We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family holiday”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Holidayed with my husband and our two girls, aged 5 and 6, from 24th April for a week (All Inclusive).
Our room was spotless and cleaned frequently (we even told the maid to miss a day one morning), although admittedly we only used it as a base. There were beautiful, fresh-cut hibiscus flowers in our room on arrival and every time the maid came. The kids were initially a bit put out by sleeping on the sofa but both slept really well every night so they must have been comfortable. The room had air con and a television although we didn’t really use or need the air con. The TV obviously worked without needing the remote control but we hired one from reception anyway just for ease (€10 refundable deposit). Our beds were comfortable (if a little firm for me but that’s just personal preference) and we had
We only popped to the water park once – the girls enjoyed playing in the kids’ pool but really weren’t that interested in playing on the slides, so we tended to stick to the main pools. The pools themselves were really nice including a cute toddlers’ pool, and a main pool with two shallow areas at either end for the kids to play safely. There was an issue with the filter in the small pool toward the end of our holiday (probably not helped by people letting their kids muck about with the filter tiles). The hotel staff noticed and were on the case pretty quickly though, so I don’t think it caused anyone any problems. There were rows of free loungers so you could always find somewhere to park yourself. Getting ones with a bit of shade was slightly trickier but generally okay.
There was a free bus available to get to the beach from the hotel which I think ran every hour. We headed down to the beach which was just absolutely beautiful. Reception were happy to call you a cab into town costing approx €4 (about a 5 minute drive) for a bit of shopping, and access to bars and restaurants.
I loved the fact that hotel guests were from a range of different countries as you really felt you’d gone on holiday (rather than a ‘Butlins in the sun’ type of place). We found all of the hotel guests to be pleasant and friendly, without exception.
We found the variety of food on offer in the restaurant just amazing! We didn't use the pool-side food for anything other than mid-afternoon cakes and ice-creams. There was so much to choose from there was no hope of being good (the diet is on now we’re back home now). Like most parents I suppose we were slightly concerned that we wouldn’t be able to encourage our children to eat well, but there was usually cooked potatoes and meat or sausages that we made into mash faces. There was also always vegetables available; either cooked with the main meals or fresh salad. Meat and two veg = job done! Yes it’s not the exact food you are used to at home, but you’re not at home. There were chips all day if you wanted them – we were mean with the kids and had a rule that if they had any for lunch they couldn’t have them for dinner (so mean!). Meant they ate rice, potatoes or bread otherwise (they weren’t much interested in the pasta).
Both the Hotel and the Thompson animation teams worked long hours but were always pleasant and friendly. We did dance class and yoga with Andrea – he was absolutely lovely and was our five year old’s fave. The Thompson reps were also great with the kids, particularly Dan and Katie. Our girls loved the nightly mini disco and games but we didn’t tend to stay out much after that so can’t really comment upon entertainment.
Overall I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.
Thank you Paradise Island x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear HL Paradise Island guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experiences with us on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you appreciated the friendly service and found the quality and variety of the food excellent.

All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests a wonderful holiday experience and comments like yours are the proof that we are doing good job and thats what make us happy.

We will be waiting for you and your family with open arms, for give you another great stay in
Lanzarote

Once more we wish to thank you for your positive feedback and we are already looking forward to your return

Best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is not a true 4 star hotel. The food was 2 star quality. When you go to Spain and to an island you expect two things, fresh fish and fruit. This hotel had only some sliced oranges, everything else was from the can. When last night's onion rings are served for breakfast the next day, you know you have a problem. Virtually every meal consisted of pork.

The child pool was not heated, the beds were as hard as asphalt, and the gym had equipment from 40 years ago. Three of the days we were there, there was either no water, brown water, or no hot water. To top it off, the kids club was dilapidated and its toys/books/games were filthy, old, and broken. The only thing nice about the hotel were its friendly staff and good weather.

Room Tip: Stay away from the club house which blasts loud music until 1200 AM. Not family friendly at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here along with my mum and two children in April, it was booked for a bargain price but we discovered you really get what you pay for where this apart hotel is concerned.
Having stayed in playa Blanca on 3 occasions in the past in both the rubicon place and timinfaya palace, this was a big disappointment in comparison.
The apartment itself was basic but nice enough, with a lovely balcony and sea view. It was also in a quiet spot. The main problem were the beds, they were unbelievably hard. Really uncomfortable. Sofa beds were abit better. The apartment wasn't equipped for cooking, although most guests were all inclusive so not a huge issue, that is unless you couldn't eat the food....
The dining room can only be described as a canteen hall, a free for all, noisy, cramped, dark and the food was awful. The food was cheap quality and mass produced. The choice was limited, themed nights weren't much different. every day there were chicken drumsticks! And paella. And rice dishes.
The childrens buffet was a joke! Chips and pasta and a few greasy onion rings. Every child in the dining room has chips and spaghetti on their plates,every night.
Another major concern was the under-cooked food, served at the pool bar, raw burgers and pizza. I was astonished that people were eating it, but then some people would eat anything. My mum spoke with a member of management about the food and showed him a sample plate of food. However he simply took food off her and needless to say there was no feedback.
We ate out every night after checking out what was on offer in the dining room. Playa Blanca has some lovely restaurants and we had great food every night. The port of call in faro park was excellent and would highly recommend it.
The hotel appealed to us mainly because of the water park, my girls loved it and had a great time in the pools and on slides. There were always two lifeguards on duty to keep check.
It wasn't much fun for us though, the sun beds were harder than the beds in the apartment. No cushions and no way of raising your head!so really uncomfortable, everyone kept saying about their sore backs after getting up!
We checked out the entertainment on one occasion, it was awful, a stuffy hot room with no windows and really cramped. There was bingo etc no really our thing anyway, would have gone to butlins if we known that was the entertainment on offer.
We still had a great holiday as weather was brilliant and playa Blanca is a lovely resort with beautiful beaches and great restaurants, already planning to go back next Easter, to the rubicon place!

Room Tip: Avoid 249 and surrounding rooms they are right beside a sewer, awful smell as we walked past on way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timeout176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing time we had here something for all the family,esp with 2 teenagers,the food was lovely,the apartments were clean and tidy and the hotel staff were wonderful and always on hand to help,tcouldn't of asked for anything more. Will be coming again. :) free bus service to beach (playa-dorada) which is stunning and close to harbour

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Mrsgee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mrsgee21,

We truly enjoyed reading the feedback of your recent stay with us and appreciate your praising words of our staff and facilities- Thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed an overall fantastic stay and that you are planning to visit us again!

Hoping to get the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future, we wish to extend our best wishes to you.

With kind regards,

the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here from 7th April - 21st April family of 5 2 adults 3young children we had an amazing time and would definitely recommend it to anybody beautiful apartments basic but clean pools was abit cold but when your in its fine water park was amazing for the children food was fine but what do you expect when they have how ever many guests to feed Thomas cook entertainment team well what can i say they was out of this world AMAZING you guys deserve a medal Jordan Katy Dan and charlotte you guys was the best even the HL team was brilliant all in all a fantastic family holiday beautiful town only 20 mins walk from hotel i would also recommend for anybody to walk the volcano behind the hotel the views was outstanding the staff at the hotel worked long hours but they was always happy to help defiantly going back next year well done guys at this hotel because when you read some reviews like i did you would be put off slightly but you need to go and see for yourself don't go on the reviews its amazing we was in apartment 520 next to pool bar and 1 minute away from pool of course you heard music and people going back to there apartments but it all ended by 12:30 and if your tired then you don't hear anything brill hotel which made our holiday.

Room Tip: 520 was next to pool bar and pools the view was amazing water park was a 5min walk from this room su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kaylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kaylie B,

We wish to thank you for choosing HL Paradise Island and for your friendly recommendation on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you spent a great holiday with us!

Your praise of our entertainment team makes us very proud and we also truly appreciate your kind comments on the rest of our team.

The entire team was thrilled about your fantastic review and we all hope to welcome you again soon for a return visit to Lanzarote.

With kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my family had such a fantastic time last October that we have booked again for this August.
We just couldn't fault the place from the fantastic staff including the Thomas Cook reps they worked so hard it made Me tired lol
Yes the water is cold but it's filtered to keep it clean so the sun ain't got time to warm it like other places.
As for the rooms air con was brill kept it nice and cold on the hottest days and clammy nights.
Rooms kept clean at all times and couldn't fault them one bit.
If you have a family I would deffo recommend the water park kept the gran kids quiet for hour and me lol

In my opinion the food was fab I couldn't get enough, double brekkie every morning yum yum.

Dinner and evening meals just as good on day seven as it was day one.

Peter
St. Helens
Merseyside

Stayed: October 2013
5  Thank P33wack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us and other holiday makers on Tripadvisor and for your five star rating. We highly appreciate that you took the time to write a comment about our hotel.

Moreover we are delighted to hear that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed our good cuisine, the great choice at our breakfast buffet, the excellent cleaning and that you found our team to be fantastic .

We are already looking forward to host you and your family next August again at our HL Paradise Island****.

In case we can assist you with your booking or for any other requests before your arrival please do not hesitate to contact us: recepcion-paradise@hoteleslopez.com.

Yours sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As a rule I don't write reveiws but on this occasion I feel I have to to correct all the bad reveiws on this hotel. We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 6. The food is good and varied. The room spacious and everything you need in it. The restaurant, although busy, the staff accommodate you ( with a smile ). The Entertainment team do what they are there for to entertain you. If you do need anything see reception it is sorted in a timely manner,
In passing you get a smile and hello from the maintenance guy to the manager,

If you are put off by the bad reviews book the Hilton or the Ritz,

The only down side is it isn't right on the beach but that is not the hotels fault.

A big thank you to the Reception,mangement,HL team , and Danii,Katy,Charlotte,Jordan,Steph,Dan - keep up the hard work

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room go for one in the hundreds ( the furthest away from the pools and resturant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Director General at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for making an exception in writing a review regarding your stay at our HL Paradise Island****.

We are delighted with your warm words and your special thanks to our hotel team.

It is our main goal to make you spend wonderful and relaxing holidays and to read your appreciation for our efforts is the best motivation.

Once more thank you for your great feedback.

We hope to host you very soon here at HL Paradise Island and are already waiting for your return.

Our warmest and sunny regards from Lanzarote

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,800 reviews
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,592 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: Calle Francia 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Paradise Island)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £112 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and TripOnline SA so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing