We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Lanzarote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First time in Lanzarote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived late Tuesday night at 10.45pm. Reception told us to go and get some food so we went to Italian Restaurant. Food wasn't great and same next morning for breakfast. Room was good and I thought it was going to be tough going. The food at lunch and dinner (evening) was much better. They have a carvery on both sittings. The food was really good, I am used to Lara beach Turkey and in some aspects it beats Turkish all inclusive. I had more choice and some of the carvery meats were top notch. Generous serving and tasty!!
The rooms are spacious and clean. We were close to the beach and we could see and hear the waves and feel the sea breeze in the room.In fact the beach was literally a stones throw away.
Some really good points are: The hotel is really clean even though it is very big. Toilets/Rooms/Eating areas are clean and tidy. This is a real achievement given the size of the hotel and the area it occupies.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. This makes for a good holiday.
Entertainment is mainly geared towards children and I preferred a family orientated holiday. We have 3 grandchildren (although we were on our own this time) and it would be ideal for them.
It was quiet at night (which is important to me) and we could sleep peacefully.
I was apprehensive at first but it won me over. In the end I would stay at this any any other hotel in the chain and feel confident that I will be looked after.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnJPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear JohnJPearson,

Thank you very much for your nice words to the Hotel. We are pleased to know that the Hotel met your expectations, and hope to see you again in the near future (perhaps with your 3 grandchildren...)

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,058
    2,178
    647
    155
    71
See reviews for
2,255
2,849
66
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,777)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks all inclusive holiday with my partner and her children at this fine hotel and these are my own personal thoughts. On arrival we checked in and was given a map of the complex and instructions about the place. On first impressions we thought my god, it's massive and indeed it is but after a couple of days, you get to find your bearings pretty well. We were early so had to wait until 2pm to check in (which is fine) and were allowed to put our luggage in the store room while we went to lunch for the first time. We were overwhelmed with the amount of food and choice that was on offer every day at this hotel food wise, really if you can't find anything to eat at this place you are EITHER THE MOST AWKWARD FUNNIEST BUGGER ALIVE, OR DEAD. Not only is there so much choice, the quality is superb too. Drinks are all decent too, from soft drinks (unfortunately there is only diet pepsi for the people who like me prefer sugar free drinks) Amstel on tap, reasonable wine, sangria, cocktails, Malibu, barcadi etc. the choice is really good though be careful that some drinks such as baileys do cost 1 euro extra a time but you can the cheaper version which was like ballycastle from aldi. There are 5 pools, 3 adult and 2 children's pools with a maximum depth of 1m 40 in pool 1. All were noticeably very clean though one of the childrens pools needed some repair work on it. Our room was very spacious, the bed was one of the biggest I have ever slept in and was comfortable to boot. The bathroom had a shower, sink, toilet and bidet which was cleaned on a daily basis. Some of the facilities in the room could go with been replaced or updated, but they were generally fine. There was plenty of wardrobe space and if I am been picky they could have done with more hangers in the wardrobe. The room has a safe locker though you have to pay 41euro a week for it, of which you get 20euro back. This frustrates me because I wish they would include it in the price we pay even if it means a small increase in price. There was the added bonus of having your own beach towels provided which obviously saves you the problem of taking your own and having to carry extra weight in your case. I found the hotel staff ok, very professional but impersonal in relation to some of the reviews I've seen on here but i feel i must emphasise that I found ALL STAFF AT THIS HOTEL VERY HARDWORKING AND POLITE. This hotel is ideal as a couple or for families with children under 14/15 as there is a lot of entertainment and clubs for the children and a great animation team that run it There is adequate entertainment for adults too though I personally feel It is not an hotel for young adults and it's location is a few miles away from the lively bars of playa blanca though the hotel does have its own disco that opens at 11pm. I must stress one thing though, please if you come to this hotel, try the Segway tour, YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gregstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Gregstoke,

Thank you for your kind words to this Hotel and Staff. We really appreciate them and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

First visit to this resort and definitely not the last. The hotel caters for all, excellent team of entertainers who keep the kids happy and everyone at the pool entertained, with excellent shows at night. The hotel is very spacious with lots to do.. Food was always of a very high standard with a few different restaurants to choose from..

Most importantly it was clean, rooms spacious and beds very comfortable.

We all had a fantastic time, and I hope who is reading this does too!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After a terrible start to our holiday we upgraded to Sandos Papagayo Hotel in Playa Blanca Lanzarote. What can I say... The hotel was spacious, beautifully decorated,several pools to choose from, with beach towels therefore no need to add to your luggage. Rooms are lovely and most of them have sea views, down side is you need to hire a kettle for your room however there is plenty refreshments on offer throughout the day that it's not really necessary.

The hotel has a spa and fitness room as well as crazy golf for kids and adults alike. There are plenty of pool, football and air hockey tables around and a kid club for younger ones.

The food is probably the best we've had out of all the all inclusive hotels we've been to. Fish, chicken as well as pasta is cooked in front of you, loads to choose from, as well as a fabulous full English breakfast should you feel the need for home comforts.

Staff were so pleasant from reception to dining rooms to pool assists to bar attendants to the ladies that clean your room, We will definitely visit this hotel again, a truly brilliant holiday

Room Tip: Simply ask for a sea view, you may get lucky and get a pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Liz C,

We thank you very much for your kind and nice words to the Hotel and the Staff, and we are also pleased to know that you had a wonderfull holidays with us.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

When we first arrived after a long transfer, I have to admit I was slightly disappointed as not quite as I expected.

The hotel is vast and was getting busier by the day which made the restaurant experience slightly chaotic, however I noticed they are extending the restaurant so they are addressing this problem. The food was actually pretty good and was more than happy with the quality of food and drinks.

The rooms are comfortable with large beds and bathrooms, we always slept well and found them quiet, but they are in dire need of updating but as we didn't spend an awful lot of time in the room this wasn't too much of an issue.

My daughter loved the kids club and the mini disco and made lots of friends at the pool, again the pool areas and the kids play area are slightly worn and require an update. Didn't bother my 4 year old however!!

All in all we had a lovely family holiday and love Playa Blanca, this hotel has so much potential to be an amazing hotel, just needs a bit of modernisation but we won't be back until it has been refurbished as we feel we can get much better for our money.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BristolFifi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear BristolFifi123,

Thank you for bringing us your feelings. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays over all, but regret that the Hotel did not meet your expectations.

Anyway, you need to know that we take good note of your comments, and really appreciate them.

Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Once again, back at the wonderful Sandos Papagayo.
This hotel, for the price is hard to beat!
Our next holiday will be somewhere else, but every time we go somewhere else, we have to admit that the Papagayo really does take some beating, so we just keep coming back, and it seems to get better everytime.
On this visit, we tried the Mexican, Oriental and French restaurants, all of which require a booking through reception. The French requires that you dress up a bit, order off the menu and enjoy a nice relaxed dining experience. Plus it costs a few Euro's extra.
The main buffet and Italian are both excellent, just eat until you are fit to burst, believe me there is no shortage of good food!!
My only dislike, this is a general dislike and nothing against the Papagayo, i wish hotels were forced to have a larger outside non smoking area, there are a few tables at the end of the canarian bar balcony, but this rule just seems to be ignored.
we only had 1 slight hiccup, the maids didn't finish cleaning our room 1 day, towels missing and bins not emptied, but reception sorted the problem.
WIFI is much improved since our last visit, but still only in the main building and a bit hit and miss. I think there might be only so many available slots, i found that main reception "lobby1" hard to get a connection, other areas/floors much easier to log onto.
Will we be returning? Too rite we will be!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Archie1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Archie1London,

Thank you very much for all your comments and remarks. We really appreciate that they all have been written in a positive way, and be sure that we will bear them in mind.

We look forward to wellcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Just home following our 10 th stay at papagayo arena over the last 6 years. What can I say? The staff are wonderful especially Abi and Ali for yet again making us feel so special. Also Nathalia manageress for your kind attention. People tend to criticise just for the sake of it. Well go and judge for yourself. Wonderful food- my husband put on half a stone and my 12 year old daughter ate as if she had never seen food before! We cannot wait to return. The hotel is magic!!! I am not writing about the amenities or the location as this has been done to death. Just go and enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawnwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear dawnwx,

Thank you very much for your kind words to the Staff and the Hotel. We really appreciate them.
Reviews like yours make that we keep working forward knowing that we are on the right track.

We look forward to wellcoming you.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Onthebeach, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing