We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - don't be put off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Lanzarote Princess
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - don't be put off”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just returned from a 1 week stay at the Princess(14/6-21/6/12). We had not used the hotel before and were aware of the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were informed by Thomas Cook re the ongoing work before we travelled, but decided to take the chance and were very happy we did. We had a spacious room facing the pool. Work was still ongoing around some areas but a lot of this is now cosmetic and we did not encounter any problems or excessive noise. The choice and quality of the restaurant food was excellent. We found the staff generally very pleasant. We were also pleased to meet Daniel who is always smiling and helpful. The animation team were very friendly and provided good entertainment in addition to the various other professional acts who visited the hotel. The improvements so far are looking great and we look forward to retuning to see the fully completed work in the near future.

Room Tip: Request room facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bak12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,055
    1,999
    792
    255
    122
See reviews for
1,947
2,357
88
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I share the opinion of the many other travellers who have left reviews saying how disappointed they were about not being informed by their travel agent, in our case (Jet2) about the ongoing refurbishments in the hotel. The Hotel could be wonderful. Its location is fab, lovely pool area, loads of sunbeds. Our room was nice but the third bed was a camp bed when there was enough room to put a proper bed in. Dining Room was an unpleasant experience. Every time we walked in it smelt of burnt fat. We found it very difficult to find a clean table as there were just not enough staff to cope. The food was ok you could find something to eat, but it was badly presented and not up the standard of a 4* hotel. The crockery was old and chipped and ran out every evening and you just had to stand and wait till they brought more out which was dripping wet from the dishwasher.
The refurbishment works were an unpleasant experience to put up with and had we known beforehand the extent of these we would have chosen another hotel.
This could be a fantastic hotel but standards need to be raised to be worthy of its 4*

Room Tip: Ground floor poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madmazMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed 9-06-12 to 19-06-12 and found the place better than we thought we'd booked. Although there was maintenance work going on, we were told beforehand and it didn't really disrupt our holiday...at the end of the day it's nice to see that they are updating the place. We were given a newly renovated room which was gorgeous and rooms were cleaned everyday. Only issue was that the meat that was cooked in front of us at the restaurant was sometimes raw due to them wanting to prevent you waiting, ask for well done or ask for meat then go back for it...we stayed all inclusive and couldn't fault it. There was an abundance of sunbeds and wouldn't hesitate to return next year!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I am usually a very easy going person but this experience has driven me to write a review.
I booked and was worried about the many references to the refurbishment, about which I was told once I had booked!! I called by agent and was assured that it was only painting in the reception and on that basis went for a week in mid June 2012.
When we got there is was major scaffolding in reception. Plug tops undone and wires exposed which was worrying as I took my grandchild. Non stop sawing, hammering and nail guns in many public or facility areas. Mess everywhere and building materials. Many facilities half shut, or being plastered.etc. If I had known this I would have booked another hotel. My advice is change if you can.

Room Tip: Air con in bedrooms old and did not really work ( their engineers admission not mine)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank williamgcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, BOOKING DEPARTMENT at H10 Lanzarote Princess, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear client,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for spend your holidays in Lanzarote.

We take note of your opinions and we would like to thank you because these comments help to improve the quality of our service and give us the possibility to change any mistakes that have been made.

We would like to inform you that we are finishing with the renovations in the hotel, as the restaurant and reception.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Virginia Peyrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

10.6.12 to 17.6.12 - Negatives and Positives (thankfully, mainly good news) - so here goes:-

NEGATIVES

Building work being carried out in the interior of hotel's public areas - whilst we did not allow this to detract from our hoiday it was not quite what we expected and it certainly did not add anything to our holiday experience - we were not warned in advance that this was being carried out but that is the fault of Jet2 with whom we booked and not the hotel itself, in my opinion

Hotel corridor/entrance from pool area - a little gloomy - chipped paint work etc

Maintenance - reported blocked toilet at 9.30 am and went out for the day on an excursion - returned at 7 pm and it had not been attended to - on complaining it was dealt with within minutes but the fact that it had been overlooked was inconvenient as we wanted to use our bedroom/bathroom having been out all day - could be the staff were a bit over worked and these things happen in such instances

POSITIVES

Great location - just few mins walk from beach, cafes, bars, shops, supermarket, bank, marina
Picturesque grounds/pool area - well tended, clean & tidy - ample sun loungers/umbrellas
Amazing Food - buffet heaven - loads of choice - themed nights giving great variety of hot and cold tasty food - some food cooked to order - I defy anyone not to find something to their liking on such an extensive array of wonderful dishes both at breakfast and in the evening
Room - large and airy - spotlessly clean - ample clean towells - comfy bed - furniture a little 'worn' but adequate
Staff - friendly, polite, helpful and professional (though sometimes a little understaffed)
Entertainment - some nights better than others but OK generally
Overall - generally I would say the hotel is currently falling short of 4* status though this could be rectified when the refurbishment and building work is completed. I would nevertheless still recommend this hotel and have no qualms about staying here again cos overall it is good - the food and location being the jewels in this princess' crown

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagentaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Recently returned from a 2 week holiday (13.05.12 - 27.05.12) at this Hotel which we booked with Thomson and were very disappointed. The Hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment which we were not warned about prior to flying out, even though another couple from Scotland were advised by Thomson 5 days before their holiday and offered alternative accomodation. Work was being carried out in the Reception area, Lower Ground floor area and five 2nd floor apartments. Lower Ground Floor had to be crossed each time we went to the restaurant and this involved avoiding various scissor lifts being used for re-plastering the ceilings. The toilets on this floor were closed for refurbishing so if you needed a toilet while at lunch or dinner, you had to either go outside to the single toilet by La Choza Restaurant or go up to the Ground floor toilets. The noise of electric drills, sanders lump hammers and tile saws began each day at 08.00hrs and continued until 19.00hrs. The noise couldn't be avoided while laying by the pool as the 5 apartments being refurbished were poolside.
Food was again disappointing, generally consisting of poor cuts of meat and fish in odd stews and gravies. Show cooking consisted of a chef cooking eggs, meat or fish on a hot plate, while another chef heated pre cooked pasta in a pan, adding a sauce and ingredients of your choice. La Choza snack bar was frequented by many collared doves who helped themselves to scraps dropped on the counter.
Staff were generally cold and on leaving we were not even asked if we had enjoyed our stay. Perhaps they knew the answer?

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, BOOKING DEPARTMENT at H10 Lanzarote Princess, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear client,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for spend your holidays in Lanzarote.

We take note of your opinions because this give us the possibility to change any mistakes that have been made.

We would like to inform you that we are finishing with the renovations in the hotel, in a few days we will offer a new a modern service.


We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Virginia Peyrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Got back from this hotel yesterday, I think this review will be the first of many "just ok" reviews as everyone we spoke too was not happy with their holiday here. Yes, there are still building works going on but this generally did not affect our stay (although my parents had to move rooms albeit on the next to last day before we left-this was the hotels fault) as they could hear and see building works from their room which did affect the quality of their stay. There is painting in reception and near the dining room but this did not really bother us.
This hotel is certainly not a 4*, and here is why. Long queues to get a drink every time you go to the bar (at times 20 minutes) and each time you got a drink or went to the restaurant at tea time you had to fill out little slips of paper (what is the point of wearing a wristband?). At the poolside bar birds were pecking at the food, and the staff there were particularly rude. The waiting staff were completely overworked at times smashing crockery three or four times at meal times. Crockery and glasses were left on tables for ages after we had left and once food ran out in the dining room it was a while before it was replaced. A handful of the staff were helpful, the rest made you feel like you were an inconvienience. The pool area was not cleaned once during our stay and attention to detail was generally lacking. The food (and believe me I am not a fussy eater!) was usually ok. The omlettes at breakfast were lovely though and the pasta at mealtimes was nice. Also the hotel expects their guests to use two toilets to service the dining room, two bars and reception areas. This meant long queues and no toilet roll usually so we used to go back to our room on the third floor which was a treck which you do not want on your holidays. It is a shame because this hotel could be fabulous as the location is great and Playa Blanca is lovely. It's also worth noting that we spoke to a couple who have been to this hotel for years and they said it has gradually gone down hill. However, I must add that we did have an upgraded room and it was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pnjLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,689 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Lanzarote Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Lanzarote Princess

Property: H10 Lanzarote Princess
Address: C/ La Macio, 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Lanzarote Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fishing village of Playa Blanca, in the south of Lanzarote, H10 Lanzarote Princess is well renowned on the island for its facilities and high quality services. The hotel has recently been refurbished, giving it a very modern design with a vintage touch, while new services have also been added. Check out Sakura, our new oriental restaurant and pop into the new specialised coffee shop Mike's Coffee. Come and discover the Despacio Beauty Centre and, if you're looking for the extra touch of exclusivity, we can offer you Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your H10 Lanzarote Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Lanzarote Princess Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Lanzarote Princess Playa Blanca
Lanzarote Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing