We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous holiday at sandos ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday at sandos ”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from two weeks at this hotel we had a suite which was fab n gave us access to the royale elite service.
What can I say fantastic holiday from staff to food to pools to drinks. We met some great friends n just had such a ball. Kids made friends n loved the pool.

Only negative wish I could have stayed longer.

Definitely will be back. Thanks sandos papagayo.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Chandler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Chandler01,

thank you very much for bringing us your feelings and for your kind words to this Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays with Sandos.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,120
    2,201
    656
    158
    71
See reviews for
2,284
2,905
68
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,807)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was my third stay at the Sandos Papagayo. My wife and I have styed twice before, but on this occasion brought my daughter and grandson. We were located in Block G overlooking the main pools, but also had a sea view. Previously we have been located in A & C blocks overlooking the beach. Whilst block G is noisier it was ideal for my 11 year old grandson. We could keep an eye on him from the balcony.

Josh made many friends and joined in both the organised games managed by the hotel staff and games organised by the children themselves. He loved it and did not want to go home. My daughter was able to relax, sunbathe and swim without cramping his style. I was able to vist the Papagayo beaches and my wife spent time in the Rubicon Marina. This hotel suits different types of holiday maker.

My wife cannot sunbathe because of her skin type, but enjoys walking. The board walk, which runs from the Pagagayo hotel to the Lighthouse, is ideal for her at the moment as she has a knee problem. My daughter and grandson enjoyed the hotel's pools and the nearest of the Papagayo beaches. I enjoyed walking to the furthest beaches as they are less crowded and more naturist friendly.

In summary we had a great week and will be returning in late November to the Sandos Papagayo. I intend to review the beaches in a separate review.

John

Room Tip: Choose a room in blocks A,B or C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JFP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear JFP1953,

Thank you for your comments and your loyalty to Sandos. We hope to see you again in November...

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Not sure where to start...
Booked and flew with Jet 2 who again were fantastic.
Arrived at 9ish in the evening and greeted by polite reception staff who promptly checked us in, allocated our room A506 with Royal Elite Service (RE), we were given 2 key cards for the room and 2 key cards for the RE bar, a map of the hotel and a sheet which lists all the facilities, bar opening times, courtesy bus time table and restaurant opening times. Reception then gave us simple instructions to find our room which seemed miles away from everywhere however, after we quickly unpacked we had a walk back and realised it wasn't that far.

LIFTS: There are sets of lifts everywhere, they all end up on the same floors use them as we used reception to get everywhere on the first day and I was beginning to get quite frustrated at the amount of walking needed to get where I wanted to go.
ROOMS: As we stayed with upgrade to RE service we were given a sea view room but as other reviews have said previous most rooms probably have that. Room was spotlessly clean, bed linen crisp and white and plenty of towels. With RE we had a mini bar, flat screen TV, bath robes, pool towels, slippers, Cava on arrival, tea, coffee, and bottled water replenished daily. Each evening a housekeeper arrived with milka chocs and lollipops for kids, and replenished anything we required. My only groan about room, not enough coat hangers for 4 people, only 3 chairs on the balcony and air-conditioning very inadequate. The use of a safe is included but requires a 20€ refundable deposit. We were also lucky to be able to extend our room on the day of departure for an extra 30€.

FOOD:
RE breakfast (seated in the oriental restaurant)
Royal Elite guests breakfast in a separate dining room and treated to waitress service for drinks, omelettes cooked to order, prepared fruit, and a huge selection of breakfast cereals, pastries, bread, pate, cooked meats, bacon, beans, eggs (fried, scrambled, boiled) smoked salmon, herrings, yoghurt, there was everything you could think of and more. The fresh OJ was so tasty too, much better than the juice out of machines. I would also like to say a huge thank you to Ana and Marta who looked after us most days, they were always smiling, polite and welcoming.
LUNCH: only used restaurant twice for lunch only then because they were serving something which we had never tried before...Shark loin being one reason to visit. Other than that we used the snack bar by the pool for toasties, salad, pizza, burgers, hotdogs, chips, and they also did a few hot meals.
EVENING MEAL: we always sat in the Italian restaurant as we found it quieter, it's linked directly to the international restaurant and you can walk between the two...WARNING..Too much to choose from and all hot and fresh and regularly topped up, best hotel food I've ever eaten.
The hotel also has 3 other restaurants, Oriental, Mexican (included as part of AI) and French which you need to pay extra for. We found the Oriental a bit of a let down but thoroughly enjoyed the Mexican.
DRINKS: In all the restaurants you can help yourself to beer, wine and soft drinks. The bars all stock and serve branded drinks.
ROYAL ELITE FAMILY BAR: nice outdoor area, nice to be able to help yourself branded spirits and snacks, however the indoor room lacked a little atmosphere, was also home to two PC's and newspapers.
POOLS: 3 large pools and 2 baby pools, plenty of sun loungers to be had until about 9am however if it's a brolly you require you will need to make the effort to up before 8am. The pools were monitored well by the pool staff, although one pool attendant was a little jobs worth and was very keen to tell people off for eating around the pool, would much rather he was paying more attention to people in the pool! All the pools open at 10am. Pool bar opens at 11.15am would be much better if it opened at 10am even if it was only serving tea and coffees.

We never stayed around for the entertainment in the evening our children have outgrown kids stuff and we found after our evening meal we would retreat back to RE bar.
Wifi was limited and I personally never found anywhere where it worked, I wasn't bothered after all I'm on holiday!

Hotel is quite a way from the resort of Playa Blanca we used a taxi to get there one afternoon as we had missed the bus! 5€ Charge. We walked back which took approx an hour. The marina is about 30 mins away and much further than you think.

Lastly thank you to the hotel for remembering my husbands birthday! When we got back from the pool that day there was a bottle of Cava on ice and also a birthday cake served to us complete with candles at the Mexican restaurant.

SANDOS PAPAGAYO KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! We had a lovely holiday and would be more than happy to holiday with you again. Thank you!


Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank J001z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear J001z,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and that the Hotel met your expectations. Thank you for bringing us your feelings.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Home a week today and dying to go back. Great food. Lovely pools. Spotless clean. Friendly staff. Animation team great, shows high standard. Really great place. Third visit and have recommended it to loads of friends too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dandtfersand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Debbie F,

Thank you very much for your kind words to the Hotel and Staff. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays and really hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Its rare that the a hotel is nicer in reality than the pictures in the brochure but this was the case with the Sandos Papagayo beach resort. When we arrived, we upgraded to a sea/pool view and it was worth it. The sea views at this hotel are spectacular with the beach itself just a lift ride away. Hotel is spotless and food was excellent with a choice of a few restaurants (International, Oriental, Italian and Mexican are on the all inclusive package). My 6 year old enjoyed the shows organised by the hotel staff each night - very family oriented hotel with mini golf, air hockey tables, table tennis, football, tennis courts etc. Taxi to Play Blanca is approx EUR 5 and taxi to the marina at Rubicon is approx EUR 3. I would definitely recommend and will return.

Room Tip: If you have very young children ask for a room furthest away from the theatre as the shows do not fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank aj123452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear aj123452013,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays in Sandos and really appreciate your kind words to the Staff and Facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first experience with all inclusive holidays, and we weren't disappointed. Rooms were clean and the food choice was very good. The staff are brilliant and have so much energy, always willing to help with any enquiry and with a smile on their face from the front desk to the lady's cleaning the rooms. Also have your photos taken by the girls, Dunya, Yaiza and Narina. Great for memories of our fantastic time. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank PaulBeckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear PaulBeckfolk,

thank you very much for your nice words to the Hotel and the Staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the Hotel met your expectations.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Myself, my husband and our 3 year old son stayed here at the end of July and thought the hotel was great!

For the last year we have chosen all-inclusive hotels as we have found these better value when traveling with a 3 year old who is a fussy eater! This particular hotel appealed to us as it had a number of restaurants and bars to choose from and it had excellent reviews on here - we weren't disappointed! I hate buffets and we will always eat out at least one night to make a change. At this hotel we didn't need to do this as we had the choice of the Mexican and Oriental restaurant to visit. When visiting the main buffet restaurant we always chose to sit in the Pizzeria restaurant (this was joined to the main one) as it didn't seem as busy and you could still get food from both buffet restaurants. The choice of food was great and every day we always found plenty that we liked. I particularly liked the food in the Mexican restaurant!

The hotel has 5 swimming pools but we stayed by the quieter children's pool every day. We always managed to get sunbeds when we went down to the pool at 9.30am (which I don't think is particularly early!). There were still other sunbeds available until about 11am each day.

There were a number of bars to visit in the evenings. We visited the Theatre for the entertainment on a few evenings which was fine, nothing special, but we preferred the Chill-out Bar which had great views and also had live music.

The only negative, if I am being really picky, is that the reception staff are very unfriendly and unhelpful which only stands out as everyone else is the opposite! My husband was also a little disappointed with the daytime activities as other hotels we've stayed at this year have had tennis, football and table tennis competitions and this one didn't! Neither of these 'negatives' would stop us returning!

Overall, we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel to others. We are hoping to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EmAndDanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear EmAndDanC,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays.

We do have table tennis and football throughout the day with the Animation Team; I regret that you did not realize this... Next time!

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,953 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing