We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After reading Gavin's review, I felt I had to share my family's experience of this fabulous hotel. We stayed the first two weeks of the school holidays and yet given that the hotel would be at its busiest, we never felt over-crowded - plenty of space round the pool, on the terraces and in the restaurants and bars. I also had reservations about the size of the hotel, but I needn't have - the large size was actually a huge advantage as it meant there was so much more choice of food, bars, pools and entertainment than we have experienced in smaller hotels. Anyone who criticises the food in this hotel should just stay in England and go to McDonald's(!) - it was excellent quality and so much choice and variation each day. We have stayed in several 5 star hotels in Turkey and in our opinion the Sandos Papagayo in Lanzarote was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The shows in the evening (professional and animation team) were outstanding and you can also relax on the lovely chill-out terrace with a cocktail and listen to the live musicians if you prefer. The hotel was very family-friendly, yet relaxed and the children were all very well-behaved - no screaming brats running around! We didn't experience any problem getting a sunbed and certainly didn't get out of bed as early as Gavin suggested! The location of the hotel is great if you like to walk around and explore the resort. One way leads you to the beautiful Papagayo beaches , the other is the promenade that stretches for miles past other great beaches, the castle, the marina, the town centre, the port, the lighthouse... The promenade is also very popular with morning runners. You can also walk up the volcano behind the town. We were a little disappointed with some of the excursions we booked with Thomas Cook and so hired a car from the stand in the hotel on the last day to go off and see the parts of the island that we hadn't been to - highly recommended!
The only criticism we have is that we feel that we shouldn't have to pay for the Safety deposit box (3 euros per night) when we have paid for an all-inclusive holiday.
Outstanding holiday in an outstanding hotel in a beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Stacey M,

Thank you for bringing us your feelings and for your nice words to the Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,243
    2,284
    669
    164
    79
See reviews for
2,362
3,033
71
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,864)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

After looking at lots of hotels we chose this because of the tripadvisor reviews . We were disappointed the hotel is just to big so the quality of the good isn't as great as you would expect . You have the main restaurant where you have breakfast as well as dinner food never ran out but when your catering for so many people you don't get the quality and they need to change what you can eat more often . Going on an all inclusive all drinks are self service from a machine or beer and wine tap , the wine was tasteless and no choice . I've been on all inclusive a few times before and a choice of drinks and food was much better . The Mexican and Chinese are also buffet style and again lack flavour you expect in a 4 star hotel . Also we were very unhappy about the sun beds we had to get up every day at 7.15 just to get a sunbed , every where signs say you can't reserve beds but everyone does so you end up having to do it as well , people were doing this then going out till 4.00 spoilt the holiday . On the plus side the staff were very friendly , it's very clean and the entertainment very good . Would I return no we loved playa blanca but would choose a smaller hotel , when you spend so much money on a family hotel you expect better .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Gavin B,

Thank you for your comments. We regret to hear that we were not the Hotel you expected.

You could have asked for a sunbed to the lifeguard when you needed it. The are the people in charge of this area. We know that many guests do not comply with the rules, and do apologize for the inconveniences you suffered.

We remain at your disposal for anything you may need.
Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at many hotels around Lanzarote and have to say this one for value for money is my favourite. The room we had in H block was perfect and over looking the pools. The food was great so much selection and my girls loved the fresh pizza. My 4yr old daughter loved going to mini club each morning and the staff where excellent with her.
Lots of places to enjoy an evening drink and relax and plenty of water stations to fill bottles for the room.
My only slight grumble was the wine I think this could be improved as I tried all three and none where up to much. The cava was very nice however.
We will definitely be booking again for next year.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jennie T,

Thank you for your comments and nice words to the Hotel. We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your holidays.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

There were 8 of us in our group, myself, my wife and our 5 year old plus 5 friends. We were all given seaside views and the rooms were large, although our couch was folded out for our sons bed it was still spacious enough. Our bed was massive kind of like two doubles pushed together. The rooms were all clean and the maids came every day.

The food was good in the restaurants especially the fresh made pasta in the Italian. You have to book the mexican and chinese at reception and I would do this straight away. We never got to try the chinese as we left the bookings too late but the Mexican was fantastic.

There are several bars doted about and 5 swimming pools. We used the bar in the downstairs lobby which opened at 6 as a meeting point because the staff were really friendly and there was free wifi.

All in all we couldn't fault the hotel at all. The staff were friendly and helpful and although the place is massive it is very clean and well maintained.

My wife and I are already looking to go back early next year as we all had a fantastic time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Moza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Moza13,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We (a couple with two boys, almost 5 and 2 & ½)) stayed at the hotel the last week of July.

As we were arriving late we booked a private transfer from the airport (€45 with Last Minute Transfers, took about 30 minutes) as we had read that this hotel was the last drop off on the coach. We were glad we did as when we were leaving the airport the rest of the people on the Thomas Cook flight were still milling about in arrivals waiting for a coach. It also meant we could check in without the queues and have dinner before the boys got to tired and grumpy after a long day. On the way back we took the coach and the trip lasted just over an hour.

We stayed in a suite and had the Royal Elite upgrade. The room was great with a large lounge housing a double and single sofa bed so the boys didn’t have to share a bed, a dining area with a table but we never used this and a bar with a stocked fridge. Both the master bedroom and the lounge had a balcony. The room was in great condition and when we did have a problem with no hot water or the air con not working the maintenance men fixed it promptly. We were on the top floor of block D and had lovely sea views.

The Royal Elite upgrade probably wasn’t worth it from a financial point of view for us as we didn’t hit the drinks much, however from a holiday experience it was definitely worth it as it gave you access to the Royal Elite breakfast (in the oriental restaurant) and to the Royal Elite lounges and terrace which had the premium branded drinks and computers with access to the internet. We also got bottled water and little Milka chocolates in the room each evening. The new Royal Elite terrace at the top of the hotel was very nice and this lounge/terrace allowed children where the one on the lower floor does not. In the Royal Elite lounges you just help yourself to the drinks and snacks.

For restaurants you have the International, Italian (attached to the international), Oriental and Mexican, the last two require a booking. All of these are buffet style and the food was very good. As others have suggested we sat in the Italian section even if getting food from the main International buffet. The Italian section seemed quieter and the air con seemed to be more effective in there due to the smaller space and fewer food counters. The free wine with dinner which you helped yourself to from a tap was pretty awful to be honest. We tended to just drink soft drinks with the food and head to the Royal Elite lounges for pre and after dinner drinks.

There were lots of pools to choose from and several with shallow areas for little children. Most of the sunbeds were reserved with towels from early in the morning. It didn’t affect us as we didn’t spend a lot of time lying on a lounger with two young boys to entertain! We always managed to find one lounger to dump our stuff on while swimming though.
We only went to two evening shows. One was a Lion King musical where the hotel team acted and mimed to songs from the stage show and it was very entertaining. The other was a troop of three acrobats/gymnasts who performed lots of clever acrobatic tricks, juggling, fire eating and limbo etc.

We only used the Kids Club once. The staff there were very nice but the facilities definitely need to be upgraded and it was very relaxed to say the least with not even a signing in and out sheet. Our eldest enjoyed the one session he attended where they went to plant a cactus in the hotel garden.

The hotel is located at the end of the paved coastal path that leads to Playa Blanca and beyond. This path was great for taking our youngest for a sleep in the pushchair. It took about 25 - 30 minutes to walk to the marina where there are nice cafes to stop for a drink before walking back. Outside the hotel is a lovely beach. It is a mixture of sandy and pebbly areas. To be honest with two young boys, a beach with a few interesting stones and rock pools is much more entertaining than a vast sandy beach.

We did one excursion on a Submarine Safari. While quite expensive it was very well run and rather than just a glass bottomed boat you actually went down around 30 meters. We also caught a taxi to Playa Blanca which cost around €4. There was a free shuttle bus put on by the hotel but it was full on the day we decided to go so took a taxi instead.

Overall we had a really nice holiday and would recommend this hotel for a family with young children as long as a kids club isn’t the be all and end all.

Room Tip: We stayed in block D which was directly above the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bebetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear bebetoo,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Me age 30, the missus age 34 and our 5yo daughter stayed here for 11 nights at end of July start Aug, our previous 4 holidays have all been 5* AI to Turkey so we were naturally going to compare it and tbh.....this place is easily up there!!!

We went with Jet2 holidays and they were faultless, we upgraded to the Royal Elite package and the cost was just under 15% on top of the standard price of the holiday, worth it just to have a gold wrist band and look down on everyone else wearing the cheap standard blue bands! (Joking)

We had a seaview room as standard, breakfast seperate to the rift raft which was my favourite meal, access to 2 lounges (1 now adult only) as they have converted the roof top bar into RE only for families, it's a work in progress up there so hopefully it improves as there's no atmosphere in it, drinks were great though, all main brands and literally help yourself. PAY FOR THE UPGRADE - YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!!

The food in the main international/italian restaurant was very good, could eat pizza, pasta and salad all day long. Had plenty of fish and meat choices so something for everyone, you could not moan about this so don't bother, if you do then you just wont be happy eating anywhere!!! We tried the mexican and chinese which you book at reception on 1st come 1st serve basis, it was nice and good to have a change, buffet style so help yourself. Can't comment on the only Al la cate French one as didn't use it. The snack bar is open all night and most of the day, it was quite basic for a quick bite but ideal for kids.

Entertainment in the theatre was awesome, the team put on a couple of shows that you will love like a rock show and lion king, both great and you would expect it from a show doing the rounds, they are better! There was the piano/violin/quitar players at the pool chill out bar if the theatre wasn't your thing as it's mainly family orientated. As has been said the animation team are all great, Ricky, Sammi, Jonas, Adonis and the girls (cant remember names sorry). All 1st class and very friendly, kids mini disco was my highlight on an evening through no fault of my own lol.

The maids were great, the bar staff were lovely, the reception staff were ever so helpful, the chefs and waiters did a sterling job, basicallly the hole team work tirelessly around the clock to make your stay relaxing, it is great.

I found myself picking up litter on several occasions, the bins were full at 11am and hadn't been emptied from the day before on 1 occssion, there were a few dodgy cracked tiles but other than that im just being picky, it didn't spoil my holiday 1 bit, people have commented on the hotel being dated and needing a few upgrades, tbh it has a great Spanish theme to it and just because it isn't all mafble and glass, it is what it is!

To sum up we had an excellent time, you serve your own drinks here so don't expect much of a waiting service, the food is excellent, the ents team were great and very fun, the place is clean and tidy. It is 4* Spain and not 4* U.K so don't knock it for that. You WILL NOT get a resort with the facilities and size in the U.K so you just can't compare the 2. It is in a quiet resort in Play Blanca and is out of the way at the end of the place so bare this in mind, personally it's more geared towards older couples and families, don't expect and 18-30s holuday here.

Book it and see for yourself, it is not anythi.g less than very good or excellent on the reviews here so dont believ and review below this, they are just fussy and in the minority or are hard to please, enjoy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
17 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was our first visit to Sandos Papagayo within a group of 7 adults and one child, and we had a fantastic time! We arrived just before 10pm at night (transfer approx. 40 mins) and were able to get dinner as food is served until 10.15pm (and the poolside snackbar is also open all night although we didn't know that at the time)..... The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds. We stayed in Block C and you get a fantastic sea view and the noise of the waves is amazing, the balconies are large as well.

Food was perhaps the best all inclusive I've tried within the Canaries - plenty of choice and a great standard within the restaurants, limited choice at the snackbar but enough to keep everyone going. The drink choices were good at all of the bars and included Cava and Irish Cream etc in the all-inclusive, as well as the standard beer and wine offerings. We did not pay extra to upgrade to Elite and to be honest didn't feel as if we'd missed out, we had a sea view anyway and the drinks choices were good, we saw only a handful of people wearing the gold wristbands and the Elite terrace looked empty most of the time. On the other hand Bari's bar on the ground floor of the lobby was always busy with great service! :-)

There are numerous pools to choose from and yes people do reserve sunbeds however it didn't really cause us a problem, although the hotel does not enforce not reserving them (despite signs up stating the contrary). The spa is also worth a visit with the jacuzzi's, steam room and sauna being available to the all-inclusive guests with no extra charge. The spa is also where the towel cards are exchanged for towels.

The hotel complex is large with lots of seating options in the lobby areas and free wifi although coverage was patchy at times, presumably due to the number of users. I cannot comment on the animation team or entertainment as that's not really our thing. The evenings however are quiet, and after 11pm there is not a great deal to do as all of the bars close leaving only the poolside snackbar (beer/wine only) or the nightclub which was empty the one night we went in.

In terms of location, it is about a 20 minute walk to the marina area, or 4 euro in a taxi. We had dinner in the resort a couple of nights to make a change from all-inclusive, and also took the ferry to Fuerteventura for the day which was lovely.

All in all, we had a great holiday, and should we decide to return to Lanzarote we would definitely consider returning to the Sandos Papagayo. A useful tip for those with a late flight home: it is possible to extend your checkout until 6pm if a room is available. In our case there was no room available and the courtesy room (which can be booked for 30 mins) was not available at a time that suited us so we used the showers at the spa (obtaining clean towels with our towel cards) to get showered and changed before heading to the airport........

Room Tip: Block C has excellent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fizzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Fizzette,

Thank you for bringing us your feelings and for your nice words to the Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,814 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing