We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic family holiday. Excellent food, enjoyed the theme nights as well as the main restaurant. Staff were friendly aNd helpful. Our little girl split her head open in the middle of the night and reception staff quickly sent first aid to our room (lifeguard). 3euros for a taxi to the beautiful beach. Water park was great fun for kids and adults. We enjoyed ourselves so much have booked to back again this October. Our only downside was the hard mattress, hope they are improved on our return in October.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you very much for your five star review on Tripadvisor.
With delight we read that you enjoyed your holidays with us to the full and we were able to spoil you with our excellent theme nights and our speciality restaurants.

Moreover we are glad to hear that we could immediately assist you and help your daughter in that difficult situation. It is our goal to make you spent wonderful relaxed days and our privilege to be there for you for anything you might need during your time with us.

We regret to read that you found our beds not very comfortable and we are glad to inform you that we recently bought new mattresses and blankets. So this should not be an issues any more for your next stay.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and on behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay with us once again in October this year.

You are welcome to contact us for your 2nd visit to Lanzarote. We will be at your disposal for anything you may need under recepcion-paradise@hoteleslopez.com.

Our very best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    976
    624
    301
    315
See reviews for
1,887
533
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel last week and find it hard to review!! The staff were amazing and that is "all" staff. But the meal times were hell due to jostling crowds trying to find tables! And when you got one it was hard to keep as the Spanish who were holidaying, just sat down even when you were sitting waiting for the rest of your party to return with their meals. They seemed to attack the food like locusts clearing the trays of food in front of you. To be fair the staff worked like demons to replenish the empty trays almost immediately which was piping hot. The noise in the dining room was deafening which did not make for a relaxing holiday. The sun beds lay empty as did the water park as most of the Spanish were pensioners and disappeared after meal times! The weather at night and first thing in the morning was freezing therefore although you could take your meal through to the other restaurant it was too cold to sit their or outside! The rooms were pretty basic but clean and spacious and anything needing repaired was done immediately. The food was basic but always something to eat which was tasty. Red wine very nice and plentiful on tap as was the lager which I also enjoyed! Ice cream is also available at all times beside the pool bar and is also self service. On the whole I think this hotel is good value for money and all staff make sure you are well looked after!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your experience of your stay at our HL Paradise Island.

We are delighted that you overall enjoyed your time with us and we are happy that you mentioned the good value for money our hotel offers.

Our aim is to provide perfect holidays for our guests and therefore we are glad that you appreciated our efforts and would like to thank you for mentioning that we try to exceed our guest’s expectations.

On the other side we regret to read about your disappointment regarding the difficulties of finding a table and the atmosphere at our restaurant. We would like to express our apologies for the inconveniences you had to experience. Our restaurant teams does their best to assist you in finding free tables and advising about meal times that are less frequented. Furthermore we do not only offer our main restaurant but also the Italian and the Asian restaurant. Nevertheless, especially during high season and peak times, it can be busy at the restaurant. Therefore we ask for your understanding. However, we are continuously seeking to improve our service and we highly appreciate your feedback.

It has been a pleasure having you as our guests and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from paradise island and we loved it that much we are looking at going back very soon. We went with our two year old son and he loved it there was loads for him to do. They have a brilliant waterpark a daytime club where the kids can draw and paint and they have a child disco at the night we couldn't get our little one of the stage. The entertainment staff were fab Steph, Ricky, Charlotte and Tracey and the HL entertainment team Sanni and Nikki they always got my little one involved and if they were playing a game he didn't fully understand they would sit with him and show him they all had loads of time for him. The reception staff were all very helpful and polite and the cleaners were excellent whenever you asked you got they pulled everything out for me midweek beds sofa and cleaned under everything. Playa blanca beach is not far from the hotel and cost about 3.50 euros in a taxi my partner doesn't like buses ha... The taxis are always there within two minutes aswell. I can honestly say this hotel is the perfect hotel for a family holiday and the food is delicious too. Thankyou paradise island hotel staff for making our holiday just perfect and we will see you again shortly love Danielle xxx

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Danielleb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Danielle,

Thank you very much for your wonderful and warm review published on Tripadvisor.

It is a great honour to know that you spent perfect holidays at our HL Paradise Island and that you especially mentioned the effort and friendliness of our team. Hearing that you think so highly of our staff makes us very proud and with pleasure we will forward your praising words to them.

Once again thank you for your positive comments which encourage us in our work and which are a huge motivation to continue in doing our utmost to meet the expectations of our guests or even exceed them.

We are looking forward to your return and remain

With our very best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

we went for a week at the beginning of March (myself and my mum) and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The hotel is rated 4 stars and I believe it is the correct rating.
The staff are wonderful and friendly, and very helpful.
The rooms are clean and tidy. They are cleaned every day to a brilliant standard.
The food has good variety and they have a different theme every night (italian, mexican, british etc). They also has a childs area of food which has the obvious chips, chicken nuggets etc.
The pool area is lovely, there is a pool bar which serves snacks and drinks. The sunloungers are never full up as they dont allow you to reserve sunbeds for more than 45 minutes which is very helpful (you have enough time to go for lunch etc without having to worry about your towels being moved, and you dont have to be at the pool area at silly oclock to get a bed).
The Thomas Cook entertainment team are brilliant, they have a mini disco for the kids followed by bingo then some evening entertainment which is different every night.
We walked down to the water park to have a look but we didnt use it. It looks fun if youve got kids with you.
There is a regular free bus that takes you into town and to the beach (takes about 5 minutes) and back to the hotel that runs all day. The driver is very friendly and always on time. The waterfront has lots of bars and restaurants and shops, and is a lovely day out.

We were there while the Carnival was on in Arrecife and if you get the chance to go you should definitely do it. Such a good experience, they organise a coach there and back and the Thomas Cook reps stay with you throughout.

We also went on a excursion to the north of the island, which was again good value for money and very interesting.

All in all I would say the hotel is great and I would definitely be happy to return here in the future.

Very impressed with the bar staff and cleaners.

Wonderful.

Room Tip: if you have kids a room closer to the water park would be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lixilou05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

As we value very much all comments of our guests, we are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay in our lovely hotel.

We highly appreciate your fantastic comments regarding our outstanding All Inclusive offer, our hard working and friendly staff, excellent cleanliness of the rooms and our great entertainment program.

Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of the entire team, in particular our cleaners, the bar staff and the entertainers. Please rest assure that we will share your praising words with them.

It is wonderful to read that you used the opportunity to discover our beautiful island and enjoyed the special Carnival celebration in Arrecife during your stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon, thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your travel experience with the online community on Tripadvisor

Warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our first all inclusive as having two very fussy children to feed we have always stayed self catering for fear of ending up having very hungry children, I needn't have worried, the food was very good and the staff in the restaurant even better, especially during the busy times when they are over worked. The rooms are big and bright, and the cleaners do a fantastic job, our kids couldn't wait till the cleaner came every day to see how she had set their teddies on their beds, every day was different.
The entertainment team which consisted of Thomas cook staff as well as hotel staff were amazing and always full of energy.
The hotel is a little out of the centre of Playa Blanca which does mean either a walk or bus to the beach, although the bus is free. We only used the bus once as we found it just as quick to walk anyway. The location does have a very good plus point as you have a volcano on your doorstep which is definitely worth walking up if you can, it took an hour to walk to the top, around the crater, through the crater and back.
The pools and waterpark areas were clean, but the pools were cold (although not cold enough to stop us using them everyday), we were there in Feb/March and only one pool is heated, and all the pools were lifeguarded.
All things considered it is a fantastic holiday for families and would recommend, we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I would try to avoid the rooms around the waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bennen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our HL Paradise Island**** for your first all inclusive experience and we are delighted to read that we were able to fulfil your expectations of great holidays.

Moreover we are happy to learn that you could make use of our free Shuttle bus to the town centre of Playa Blanca and the beach, and also used the opportunity to discover the fascinating volcano landscape in the surroundings of our hotel.

Your recommendation of our hotel makes us very proud and we wish to thank you for taking the time to write this friendly review of your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family very soon again.

Until then we remain with

Best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Me my mum and my 2 yr old stayed at this hotel and for a cheap get away it was lovely we didn't pay much and the food was about average for a cheap ai hol maybe a bit above x the hotel is pretty with the bridge the kids club is good with the play park and the entertainers work really hard at nite for the kids and then they do the shows!!! The shows are really really naff like them pretending to sing songs whilst the song is playing but it was that bad me and mum just laughed at it and to be fair it made the hol! The rooms are massive and the balcony we used to go bak to the room so the little one cud have a kip and we used to sunbath lying on the sofa cushions on the balcony and it was beautiful! The hotel is a quite a trek to the beach or marina so if you struggle walking it's no good really but we love to walk so no problem for us! Playa Blanca is my favourite place in lanzarote the marina is so beautiful I fall in love everytime I go bak x We have stayed at another hotel in playa Blanca since and we went to see how much it wud cost to move to paradise island because this was a million times better than our 2nd hotel! X I wud definitely visit again x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katiemorgan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

We are delighted to find such a wonderful review about our hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much for the time and effort involved in this lovely description of our hotel.

With great pleasure we read how much you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and that you spent a cheerful time watching the night entertainment, relaxed in the sun on your balcony and found our all inclusive offer a good value for money.

Indeed it is a lovely walk from our hotel to the town centre or the beach of around 20 minutes, but we also offer every hour a free shuttle bus to the town for our guests.

Once again we wish to thank you for your friendly review and look forward in welcoming you and your family once again to our HL Paradise Island **** in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I think some of the bad reviews are a touch over critical. We only got home today and there is very little to fault here. We went for a special occasion and were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and cakes.
So good points:
I use to work as an entertainer in the Sol Melia hotels years ago and I can say firstly that every member of the entertainment team here are fantastic, full of energy and brilliant at their jobs.
The restaurant - staff are excellent and during busy periods when they are under alot of pressure (for example people that stay in bed late and then there is a rush between 9.30-10.30am). The restaurant manager is an absolute gentleman and clearly takes alot of pride in his job and always is digging out where ever help is needed - he is a credit to the hotel and they are lucky to have him. A waiter named Matte was extremely helpful to us when we arrived on day one at 9pm - we just managed to catch dinner and after our two little ones age 8 months and 2 being on the plane for 4 hours they were in need of something. The supermarket had no milk left and Matte looked after us with enough mlik to get us through the night. Can't fault the staff at all. The food itself - sorry but you really would have to be fusy not to find something you like to eat. We had everything during our stay from roast chicken to steak. The themed evenings in the restaurant are great for something different.
The outdoor facilities are the best I've seen. The childrens waterpark and playgrounds are brilliant and the 2 year old never got bored once.
Rooms were spotless and big. Great having the kitchen facilities even though we were all inclusive.
The pool bar was great too and you could help yourself to as much ice cream and drinks as you like. There is food available pretty much all day between the restaurant and the pool bar.

The bad points - the bed wasen't great but that we could live with it. The only real downside for us was the water temperature in the pools. There is one heated pool but it's not one our child could use without one of us in with him. The other pools - water park included were not just cold but freezing! If they were to heat the kiddies waterpool then I would say it's perfect.

Overall amazing value for money and we loved our holiday. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa198499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning the good work of our entertainers, the great value for money our hotel offers and for highlighting our excellent cuisine and variety of food.

Our maitre Emilio and Matte our waiter, who gave you a top notch service, greeted you with a smile, and made you feel important, will be motivated with you appreciations. Both will be happy to learn that they made your stay extra special.

With regards to your comments relating to the pool, we find in the winter months that although one pool and the water in the Dino Park are heated to at least 25º, because the evenings are cool and the sunlight hours are not so long and the heat in the day is not so intense there is always the sensation that the water is perhaps not so warm at this time of year. But we can assure you that the pool and the water in our Dino Park are always heated to the required temperature with solar cell energy.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and on behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and remain with

Best wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
HL Hotel Rio Playa Blanca
#25 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Club Playa Blanca
#29 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#24 of 38 in Playa Blanca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Property: HL Paradise Island
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing