We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

fantastic holiday great for the whole family the waterpark is a must for the kids with plenty to do in the surrounding area for the family a trip over to feurterventura is highly recommended and at 20 euros return its a bargain

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank normay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you spent a great time in our holiday and would love to welcome you again.
We wish you all the best & remain with

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    962
    614
    298
    313
See reviews for
1,846
524
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Not long come back from this holiday, as brilliant as the hotel and food was my favourite part of the holiday has got to be how brilliant the entertainment team was. always something to do always so friendly and welcoming and especially really funny, always something to do around the pool.. always seem to go out there way to make your holiday that bit more special for you. especially when secrets of a highlighter come out and little nicknames started. GREEN!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you spent such a nice time in our hotel & would love to welcome you again.
The whole team wishes you all the best & remains with

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

my husband bought me here for a treat,we been 3 times before. the hotel is excellent in every way .its good for families and couples.the food selection is incredible,including a chinese and italian restaurant .free bus to beach and town .the volcanoe next to the hotel is well worth a walk up the view is marvellous! will be back next year . fabulous break. the on site waterpark is good for the young at heart lol

Room Tip: all rooms are great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 502tina502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are happy to see that your husband chose our hotel to celebrate your birthday and that you spent a lovely time with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again next year & wish you all the best!!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have just come back from a weeks stay at paradise island and had a great time, as other people have said it was ideal with a heated pool outdoors and the aqua pools were Alaska temps.
The accommodation was ok with the fridge, kettle, toaster and cooker if needed to be used.
The evening entertainment was good with the nutty reps keeping the children entertained plus you can never go abroad from a good game of bingo!
The Spanish old people are miserable but they are old, that's what made us laugh at how they are.
The only downside which made us feel very uncomfortable was there was a man there which would turn up for the kids entertainment and play a game of bingo then go before the evening entertainment, this was somewhat strange!!
Hope this review helps because it's a good holiday hotel complex.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tayhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you spent a good time in our hotel.
Hopefully we could receive you back soon. We wish you all the best & remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I came back from 7 days all inclusive on 21/11/13 and I have to say it is no way as bad as what the reviews make out it to be.

The hotel is clean and well maintained and looks as good as the pictures on the website. The waterpark is brilliant and we were in there everyday, has good on sight facilities such as a big outdoor pool, a smaller heated pool and free wifi in the lobby bar.

The Thomas Cook entertainment team are hilarious with excellent daytime and evening entertainment that had me in stitches every night, they really do try their best to make sure you are having an excellent time.

The only 2 downsides and the reason why I gave it 4 stars was the quality of the food and the bed.

While I was happy with the massive choice of food on offer at every meal time, the quality of some of it was not good, some things they cooked well but other things they cooked really bad, but having said that with so much choice of food there was always something that was cooked well and tasted good, I would not let this put you off booking this hotel because everything else makes up for it.

With regards to the bed, it is extreamly hard and I prefer a softer mattress, this is obviously more down to an individual's taste and I am sure some people would be happy with a firm bed, however, if like me you need a soft mattress then you can do what I did and sleep on the sofa bed which was very comfy, again not something that you should allow to spoil your holiday or put you off booking as it can easily be rectified.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avo1101uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire team of the Paradise Island Hotel is very happy that you spent a nice holiday with us.
We appreciate your opinion and want to thank you for your feedback.
We wish you all the best and remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We too, like others, were a bit worried after reading some of the moany reviews. But we were pleasantly surprised.

Good points:
* Plenty of selection and variety of food. They had paella every day which I love! and the deserts were lovely!
*The apartments were nice and clean, spacious and not far to walk to the pool, bar etc.
*The alcohol was strong in my opinion, certainly was not watered down.
* The reception staff and the bar staff (If you gave the grumpy one a tip) as they were very helpful. The maintenance man was excellent. Our door would not lock and he came straight away and replaced the whole lock within 2 minutes with a new key.
* The car hire inside the hotel lobby was really good. Senor Suso gave us a group F car rather than a bog standard slow one for a really good price and charged us for only 2 days instead of 3.

Bad points:
* The location is a bit out of the way but as previously said a taxi is only 3 euro to playa Blanca beach. Or there is the option to hire a car in hotel or hire bikes.
*The cats - If you don't like cats be aware there are a few, not lots but a few. one black one kept trying to enter our apartment but shutting the door solved that.
* Other guests - Mainly Spanish elderly, they were very rude. Pushing out people, never waited in line for food and general made us feel uncomfortable. However, this was only at meal time as they were rarely seen outside of this time.

Some other points:
* We didn't engage with the entertainment team at all, not our thing. They were loud during the day then seemed to disappear for a few days then they returned. They seemed good if you wanted to join in. Never saw the evening entertainment, which was in the disco bar under the pool bar.
*The beds - they are hard but I found them ok to sleep on.
*The maids - they were good and offered to clean our room everyday but it wasn't necessary. so they gave us towels, toilet roll and bin bags and left us to it. Which we preferred.
*The supermarket - we found staff friendly, the prices for some things were a little high compared to other places in PB.
* The 'Spanish' bar is in fact not a Spanish bar. Everyone can use it. It is a half board bar therefore people have to pay. This is why Spanish guest were using it as they are Half Board
*The waterpark - The slides were good but the water at the bottom was Baltic! we went on a few and could not cope any longer. But the kids seemed to love it and not bother so perhaps im just too old for it now.

All in all, I would return to this hotel for a nice all inclusive in Lanzarote. But I do prefer Puerto del Carmen to Playa Blanca.

Room Tip: we stayed in 403, close to pool and bar etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zantebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for you comment.
We appreciate very much your opinion and the entire team of the Paradise Island is very happy to read that you spent a good holiday with us.
We would be very happy to welcoming you again!

We wish you all the best & remain with

KInd regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I do not know what some people expect from a holiday . We have just returned from a 14 night stay AI . We checked in and were allocated our apartment . on arrival a cleaner helped us with our cases to our apartment . . It was clean and everything we wanted .. We arrived around about lunch time .. After unpacking our cases we decided to try the restaurant. ... What a surprise we found the food was very varied and plentiful well cooked and presented never rushed into finishing our meal . cakes and desserts were to die for with plenty of fruit on had if you wanted it . Breakfast was also great from the great British fry up to cereals fruits yogurts pancakes Omelets made while you waited . All in all great food . All the staff are very pleasant and approachable....even down to the Maintenance men .We travelled with two grandchildren who soon made friends with other children. and had a really great time . The Dino Park is fantastic the only bad thing about it was trying to get the kids out for something to eat . I would recommend this for any family as we had a very good time . A great big thank you to Paradise Island

Room Tip: Ask for a high level apartment . more private .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beerman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire team from the Paradise Island Hotel is very happy to read that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay.
We would love to welcome you again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#21 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Property: HL Paradise Island
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HL Hotel Paradise Island resort is situaded in a small town of Yaiza in Lanzarote, near the fishing town of Playa Blanca and the Papagayo Beaches. The HL Hotel Paradise Island is an ideal place to enjoy your holiday with your family with great facilities and service in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing