chillout bar is lovely and comfortable for afternoon and evening drinks looking out over the sea across to Fuertaventura, with musicians playing every 3 nights or so. The Green room had good pianists most evenings and some nights the pianist also played a good tune on the Violin. We also watched 4 shows in the main show arena and these were of excellent quality , particularly a tribute to the 3 Tenors which was fantastic. We met and made some good friends , a group of ladies from Dublin who made us laugh with their constant Craic as well as a lovely couple from Winsford who live not too far from us and who we hope to keep in touch with on our return.Overall the hotel was spotlessly clean with regular changes of bedding and towels. We hired a car for 2 days which cost 60 euros to include all insurances and then toured a lot of the island as this worked out cheaper than taking the organised tours promoted by the tour operators. I would definately return to this hotel and can recommend it highly as the best all inclusive holiday I have had outside of the Carribean. We travelled with Cosmos Holidays and the only downside was that the prearranged airport to Hotel transfers took 2 hours and not the 45 mins promised. As a consequence we booked a taxi return to the Airport for 43 euros and it took about 35 mins.When I return next year I will book a hire car for the duration in advance to pick up at the airport as Lanzarote is a beautiful Island and for about £150 will have a car to tour the island more as well as to cut down on the tour operator transfer nightmare. Overall I couldn't find anything to complain about.Well done Sandos, I will certainly be trying out some of your other hotels if this standard is maintained.

Room Tip: Sandos offer a premiunm upgrade on arrival which costs about £200 each and offers an exclusive bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank bellie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,762 - 2,768 of 6,711 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was my second time to Lanzarote and it was better than my first! The staff were all so helpful and all you needed to do was ask and they would do what they could for you! The swimming pools make the hotel appear quite spread out which was good as it didn't have a cramped feel which was good! The view of the beach from the hotel is simply stunning, whether it is from the pool or the balcony- especially at sunset. Travelling in October half term meant we were fairly limited with regards to the possible destinations we were able to go to however, I am so glad that we chose the Sandos Papagayo beach resort as I really did have a lovely holiday!
For me, one thing in particular that stood out for me was the food, the main restaurant had plenty of variety each night which meant that the food on offer never became repetitive! The other restaurants are also a must to try in the hotel- I particularly enjoyed the Asian restaurant which I would definitely recommend.
During the holiday we also walked along the beach into the local town a few times which was lovely to do and the views along the way were definitely worth seeing, especially the harbour.
I love the canaries and this hotel didn't change that, if anything it just reminded me why the canaries are such a great place to go on holiday and as a result I would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking of going here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jetsetter0496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear jetsetter0496,

We really appreciate your comments and are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with Sandos.

We look forward to wellcoming you in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Recently stayed here for 1 week and had an enjoyable holiday. The hotel is vast and it can be confusing to find your bearings at first, but okay as you soon get used to where everything is. On arrival, we found the reception welcome to be lacking and was a huge disappointment as we felt they missed opportunities to properly explain the hotel. We considered upgrading to Royal Elite once we were there, but decided in the end the benefits weren't that great. The Animation team work hard to include everyone around the pools, especially Ricky, but were never intrusive or pushy to get you to join in. We felt the hotel lacks in evening entertainment suitable for adults - they had live entertainment in the chillout area 3 times a week and would have been better to have this more often as an alternative to the shows in theatre bar. Overall, an enjoyable holiday - food was good for all inclusive standards - wine was awful - cocktails pleasant but as others have stated too sugary as out of a bottle. Staff are friendly, but only a few stood out as giving great customer service and actually wanting to interact as opposed to just getting through their shifts. This hotel is located outside of Playa Blanca, but they run a shuttle bus throughout the day if you fancy a change. It is also a pleasant walk down through the marina to the main resort area. We would definately return to Lanzarote, but to a different hotel/area as this one just did not have the 'wow' factor to persuade us to return.

Room Tip: Request a seaview/high floor, but they are unlikely to provide without you paying extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelmo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear shelmo22,

Thank you for bringing us your feelings. We take good note of all your comments and we will transfer them to the different departments involved.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Lafuna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First time to Canaries. Picked this hotel for the reviews which were all pointing towards a great place to stay! This hotel has lead the way for me due to the fantastic food and drink on offer! as well as this the coffee machine is unreal providing so many different options. Staff were excellent and done everything possible to make you feel at home another key point for many is the pool, well maintained with ample loungers around it so everyone can relax in the sun. The only problem was black mould found around the edges of the tiles in my shower:(

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear gracie191,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays and that the Hotel met your expectations. Thank you for bringing us your good feelings.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 16th June -30th June and have to say the nicest 4star Hotel I have stayed in,spotless,very well laid out,staff very friendly,food,restaurants plentiful and excellent service,great location for all ages.I stayed at Block G and had a fab view of childrens pool wit the view of beach to my left,obviously the higher up the floors you stay the better,i would recommend this hotel 100per cent,we hired an open top small car at 17euro daily from local car rental Cabrera Medina car hire,fantasti service, I will return at some stage!

Room Tip: I was extremely happy with my room without upgrading,block G Room number 926! great view! especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyholidaymaker531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I travelled here with my husband and baby girl in July. This hotel was absolutely wonderful in every way....the food, the amazing views, the environment, the drinks, weather. We enjoyed it very much and recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families. Since we have a 2 year old baby, we enjoyed seeing children of all ages there. We loved going by bus (for free) to a beautiful beach everyday about 5 minutes away- Playa dorada. The water is crystal clear and it is very beautiful. The pools are great, 5 different ones and very big. The shows at night were pretty good, but preferred to have some drinks on the patio of the Canarian Bar, where the views and drinks were great. The only downfall about this hotel is that you couldn't get real cocktails during the day, only at night...and then you could only get cocktais til 11pm. They need to work on that because being an All-Inclusive, It has to be all included. The wi-fi service isn't great, could have helped us more so that our baby could watch her baby shows. The mini-disco for the kids was wonderful and our daughter loved it!!!mService overall was good, although the workers weren't the nicest we've had. They were decent, but that's about it. A suggestion we have would be to have music playing more often at the Pool area. Our room was normal. We didn't get a sea view, which was bad, but oh well! We met great friends there and really loved our stay. It was just what we were looking for. Thank you for the lovely holiday Sandos Papagayo!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DianaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed hear June/July. It's a big hotel and the floors at first are very confusing. Basically for the most part it's an upside down hotel as its on a cliff's edge. So the reception is at the top and you work your way down to the rooms and the beach.
We stayed Royal Elite and it does have its benefits, so worth the money. I went with my wife and in hindsight going for a quite holiday was never going to happen, because even though, the English schools haven't broken up, both the Spanish and later on the Scottish schools most certainly had. So peace and quite around the pools didn't exist and nor did the adults only pool either!. That said, by the end it didn't really matter, because both my wife and myself we're totally chilled out, exactly the point of a holiday. Even the reserving of sunbeds and the lack of sunbeds with shade, didn't bother us too much in the end, but it is a real issue, especially as there's signs up everywhere, but never, ever enforced.
OK onto the food. Five Restaurants, The International, The Italian, The Oriental, The Mexican and the French. The first four are part of the AI deal, but the last you have to pay extra for. Also as the Mexican and Oriental restaurants are small, you have to pre-book at least 48 hours in advance. so then the International. We found the food to be of excellent standard, The carved meat was fantastic. I had beef one night and it was as good as a Sunday lunch at home. The starter options weren't great, but that seems to be the norm in these types of hotels. And desert was pretty much the same each day.
The Italian is adjoining the international, so its quite possible to sit in there and still get your foot in the main restaurant, a good option if you have children as they're normally quite happy tucking into pizza and pasta. As said the Italian serves pizza and pasta, they also have salad option too (as do all the Restaurants). The one area it does fall down on is starters. It wouldn't take much to put out cooked meats, peppers, olives and mozzarella and have anti-pasta, or bread sticks and olives, or cook up some dough ball and garlic bread.
The next the Oriental. To put it bluntly, Don't bother, You will come out feeling hungry and peeved. The hotel, really need to take a long hard look at it, because the food is wrong and it doesn't work. It is to bad that the Mexican is to good. We went there 3 times and out of all the buffet restaurants it was the only one that actually felt like you were having a meal out. We didn't eat at the French, so can't comment. We did however make full use of the Royal Elite Breakfast, which made for a lovely start to the day and the staff in there excelled.
And that's the main reason why this hotel works. The staff, its big hotel and it's easy for them to be impersonal. Not this hotel. The staff are always friendly and it's genuine and that rubs off of the guests. It makes the hotel a great hotel. And a reason for recommending it.

I would give two tips: Firstly this hotel is at the easternmost point of Playa Blanca, so if you've paid for a transfer, you will be last off the bus, so what should take 45 minutes from the airport, can take up to 1 1/2 hours. If you can afford it, get a taxi.
Second tip: Go to the reps welcome meeting and see what trips are on offer. The tour operators don't run the trips in Playa Blanca (well not the ones we went on). So the best thing to do is to take a trip into the Rubicon Arena or Playa Blanca itself and book with the Bus/Coach tour operator direct. You could save between 4-10 euro's per person- per trip, So well worth the journey.

Room Tip: we stayed in Block B, Great sound of the sea and away from the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank keefyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,465 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £126 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing