We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed given some of the reviews but still room for improvement.”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrival:

Arrived at about 11pm and only one member of staff on the desk to check several families in. They were very friendly and, like all the staff in the complex, spoke exceptionally good English. They had already noted our booking request of a high floor quiet room which it certainly was. Even though dinner finished at 10pm they allowed for late arrivals by providing a cold buffet until midnight. Although not a massive selection it was more than enough to see us and the children through until breakfast.

Don't forget to keep cash handy for deposits if you want them at check-in;
Pool Towels - E10 each deposit only
Safety deposit box - E10 deposit plus E16 per week for use
Aircon remote - E10 deposit only
TV remote - E10 deposit only - didn't bother.
No problem getting any back as long as you have your receipt, and you can change your pool towels every other day at reception.

Room:

Very pleased with our room. Very clean and spacious compared to other so called "family rooms" we have had at other resorts. Main bedroom had queen sized bed, double fitted wardrobe and balcony. Living room / dining / kitchen area had two single sofa beds which were both made up on arrival for us. Balcony to the front had great view over the sea to Fuerteventura. Good job we were all inclusive as kitchen area probably would have struggled to cook for a family on but pretty sure these are simply left over from a previous life! Had kettle, cups and working fridge so all good. Bathroom clean and well kept with bath and shower over.
Cleaned and beds made up almost every day. Towels and bedding changed regularly.

Word of warning - patio doors are latch only. if you close them when you are outside you can not get back in. You have been warned!!!

Food:

Main restaurant does get busy but there was always seating available and if you sat in the chinese restaurant area it is much quieter but you can still get food from main buffet with no problem. Sometimes you have to queue for the main cooked meat and ice-cream but other than that always found the buffet food hot or cold depending on how it should be served and replenished regularly. Staff were always friendly and welcoming and tables cleared of used plates etc very promptly. One word of advice - don't sit at the tables near the ice-cream as you will find a queue of people standing at along side your table half way through your meal! Never failed to find something to eat but there were occasions when the main meal didn't suit our tastes. Chinese was always good. Didn't use the Italian as had plenty of pasta and pizza options throughout the week in the main buffett. Plenty of fresh salad and fruit as well as chips and chocolate, every meal! Simply put we ate far too much and no-one was ill so all good!
Lunch at pool bar same every day from what we saw - burgers, chips, pizza etc. afternoon tea was bread, cheese, ham and cakes. Not sure why people saw the need to buy icecreams as it was readily available from 12:30 - 3pm with lunch and then at the pool bar after lunch and then again at dinner!
Drinks were widely available, cold and varied. There are plenty of self service water coolers around so only bottled water we bought was for our room (E2.60 for 8 litres from the shop).
Limited on what cocktails and spirits were in the all inclusive but can highly recommend trying the honey rum which is included!
Again bar staff were always happy to help and even when flat out always greeted you with a smile.
Only down side is that we were expecting a snack bar area in the water park as advertised but didn't appear to be open. Drinks stations were but given it takes about 2 minutes to walk to the pool bar and main restaurant this is really only a very minor point.

Facilities:

The aged old problem of sunbeds is apparent round the pool area and they should enforce what they display round the pool that towels will be removed if unattended for more than 45 mins. I have never been somewhere where people get up before dawn to put out towels, no really they do, (I know this having been up at that time to go running), and don't appear until after lunch to sit on them. As a result of this we only used the pool 3 times in 2 weeks. The water park, however, doesn't open until 10 and never did we fail to get 4 sunbeds together even after lunch!
The water park is fantastic and the lifeguards are exceptional and felt safe letting our 9 & 12 yr olds use the facilities while we sat back and relaxed.
The water in both the pool and waterpark is clean, but cloudy, and a little chilly!
Hotel has a gym and massage spa. The gym is well equipped and the massages very good.

Lobby Bar:
Only place with free wifi - however - if there are more than 4 other people in the bar you will struggle to get any speed of service and over about a dozen you may not get connected at all. Again staff fantastic and drinks served in glasses not plastic cups!

Pool bar / entertainment area:
Pool bar is adequate but entertainment area is very small for size of the hotel. The area suffers with sticky floors but this appeared to be more down to a lack of respect of people using it and simply not clearing up spilt drinks or informing staff so they could. It is very windy down there so not surprising that plastic cups get blown over regularly, but this is better than broken glass, hence no glass rule.
If you want to go to the entertainment area and see the stage get there before 8pm. This is when the childrens fun time / disco is on but adult entertainment, which starts with a music quiz and then bingo doesn't start until about 8:45pm.
The Thomas Cook entertainment team work tirelessly in less than ideal conditions to make the evenings fun for children and adults alike. It is a shame that there aren't more formal acts put on and better staging area. The only formal act we saw was the reptile act which was 10 minutes followed by asking if anyone would like to hold the snakes, which the children obviously did, only to get to the stage to be told "if you want to hold the snake you must pay E10 for the photo we take. No photo, no holding of the animals".

Didn't use the childrens clubs but appeared better staffed than the last Thomas Cook holiday we did which we did use.

Thomas Cook staff:
Danielle was present at the hotel quite a lot and always had details of when she would be about displayed at her desk, was always happy to help and had a good knowledge of the area. As mentioned before the entertainment staff (Katie, Jordan, Lauren and Chelsea) were great with the children and despite working long hours and having to cope with a major technical breakdown of the sound equipment continued on, mainly thanks to Katie's ability to project her voice rather well!

Hotel staff:
Although all of the staff were fantastic we have to mention Victoria on reception as she went out of her way to help with all our questions and requests. We had a broken bed in our room and it was sorted out within hours, before we even got back to the room with the extra pillows we had requested, she sorted out confirming bookings we had made with the submarine safari directly as well as confirming all the details of our late checkout room (which you will need to prebook directly with Thomas Cook on the phone before you go. £22 and we kept the room until our pickup time of 6:15pm rather than having to be out at 12pm).

Resort:

We are a relatively active family and the walk to Playa Blanca beach and resort takes about 20 mins (taking the short cut down the side of the water park and across the open area down to the main road then track down to resort). There is a free bus service to Playa Dorada from the hotel but the times on the return never suited us so only ever caught it down not up!
Plenty of shops and the beach is lovely and clean. Did the banana boat with friends at E10 per person. Well worth it in our opinion as you go quite a way out and along the sea front before getting bought back to shore and thrown off!

Trips out:

Booked the submarine Safari direct on their website before we went and saved 15%. Have to book 7 days in advance and reconfirm 24 hours before. Same tour as offered by the rep as run with the submarine company just cheaper! You pay at the submarine office on the day of the dive. Highly recommend it. Puerto Calero had market stalls around but subsequently found these are quite highly priced compared to other markets we found later in the holiday!

Public Bus to Puerto del Carmen, again helped out by Victoria, cost E10.80 each way for 4 people, no return tickets and no child price. Nice to go even if just for the sight seeing on the way but much of a muchness to Playa Blanca just bigger in our opinion.

Timanfaya - Booked with rep. Good trip and glad we did it. We found it very rushed throughout. over E130 for 4 of us and then camel rides E24 on top and then they wanted E5 per photo they took of you on the camel and wonder why not many people bought them, might also have something to do with the fact that the camel guide will use your camera to take your picture if you ask during the ride anyway! Would have preferred the trip to have not had the wine tasting and aloe vera stops as these are clearly just a further way for the tour operator to make money and not enjoyable in the sausage factory manor they were conducted. Pretty sure if you don't go by coach you can't actually drive round the national park and can only go to the top. If it wasn't for this we would have probably been asking for money back! having said all this the guide, Carlos, was very good and very knowledgeable and also seemed very put out by how rushed it all was that day! So it may just have been a bad day, who knows.

Local volcano:
Well worth walking up the volcano opposite the hotel. Views are spectacular and you can easily waste a couple of hours on a cloudy morning writing your name in stones in the crater.


Overall:
Having read all the negatives before we went we were very worried about what we would find. We needn't have been. Any fault we could find are minor and the hotel is clearly in the process of upgrading and updating throughout. Very pleased with everything we experienced and in our opinion was a good value for money holiday which we all enjoyed. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel based on the holiday we experienced. There are always people who expect far more than they are paying for, drink more than they should and treat hospitality staff and facilities with a lack of respect but these were thankfully in the minority and didn't detract from our holiday.

This wasn't 5 star luxury, it never claimed to be, but we felt we got what we paid for and possibly more.

Room Tip: We stayed in 116 and had a 1st floor with sea view and right across to Fuerteventura.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank DMCLKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear DMCLKent,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your family vacation and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor.

A family friendly resort, we are pleased to hear that all family members enjoyed an excellent stay with us and that our daily activities programme as well as our gastronomy adapted to our adult and little guests alike matched your preferences.

We were very happy to read your kind words about our hotel and especially about our hardworking team. With pleasure we will share your review with the entire team, which is always our best motivation!

We are happy that you enjoyed the Paradise Island hospitality and that our entire team could contribute to a wonderful experience at our resort.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another renewing holiday soon and extend our best wishes to your family.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Myself and my wife and 6 children have returned from a fantastic 10 night break, once arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the staff who seemed very friendly and happy to help.
as we were a family of 8 we were looking for a hotel with great entertainment and plenty for the children, well I must say we got more than value for money the kids were enterained for hours on end and in previous years our children were not so keen in joining in the3 kids clubs but this year they screemed to go!!

the hotel was clean and nice the room was cleaned daily and fresh towels etc, anything we asked for the staff were happy to help us.

The food was good and freshly cooked, obviously some dishes turned up once or twice through out the the week but its all in inclusive you cannot expect miracles! !

I read previous reviews and some noted there was not a great deal to do, we did do a couple of trips one to the markets and the aqua park but we didnt really need to leave as the children had plenty to do and were well looked after.

to sum our time up really there is not much I can fault there was the odd thing here and there but thats life!!! Id like to link this to a previous review in which someone has stated Sue the childrens entertainer was rude and more interested in herself! ! Well which hotel were you staying at?? We had a childrens entertainer called Sue and she was the most out going and friendliest kids entertainer we have come accross the kids loved her and couldnt wait to see her Infectious smile, we even had tears at the airport because sue wasnt coming with us!!!
All in all a great stay!! Get it booked and thank you so much especially sue and the kids club !! See you next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank neilbeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear neilbeil,

Thank you for having been our guests and for sharing your valuable feedback.

We are glad that your family thoroughly enjoyed their stay and that you found our team to be freindly, especially the kids club team - a great motivation for all of us! With pleasure we will pass your kind words to Sue!

It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the quality and variety of our cuisine as well as the overall cleanliness of our hotel.

Thank you for your constructive feedback which helps us to optimize the guest experience day by day.

We truly hope to have the privilege of welcoming your family back for another excellent holiday in Lanzarote.

With kind regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from our 2 weeks at Paradise Island.
I would start by saying the staff at this hotel work very hard to make your stay a happy one.
The Hotel is located approx 1 mile from the sea and run a very efficient bus service to and from the beach. There is also a volcano pretty much on the doorstep which is very much worth the hour or so walk for the view at the top, and the 400m crater etc.
This hotel has all the facilities of a 4 star hotel with beautiful garden areas outside the basic but clean and comfortable accommodation.
The overall appearance of the hotel, grounds and general maintenance is a little tired so am surprised they are advertising themselves as 4 star, as 3 star would be more accurate and represent value. The surrounding area is of poor quality.
While we stayed the hotel was full, and the pool area was very busy and we were unable to get a sunbed at the pool the whole 2 weeks so if you want to be by the pool be prepared to get up very early, however I am sure outside the school holidays this is not the case. We did however find sunbeds in the excellent water park without a problem.
The main restaurant was very busy at peak times and we found that going outside peak times for example having dinner in the Chinese restaurant after 9pm where you can still select food from elsewhere was a good option. The food was always of good quality with plenty choice for everyone, again the staff work very hard to keep the areas clear and clean.
If you expect a top rate 4 star hotel, I would suggest you pay more money and go elsewhere. But if you are looking for a good value for money family all inclusive family holiday then this will fit the bill. We went for 2 weeks, paid £3K including flights through sunshine, transfers with last minute travel 40 euro return
We found the evening entertainment frustrating. Please can you give the kids a Disco with uninterrupted music from maybe 8 - 10pm without the involvement of Thomas Cook, as the kids wanted a Disco with music they could dance to and the parents could join in, and what we got was Thomas Cook reps doing maybe 4 songs during which they kept plugging Bingo ticket sales, then at 8.45pm adult bingo?? and selling as much of their Thomas Cook tat as they could before the entertainment at 10pm which was pretty poor quality baring the few nights of outside entertainers. The Thomas Cook reps are nice people and we appreciated they were doing as they were told by Thomas Cook.
Go to the natural beach at Papagoya, a bit further out but no crowds or shops and a chance to mix with the locals.

Room Tip: Book in the 100 block for a sea view and quiet. Book 500 or 600 block to be near the pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dougdacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear dougdacre,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on the occasion of your family vacation and for sharing your feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the gardens and value for money. We are also very happy to learn that you enjoyed our buffets and were satisfied with the service of our team.

We strive to provide an efficient service to our guests at all times and wish to apologize for the waiting times you have experienced at certain times in our restaurant.

Please note that our personnel at the restaurant entrance is always happy to assist shall you encounter any difficulties in finding a table during peak times at dinner. Thank you for your suggestions that help us to improve our service on a daily basis.

Rest assured that we will share you comments of our entertainment programme with the respective department, as we continually adapt our selection of acts and shows to the wishes of our guests.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another relaxing family vacation.

Warmest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from third visit to this hotel and yet again another brilliant holiday for the family with 9yo twin boys.Check -In was quick and efficient with friendly Reception staff and we actually got the same room as out last visit 2 years ago.Room was clean and sufficient for our needs with a TV,fridge,microwave,hobs,plates,cups and cutlery ( would have liked a kettle in there) and the extras of a safe and air-con both of which we rented.
Pool area was cleaned each morning with plenty of sun beds around it -the only negative part being that only about 10 of the sunbeds have backrests to them.The hotel also has an excellent waterpark with numerous slides/chutes, a lazy river and childrens area all surrounded by sunbeds. Pool bar was good opening at 10 am with self-service on tea,coffee,soft drinks and beer with bar staff serving wine and spirits. Good snacks were provided from 12:30 onwards with cakes and sandwiches later in the afternoon.This bar was also open in the evenings which was lovely to be able to sit outside after dinner.
Entertainment/games provided throughout the day by HL team well led by Martjn and the Thomas Cook team with Katy outstanding.
Restaurant is good with sufficient choices at meal times with a Chinese section and with Mexican themed food night and BBQs throughout our stay.
The hotel is a couple of miles away from the main town and beach but a free beach-bus is provided and also there is a taxi-rank just down the road across from the hotel.
All-in-all have to say our family love this hotel with plenty to keep children occupied during the day and evening and already looking forward to next visit in 2016.
Well done to Hoteles Lopez and thanks for another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank chris1961Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear chris1961Bolton,


Thank you for having returned for another brilliant stay and for your kind words- Our team will be happy to hear how much you enjoyed their efficient service.

Please not not a kettle or anything else you might be missing in your apartment can be requested at reception any time!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon and send our best regards from Lanzarote.

Sincerely,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Family of four 2 adults 2 children age 7 & 14 stayed during july 2014.Appears a good hotel and well equiped but there are things that spoil the stay. We have stayed at previous all incusive and payed much the same.The snack area around the pool 'Disappointing'-served chips, burger (not sure what meat?!) salad, pizza not very nice. Worst selection of snacks at an all inc.Drinks machine kept running out of drinks. Tasted very sweet on times(coke,lemon,lemon & lime).There was not food in between mealtimes.Lunch started at 1pm if you missed breakfast or wasnt hungry it was a long wait for the snack bar at 12.30 or lunch.The food at the restaurant had very odd tastes to some foods which made them unedible. Entertainment, what entertainment!!Awful run by the reps in their day wear on times looking rough.Bingo Bingo Bingo ahh every night is all we had to do and a little disco for kids on the stage one rep sung but voice went a bit on times!! There were no acts brought in except a couple with a few reptiles under the harsh spotlights on stage.Rushed through and money making photos at end to purchase for 8 euros.The seating is very crammed not enough tables and chairs (plastic patio chairs!) cant see the stage its too low.Got quite cold outside in the evenings pack your trousers and cardigans etc!They have a nice stage and seating downstairs but didnt use it!? Evenings were poor down the front apart from when we saw 'Gary' a singer, electric gutarist and he played the fiddle from ireland at an irish pub upstairs think it was 'The kings head'very good.The water park was nice but no snack bar!! you have to walk to the hotel pool area under 5 mins walk.Ice cream available mid afternoon for a short time then thats it.Be aware a lot of children older and young kept appearing with ARMS IN PLASTER CASTS (not sure how they got them). Had seen a few fall on the slippery floor surface at the water park? The kids club are not run as well as other destinations. The kids reps are not 100% into their jobs. Sue was very awkward to start maid us feel uncomfortable.She didnt say anything wanted us to do the talking.Saw her looking examining her hands and nails instead of giving a child attention when they were trying to talk to her during a kids session.She just looked at the kids rather than taking part.Kids were in the sun in a circle on the floor sometimes and didnt think to rotate them out of the sun. Our room never got the floor washed or brushed after 3 days it needed it! Asked reception after almost a week and the next day it was suposed to have been done. They only made the beds and changed lined once and towels on and off. FLOORS NEED TO BE WASHED! Not enough info about how to get the free bus back from town, reception gave us the wrong location and we walked too far ended up with a taxi back. Took us half hour to walk down to the front/shops.Staff need to interact with guests more.A badly run hotel things could be so much better if all this was addressed.

Room Tip: Our room was right by the dino park entrance which opens 10am-6pm it means a quiet night as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cool as a- c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Arrived to be told that the hotel was full to capacity and we could have a free safe and a car for the day if we agreed to transfer to their sister hotel. Opted to stay put, but was not a good welcome!

We thought because we were going early July, outside of the UK summer school holidays it would be on the quiet side but it was absolutely manic and teeming with kids. We later found out that Scotland and Ireland schools break up as month early!

On the good side- Hotel communal areas were spotless. Staff worked very hard and were very pleasant. Food was good, plentiful and varied. Appartments were spacious. Shuttle bus was free, very prompt and takes you right into Playa Blanca which we loved.

Bad side - Only 10 adjustable sunbeds that get taken before 7am. Lying flat on your back is the only option. There is no rule that young children cannot serve themselves in the buffet and this makes the restaurant (which is more like a canteen) even more chaotic and disorganised. No night time entertainment for adults (very boring).

Room Tip: Away from the pool, nearer the water park is a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Corinne M,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to HL Paradise Island and for leaving us a feedback.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our buffets, the free bus and the spacious apartments. We also appreciate very much your kind words about the cleanliness and our hardworking team!

As we have really a lot of children at our hotel during high season, we try to offer our guests without children the option to stay at one of our sister hotels, also in Playa Blanca, which are much quieter and therefore generally more popular for couples or single travelers. We are very sorry that you were not able to enjoy a quiet, relaxing holiday due to the amount of children at Paradise Island. We would advise you for next time to transfer to either HL Club Playa Blanca or HL Rio Playa Blanca for a much quieter atmosphere.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, we hope to have the pleasure again to welcome you to one of our hotels in the near future!

Sunny greetings,

The managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 14 nights 2 adults 2 children, 13 and 10. We stay All inclusive most years normally 3 star but saw this hotel at 4 star and thought that we would give it a go. I will review under most common headings:
Arrival: pleasant welcome by staff, welcome refreshments made available but we just wanted to get to our room so did not take advantage of this. First impressions were OK.
Room: The rooms are of good size but very basic. Had twin bedroom with built in wardrobe- enough space for all clothes. Beds were like sleeping on slab of concrete. Kids had 2 sofa beds in living room area and these were more comfortable and kids did complain one bit. Basic 2 ring hob with built under fridge. We only used the fridge for storing water bottles but kitchen looked very basic. Dining table with 4 chairs was good addition. Bathroom OK and no complaints about this area. Had 2 balconies, front and back with loads of space. Unfortunately, neither balcony door locked which created major security issue. You get alot of noise from neighbouring room but no way near the noise you would get if in hotel. Room is 2-3 star quality at best.
Food: Food was cooked very good but lacked choice. 10 yr old lived on chips and pasta. Salad area is very good and we used that mainly as could not be bothered to wait in long queue for hot food. There is a Chinese section which we used once, food very limited and no taste. Dining staff very pleasant and although busy, we did not have to wait for a table. Sufficient staff on duty to cope. Restaurant- 3 star.
There is the pool bar which served food from 1230- 1530 and this was ok. Ice cream also available during this time.
Drinks are served in small 200ml plastic cups but you can buy your own pint sized plastic ones from shop for 2 euros. We done this but you have to remember to keep it with you when going to different areas of hotel.
Pool and aqua park: The first week of the stay was good as there were plenty of sunbeds but it soon got busy and if you were not up by 8am, you would not get bed. Aqua park excellent for kids but beware, the black slide is dangerous and during our stay one person had to be rescued by staff after receiving head injury. Overall, pool area and aqua park probably 3+ star.
Not much to do around hotel but you can get taxi town for 3-4 euros where is is lively and good fun.
My 2 kids were bored by second week as not much to do for their age except aqua park which became boring.
Thomas cook reps liked the sound of their own voices on the microphone and could not stop talking over it and they only played music that they liked, often using their own iphones. Evening entertainment was not to our liking but it was always busy and many people seemed to be enjoying themselves.
Overall, this is not a 4 star hotel, it is 3 star at best and showing signs of wear and tear although rooms are advertised as being refurbished. Do not be put off going to this hotel, it is ok and aqua park good and what you expect for an all inclusive child friendly place but when you pay for 4 star quality but get 3 star, it is very disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear terry r,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback of your recent stay at HL Paradise Island.

We really appreciate your kind words about our hardworking, friendly team.

However, we deeply regret not having been able to meet your expectations regarding the rating of our hotel. We are happy to inform you that we have already bought new mattresses for the beds to make them more comfortable. Please note that the balcony doors can not be opened from outside, thus there is no security issue.
We were quite surprised to hear that you found our choice of food lacking, as we have a Chinese buffet, an Italian buffet and an International buffet with theme nights like Canarian, Mexican, BBQ etc. We would appreciate very much if you could let us know what kind of dishes you were missing: reservation@hoteleslopez.com.

We have also added more sunbeds for high season, and rest assured that our lifeguards at the water park keep the risks for accidents to a minimum.

Once again, we are sorry to have let you down this time. We would be happy to have the chance to renew your impression of our Paradise island during a future visit!

Sunny greetings,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,754 reviews
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,723 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: P- 28 Calle Montana Casa, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: £102 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing