We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Back from a 2 week holiday - best all inclusive hotel we have ever been to. We booked Royal Elite and it was a lovely treat for our 10th anniversary. Spent many a day/night in the members only bar relaxing and using the 'help yourself to drinks' bar. The evening entertainment was excellent - so varied. The animation team are very talented in all that they do - loved the lion king, your face sounds familiar, music from the movies (titanic dance was brilliant) and Mr Sandos (hilarious with the balloons!). Loads of different bars to choose from - most close at 11pm. The rooms are well cleaned and spacious, all staff are friendly and although the complex is large and confusing at first, it soon becomes apparent were everything is. Nowhere was over crowded even though there were loads of guests. Lots of inside games to play - table tennis, pool, snooker, foosball and air ball. Didn't use the pool as we spent all the time at the beach (sea lovers!). The beach in front of the hotel is rocky but convenient but a quick walk over the hills and you find Papagayo beach which is beautiful. The marina is 30 min walk along the seafront - Lani's bar/grill is nice for a beer on comfy sofas before continuing on for another 30 mins to the town with pubs/restaurants/playa dorada beach - or you can get the free shuttle bus direct from the hotel to the town. Would recommend the 'Atlantic Adventure' for a day out - includes banana boat ride, snorkelling, kayaking, swimming, glass bottom boat, lunch, beer - a great 4 hour boat trip. All in all - a great relaxing holiday and wish we were still there drinking pina colada and mojito in the pool bar at the end of the day!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,682 - 2,688 of 6,714 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We travelled to the Papagayo Arena at the end of November...what a great hotel.
Clean and spacious, the pool area was lovely, food varied and the staff polite and helpful. Really nice spot in front of the bar on the balcony looking out to sea...this is a sun trap and also protects you from the fairly stiff Lanzarote breeze. The Chinese restaurant was a bit disappointing but the Mexican was superb as was the French restaurant (which is the only one you have to pay extra for). The value for money is amazing tho and we had a whole fillet of beef between two, sides and 2 other courses +wine for about £45...in the uk the main course would be £60+ on its own.
Overall this hotel was excellent, for couples and as well for families. Animation team slightly irritating but I'm just a grumpy man with no children :-)
For families they are good offer lots of activities around site to keep kids entertained....Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a week here with our 8 month old daughter, parents and nice and nephew.

We all had a great time. Plenty of entertainment at the night.

Always a good choice of food every night catering for the whole family.

Only downside was the lack of umbrellas around the pool - also, you'll need to be up early to get a sunbed as everyone puts their towels on them early.

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Rob J,

Thank you very much for your kind words to this Hotel. We will keep on working hard to make your next stay unfforgetable and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Have just come back from a weeks holiday. Last week in August so pretty busy with families. Went with 13 year old son. Booked last minute. Would recommend this hotel without a doubt. Our criteria for the week consisted of clean, friendly, good food, no hassle, good location, guaranteed weather, sea view, plenty for all of us to do and the chance to relax. This hotel hit every single point. Yes the hotel is a little tired in places BUT we could not fault it. Had a wonderful view. Food excellent. Breakfast is not the trial some make it out to be. If you've done a cruise it's easy in comparison. We never saw our son. He had a wonderful time and made good friends. The marina is a must. Sunbirds were a nightmare with people leaving towels on them and the hotel could make use of some of the terraces to provide other seating areas as an alternative to sunbeds. 90% were families and you need to accept that people have different parenting skills than you. Everyone we spoke to was very friendly and I didn't hear any complaints. Would definitely go again and would have no hesitation to recommend it. Very enjoyable, relaxing family holiday. Set us up a treat for the start of the school term!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bradae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Bradae,

Thank you very much for your nice words to this Hotel. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from two weeks at this hotel we had a suite which was fab n gave us access to the royale elite service.
What can I say fantastic holiday from staff to food to pools to drinks. We met some great friends n just had such a ball. Kids made friends n loved the pool.

Only negative wish I could have stayed longer.

Definitely will be back. Thanks sandos papagayo.


Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Chandler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Chandler01,

thank you very much for bringing us your feelings and for your kind words to this Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays with Sandos.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was my third stay at the Sandos Papagayo. My wife and I have styed twice before, but on this occasion brought my daughter and grandson. We were located in Block G overlooking the main pools, but also had a sea view. Previously we have been located in A & C blocks overlooking the beach. Whilst block G is noisier it was ideal for my 11 year old grandson. We could keep an eye on him from the balcony.

Josh made many friends and joined in both the organised games managed by the hotel staff and games organised by the children themselves. He loved it and did not want to go home. My daughter was able to relax, sunbathe and swim without cramping his style. I was able to vist the Papagayo beaches and my wife spent time in the Rubicon Marina. This hotel suits different types of holiday maker.

My wife cannot sunbathe because of her skin type, but enjoys walking. The board walk, which runs from the Pagagayo hotel to the Lighthouse, is ideal for her at the moment as she has a knee problem. My daughter and grandson enjoyed the hotel's pools and the nearest of the Papagayo beaches. I enjoyed walking to the furthest beaches as they are less crowded and more naturist friendly.

In summary we had a great week and will be returning in late November to the Sandos Papagayo. I intend to review the beaches in a separate review.

John

Room Tip: Choose a room in blocks A,B or C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank JFP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear JFP1953,

Thank you for your comments and your loyalty to Sandos. We hope to see you again in November...

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Not sure where to start...
Booked and flew with Jet 2 who again were fantastic.
Arrived at 9ish in the evening and greeted by polite reception staff who promptly checked us in, allocated our room A506 with Royal Elite Service (RE), we were given 2 key cards for the room and 2 key cards for the RE bar, a map of the hotel and a sheet which lists all the facilities, bar opening times, courtesy bus time table and restaurant opening times. Reception then gave us simple instructions to find our room which seemed miles away from everywhere however, after we quickly unpacked we had a walk back and realised it wasn't that far.

LIFTS: There are sets of lifts everywhere, they all end up on the same floors use them as we used reception to get everywhere on the first day and I was beginning to get quite frustrated at the amount of walking needed to get where I wanted to go.
ROOMS: As we stayed with upgrade to RE service we were given a sea view room but as other reviews have said previous most rooms probably have that. Room was spotlessly clean, bed linen crisp and white and plenty of towels. With RE we had a mini bar, flat screen TV, bath robes, pool towels, slippers, Cava on arrival, tea, coffee, and bottled water replenished daily. Each evening a housekeeper arrived with milka chocs and lollipops for kids, and replenished anything we required. My only groan about room, not enough coat hangers for 4 people, only 3 chairs on the balcony and air-conditioning very inadequate. The use of a safe is included but requires a 20€ refundable deposit. We were also lucky to be able to extend our room on the day of departure for an extra 30€.

FOOD:
RE breakfast (seated in the oriental restaurant)
Royal Elite guests breakfast in a separate dining room and treated to waitress service for drinks, omelettes cooked to order, prepared fruit, and a huge selection of breakfast cereals, pastries, bread, pate, cooked meats, bacon, beans, eggs (fried, scrambled, boiled) smoked salmon, herrings, yoghurt, there was everything you could think of and more. The fresh OJ was so tasty too, much better than the juice out of machines. I would also like to say a huge thank you to Ana and Marta who looked after us most days, they were always smiling, polite and welcoming.
LUNCH: only used restaurant twice for lunch only then because they were serving something which we had never tried before...Shark loin being one reason to visit. Other than that we used the snack bar by the pool for toasties, salad, pizza, burgers, hotdogs, chips, and they also did a few hot meals.
EVENING MEAL: we always sat in the Italian restaurant as we found it quieter, it's linked directly to the international restaurant and you can walk between the two...WARNING..Too much to choose from and all hot and fresh and regularly topped up, best hotel food I've ever eaten.
The hotel also has 3 other restaurants, Oriental, Mexican (included as part of AI) and French which you need to pay extra for. We found the Oriental a bit of a let down but thoroughly enjoyed the Mexican.
DRINKS: In all the restaurants you can help yourself to beer, wine and soft drinks. The bars all stock and serve branded drinks.
ROYAL ELITE FAMILY BAR: nice outdoor area, nice to be able to help yourself branded spirits and snacks, however the indoor room lacked a little atmosphere, was also home to two PC's and newspapers.
POOLS: 3 large pools and 2 baby pools, plenty of sun loungers to be had until about 9am however if it's a brolly you require you will need to make the effort to up before 8am. The pools were monitored well by the pool staff, although one pool attendant was a little jobs worth and was very keen to tell people off for eating around the pool, would much rather he was paying more attention to people in the pool! All the pools open at 10am. Pool bar opens at 11.15am would be much better if it opened at 10am even if it was only serving tea and coffees.

We never stayed around for the entertainment in the evening our children have outgrown kids stuff and we found after our evening meal we would retreat back to RE bar.
Wifi was limited and I personally never found anywhere where it worked, I wasn't bothered after all I'm on holiday!

Hotel is quite a way from the resort of Playa Blanca we used a taxi to get there one afternoon as we had missed the bus! 5€ Charge. We walked back which took approx an hour. The marina is about 30 mins away and much further than you think.

Lastly thank you to the hotel for remembering my husbands birthday! When we got back from the pool that day there was a bottle of Cava on ice and also a birthday cake served to us complete with candles at the Mexican restaurant.

SANDOS PAPAGAYO KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! We had a lovely holiday and would be more than happy to holiday with you again. Thank you!


Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
15  Thank J001z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear J001z,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and that the Hotel met your expectations. Thank you for bringing us your feelings.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £128 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing