We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday, don't listen to bad reviews”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Any bad reviews on here aren't worth reading. I went from the 22nd July- 5th August and had a fantastic time. All the staff are friendly and helpful. You dont have to wait long for the food and it is a wide range of foods. The animation and Thomas cook entertainment teams are fantastic. Lizzy, Rob and Sophie from the Thomas cook team work very hard and made our holiday a lot more enjoyable.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,857 - 1,863 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel has a small waterpark attached to it which can be used by members of the public. A cost of 62 Euros allowed myself and my partner with two children to use the facilities. After sliding down three slides I realised my bikini was torn in an area that would have had contact with the slides. I reported this to the lifeguards, who then took me to the waterpark supervisor, who then referred me to reception, who then made me wait for thirty minutes for the hotel manager. I was told that the damage to my bikini was not caused by the slides but possibly by a cigarette. Had this been the case I am sure I would have felt pain from the sudden source of heat being pressed directly against my skin. My shorts were not damaged, so the damage clearly took place when on the slides. The manager offered me 15% discount on my next visit. I declined. I spent three hours in that hotel, Half of that time I was in reception dealing with rude and unhelpful staff that did not apologise, nor offer my a complaint form, moreover, accused me of being a liar and reduced me to tears. I would not recommend this hotel or the waterpark to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RennieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I am just back 23rd July to 3rd August with two other families.

I read the reviews and was horrified to the degree I tried to change the hotel at the last minute however I was pleasantly surprised.

Firstly the water park (Dino Park) is totally finished - its excellent and the kids all loved it (aged 12 - 16) there is a smaller area for ypunger kids which is also excellent.

Check in was painless - the staff were friendly and efficient. There were safe keys for every apartment (no waiting list that I had previously read).

The apartment was spotless and was cleaned every day as well as a change in towels.

All incl - the breakfasts and lunches were fine always something to eat. The dinners were ok again you wouldn't go hungry.

The beds were fine - we all slept well. The air conditioning had to be paid for but was worth it.

It was remote but there was an hourly bus to and from the beach and 3 - 4 Euros in a taxi to the main area at night.

It was a 3 star and we got what we paid for. I wouldn't go again BUT if you are going you will have a good time - its not as bad as some people have said on these reviews

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gillian2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

went on the 22nd july untill 2nd of aug 2012,
do not read anything into the bad reviews we were in room 501 a two bed apartment,it was cleaned 5 days a week.food was very good,anybody that could not find anything to eat must be very fussy,air con was constantly on,yes you do have to leave deposit on most things but you do get it back,entertainment was NOT good and in a room underground with no air con it is like a sauna it is very uncomfortable in there at nite,no other entertainment anywhere else in hotel,only one barperson on bar very long queues when people getting 10 drinks at a time,waterpark is fully opened and very good all pools are open and plenty of sunbeds to use,entertainment team very good and do work very hard.the thomas cook rep lucia is very helpfull and was there nearly every day,i would have no problem in going back to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank tonkwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We arrived really nervous after numerous negative reviews we had read but we were pleasantly surprised.
The room was fantastic,we had a safe and key which on the reviews were led to believe they were like gold dust. Aircon is fantastic(you only pay a deposit for the remote control) and wifi all around the hotel is good(you do have to pay a supplement but reasonable.Apartment clean spacious and well maintained.
Never had an issue with queing for drinks or food as stated in reviews.
Always able to get a sunlounger and the new waterpark is fantastic, with little or no queues.
Food is typical Allinclusive with something for everyone.
So to roundup don't worry about the negative reviews we would be quite happy to return again. We had booked with Direct Holidays part of Thomas Cook so had no surprise additional expenses has made out in other reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Hellybelly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have been here twice this year and everything is totally perfect the food is amazing. Clean beautiful hotel. We cant wait to go again. Ignore the moaners. Its brilliant and the staff are friendly and helpful. You wont find a lovelier hotel in lanzarote

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank gibraltar2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

if people had read a review that i wrote in march after coming back from so called paradise you would never have gone in the first place and wasted your money, thomas cook need to sort things there, of pull out of the complex completley and offer a decent 3 star that will give value for money,please listen to the complaint as they are not just winging most of what is said is true please dont waste your money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank debbieKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,777 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,987 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: Calle Francia 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Paradise Island)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £99 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing